Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending and examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 2/25/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP 2022-028467 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Please note the USPTO attempt to retrieve the document failed. See notice dated 10/3/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for an interstitially lithium doped lithium borate lattice comprising rare earth elements, does not reasonably provide enablement for a solid electrolyte containing any combination in any compositional of a lithium borate and additional elements represented by R and M1. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
When evaluating scope of enablement, the court has held certain factors, known as the Wand Factors, inform the evaluation. The Wand Factors are:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The breadth (see A) of claim 1 is beyond the scope of applicant’s invention. Specifically, the applicant does not disclose the cornucopia of solid electrolytes that have Li borate, element R, and element M1. Specifically, see rejection of claim 1 over Jang (US 2022/0384909). As mixing solid electrolytes is well-known in the art (see C), as disclosed by Jang, the possibilities are endless (see E, F, G and H) and even for one skilled in the art (see D), the amount of undue experimentation is great. Wherein the invention is narrow (see B), i.e., a lithium rich (interstitially doped) lithium-borate crystal.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding applicant’s claim 2, it is unclear whether applicant is claiming the Li-borate of claim 1, or “the oxide” of claim 2 is in addition to the composition of claim 1. Consistent language throughout is necessary to clarify the claim. Also, terms like “the borate of claim 1” or “further comprising” clarify the limitations of the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "wherein x satisfies 0.01 ≤ x ≤ 0.30" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “x satisfies 0.02 ≤ x ≤ 0.10” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-XXX are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2022/0384909) in view of Gaben (US 2023/0131454).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a solid electrolyte, comprising a combination of a borate-type, and garnet-type solid electrolyte particles (see para [0014], [0021], [0094]). Jang discloses wherein the garnet-type solid electrolyte comprises La, and Sr or Ca (see para [0097], i.e., Li6ALa2MO12 (A=Ca, Sr or Ba; M=Nb or Ta)).
Jang does not disclose the borate contains lithium.
Gaben is analogous art to Jang as Gaben discloses a battery wherein the solid electrolyte is a combination of garnet type (containing Mg, or Ca or Sr and comprising La, see para [0100]) and borate type (see para [0099]-[0103], wherein the borate is a lithiated borate (see para [0103]).
The Courts have held that it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select a known material (i.e., lithiated borate), which is based upon its suitability for the intended use (borate-type solid electrolyte), is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Jang as modified by Gaben discloses a solid electrolyte comprising:
a borate containing Li,
an element R selected from Yb, Er, Tm, and La, and
an element M1 selected from Mg, Sr, and Ca.
Regarding claim 5, modified Jang discloses a solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, but does not disclose wherein M1 is Mg.
Gaben discloses a solid garnet-type electrolyte comprising Mg, Sr or Ca and further the second element of La (see para [0100]).
The Courts have held that it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select a known material (i.e., Mg), which is based upon its suitability for the intended use (i.e., as the divalent element in the garnet-type solid electrolyte), is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 6, modified Jang discloses a solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the solid electrolyte exhibits two diffraction peaks in a diffraction angle range of 27.9° or more and 28.6° or less in an X-ray diffraction analysis by a 2θ method using a K-alpha emission line in copper, and a difference 2θd in diffraction angle between a higher-angle diffraction peak and a lower-angle diffraction peak is 0.43° or more.
Modified Jang is substantially identical to the claimed structure of claim 1. The court has held where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 7, modified Jang discloses solid electrolyte according to Claim 6, but does not disclose wherein the difference 2θd in diffraction angle is 0.432° or more and 0.448° or less.
Modified Jang is substantially identical to the claimed structure of claim 1. The court has held where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, modified Jang discloses a solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the atomic concentration ratio [M1]/[R] of the element M1 to the element R is 0.020 or more and 0.429 or less (claim 8); or ratio [M1]/[R] is 0.020 or more and 0.111 or less (claim 9)
Jang discloses wherein the atomic concentration ratio [M1]/[R] of the element M1 to the element R, specifically in the garnet-type solid electrolyte particles 0.50 (see para [0097]). That ratio can be adjusted by the combination of electrolyte particles, e.g., Ca substitution for Li in the lithiated borate (see Gaben para [0146]), therefore, adjusting the ratio of the elements.
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a variable. Differences in a variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such variable is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, modified Jang discloses an anode, comprising the solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, an anode active material configured to accept or release lithium ions to or from the electrolyte, and a surface where the solid electrolyte and the active material are arranged (see Jang para [0042] and [0045].
Regarding claim 13, modified Jang discloses a secondary battery, comprising the anode according to Claim 12, an electrolyte layer configured to be disposed in contact with the surface and configured to accept or release lithium ions to or from the anode, and a cathode in contact with an opposite surface of the electrolyte layer from a side on which the electrolyte layer is in contact with the surface (see Jang para [0035], [0042] and [0045]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Jang discloses an electrolyte layer, comprising a surface where the solid electrolyte according to Claim 1 is arranged (see Jang para [0042] and [0045]).
The limitation that the solid electrolyte of claim 1 is arranged in a direction intersecting a layer thickness direction is intended use and is given weight to the extent that the prior art is able to perform the intended use. It is the examiner’s position that modified Jang can perform the intended use.
Regarding claim 15, modified Jeng discloses a secondary battery, comprising the electrolyte layer according to Claim 14, an anode configured to be disposed in contact with the surface and configured to accept or release lithium ions to or from the electrolyte layer, and a cathode in contact with an opposite surface of the electrolyte layer from the surface (see para [0035], [0042] and [0045]).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeng et al. in view of Gaben as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2023/0187648).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, modified Jang discloses a solid electrolyte according to Claim 1, wherein the element R includes a plurality of rare-earth elements (claim 10), wherein the plurality of rare-earth elements includes at least Yb.
Jang discloses additional garnet-type solid electrolyte particles that in combination form the solid electrolyte, specifically Li7La3Zr2O12 (LLZ) (see para [0108]).
As Jeng discloses choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, i.e., combination of solid electrolyte particles, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to pursue the known options with a reasonable expectation of success.
Suzuki is analogous to Jang as Suzuki discloses a garnet-type solid electrolyte for a lithium battery (see para [0108]). Suzuki discloses Yb can be substituted for Zr in the garnet-type solid electrolyte LLZ (see para [0108]).
The Courts have held that it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Modified Jang in view of Suzuki discloses wherein the solid electrolyte comprises element R, wherein R includes a plurality of rare earth elements, i.e., La and Yb (claim 9), wherein at one of the rare earth elements comprises Yb (claim 10).
Claims 1, 2 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nino Hideaki (JP 2017-09153).
Regarding claims 1, and 16, Nino discloses a solid electrolyte comprising a borate containing Li, an element R selected from Yb, Er, Tm, and La, and an element M1 selected from Mg, Sr, and Ca (see para [0011]);
Specifically, wherein the solid electrolyte containing an oxide represented by the general formula LixAyBzMO3+a (see para [0015]);
Wherein A (i.e., M1) is Ca, Sr, or both. M (i.e., R) is Tm or Yb or both; alternatively A (i.e., R) is La or Er and M (i.e., M1) is Mg (see para [0013]-[0019]).
Nino does not disclose the stochiometric limitations of Li6+xR1-xM1x(BO3)3, wherein x is a real number satisfying 0 < x < 1 (claim 2 and 16); wherein x satisfies 0.01 ≤ x ≤ 0.30 (claim 3).
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a variable. Differences in a variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such variable is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Nino discloses a solid electrolyte according to Claims 1-3, wherein R includes Yb and La (i.e., A is La and M is Mg and Yb), but does not disclose x satisfies 0.02 ≤ x ≤ 0.10.
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a variable. Differences in a variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such variable is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721