DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 2-6, the closest prior art Kim (US 2016/0369443) fails to teach or suggest the internal component: is provided in the drain unit or is connected to the drain unit, comprises a drain filter provided in the drain unit, comprises a remaining water pipe, comprises a storage part of the detergent supply unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11, filed June 3, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim (US 2016/0369443).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2016/0369443).
Regarding claim 1, Kim figures 1-2, 7, 10-13, and 26 teach a laundry treating apparatus comprising:
a cabinet (10 first cabinet and 20 second cabinet) disposed on a lower treating apparatus (20a second treating part) configured to accommodate and treat laundry; and
an accommodation unit (600 second drum) provided in the cabinet, the accommodation unit being configured to accommodate and treat laundry,
wherein the cabinet is provided at a lower portion thereof with an exposed portion (portion of cabinet on which 12 locking secure part is disposed) to expose at least a portion of an internal component (12 locking secure part) provided in the cabinet to an outside of the cabinet, and
wherein the exposed portion is opened or closed simultaneously with an opening or closing of the lower treating apparatus.[0052-89]
Regarding claim 7, Kim figure 2 teaches the lower treating apparatus comprises:
a lower cabinet (20 second cabinet) configured to support the cabinet upward; and
a drawer (100) configured to be retracted into or withdrawn from the lower cabinet, and
wherein the exposed portion is closed in a retracted state of the drawer and is open in a withdrawn state of the drawer.
Regarding claim 8, Kim figure 2 teaches the exposed portion is disposed on a front surface of the cabinet,
wherein the drawer (100) comprises a front portion (110 front portion) configured to form a front surface of the lower treating apparatus in the retracted state thereof, and
wherein the exposed portion is closed by the front portion in the retracted state of the drawer.
Regarding claim 9, figure 1 teaches the cabinet comprises a front panel (11), and
wherein, in the retracted state of the drawer (100), a front surface of the front panel is located on a same plane as a front surface of the front portion.[0090]
Regarding claim 10, figures 1-2 teach based on a forward-backward direction of the cabinet, the front panel (11) of the cabinet has a thickness identical to a thickness of the front portion (110).
Regarding claim 11, figures 1-2 teach a front panel (11), and wherein the exposed portion is located below the front panel and is located farther backward than a front surface of the front panel.
Regarding claim 12, figure 2 teaches the front portion (110) comprises an upward protruding portion protruding upward beyond the lower cabinet, and wherein the exposed portion is shielded from an outside by the upward protruding portion in the retracted state of the drawer.
Regarding claim 13, figure 26 teaches the upward protruding portion comprises an upper recess concavely formed in a rear surface thereof so as to be away from the exposed portion, and wherein the internal component on the exposed portion protrudes forward and is received in the upper recess in the retracted state of the drawer.[0089-91]
Regarding claim 14, figures 1-2 and 26 teach the upward protruding portion comprises:
a front protruding portion configured to define a front surface of the upward protruding portion; and
side protruding portions respectively provided at both end portions of the front protruding portion in a width direction of the cabinet and extending backward from the front protruding portion, and
wherein, in the retracted state of the drawer, the exposed portion is shielded from a front by the front protruding portion and is shielded from a side by the side protruding portions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Woo (US 8,028,548) directed towards a laundry machine where figure 4 teaches a servicing section arranged at a position that is outwardly exposed in an outwardly-moved state of the movable body 220, and is hidden in an inwardly-moved state of the movable body 220, for the maintenance of the drainage filter 184.[0079]
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711