DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to the application filed on 08/23/2024. Claims 21-40 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-25, 30-34 and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) receiving information indicating one or more lane segments; receive information indicating one or more observables; determine associations between respective ones of the one or more lane segments and the one or more observables; determine, based on the determined associations, driving rules for the respective one or more lane segments, wherein a driving rule for a given lane segment is determined based on one or more properties of the given lane segment and one or more observables associated with the given lane segment; and cause at least a portion of the determined driving rules to be visually presented to a user. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because simply displaying the results of mathematical calculations does not render claims eligible. Further the claims may be completed in the human mind and writing it down on a piece of paper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22, 24-27, 29-31, 33-38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0165072 (“Shubham”).
Regarding claim 21, Shubham teaches receive information indicating one or more lane segments; receive information indicating one or more observables; determine associations between respective ones of the one or more lane segments and the one or more observables; determine, based on the determined associations, driving rules for the respective one or more lane segments, wherein a driving rule for a given lane segment is determined based on one or more properties of the given lane segment and one or more observables associated with the given lane segment; and cause at least a portion of the determined driving rules to be visually presented to a user (see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 22, Shubham teaches cause a planned vehicle function, that is planned to be performed, to be visually presented to the user (see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 24, Shubham teaches cause a reason for delay in performance of a planned vehicle function to be visually presented to the user (see at least [0055] the vehicle controlling system 233 associated with the warning generating system 231 and the lane detection and classification system 107, may receive warning signals related to the host vehicle 101 from the warning generating system 231. Thereafter, the vehicle controlling system 233 may control navigation of the host vehicle 101, in real-time, based on the received warning signals).
Regarding claim 25, Shubham teaches determine respective ones of the lane segments which have a previous and next lane segment relationship; join respective ones of the lane segments that have the previous and next lane segment relationship to form a path comprising multiple lane segments; determine driving rules for the path based on properties of one or more of the multiple lane segments and observables associated with one or more of the multiple lane segments; and cause the at least a portion of the determined path and associated driving rules for the path to be visually presented to the user (see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 26, Shubham teaches determine, for a set of intersecting lane segments, relative priorities for paths comprising respective ones of the lane segments with regard to proceeding through the intersecting lane segments; and include the determined relative priorities for the paths in the determined driving rules (see at least [0008]).
Regarding claim 27, Shubham teaches determine turning classifications for the respective ones of the paths, wherein the turning classifications are selected from a group comprising :a straight path classification; a left turn path classification; a right turn path classification; and a U-turn path classification (see at least [0047]).
Regarding claim 29, Shubham teaches the one or more observables comprise one or more one of: a traffic light; a stop sign; a sign indicating one or more driving rules; and painting on a surface of a roadway indicating one or more driving rules (see at least [0047]).
Regarding claim 30, Shubham teaches receive information indicating one or more lane segments; receive information indicating one or more observables; determine associations between respective ones of the one or more lane segments and the one or more observables; determine based on the determined associations, driving rules for the respective one or more lane segments, wherein a driving rule for a given lane segment is determined based on one or more properties of the given lane segment and one or more observables associated with the given lane segment; and cause at least a portion of the determined driving rules to be visually presented to a user (see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 31, Shubham teaches causing a planned vehicle function, that is planned to be performed, to be visually presented to the user (see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 33, Shubham teaches causing an estimated time to performance of a planned vehicle function to be visually presented to the user (see at least [0055]).
Regarding claim 34, Shubham teaches determine respective ones of the lane segments which have a previous and next lane segment relationship; join respective ones of the lane segments that have the previous and next lane segment relationship to form a path comprising multiple lane segments; determine driving rules for the path based on properties of one or more of the multiple lane segments and observables associated with one or more of the multiple lane segments; and cause the at least a portion of the determined path and associated driving rules for the path to be visually presented to the user (see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 35, Shubham teaches determining, for a set of intersecting lane segments, relative priorities for paths comprising respective ones of the lane segments with regard to proceeding through the intersecting lane segments; and including the determined relative priorities for the paths in the determined driving rules (see at least [0047]).
Regarding claim 36, Shubham teaches receive information indicating one or more lane segments; receive information indicating one or more observables; determine associations between respective ones of the one or more lane segments and the one or more observables; determine, based on the determined associations, driving rules for the respective one or more lane segments, wherein a driving rule for a given lane segment is determined based on one or more properties of the given lane segment and one or more observables associated with the given lane segment; and cause at least a portion of the determined driving rules to be visually presented to a user (see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 37, Shubham teaches a display device configured to display the at least a portion of the determined driving rules to the use (see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 38, Shubham teaches cause a planned vehicle function, that is planned to be performed, to be visually presented to the user (see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 40, Shubham teaches cause an estimated time to performance of a planned vehicle function to be visually presented to the user (see at least [[0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 32, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0165072 (“Shubham”) in view of US 20210114616 A1 (“Altman”).
Regarding claim 23, Shubham is not explicit on cause a reason for delay in performance of a planned vehicle function to be visually presented to the user, however,
Altman discloses cause a reason for delay in performance of a planned vehicle function to be visually presented to the user (see at least [0087]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Shubham with the system disclosed by Altman because in mass transportation or public transportation, such as in a bus, train, subway, shuttle, ferryboat, or the like, these problems are further aggravated by the multitude of commuters that share the same vehicle (Altman, [0014]).
Regarding claim 32, Shubham is not explicit on causing a reason for delay in performance of a planned vehicle function to be visually presented to the user, however,
Altman discloses causing a reason for delay in performance of a planned vehicle function to be visually presented to the user (see at least [0087]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Shubham with the system disclosed by Altman because in mass transportation or public transportation, such as in a bus, train, subway, shuttle, ferryboat, or the like, these problems are further aggravated by the multitude of commuters that share the same vehicle (Altman, [0014]).
Regarding claim 39, Shubham is not explicit on cause a reason for delay in performance of a planned vehicle function to be visually presented to the user, however,
Altman discloses cause a reason for delay in performance of a planned vehicle function to be visually presented to the user (see at least [0087]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Shubham with the system disclosed by Altman because in mass transportation or public transportation, such as in a bus, train, subway, shuttle, ferryboat, or the like, these problems are further aggravated by the multitude of commuters that share the same vehicle (Altman, [0014]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0165072 (“Shubham”) in view of US 20220297718 A1 (“Yu”).
Regarding claim 28, Shubham is not explicit on bundle together paths through the intersecting lane segments that share a same turn classification, wherein the relative respective priorities for the respective ones of the paths are determined based on evaluating bundled paths as a bundle instead of as separate paths through the intersecting lane segments, however,
Yu discloses bundle together paths through the intersecting lane segments that share a same turn classification, wherein the relative respective priorities for the respective ones of the paths are determined based on evaluating bundled paths as a bundle instead of as separate paths through the intersecting lane segments (see at least [0082]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Shubham with the system disclosed by Yu because conventional route planning operations may result in unexpected navigation routes under some circumstances (Yu, [0003]).
Conclusion
/MATHEW FRANKLIN GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665