DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to patent application as filed on 8/23/2024 which claims Foreign Priority to Japanese Pat. App. No: 2023-140965 filed 08/31/2023.
This action is made Non-Final.
Claims 1 – 8 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 7, and 8 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2024 and 1/13/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 8/23/2024 have been accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (USPUB 20100332998 A1).
Claim 1:
Sun discloses An image processing apparatus capable of communicating with a chat server that performs control to share received data with a designated user (0031 and 0038)), the image processing apparatus comprising: at least one memory that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor that executes the instructions, the instructions, when being executed, causing the image processing apparatus to: read an image of a document and generate image data based on the image (0019 and 0021: The collaborative document environment can automatically teleport a collection of documents from a content repository of the document management system to an instantiated shared collaborative document area in the 3D virtual world… a "document" refers to computer file that contains information. Some examples of documents include word processing files, portable document files (PDFs), spreadsheet files, image files, video files, sound files, 3D model files, slide presentation files, and the like); acquire, from the chat server, avatar information for displaying an avatar image three-dimensionally expressing a user who is a candidate for a sharing destination of the image data (0036: he 3D virtual world 120 includes the collaborative document area 122 and is a computer simulated environment in which users, represented as avatars, can interact); perform control to display a screen for designating the sharing destination of the image data; and transmit the image data to be shared with the user designated on the screen to the chat server, wherein the avatar image of the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data, which is an avatar image based on the acquired avatar information, is displayed on the screen in association with the user (Fig 15 and 0074-75: FIG. 15 is a flowchart illustrating an exemplary implementation of teleporting users to the collaborative document area and maintaining access control for documents in the collaborative document area. A user that is logged in to the document management system and reviewing a collection of documents can initiate teleportation of an avatar representing the user to the corresponding collaborative document area by the teleport engine in response to selecting a teleport button in a user interface of the document management system (1500). Alternatively, users that are logged in to the 3D virtual world can visit a virtual repository kiosk. The virtual repository kiosk can receive input from the user including, for example, a user name, password, and location identifier associated with the collaborative document area or the collection of documents in the document management system (1502). The teleport engine initiates teleportation of the avatar from the virtual kiosk to the collaborative document area (1504)… the user's credentials are verified by the access manager, which associates a virtual pass with the user (1506). Upon satisfaction of the security level assigned to the collaborative document area (1508), the avatar representing the user is teleported to the collaborative document area (15 10). Otherwise, the user is denied access (1512). While in the collaborative document area, the virtual pass associated with the user controls which documents the user can view and which documents are restricted from being viewed by the user (1514). Other users can enter the collaborative document area using the interface in the document management system to interact with the documents and other users in the collaborative document area).
Claim 2:
Sun discloses acquire an icon image for identifying the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data from the chat server in a case where the avatar information for displaying the avatar image of the user is not registered in the chat server, and the acquired icon image, which is an icon image of the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data, is displayed on the screen in association with the user (0074-75: users that are logged in to the 3D virtual world can visit a virtual repository kiosk. The virtual repository kiosk can receive input from the user including, for example, a user name, password, and location identifier associated with the collaborative document area or the collection of documents in the document management system (1502). The teleport engine initiates teleportation of the avatar from the virtual kiosk to the collaborative document area… the user's credentials are verified by the access manager, which associates a virtual pass with the user (1506). Upon satisfaction of the security level assigned to the collaborative document area (1508), the avatar representing the user is teleported to the collaborative document area (15 10). Otherwise, the user is denied access (1512). While in the collaborative document area, the virtual pass associated with the user controls which documents the user can view and which documents are restricted from being viewed by the user (1514). Other users can enter the collaborative document area using the interface in the document management system to interact with the documents and other users in the collaborative document area).
Claim 7:
Sun discloses A control method for an image processing apparatus capable of communicating with a chat server that performs control to share received data with a designated user, the control method comprising (0031 and 0038), the control method comprising: reading an image of a document and generate image data based on the image (0019 and 0021: The collaborative document environment can automatically teleport a collection of documents from a content repository of the document management system to an instantiated shared collaborative document area in the 3D virtual world… a "document" refers to computer file that contains information. Some examples of documents include word processing files, portable document files (PDFs), spreadsheet files, image files, video files, sound files, 3D model files, slide presentation files, and the like); acquiring, from the chat server, avatar information for displaying an avatar image three-dimensionally expressing a user who is a candidate for a sharing destination of the image data (0036: he 3D virtual world 120 includes the collaborative document area 122 and is a computer simulated environment in which users, represented as avatars, can interact); performing control to display a screen for designating the sharing destination of the image data; and transmitting the image data to be shared with the user designated on the screen to the chat server, wherein the avatar image of the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data, which is an avatar image based on the acquired avatar information, is displayed on the screen in association with the user (Fig 15 and 0074-75: FIG. 15 is a flowchart illustrating an exemplary implementation of teleporting users to the collaborative document area and maintaining access control for documents in the collaborative document area. A user that is logged in to the document management system and reviewing a collection of documents can initiate teleportation of an avatar representing the user to the corresponding collaborative document area by the teleport engine in response to selecting a teleport button in a user interface of the document management system (1500). Alternatively, users that are logged in to the 3D virtual world can visit a virtual repository kiosk. The virtual repository kiosk can receive input from the user including, for example, a user name, password, and location identifier associated with the collaborative document area or the collection of documents in the document management system (1502). The teleport engine initiates teleportation of the avatar from the virtual kiosk to the collaborative document area (1504)… the user's credentials are verified by the access manager, which associates a virtual pass with the user (1506). Upon satisfaction of the security level assigned to the collaborative document area (1508), the avatar representing the user is teleported to the collaborative document area (15 10). Otherwise, the user is denied access (1512). While in the collaborative document area, the virtual pass associated with the user controls which documents the user can view and which documents are restricted from being viewed by the user (1514). Other users can enter the collaborative document area using the interface in the document management system to interact with the documents and other users in the collaborative document area).
Claim 8:
Sun discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a control method for an image processing apparatus capable of communicating with a chat server that performs control to share received data with a designated user (Claim 10), the control method comprising: reading an image of a document and generate image data based on the image (0019 and 0021: The collaborative document environment can automatically teleport a collection of documents from a content repository of the document management system to an instantiated shared collaborative document area in the 3D virtual world… a "document" refers to computer file that contains information. Some examples of documents include word processing files, portable document files (PDFs), spreadsheet files, image files, video files, sound files, 3D model files, slide presentation files, and the like); acquiring, from the chat server, avatar information for displaying an avatar image three-dimensionally expressing a user who is a candidate for a sharing destination of the image data (0036: he 3D virtual world 120 includes the collaborative document area 122 and is a computer simulated environment in which users, represented as avatars, can interact); performing control to display a screen for designating the sharing destination of the image data; and transmitting the image data to be shared with the user designated on the screen to the chat server, wherein the avatar image of the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data, which is an avatar image based on the acquired avatar information, is displayed on the screen in association with the user (Fig 15 and 0074-75: FIG. 15 is a flowchart illustrating an exemplary implementation of teleporting users to the collaborative document area and maintaining access control for documents in the collaborative document area. A user that is logged in to the document management system and reviewing a collection of documents can initiate teleportation of an avatar representing the user to the corresponding collaborative document area by the teleport engine in response to selecting a teleport button in a user interface of the document management system (1500). Alternatively, users that are logged in to the 3D virtual world can visit a virtual repository kiosk. The virtual repository kiosk can receive input from the user including, for example, a user name, password, and location identifier associated with the collaborative document area or the collection of documents in the document management system (1502). The teleport engine initiates teleportation of the avatar from the virtual kiosk to the collaborative document area (1504)… the user's credentials are verified by the access manager, which associates a virtual pass with the user (1506). Upon satisfaction of the security level assigned to the collaborative document area (1508), the avatar representing the user is teleported to the collaborative document area (15 10). Otherwise, the user is denied access (1512). While in the collaborative document area, the virtual pass associated with the user controls which documents the user can view and which documents are restricted from being viewed by the user (1514). Other users can enter the collaborative document area using the interface in the document management system to interact with the documents and other users in the collaborative document area).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Silbey (USPUB 20130111366 A1).
Claim 3:
Sun discloses every feature of claim 1.
Sun, by itself, does not seem to completely teach an avatar image with which whether or not the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data is in an offline state can be identified is displayed on the screen in association with the user.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Silbey.
Silbey teaches an avatar image with which whether or not the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data is in an offline state can be identified is displayed on the screen in association with the user (Fig 5A and 0041: FIG. 5A shows an example friends list which includes an online friend and a depiction of the current activity and appearance of that friend within a virtual environment, according to one embodiment. As shown, friends list 500 includes an online friend displayed with a background indicating the location of that friend in the virtual world. The friends list 500 also indicates that a user is offline by displaying a gray "offline" text and a static sleeping avatar 512).
Sun and Silbey are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, managing avatars in an online environment.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sun and Silbey before him or her, to combine the teachings of Sun and Silbey. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide users with the status of the other members of the collaborative system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sun and Silbey to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 4:
Sun, by itself, does not seem to completely teach acquire avatar information for displaying an avatar image with which a fact that the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data is in the offline state can be identified in a case where the user is in the offline state, and acquire avatar information for displaying an avatar image with which a fact that the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data is not in the offline state can be identified in a case where the user is not in the offline state.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Silbey.
Silbey teaches acquire avatar information for displaying an avatar image with which a fact that the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data is in the offline state can be identified in a case where the user is in the offline state, and acquire avatar information for displaying an avatar image with which a fact that the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data is not in the offline state can be identified in a case where the user is not in the offline state (Fig 5A and 0041: FIG. 5A shows an example friends list which includes an online friend and a depiction of the current activity and appearance of that friend within a virtual environment, according to one embodiment. As shown, friends list 500 includes an online friend displayed with a background indicating the location of that friend in the virtual world. The friends list 500 also indicates that a user is offline by displaying a gray "offline" text and a static sleeping avatar 512).
Sun and Silbey are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, managing avatars in an online environment.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sun and Silbey before him or her, to combine the teachings of Sun and Silbey. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide users with the status of the other members of the collaborative system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sun and Silbey to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 5:
Sun, by itself, does not seem to completely teach acquire state information indicating whether or not the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data is in the offline state; and change a set value indicating a degree of closing of eyes included in the acquired avatar information.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Silbey.
Silbey teaches acquire state information indicating whether or not the user who is the candidate for the sharing destination of the image data is in the offline state; and change a set value indicating a degree of closing of eyes included in the acquired avatar information (Fig 5A and 0041: FIG. 5A shows an example friends list which includes an online friend and a depiction of the current activity and appearance of that friend within a virtual environment, according to one embodiment. As shown, friends list 500 includes an online friend displayed with a background indicating the location of that friend in the virtual world. The friends list 500 also indicates that a user is offline by displaying a gray "offline" text and a static sleeping avatar 512; emphasis added).
Sun and Silbey are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, managing avatars in an online environment.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sun and Silbey before him or her, to combine the teachings of Sun and Silbey. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide users with the status of the other members of the collaborative system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sun and Silbey to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Wang (USPUB 20240362826 A1 filed Jul. 19, 2023).
Claim 6:
Sun discloses every feature of claim 1.
Sun, by itself, does not seem to completely teach set whether or not to add an avatar image based on information acquired from the chat server to a predetermined icon displayed on the screen, and the predetermined icon is an icon for logging in to the image processing apparatus without inputting authentication information, and is an icon representing a user registered in advance.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Wang.
Wang teaches set whether or not to add an avatar image based on information acquired from the chat server to a predetermined icon displayed on the screen, and the predetermined icon is an icon for logging in to the image processing apparatus without inputting authentication information, and is an icon representing a user registered in advance (0024: In FIG. 3, the GUI 26 is displaying a user profile screen 70 of the user of the client device 24, User A. User A is a new user and does not have much information filled out in their profile yet. Further, User A has not uploaded or selected a profile picture, and therefore a default avatar 72 is displayed. One way to enter the AI profile picture generation process is through the user profile screen 70 and selecting an object such as the default avatar 72 itself or a separate button for changing the profile picture. Selecting the default avatar 72 or any currently used profile picture may trigger an instruction to edit the profile picture of the user. Then, a pull up list 74 may be displayed with different options for changing the default avatar 72, such as “upload photo,” “take photo,” and “AI profile picture.”).
Sun and Wang are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, managing avatars in an online environment.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Sun and Wang before him or her, to combine the teachings of Sun and Wang. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide users customization options for their respective avatars when utilizing the collaborative system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sun and Wang to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the attached PTOL-892 form.
/MOHAMMED H ZUBERI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178