DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Priority
3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on applications JP 2023-137805, JP-2023-137806 filed on 08/28/2023, 08/28/2023 under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d).
Drawings
4. The drawing has been filed on 08/23/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement filed on 02/12/2025, 08/07/2025 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because:
Claim 19 limitation recites “a storage medium” embodying functional descriptive material (i.e., a program). Moreover, the scope of the presently claimed invention encompasses products not falling within one of the four statutory categories of invention. For example, the storage medium of claim 19 could be a signal incorporating a data structure within a carrier wave, at least because Applicants specification does not limit the storage medium to strictly hardware. See Applicant’s specification at, for example, [fig. 2, elements 104-106; paras., 0024, 0027-0029, 00127-00130].
The Examiner suggests amending the claims to recite “a non- transitory computer-readable storage medium . . .”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-3, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konji, US Pub 2022/0279605 (cited in IDS).
As to claim 1 [independent], Konji teaches a method of controlling an information processing apparatus including a predetermined application program and capable of communicating with a communication apparatus to execute [figs., 2, 4-5; abstract, 0005, 0042-0059, 0076-0082 Konji teaches that information processing apparatus 101 acquires the password, that was used to connect with existing access point (AP) or first access point (first AP), stored with the operating system (OS) and too be used with second access point (second AP) by the information processing apparatus 101 & printer 151 using different protocols]:
acquiring, by using the predetermined application program, a predetermined password from a predetermined wireless profile managed by an operating system (OS) of the information processing apparatus and corresponding to a first access point [figs., 2, 4-5; abstract, 0005, 0042-0059, 0076-0082 Konji teaches that the information processing apparatus 101 acquires the password, that was used to connect with existing access point (AP) or first access point (first AP), stored with the operating system (OS) to search second access point (second AP)];
executing, by using the predetermined application program, first attempt processing that is processing for attempting establishment of a connection between a second access point different from the first access point and the information processing apparatus using the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile [figs., 2, 4-5; abstract, 0005, 0042-0059, 0076-0082 Konji teaches that the information processing apparatus 101 acquires the password, that was used to connect with existing access point (AP) or first access point (first AP), stored with the operating system (OS) to search second access point (second AP). The information processing apparatus 101 the password, that was stored and used to connect with the first AP, transmitted to the printer 15 for establishing connection or communication between the printer 151 and the second AP]; and
transmitting, by using the predetermined application program, the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and information for specifying the second access point to the communication apparatus based on success of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus by the first attempt processing [figs., 2, 4-5; abstract, 0005, 0042-0059, 0076-0082 Konji teaches that the information processing apparatus 101 acquires the password, that was used to connect with existing access point (AP) or first access point (first AP), stored with the operating system (OS) to search second access point (second AP). The information processing apparatus 101 the password, that was stored and used to connect with the first AP, transmitted to the printer 15 for establishing connection or communication between the printer 151 and the second AP].
As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Konji teaches causing the information processing apparatus to execute:
receiving, from a user, a predetermined operation on a screen displayed by the predetermined application program [figs., 2, 4-6; abstract, 0005, 0018-0019, 0042-0059, 0076-0082, 0084-0085 Konji teaches that information processing apparatus 101 acquires the password, that was used to connect with existing access point (AP) or first access point (first AP), stored with the operating system (OS) and too/will be used with second access point (second AP) by the information processing apparatus 101 & printer 151 using different communication protocols upon using or selecting or performing the predetermined operation by user on display 102 (e.g., paras., 0018-0019) of the information processing apparatus 101 (e.g., fig. 5)],
wherein the first access point is an access point to which the information processing apparatus is connected when the predetermined operation is received [figs., 2, 4-6; abstract, 0005, 0018-0019, 0042-0059, 0076-0082, 0084-0085 Konji teaches that information processing apparatus 101 acquires the password, that was used to connect with existing access point (AP) or first access point (first AP), stored with the operating system (OS) and too/will be used with second access point (second AP) by the information processing apparatus 101 & printer 151 using different communication protocols upon using or selecting or performing the predetermined operation by user on display 102 (e.g., paras., 0018-0019) of the information processing apparatus 101 (e.g., fig. 5)].
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 2], Konji teaches the information processing apparatus to execute:
displaying a list of one or more access points [figs. 5-6; 0076, 0084-0085 Konji teaches that information processing apparatus 101 acquires and displays the list of access points and selects one of an access point among the list of access points as a second access point]; and
receiving, from the user, selection of any one of the one or more access points from the list [figs. 5-6; 0076, 0084-0085 Konji teaches that information processing apparatus 101 acquires and displays the list of access points and selects one of an access point among the list of access points as a second access point], wherein
the second access point is an access point selected by the user from the list [figs. 5-6; 0076, 0084-0085 Konji teaches that information processing apparatus 101 acquires and displays the list of access points and selects one of an access point among the list of access points as a second access point].
As to claim 13 [dependent from claim 1], Konji teaches causing the information processing apparatus to execute:
disconnecting the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus after success of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus by the first attempt processing [0053-0056, 0057-0059 Konji teaches that the disconnecting the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus 101 after success of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus 101]; and
establishing a connection between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus after the disconnection of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus [0053-0056, 0057-0059 Konji teaches that the disconnecting the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus 101 after success of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus 101, and then the processor 103 re-establishes a connection between the information processing apparatus 101 and the access point to which the information processing apparatus 101 was connected via Wi-Fi when the setting operation was performed. According to Wi-Fi Easy Connect, information about an access point to which the information processing apparatus 101 is connected when Wi-Fi Easy Connect is executed is transmitted].
As to claim 14 [dependent from claim 1], Konji teaches wherein the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and the information for specifying the second access point different from the first access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus by Wi-Fi (registered trademark) [figs., 2, 4-5; abstract, 0005, 0027, 0035, 0042-0059, 0076-0082 Konji teaches that the information processing apparatus 101 acquires the password, that was used to connect with existing access point (AP) or first access point (first AP), stored with the operating system (OS) to search second access point (second AP). The information processing apparatus 101 the password, that was stored and used to connect with the first AP, transmitted to the printer 15 for establishing connection or communication between the printer 151 and the second AP].
As to claim 15 [dependent from claim 1], Konji teaches wherein the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and the information for specifying the second access point different from the first access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus by Bluetooth (registered trademark) [figs., 2, 4-5; abstract, 0005, 0027, 0035, 0042-0059, 0076-0082 Konji teaches that the information processing apparatus 101 acquires the password, that was used to connect with existing access point (AP) or first access point (first AP), stored with the operating system (OS) to search second access point (second AP). The information processing apparatus 101 the password, that was stored and used to connect with the first AP, transmitted to the printer 15 for establishing connection or communication between the printer 151 and the second AP].
As to claim 16 [dependent from claim 1], Konji teaches causing the information processing apparatus to execute:
transmitting at least one of a print job for causing the communication apparatus to perform printing and a scan job for causing the communication apparatus to perform scanning [0015].
As to claim 17 [dependent from claim 1], Konji teaches wherein the information for specifying the second access point is a service set identifier (SSID) of the second access point [0033].
As to claim 18 [dependent from claim 1], Konji teaches wherein a frequency band used by the first access point is different from a frequency band used by the second access point [0052, 0055-0056, 0095].
As to claim 19 [dependent from claim 1], Konji teaches a storage medium storing a program, that is the predetermined application program, comprising computer readable instructions for carrying out the method according to claim 1 [fig. 1, element 104 or 105 or 106; 0018, 0021].
As to claim 20 [independent], However, the independent claim 20 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 20 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 4-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The dependent claims 4-5 are allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the list is a list of the one or more access points found in a search performed by the communication apparatus, in a case where the list does not include the first access point, the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and the information for specifying the second access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus based on success of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus by the first attempt processing, and in a case where the list includes the first access point, the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and information for specifying the first access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus without executing the first attempt processing., further causing the information processing apparatus to execute: disconnecting the connection between the first access point and the information processing apparatus; establishing a connection between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus after the disconnection of the connection between the first access point and the information processing apparatus; and disconnecting the connection between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus after the list is acquired via the connection between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, wherein the first attempt processing is executed after the disconnection of the connection between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claims 6-8 are allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “further causing the information processing apparatus to execute: receiving, by using the predetermined application program, an entry of a password for connection to the second access point from a user based on failure of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus by the first attempt processing, wherein the password for connection to the second access point entered in the predetermined application program and the information for specifying the second access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus based on the reception of the entry of the password for connection to the second access point., further causing the information processing apparatus to execute: executing, by using the predetermined application program, second attempt processing that is processing for attempting establishment of a connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus using the password for connection to the second access point entered in the predetermined application program, based on the reception of the entry of the password for connection to the second access point, wherein the password for connection to the second access point entered in the present application program and the information for specifying the second access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus based on success of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus by the second attempt processing., wherein in a case that the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus by the second attempt processing fails, processing for receiving, by using the predetermined application program, an entry of a password for connection to the second access point from the user again is executed”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 9 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the first attempt processing is executed based on the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and meeting a condition regarding a character string permitted as a password for an encryption method used by the second access point, processing for receiving, by using the predetermined application program, an entry of a password for connection to the second access point from a user is executed without executing the first attempt processing, based on the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and not meeting the condition regarding the character string permitted as the password for the encryption method used by the second access point, and the password for connection to the second access point entered in the predetermined application program and the information for specifying the second access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus based on the reception of the entry of the password for connection to the second access point from the user”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 10 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the first attempt processing is executed based on the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and meeting a condition regarding a character string permitted as a password for an encryption method used by the second access point, processing of acquiring a second password from a second wireless profile managed by the OS of the information processing apparatus and corresponding to the second access point is executed based on the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and not meeting the condition regarding the character string permitted as the password for the encryption method used by the second access point, third attempt processing that is processing for attempting establishment of a connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus is executed using the second password acquired from the second wireless profile, and the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and the information for specifying the second access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus based on success of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus by the third attempt processing”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 11 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the first attempt processing is executed based on a match between an encryption method used by the first access point and an encryption method used by the second access point, processing for receiving, by using the predetermined application program, an entry of a password for connection to the second access point from a user is executed without executing the first attempt processing, based on a mismatch between the encryption method used by the first access point and the encryption method used by the second access point, and the password for connection to the second access point entered in the predetermined application program and the information for specifying the second access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus based on the reception of the entry of the password for connection to the second access point from the user”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 12 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the first attempt processing is executed based on a match between an encryption method used by the first access point and an encryption method used by the second access point, processing of acquiring a second password from a second wireless profile managed by the OS of the information processing apparatus and corresponding to the second access point is executed based on a mismatch between the encryption method used by the first access point and the encryption method used by the second access point, third attempt processing that is processing for attempting establishment of a connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus is executed using the second password acquired from the second wireless profile, and the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and the information for specifying the second access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus based on success of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus by the third attempt processing”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 10 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the first attempt processing is executed based on the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and meeting a condition regarding a character string permitted as a password for an encryption method used by the second access point, processing of acquiring a second password from a second wireless profile managed by the OS of the information processing apparatus and corresponding to the second access point is executed based on the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and not meeting the condition regarding the character string permitted as the password for the encryption method used by the second access point, third attempt processing that is processing for attempting establishment of a connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus is executed using the second password acquired from the second wireless profile, and the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and the information for specifying the second access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus based on success of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus by the third attempt processing”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 10 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the first attempt processing is executed based on the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and meeting a condition regarding a character string permitted as a password for an encryption method used by the second access point, processing of acquiring a second password from a second wireless profile managed by the OS of the information processing apparatus and corresponding to the second access point is executed based on the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and not meeting the condition regarding the character string permitted as the password for the encryption method used by the second access point, third attempt processing that is processing for attempting establishment of a connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus is executed using the second password acquired from the second wireless profile, and the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and the information for specifying the second access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus based on success of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus by the third attempt processing”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 10 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the first attempt processing is executed based on the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and meeting a condition regarding a character string permitted as a password for an encryption method used by the second access point, processing of acquiring a second password from a second wireless profile managed by the OS of the information processing apparatus and corresponding to the second access point is executed based on the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and not meeting the condition regarding the character string permitted as the password for the encryption method used by the second access point, third attempt processing that is processing for attempting establishment of a connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus is executed using the second password acquired from the second wireless profile, and the predetermined password acquired from the predetermined wireless profile and the information for specifying the second access point are transmitted to the communication apparatus based on success of the establishment of the connection between the second access point and the information processing apparatus by the third attempt processing”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682