DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 8/23/26. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ByteDance (Dynamic detection of data quality and related front-end implementation, ByteDance Technology Team, 2022-07-08; https://www.51cto.com/article/713545.html.)
Claim 1, 15, 20: ByteDance discloses a method for processing data, comprising:
displaying a data display page (page 5: top figure, showing a user interface), the data display page comprising a data detail region (page 5: top figure, bottom section showing a table with column / rows) and a data summary region (page 5: top figure, top section showing cards), the data detail region comprising a plurality of data detail sub-regions (page 5: top figure, columns / rows), and each of the data detail sub-regions displaying data of an attribute corresponding to the data detail sub-region (page 5: top figure, each row in respective column corresponds to ‘screen_resolution’ attribute);
the data summary region comprising a plurality of data summary sub-regions (page 5: top figure, top section with rows), and each of the data summary sub-regions displaying summary information of data in the data detail sub-region having a same attribute as the data summary sub-region (page 5: top figure, top section. The sub-regions correspond to the same ‘screen_resolution’ attribute; page 8: The exploration card contains a summary of key information for specific columns, such as 0 values, null values, enumeration values, etc., as shown in the red box in the following figure);
in response to selection of a target data detail sub-region on the data display page, moving a data summary sub-region corresponding to the target data detail sub-region to a first target position, the first target position being a position on the data summary region, corresponding to a position of the target data detail sub-region (page 10, bottom gif showing selection of detail sub-region (table section) scrolling the summary card to align with the corresponding column, and vice versa.); and
in response to selection of a target data summary sub-region on the data display page, moving a data detail sub-region corresponding to the target data summary sub-region to a second target position, the second target position being a position on the data detail region, corresponding to a position of the target data summary sub-region (page 10, bottom gif showing selection of detail sub-region (table section) scrolling the summary card to align with the corresponding column, and vice versa. Page 13: 1. After selecting the card, the table should automatically scroll and align to the center below. If the alignment standard cannot be met, try to position it as close to the selected card as possible. 2. After selecting the table column, the card should automatically scroll and align to the center above. If it cannot meet the alignment standard, try to be as close to the selected table position as possible. 3. After searching the selected column, the card and table should automatically meet the above two rules and scroll to the visible area.)
Claim 2, 16: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 1, wherein data in the data detail region is displayed in a form of a table, and an attribute to which the data belongs is a field of the table; in response to the selection of the target data detail sub-region on the data display page, moving the data summary sub-region corresponding to the target data detail sub-region to the first target position comprises: in response to selection of a field name in the target data detail sub-region on the data display page, moving a data summary sub-region corresponding to the target data detail sub-region to the first target position, the moved data summary sub-region and the target data detail sub-region being aligned to be displayed on the data display page (page 10, bottom gif showing selection of detail sub-region (table section) scrolling the summary card to align with the corresponding column, and vice versa. Page 13: 1. After selecting the card, the table should automatically scroll and align to the center below. If the alignment standard cannot be met, try to position it as close to the selected card as possible. 2. After selecting the table column, the card should automatically scroll and align to the center above. If it cannot meet the alignment standard, try to be as close to the selected table position as possible. 3. After searching the selected column, the card and table should automatically meet the above two rules and scroll to the visible area.)
Claim 3, 17: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the target data summary sub-region in the data summary region is displayed in a form of a card, and the moved data detail sub-region and the target data summary sub-region are aligned to be displayed on the data display page (Page 13: 1. After selecting the card, the table should automatically scroll and align to the center below. If the alignment standard cannot be met, try to position it as close to the selected card as possible. 2. After selecting the table column, the card should automatically scroll and align to the center above. If it cannot meet the alignment standard, try to be as close to the selected table position as possible. 3. After searching the selected column, the card and table should automatically meet the above two rules and scroll to the visible area.)
Claim 4, 18: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the summary information indicates a dimension of a summary comprising at least one of: a zero value in the data, a null value in the data, an enumerated value in the data, or a statistical result of the data (page 8: The exploration card contains a summary of key information for specific columns, such as 0 values, null values, enumeration values, etc., as shown in the red box in the following figure.)
Claim 5, 19: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to switching of the data summary sub-region within the data summary region, switching the displayed data summary sub-region within the data summary region, a display position of the data detail sub-region displayed within the data detail region being unchanged (page 21, bottom gif showing scrolling of the detail region does not cause scrolling of the summary region); and in response to switching of the data detail sub-region within the data detail region, switching the displayed data detail sub-region in the data detail region, a display position of the data summary sub-region displayed in the data detail region being unchanged (page 21, bottom gif showing scrolling of the summary region does not cause scrolling of the detail region.)
Claim 6: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a region width of the data summary sub-region along a moving direction is greater than a region width of the data detail sub-region along a moving direction, and the moving direction of the data summary sub-region is the same as the moving direction of the data detail sub-region (page 10, bottom gif showing selection of detail sub-region (table section) scrolling the summary card (in the same direction as detail sub-regions—horizontally), wherein the width of the summary sub-regions are greater.)
Claim 7: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to an adjusting operation on a size of the data summary sub-region, adjusting the size of the data summary sub-region (page 9, top gif, showing adjusting of the cards width, which is in the same direction as the movement—horizontally.)
Claim 8: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 7, wherein in response to the adjusting operation on the size of the data summary sub-region, adjusting the size of the data summary sub-region comprises: in response to the adjustment operation on the size of the data summary sub-region, adjusting a region width of the data summary sub-region along a moving direction of the data summary sub-region (page 9, top gif, showing adjusting of the cards width, which is in the same direction as the movement—horizontally.)
Claim 9: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to selection of a sampling range on a data sampling selection page, sampling data in a database according to a selected sampling range, to obtain data displayed in the data display page (page 21, bottom gif showing filtering for user with a specific resolution.)
Claim 13: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data display page comprises: a query region configured to adjust display states of the data summary region and the data detail region (page 21, bottom gif showing filtering based on a query.)
Claim 14: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: in response to triggering on an operation step control in the query region, displaying an operation step for the data display page; in response to triggering on a group display control in the query region, displaying a group setting window; and in response to setting on groups in the group setting window, displaying data in the data detail region according to set groups, each of the groups having a data detail sub-region corresponding to the group (page 21, bottom gif showing filtering based on a query, and grouping.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ByteDance in view of Bruckhaus (8,417,715.)
Claim 10: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 9. However, ByteDance does not explicitly disclose wherein the sampling range comprises: continuous sampling, filtering sampling and random sampling; the continuous sampling is configured to retrieve continuous data from the database; the filtering sampling is configured to take data from the database according to a filter condition; and the random sampling is configured to randomly take data from the database.
Bruckhaus discloses a similar method for databases, including: wherein the sampling range comprises: continuous sampling, filtering sampling and random sampling; the continuous sampling is configured to retrieve continuous data from the database; the filtering sampling is configured to take data from the database according to a filter condition; and the random sampling is configured to randomly take data from the database (48:49-65, data from a particular year, data from a particular quarter, a subset of data such as a certain subset of customers, or a random sampling of data from a particular year or other subset of data. Sequential extraction: 31:62-67, the data aggregation services module 149 fetches rows of data from the next source table.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ByteDance and Bruckhaus so as to provide options for extraction and presentation of data from a table commonly expected by users of databases.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ByteDance in view of Cameron (2021/0250424.)
Claim 11: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 1. However, ByteDance does not explicitly disclose, wherein each of the data summary sub-regions comprises a suggestion control, and the method further comprises: in response to triggering on a target suggestion control, displaying a suggestion window, subsequent suggestion information on the data corresponding to the data summary sub-region where the target suggestion control is located being displayed on the suggestion window; and in response to triggering of a configuration control on the suggestion window, implementing a suggestion indicated by the subsequent suggestion information.
Cameron discloses a similar method for a user interface with panels, including, wherein each of the data summary sub-regions comprises a suggestion control, and the method further comprises: in response to triggering on a target suggestion control, displaying a suggestion window, subsequent suggestion information on the data corresponding to the data summary sub-region where the target suggestion control is located being displayed on the suggestion window; and in response to triggering of a configuration control on the suggestion window, implementing a suggestion indicated by the subsequent suggestion information (FIG. 2F, the development environment can generate notifications 263 about the code in coding window 244. Hovering over the notification 263 brings up tooltip window 264, which can generate a suggestion about the script, and controls 266 and 268 to implement a proposed solution.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ByteDance and Cameron so as to recommend to fix mistakes or optimize the data based on automated processing.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ByteDance in view of Rempell (20150317130.)
Claim 12: ByteDance discloses the method of claim 1. However, ByteDance does not explicitly disclose: further comprising: in response to triggering on a hiding control on the data display page, hiding the data summary region on the data display page; and in response to triggering on a display control on the data display page, displaying the hidden data summary region on the data display page.
Rempell discloses a similar method for a user interface with panels, including, further comprising: in response to triggering on a hiding control on the data display page, hiding the data summary region on the data display page; and in response to triggering on a display control on the data display page, displaying the hidden data summary region on the data display page (par. 124, control the look of publisher interface 300, such as a Panel selection to control the for hiding or viewing various panels on publisher interface 300.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ByteDance and Rempell so as to free up screen real estate as needed to view other content that’s more vital.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Oommen (US 6865567) creating histograms from a database.
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2172
8/18/2026