CTNF 18/814,362 CTNF 85738 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This application has been examined. Claims 1-20 were cancelled in a preliminary amendment. Claims 21-40 were newly added and remain pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 21-24, 26, 29-33, and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2026/0122557; hereinafter Li) . Regarding claim 21 Li discloses a method comprising: receiving a system information block (SIB) that indicates whether a satellite base station (BS) is operating in a store and forward (S&F) mode (paragraphs 0083, 0092, 0098, 0101; wherein an SIB is used to provide an indication of a satellite operating in store-and-forward) ; and performing cell reselection based on whether the satellite BS is operating in the S&F mode (paragraphs 0083, 0112-0113, 0129; performing cell (re)selection based on the SIB) . Regarding claim 22 Li discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the SIB indicates whether the satellite BS is operating in the S&F mode based at least in part on a cell barring indication in the SIB (paragraphs 0083, 0092, 0098, 0101; cell barred information) . Regarding claim 23 Li discloses the method of claim 22, wherein the cell barring indicator has a first value to indicate that a user equipment (UE) is barred from accessing a cell associated with the satellite BS or a second value to indicate that the UE is not barred from accessing the cell associated with the satellite BS (paragraphs 0083, 0095-0102; used to indicate whether the current cell allows access) . Regarding claim 24 Li discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the method further comprises determining whether to remain in the RRC connected state with the satellite BS, to initiate the network access procedure with the satellite BS, to monitor the paging channel of the satellite BS, or to transmit data to the satellite BS is based on whether the satellite BS is operating in the S&F mode (paragraphs 0098-0101, 0117-0118; the terminal accesses the cell, and/or transmit data to the network based on the store-and-forward operation of the satellite) . Regarding claim 26 Li discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the satellite BS is associated with a serving cell and the SIB or another SIB received in the serving cell indicates whether a neighbor cell is in the S&F mode (paragraph 0148; when the satellites operate in the store-and-forward mode) . Regarding claim 29 Li discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising: generating, for transmission, capability information to indicate that a user equipment (UE) supports the S&F mode (paragraphs 0103-0104, 0108, 0114-0115; terminal support for store-and-forward) ; and receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration designated for operation in the S&F mode (paragraph 0050, configuration through RRC is supported) . Regarding claim 30 Li discloses a method comprising: generating a system information block (SIB) that indicates whether a satellite base station (BS) is operating in a store and forward (S&F) mode (paragraph 0092; SIB1, or SIB19, for example) ; and outputting the SIB for transmission (paragraphs 0089, 0109, 0136; transmits a system message) . Regarding claim 31 Li discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the SIB is to indicate to at least one user equipment (UE) whether to remain in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state with the satellite BS, to initiate a network access procedure with the satellite BS, to monitor a paging channel of the satellite BS, or to transmit data to the satellite BS (paragraphs 0083, 0092-0102; initiate (re)connection to a cell, data transmission if not barred) . Regarding claim 32 Li discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the SIB includes a cell barring indication to indicate that the satellite BS is operating in the S&F mode (paragraphs 0083, 0092, 0098, 0101; cell barred information) . Regarding claim 33 Li discloses the method of claim 32, wherein the cell barring indicator has a first value to indicate that a user equipment (UE) is barred from accessing a cell associated with the satellite BS or a second value to indicate that the UE is not barred from accessing the cell associated with the satellite BS (paragraphs 0083, 0095-0102; used to indicate whether the current cell allows access) . Regarding claim 37 Li discloses the method of claim 30, further comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), capability information to indicate that the UE supports the S&F mode (paragraphs 0103-0104, 0108, 0114-0115; terminal support for store-and-forward) ; and generating, for transmission to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration designated for operation in the S&F mode (paragraph 0050, configuration through RRC is supported) . Regarding claim 38 Li discloses an apparatus comprising: processor circuitry to: receive a system information block (SIB) in a first cell, the SIB to indicate that a second cell is in a store and forward (S&F) mode (paragraph 0148; when the satellites operate in the store-and-forward mode) ; and perform cell reselection based on the indication (paragraphs 0083, 0112-0113, 0129; performing cell (re)selection based on the SIB) ; and interface circuitry coupled to the processor circuitry to receive the SIB (paragraphs 0089, 0109, 0136; terminal receives the system information) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 25, 27-28, 34-36, and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over. Regarding claim 25 Li discloses the method of claim 21. Li does not explicitly disclose but Ou, in the same field of endeavor related to store-and-forward satellites, discloses further comprising processing an indication in the SIB or another SIB that indicates a time at which the satellite BS is to switch from the S&F mode to a normal operating mode or from the normal operating mode to the S&F mode (paragraph 0135; time information may indicate when (and/or how long) the S&F operation is (or will be) used) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ou, in order to improve connectivity efficiency (Ou: paragraph 0005) . Regarding claim 27 Li discloses the method of claim 26. Li does not explicitly disclose but Ou, in the same field of endeavor related to store-and-forward satellites, discloses further comprising processing an indication in the SIB or the another SIB that indicates a time at which the neighbor cell is to switch from the S&F mode to a normal operating mode or from the normal operating mode to the S&F mode (paragraphs 0135-0138, 0192, 0219; wherein the configuration information can be related to a neighboring satellite, the configuration information including store-and-forward operation information) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ou, in order to improve connectivity efficiency (Ou: paragraph 0005) . Regarding claim 28 Li discloses the method of claim 21. Li does not explicitly disclose but Ou, in the same field of endeavor related to store-and-forward satellites, discloses wherein performing cell reselection includes prioritizing a first cell that is operating in a normal mode over a second cell that is operating in the S&F mode (paragraphs 0059, 0077; wherein the UE determines use of store-and-forward according to specific criteria, thus, if those are not met, normal operating mode can be chosen as a preference) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ou, in order to improve connectivity efficiency (Ou: paragraph 0005) . Regarding claim 34 Li discloses the method of claim 30. Li does not explicitly disclose but Ou, in the same field of endeavor related to store-and-forward satellites, discloses further comprising processing an indication in the SIB or another SIB that indicates a time at which the satellite BS is to switch from the S&F mode to a normal operating mode or from the normal operating mode to the S&F mode (paragraph 0135; time information may indicate when (and/or how long) the S&F operation is (or will be) used) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ou, in order to improve connectivity efficiency (Ou: paragraph 0005) . Regarding claim 35 Li discloses the method of claim 30, further comprising the system information to be transmitted in the SIB or another SIB (paragraph 0092; SIB1, or SIB19, for example) . Li does not explicitly disclose but Ou, in the same field of endeavor related to store-and-forward satellites, discloses generating system information to indicate whether a neighbor cell is in the S&F mode (paragraphs 0135-0138, 0192, 0219; wherein the configuration information can be related to a neighboring satellite, the configuration information including store-and-forward operation information) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ou, in order to improve connectivity efficiency (Ou: paragraph 0005) . Regarding claim 36 Li discloses the method of claim 35. Li does not explicitly disclose but Ou, in the same field of endeavor related to store-and-forward satellites, discloses wherein the system information further indicates a time at which the neighbor cell is to switch from the S&F mode to a normal operating mode or from the normal operating mode to the S&F mode (paragraphs 0135-0138, 0192, 0219; wherein the configuration information can be related to a neighboring satellite, the configuration information including store-and-forward operation information) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ou, in order to improve connectivity efficiency (Ou: paragraph 0005) . Regarding claim 39 Li discloses the apparatus of claim 38. Li does not explicitly disclose but Ou, in the same field of endeavor related to store-and-forward satellites, discloses wherein the SIB further indicates a time at which the second cell is to switch from the S&F mode to a normal operating mode (paragraph 0135; time information may indicate when (and/or how long) the S&F operation is (or will be) used) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ou, in order to improve connectivity efficiency (Ou: paragraph 0005) . Regarding claim 40 Li discloses the apparatus of claim 38. Li does not explicitly disclose but Ou, in the same field of endeavor related to store-and-forward satellites, discloses wherein to perform the cell reselection includes to deprioritize the second cell (paragraphs 0059, 0077; wherein the UE determines use of store-and-forward according to specific criteria, thus, if those are not met, normal operating mode can be chosen as a preference) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Ou, in order to improve connectivity efficiency (Ou: paragraph 0005) . Citation of Pertinent Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2025/0038832 to Shrestha et al. – that discloses methods, processing systems, and computer-readable mediums for data transmission using store and forward satellites . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Aixa A Guadalupe-Cruz whose telephone number is (571)270-7523. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 6AM - 4:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached at 571-272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/ Examiner Art Unit 2466 /FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/814,362 Page 2 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/814,362 Page 3 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/814,362 Page 4 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/814,362 Page 5 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/814,362 Page 6 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/814,362 Page 7 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/814,362 Page 8 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/814,362 Page 9 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/814,362 Page 10 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/814,362 Page 11 Art Unit: 2466