DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 30 January 2026
This office action is made Final.
Claims 1-7, 10, 13-20 have been amended.
The art rejections for Claims 13-20 have been withdrawn as necessitated by the amendment.
Claims 1-11, 13-20 are pending. Claims 1, 13, and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-11, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the element “a current page” in the “switching” limitation. However, Claim 1 already disclosed “a current page” in “switching” limitation. Therefore, it is unclear if a “current page” of claim 2 depends on the “current page” in Claim 1 or should be viewed as new element. Therefore, the claim is vague and indefinite. For examining purposes, the Examiner will view the limitation of Claim 2 as “…switching a second current page from the video playback page to the detail page”. In addition, the Examiner recommends amending the “current page” of claim 1 to a “first current page.”
Claim 14 recites similar issues as in Claim 2 and is rejected under similar rationale as explained above.
Claim 6 recites the element “a current page” in the “switching” limitation. However, Claim 1 already disclosed “a current page” in “switching” limitation. Therefore, it is unclear if a “current page” of claim 6 depends on the “current page” in Claim 1 or should be viewed as new element. Therefore, the claim is vague and indefinite. For examining purposes, the Examiner will view the limitation of Claim 6 as “…switching a second current page from the video playback page to the detail page”. In addition, the Examiner recommends amending the “current page” of claim 1 to a “first current page.”
Claim 7, 18, and 19 recites similar issues as in Claim 6 and is rejected under similar rationale as explained above.
Any claim not specifically addressed, above, is being rejected as its failure to overcome the incorporated deficiencies of a claim upon which is depends on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al by CN 113542853 A (pub. 10/22/2021) (Disclosed in IDS filed on 8/23/24) in further view of Cho et al (US20160203841, 2016) (cited in previous office action) in further view of Fisher et al (US20150045123). (Examiner's Note: An English machine translation of CN113542853A provided by the EPO was previously provided. Paragraph citations are from the translation.)
Examiner’s Statement
Claim 1 recites the following contingent limitation(s): “wherein the first interaction panel is displayed in the video playback page in response to no interaction being performed with the game; or” “the second interaction panel is displayed in the video playback page in response to an interaction being performed with the game.” The limitation(s) is/are contingent because they recite steps that are only required to be performed if their conditions precedent are met. The “wherein the first interaction panel…” limitation only needs to be performed if the game displayed in the first area, of the first interaction panel, has no interaction (by the user) being performed with the game and the “wherein a second interaction panel…” limitation only needs to be performed if the game displayed in the first area, of the first interaction panel, has interaction (by the user) being performed with the game. Therefore, the BRI of the claim 1 requires the “in response to that a recommendation video” limitation, “in response to a page displaying operation” limitation, “in response to a downloading operation…”, “after displaying the detail page of the application, switching…” and only one of either the “wherein the first interaction panel…” limitation or “wherein a second interaction panel…” limitation.
For examining purposes for claim 1, this office action will follow the BRI of claim 1, as explained above, and just the following contingent limitation: “wherein the first interaction panel…”
Rejection
As per independent claim 1, Jian et al discloses a method comprising:
in response to that a recommendation video for an application is played to a preset time point, displaying a first interaction panel in a video playback page, wherein the first interaction panel comprises a first area, and a game is displayed in the first area for interaction by a user; (n0041-n0043; FIG 6-7: discloses a video page of a video for an application. On top of the page/video is an interactive window having an area discloses a game the user interacts with (n0044, n0070); FIG 2-3 discloses another similar embodiment )
in response to a page displaying operation acting on the first interaction panel, displaying a detail page of the application; (n0050-0053, n0056, n0058;, FIG 2, 3: discloses a first embodiment of a target page is requested and displayed; nn0080, 0083 FIG 6-7, discloses another embodiment of the first panel discloses game prizes to be selected. In response to a selection on a first interactive interface, at target page is requested and displayed.)
in response to a downloading operation acting on the detail page, downloading the application. (n0082 – download request)
Furthermore, Jian discloses the switching of a video playback page to a detail/target page; (n0058). In addition, as explained above, Jian disclosed the subject matter of the recommendation video is played in the video playback page, the first interaction panel is displayed in the video playback page. However, Jian fails to disclose switching back to the video playback page from the target page. In other words, the cited art fails to specifically disclose the subject matter of after displaying the detail page of the application, switching, in response to a page returning operation, a current page from the detail page to the video playback page, and displaying the first interaction panel or a second interaction panel in the video playback page
However, Cho et al discloses after displaying the detail page of the application, in response to a page returning operation, switching a current page from the detail page to the video playback page. (Cho discloses the user on a website playing an interactive video within a boxed section/area (form of an interactive panel). (FIG 14; 0085, 0105) When the user selects an object/button/icon on the interactive video controls, the display of page with video is replaced with a display of a page with different content. (form of a second page being displayed) As a result, the video stops playing. (0080, 0106) The user is able to return to the first page that played the video by selecting a return object that is displayed. (0085, 0106) When the user is return to the page showing the video (see 1410) the video is unpaused and starts playing again. In addition, Cho discloses the recommendation video is played in the video playback page since Cho discloses a webpage playing a video ((FIG 14; 0085, 0105). In addition, Cho discloses the first interaction panel or a second interaction panel is displayed in the video playback page. ((FIG 14; 0085, 0105) The combination of Jian and Cho discloses returning to the webpage as disclosed by Jian which included the interaction panel with the displayed video with the use of the return object a page as disclosed by Cho.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed feature of Cho et al since it would have provided the intrinsic advantage of an effective and simple method of allowing user to returned to spot in the video on the previous page without any need of user manually restarting or searching the video.
Thus, in conjunction with the cited art, the cited combination of Jian and Cho after displaying the detail page of the application, switching, in response to a page returning operation, a current page from the detail page to the video playback page, and displaying the first interaction panel or a second interaction panel in the video playback page.
Furthermore, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein the first interaction panel is displayed in the video playback page in response to no interaction being performed with the game; or the second interaction panel is displayed in the video playback page in response to an interaction being performed with the game (in response to a page returning operation, a current page from the detail page to the video playback page, and displaying the first interaction panel or a second interaction panel), .
However, Fisher et al discloses a first page comprising a form of an interactive panel having buttons and a list of interactive elements. (FIG 3B; GUI 335; 0037)(the interactive elements are comparable as being a form of an interactive game based on 0037 of applicant’s specification “the game content of the target game is not limited in this embodiment” ) When the user performs a page displaying operation (i.e. selecting button 328 within the panel on the first page), a second page comprising interface 330 is displayed replacing the first page. (FIG 3B; GUI 330; 0037) It is noted that one of a skilled artisan would have realized that user does not need to interact with the list of interactive elements 326 on the first page prior to initiating the display of the second page based on the statement in 0037 stating “Alternatively a user may select to configure new equipment via a control 328. Selection of the new equipment control 328…result in the presentation of a new equipment setup GUI 330.” 0037 is clearly stating that the user can 1) interact with the interactive elements 326 and select the activate button or 2) skipping the interactive elements 326 completely within the panel and just selecting option 328 to load the second page. With the second page displayed, the user can select the Back button 321 (on page 330)(0037; FIG 3B) that results in the user returning to the first page having the same panel that includes interactive elements and buttons as it was previously shown before the user selected option 328.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed feature of Fisher et al since it would have provided the intrinsic advantage of providing a quick way to return to the previous page which improves user experience and prevents them from getting lost.
Thus, in conjunction with Fisher et al, the combination of would result in performing the subject matter after displaying the detail page of the application, switching, in response to a page returning operation, a current page from the detail page to the video playback page, and displaying the first interaction panel or a second interaction panel in the video playback page, wherein the first interaction panel is displayed in the video playback page in response to no interaction being performed with the game; or the second interaction panel is displayed in the video playback page in response to an interaction being performed with the game.
As per dependent claims 2 and 3, Claims 2-3 recites similar limitations as in Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, Jian et al discloses wherein the page displaying operation comprises a first page displaying operation for the game (n0051, n0071; FIG 6, 7), and displaying the detail page of the application comprises: playing a animation corresponding to the game, and switching a current page from the video playback page to the detail page of the application during a playing process of the animation; in response to that playback of the animation is completed, showing a to-be-collected object of the application in the detail page using a first presentation style (n0051, n0074, n0077; FIG 6, 7: Discloses playing an animation corresponding to the game. n0051, n0054-n0058: switching a current page from the video playback page to the detail page of the application. Furthermore, n0035 discloses the steps of the various steps described in the methods of the embodiments of the present disclosure may be executed in a different order, and/or executed in parallel. Therefore, the animation and the switching of the page as disclosed in Jian could occur in parallel. In other words, the animations of the FIG 6/7 as in explained n0051, n0074, n0077, could occur simultaneously in parallel with the functionality of a page of the video page switching to the target page. Following termination of the animation, the target page would be displayed. In addition, n0056- n0057 discloses the target page indicates that the to be collected object is presented such as a page for the user to purchase, activate, download, or use the target object to collect the object to be collected. Thus, the to be collected object is shown and implicit is displayed in a form of a first presentation style)
As per dependent claim 6, Jian et al discloses wherein the page displaying operation comprises a second page displaying operation, and displaying the detail page of the application comprises: switching a current page from the video playback page to the detail page of the application. (n0057-n0058, n0119-n0120)
As per dependent claim 8, Jian et al discloses wherein the first interaction panel further comprises a second area, the second area being configured to trigger to perform the second page displaying operation (n0054-n0056: displays an option in a form of second area that when the option is selected results in the target page being displayed)
As per dependent claim 9, Jian et al discloses further comprises: after the displaying the first interaction panel in the video playback page, in response to a first panel switching operation acting within the first interaction panel, switching display of the first interaction panel to display of the second interaction panel. (n0049-n0050; FIG 2-3; Discloses changing the panel having a first interactive interface displayed in FIG 2 to having a second interactive interface displayed in FIG 3. This is a form of change from a first panel to a second panel)
As per dependent claim 10, Jian et al discloses wherein the second interaction panel comprises at least one of a third area or a fourth area, a control is displayed in the third area, and the control is configured to trigger to perform the second page displaying operation or configured to trigger to download the application; and the fourth area is configured to trigger to perform the second page displaying operation. (FIG 3, n0054-n0056: discloses a form of a second interactive panel having a different area with an option. Selecting this option results in the target page being displayed. FIG 5, n0066 discloses another display that allows the user to select the option to download the application)
As per dependent claim 11, based on the rejection of Claim 1 and the rationale, along with the motivation, incorporated, Guan et al discloses disclose after switching the first interaction panel to the second interaction panel, in response to a second panel switching operation acting within the second interaction panel, switching display of the second interaction panel to display of the first interaction panel. Guan et al discloses the display two operation panels (FIG 14) Guan et al enables the user switch from the second interactive panel to the first interactive panel by selecting the corresponding tab associated with the panel to go to that panel. (n0183-n0185) Thus, while viewing/interacting with the second panel, the user can select “Tab 1” associated with the first interactive panel to jump from the second interactive panel to the first interactive panel.
Claim(s) 4, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al in further view of Cho et al in further view of Fisher et al in further view of Phillips et al (US 20200304626, 2020)
As per dependent claim 4, Claim 4 recites similar limitations as in Claim 1-3 and is rejected similar rationale. Furthermore, Jian discloses in response to a collecting operation for the to-be-collected object, downloading the application . (n0082). However, Jian et al fails to specifically disclose in response to a collecting operation for the to-be-collected object, downloading the application, and switching the to-be-collected object from the first presentation style to a second presentation style. However, Phillips et al in response to a collecting operation for the to-be-collected object, downloading the target application, and switching the to-be-collected object from the first presentation style to a second presentation style. (0553: discloses after hitting the get button, the application associated with the get button being downloading and the button changes to an icon indicating download progress)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed feature of Phillips et al since it would have provided the benefit of simplifying the interaction between the user and the electronic device and enhances the operability of the electronic device and makes the user-device interface more efficient. (0243)
As per dependent claim 7, Jian et al discloses switching the current page from the video playback page to the detail page of the application comprises: switching the current page from the video playback page to the detail page of the application , (FIG 3; n0050, n0054-n0056 a first layout having a button (form of a first presentation style) as shown in FIG. 3. Selecting the button in the first layout would result in a detail page being displayed.) ; showing a to-be-collected object of the target application in the detail page (n0055-0057: discloses the target page indicates that the to be collected object is presented such as a page for the user to purchase, activate, download, or use the target object to collect the object to be collected. Thus, the to be collected object is shown and implicit is displayed in a form of a presentation style ). However, the cited art fails to specifically disclose showing a to-be-collected object of the target application in the detail page using a second presentation style, and displaying a download control, wherein the download control is configured to trigger to perform the downloading operation. However, based on the rejection of Claim 4 and the rationale along with the motivation incorporated, Phillips discloses a first page having a first layout with a first button/option (presentation style) ( FIG 16E) By selecting option 1614-1, it loads a detail page of the application showing the user the ability to collect the application itself on page with a different layout/style.(0498; FIG 16F) Furthermore, this page with a different layout/style has a download link for downloading operation to occur (0498)
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al in further view of Cho et al in further view of Fisher et al in further view of Lu (US20200310771, 2020)
As per dependent claim 5, Jian et al discloses after showing a to-be-collected object of the application in the detail page using a first presentation style (n0056- 0057 discloses the target page indicates that the to be collected object is presented such as a page for the user to purchase, activate, download, or use the target object to collect the object to be collected. Thus, the to be collected object is shown and implicit is displayed in a form of a first presentation style) However, the cited art fails to disclose in response to a style switching operation for the to-be-collected object, switching the to-be-collected object from the first presentation style to a second presentation style, and displaying a download control, wherein the download control is configured to trigger to perform the downloading operation. However, Lu discloses selecting on the application object shown in FIG 11 results in a different instance/presentation of the application object being shown, see FIG 12. In addition, FIG 12 discloses a display control being presented for triggering the display. (0247)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed feature of Lu et al discloses effectively informing the user details recommendations; therefore, improving user experience (0011)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 20 are allowed.
Claims 14-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground(s) of rejection(s) since the new ground(s) of rejection(s) was necessitated by Applicant's amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If the Applicant chooses to amend the claims in future filings, the Examiner kindly states any new limitation(s) added to the claims must be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art in order to meet the written description requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph. To help expedite prosecution, promote compact prosecution and prevent a possible 112(a)/first paragraph rejection, the Examiner respectfully requests for each new limitation added to the claims in a future filing by the Applicant that the Applicant would cite the location within the specification showing support for that new limitation within the remarks. In addition, MPEP 2163.04(I)(B) states that a prima facie under 112(a)/first paragraph may be established if a claim has been added or amended, the support for the added limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where added the limitation is supported.
/ADAM M QUELER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2172
/D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2172