Pursuant to communications filed on 08/23/2024, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits wherein claims 2-37 are currently pending in the instant application.
-. It is noted that claim 1 has been canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/03/2024; 12/03/2024; 09/16/2025; and 12/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns / lines numbers or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Examiner has also cited references in PTO-892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-5, 7-16, and 18-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mackin (US20170266077- IDS).
Regarding claims 2 and 37, Mackin discloses a method and the associated system (e.g., robotic massage machines, and more particularly to a programmable massage machine having routines which control both the motion of end effectors and the localized ambient environment), comprising:
generating, via at least one processor (fig. 3: controller 26 and/or fig. 14: controller 304) and during a first time period, a motion plan for an end effector of a robotic manipulator to perform an action (fig. 3: robotic machine 10 having multi-axis robotic arms 31/36 used for the purpose of human massage – see [0085]), the motion plan specifying a sequence of goals (e.g., see [0071] disclosing the robot programming …. can be understood as an automated sequence of operations over a period of time; see [0048] disclosing controller 26 with integrated microphone to receive voice commands from the user in addition to touch commands from the user interface 46, as shown in FIG. 5. See [0007] disclosing a preprogrammed initial massage path based on the first body form, and a second body form having at least a first anatomical calibration point located in an analogous anatomical location as the first anatomical calibration point of the first body form. The processor is programmed to morph the initial massage path to calculate a calibrated massage path based on the second body form.); and
causing the robotic manipulator to perform the action using a modified motion plan (e.g., calibrated massage path) in the presence of a deformable body (e.g., a human body is considered as a deformable body), the modified motion plan being based on the motion plan and data associated with the deformable body, during a playback period subsequent to the first time period (e.g., the “modified plan” is being interpreted as similarly as the “calibrated path” as disclosed at least in [0007]: The processor is programmed to morph the initial massage path to calculate a calibrated massage path based on the second body form. In a preferred embodiment, the processor is programmed to move the robotic arm such that the end effector follows the calibrated massage path. In a preferred embodiment, the processor is programmed to move the robotic arm such that the end effector moves within an area bounded by the calibrated massage path.).
Regarding claim 3, Mackin discloses, further comprising generating a body model of the deformable body, the modified motion plan being generated based on the body model (see [0065] disclosing for pathways not reaching specific anatomical calibration points, the paths are interpolated to the closest neighboring points. This can be done using standard 3D scanner technology that maps 3D objects into a 3D model and then that model, in this case a human body, can be visualized and utilized for secondary processes because the form is then known in the computer.).
Regarding claim 4, Mackin discloses, further comprising: receiving, at the at least one processor and during execution of the motion plan in the presence of the deformable body, a representation of a user interaction representing at least one of an adjustment to a position, an orientation, an adjustment to a pressure, an adjustment to a duration, or a user sentiment (see [0063] disclosing The normal force or the force applied by the end effector 219 is predetermined, but, in a preferred embodiment can be changed by the user during use. For example, if the initial force is 50 N, the user can command (via voice command, touch screen or other control) to increase or decrease force/pressure. If the user says “harder” the force may increase to, e.g., 75 N or the user says “softer” the force may decrease to, e.g., 25 N. Also, the initial path can be programmed such that the normal force changes during the course of the routine or massage.); and
the modified motion plan being generated based on the at least one of the adjustment to the position, the orientation, the adjustment to the pressure, the adjustment to the duration, or the user sentiment (see [0067] disclosing Still referring to FIG. 15 are shown the icons 401 and 402 used for identifying time based location of the left and right end effectors on the robotic arms 31,36. In other words, as the robot moves along the path the user can control how fast it is moving based on where the robot is along the path. The robotic arms are controllable in the timeline of the calibrated path for position, force, and speed.).
Regarding claim 5, Mackin discloses, wherein the modified motion plan is generated based on a protocol selection specifying at least one of a body region to target or a body region to avoid (see [0085] disclosing in another embodiment, the arms can have fewer than 6-axis movement. Robotic arms 31, 36 controlled to apply a user defined force normal to the body surface. Robotic arms 31, 36 controlled to avoid safe zones such as the human head area, spine center line, or other areas.).
Regarding claim 7, Mackin discloses, wherein the modified motion plan is generated based on calculations performed at least one of: using a UV map, in Barycentric space, or in Cartesian space (see [0056] disclosing a mathematical adaptation of the end effector path x,y,z coordinates are matched to body shape based on differential calibration (referred to herein as a “calibrated path” or “calibrated massage path”). It will be appreciated by those of ordinary skill in the art that the calibrated path is morphed, warped or skewed from the original path. In other words the aspect ratio of the vector graphic is adjusted. See [0063] disclosing the initial or calibrated path can just be X and Y coordinates and the end effector 219 will move up and down with the contours of the body and will apply a continuous or constant force against the body surface.).
Regarding claim 8, Mackin discloses, wherein the sequence of goals is a first sequence of goals, the modified motion plan including a second sequence of goals, the method further comprising, while the modified motion plan is being performed, adding an interpolated massage goal between a first goal from the second sequence of goals and a second goal from the second sequence of goals (see [0058] disclosing common anatomical calibration points on the initial or first user body form and the second user body form representing the same anatomical position on each body form or user are used to calculate the vector difference of anatomical calibration points between users. This calculated vector may then be applied along the tool path using best-fit interpolation methods. See [0059] disclosing further details of the interpolation technique.).
Regarding claim 9, Mackin discloses, further comprising adding a second, modified contact force to the modified motion plan during the performing of the modified motion plan, in response to determining that a first contact force of the modified motion plan is applied within a friction cone (see figure 13; see [0061] disclosing further detail of how the robot end effector 219 (which can be any of the end effectors described herein or known in the massage art) is adjusted to individual body forms in order to apply a normal force to the body. Sensors 222 that surround or otherwise connected to the end effector 219, measure the distance 220, 221 to the body surface (i.e., the patient's skin). These measurements are used to calculate the desired normal force direction and then the robot end effector axis is oriented in alignment with the same normal force direction. The mechanics and method of sensing simplify the programming requirements for an end effector 219 to follow a path. In a preferred embodiment, still referring to FIG. 13, only X and Y coordinates are programmed and calibrated because the robot then determines the Z coordinates (the Z-axis is the axis normal to the body surface) by measurement, as described above.).
Regarding claim 10, Mackin discloses, wherein the modified motion plan includes a plurality of segments, each segment from the plurality of segments one of: generated based on recorded motion capture (see [0058] disclosing in order to initially calibrate the robot to each individual user, common or analogous anatomical points on a user's body such as the center line of the spine, shoulder blade or top of the head are recorded into robot memory by physically moving the robot end effector to each anatomical calibration point by issuing a store physically or voice command.), or generated based on dynamically generated motion paths.
Regarding claim 11, Mackin discloses, wherein the generating the motion plan includes recording motions of the robotic manipulator, and augmenting at least one of an applied therapeutic load (see [0063] disclosing the normal force or the force applied by the end effector 219 is predetermined, but, in a preferred embodiment can be changed by the user during use. For example, if the initial force is 50 N, the user can command (via voice command, touch screen or other control) to increase or decrease force/pressure. If the user says “harder” the force may increase to, e.g., 75 N or the user says “softer” the force may decrease to, e.g., 25 N. Also, the initial path can be programmed such that the normal force changes during the course of the routine or massage.) or an applied frictional load.
Regarding claim 12, Mackin discloses, wherein the generating the motion plan includes recording motions of the robotic manipulator and generating a velocity profile (see [0011] disclosing the robotic system may be programmed by a user through an intuitive teaching function by physically moving the components as desired and recording the path, speed and pressure.).
Regarding claim 13, Mackin discloses, wherein the deformable body is a user, the method further comprising receiving input from the user during the performing of the modified motion plan, and further modifying the modified motion plan based on the input (see fig. 15; see [0067] disclosing referring to FIG. 15 is shown an exemplary embodiment of the user interface touch tablet 46. On the tablet 46 are shown general control icons 405 for speed and pressure for the left and right robotic arms 31, 36. Still referring to FIG. 15 are shown the icons 401 and 402 used for identifying time based location of the left and right end effectors on the robotic arms 31,36. In other words, as the robot moves along the path the user can control how fast it is moving based on where the robot is along the path. The robotic arms are controllable in the timeline of the calibrated path for position, force, and speed. Still referring to FIG. 15 is shown a typical menu icon 403 and a moveable icon 404 for setting the time based location of the end effector icons 401, 402).
Regarding claim 14, Mackin discloses, wherein the sequence of goals is a first sequence of goals, the modified motion plan including a second sequence of goals, the second sequence of goals including a high level goal, a medium level goal, and a low level goal (see [0063] disclosing the normal force or the force applied by the end effector 219 is predetermined, but, in a preferred embodiment can be changed by the user during use. For example, if the initial force is 50 N, the user can command (via voice command, touch screen or other control) to increase or decrease force/pressure. If the user says “harder” the force may increase to, e.g., 75 N or the user says “softer” the force may decrease to, e.g., 25 N. Also, the initial path can be programmed such that the normal force changes during the course of the routine or massage.).
Regarding claim 15, Mackin discloses, wherein the sequence of goals is a first sequence of goals and the modified motion plan includes a second sequence of goals, the method further comprising executing a fault mitigation process in response to detecting a fault during the performing of the modified motion plan, the fault mitigation process including at least one of modifying a magnitude of an applied force associated with the modified motion plan, modifying a direction of the applied force associated with the modified motion plan, slowing a speed associated with a goal from the second sequence of goals, terminating the goal from the second sequence of goals, modifying the goal from the second sequence of goals, or modifying an orientation of the robotic manipulator associated with the modified motion plan (see [0070] disclosing The controller 304 receives motor feedback and adjusts power as necessary to maintain force as specified in the program. In a preferred embodiment, the feedback is used to stop the robot in the event of an unexpected object in the path. It will be appreciated by those of ordinary skill in the art that the force is limited throughout the operation to be within safe operating limits for collaborative robots. During the execution of the program, the user can interrupt and modify the program as desired.).
Regarding claim 16, Mackin discloses, wherein the modified motion plan includes a plurality of strokes, the performing the action including matching a current stroke from the plurality of strokes to a preceding stroke from the plurality of strokes, based on at least one of a position of the robotic manipulator associated with the preceding stroke, a linear velocity associated with the preceding stroke, an angular velocity associated with the preceding stroke, a radius of curvature of a spline fit to an end of the preceding stroke, an exit direction associated with the preceding stroke, an acceleration associated with the preceding stroke, or a jerk property associated with the preceding stroke (see [0061] disclosing FIG. 13 is shown further detail of how the robot end effector 219 (which can be any of the end effectors described herein or known in the massage art) is adjusted to individual body forms in order to apply a normal force to the body. Sensors 222 that surround or otherwise connected to the end effector 219, measure the distance 220, 221 to the body surface (i.e., the patient's skin). These measurements are used to calculate the desired normal force direction and then the robot end effector axis is oriented in alignment with the same normal force direction…..see also [0063] for further details on force applied).
Regarding claim 18, Mackin discloses, wherein the modified motion plan includes a plurality of strokes, the method further comprising generating the modified motion plan using one of a natural stroke generation process (e.g., see [0072] disclosing the user then arranges layers within a composition in space and time, and composite using transparency features to determine which parts of underlying layers play through the layers stacked on top of them. By way of example, if a vibration layer 603 with a 20 N force set point were placed over another force layer set to 30 N and the vibration layer is set to 50% opacity, the resultant maximum force that will be imparted by the robot will be 35 N.) or a synthetic stroke generation process.
Regarding claim 19, Mackin discloses, further comprising increasing a force associated with the modified motion plan during the performing of the modified motion plan, in response to detecting at least a predefined amount of friction (see [0063] disclosing the force can be increased).
Regarding claim 20, Mackin discloses, wherein the sequence of goals is a first sequence of goals, the modified motion plan including a second sequence of goals, the method further comprising, while the modified motion plan is being performed, replacing a first goal from the second sequence of goals with a second goal different from the first goal (see figures 12a and 12b; see [0057] disclosing the initial massage and the calibrated massage – i.e., plans can be modified).
Regarding claim 21, Mackin discloses, wherein the modified motion plan includes a plurality of strokes, the method further comprising, while the modified motion plan is being performed, modifying a stroke from the plurality of strokes to avoid exceeding an operational capability of the robotic manipulator (see [0007] disclosing the processor is programmed to morph the initial massage path to calculate a calibrated massage path based on the second body form. In a preferred embodiment, the processor is programmed to move the robotic arm such that the end effector follows the calibrated massage path. In a preferred embodiment, the processor is programmed to move the robotic arm such that the end effector moves within an area bounded by the calibrated massage path.).
Regarding claim 22, Mackin discloses, wherein the sequence of goals is a first sequence of goals and the modified motion plan includes a second sequence of goals, the method further comprising continuously tracking a property of the deformable body and modifying at least one goal from the second sequence of goals based on the tracking (see [0007] disclosing the processor is programmed to morph the initial massage path to calculate a calibrated massage path based on the second body form. In a preferred embodiment, the processor is programmed to move the robotic arm such that the end effector follows the calibrated massage path. In a preferred embodiment, the processor is programmed to move the robotic arm such that the end effector moves within an area bounded by the calibrated massage path.).
Regarding claim 23, Mackin discloses, wherein the sequence of goals is a first sequence of goals and the modified motion plan includes a second sequence of goals, the method further comprising continuously tracking a property of the deformable body and one of adding or removing at least one goal from the second sequence of goals based on the tracking (see [0059] disclosing The second body form (or second user) includes four respective anatomical calibration points 226 that are located at the same related anatomical points as the four first body anatomical calibration points 225. The initial massage path is then modified, morphed or adjusted (using calculated vectors 227) to the four second body anatomical calibration points 226 to form the calibrated massage path 229.).
Regarding claim 24, Mackin discloses, wherein the modified motion plan includes an operating strategy, the operating strategy configured to achieve at least one of a predefined anatomical reward (e.g., see [0087] disclosing improved pain relief), a predefined physiological reward, or a predefined virtual reward.
Regarding claim 25, Mackin discloses, further comprising further modifying the modified motion plan, during the performing of the modified motion plan, to include a stroke that targets a predefined region of the deformable body based on a body state of the deformable body (see figure 12b shows side-by-side views of a human body one showing an initial massage area and the other showing a calibrated massage area; See figure 13 shows an area of a body with an end effector – see also [0057]).
Regarding claim 26, Mackin discloses, wherein the data associated with the deformable body includes an indication of a subjective pressure perceived by the deformable body (see [0008] disclosing the processor is programmed to maintain the end effector at an orientation that is generally normal to the subject. Preferably, the processor is programmed to cause the robotic arm to press the end effector against the subject at a generally constant pressure. In a preferred embodiment, the robotic arm includes a sensor that senses the pressure applied to the subject.).
Regarding claim 27, Mackin discloses, wherein the modified motion plan is generated based on at least one of the indication of the subjective pressure (see [0008] disclosing the processor is programmed to maintain the end effector at an orientation that is generally normal to the subject. Preferably, the processor is programmed to cause the robotic arm to press the end effector against the subject at a generally constant pressure. In a preferred embodiment, the robotic arm includes a sensor that senses the pressure applied to the subject.) or an underlying tissue composition of the deformable body, and the generation of the modified motion plan includes at least one of increasing an overall massage pressure (see [0063] The normal force or the force applied by the end effector 219 is predetermined, but, in a preferred embodiment can be changed by the user during use. For example, if the initial force is 50 N, the user can command (via voice command, touch screen or other control) to increase or decrease force/pressure. If the user says “harder” the force may increase to, e.g., 75 N or the user says “softer” the force may decrease to, e.g., 25 N.), decreasing an overall massage pressure, increasing an area-specific massage pressure, or decreasing an area-specific massage pressure.
Regarding claim 28, Mackin discloses, wherein the modified motion plan includes at least one tapotement pattern (see [0078] disclosing In Pattern mode, the user can choose predefined patterns such as a spiral, a figure-8 and other geometric patterns. Each pattern has a start point and an end point that the robot will follow in accordance with the composition timeline. It will be appreciated that the patterns are the initial massage routine. Patterns can be scaled and rotated in the graphic user interface and placed in a layer above an outline of a human body form.).
Regarding claim 29, Mackin discloses, wherein the modified motion plan is configured to avoid a predefined region of the deformable body (see [0067] disclosing Essentially, the user can outline areas on the screen over the outline of the on screen body image where they want to prevent the robotic arms from going during a massage routine. Examples could be not massaging directly over the spine bones with a hard roller ball, or not along the edge of shoulder blades or well away from the head area.).
Regarding claim 30, Mackin discloses, further comprising validating the modified motion plan prior to performing the action, based on at least one of a predicted reachability or a predicted manipulability associated with the modified motion plan, given a current position of the robotic manipulator (see abstract disclosing The processor is programmed to morph the initial massage path to calculate a calibrated massage path based on the second body form. In a preferred embodiment, the processor is programmed to move the robotic arm such that the end effector follows the calibrated massage path. In a preferred embodiment, the processor is programmed to move the robotic arm such that the end effector moves within an area bounded by the calibrated massage path.).
Regarding claim 31, Mackin discloses, wherein the modified motion plan includes a representation of a distribution of pressure across a surface of the deformable body (see figure 13; see [0064] disclosing if one were to program the end effector 219 to follow a path along the body surface from point 223 to point 224, only two data points would be required (223 and 224) and only the X/Y coordinates. The robot would then move in a straight line from point 223 to point 224, but follow the contour of the body (Z-axis movement) while maintaining the desired normal force end effector 219 normal orientation to the body. As the robot moves across the contour it measures distance to maintain orientation (and can rotate about any of the joints, as necessary) and measures force torque to know how to move in the Z direction.).
Regarding claim 32, Mackin discloses, wherein the robotic manipulator is a first robotic manipulator, and the modified motion plan defines a first set of strokes to be executed by the first robotic manipulator and a second set of strokes to be executed by a second robotic manipulator different from the first robotic manipulator (see [0007] disclosinga robotic massage machine that includes at least one movable robotic arm having a first end effector, a processor that controls the movable robotic arm, a memory, a first body form having at least a first anatomical calibration point, a preprogrammed initial massage path based on the first body form, and a second body form having at least a first anatomical calibration point located in an analogous anatomical location as the first anatomical calibration point of the first body form. The processor is programmed to morph the initial massage path to calculate a calibrated massage path based on the second body form. In a preferred embodiment, the processor is programmed to move the robotic arm such that the end effector follows the calibrated massage path. In a preferred embodiment, the processor is programmed to move the robotic arm such that the end effector moves within an area bounded by the calibrated massage path.).
Regarding claim 33, Mackin discloses, wherein at least one of (1) the generating the motion plan, (2) a generation of the modified motion plan, or (3) a modification to the modified motion plan is based on a user selection, received at the processor, of massage content (see [0076] disclosing a programming user can use any computer pointing device or their finger on a touch screen to draw a continuous path in a graphic layer above an outline of a human body form 215 (the initial massage path), as shown in FIG. 12a. The robot will follow the path from start point to the end point in accordance with the composition timeline. As described previously, the path will be calibrated 216 (the calibrated massage path) to the end user's profile each time the sequence is executed.).
Regarding claim 34, Mackin discloses, wherein at least one of (1) the generating the motion plan, (2) a generation of the modified motion plan, or (3) a modification to the modified motion plan is based on a signal, received at the processor, representing a user request for interaction between the robotic manipulator and a specified location of the deformable body (see [0076] disclosing a programming user can use any computer pointing device or their finger on a touch screen to draw a continuous path in a graphic layer above an outline of a human body form 215 (the initial massage path), as shown in FIG. 12a. The robot will follow the path from start point to the end point in accordance with the composition timeline. As described previously, the path will be calibrated 216 (the calibrated massage path) to the end user's profile each time the sequence is executed.).
Regarding claim 35, Mackin discloses, wherein at least one of (1) the generating the motion plan, (2) a generation of the modified motion plan, or (3) a modification to the modified motion plan is based on a signal, received at the processor, representing a user request to increase a duration of time during which the robotic manipulator is manipulating a specified location of the deformable body (see [0073] disclosing The location in the timeline and the duration of a sequence or composition is shown graphically as a rectangular labeled bar. The location designates when the sequence or composition will be played and the length of the bar specifies the duration. For example, dragging a bar to be longer for a motion sequence or composition will make the robot motion velocity slower. It is also possible for a motion sequence to specify the motion speed and the length of the bar will be calculated based in the overall length of the path and the specified speed of operation.).
Regarding claim 36, Mackin discloses, wherein at least one of the motion plan or the modified motion plan includes a contact goal generated based on a contact patch, the contact patch representing a contact surface area between the robotic manipulator and a surface of the deformable body (see [0085] disclosing Machine programming based on memorizing body surface contact points. Machine programming based on drawing lines on a computer screen over a body figure outline. Calibration of the massage machine to allow programmed routines to be used between different body forms. Machine programming to control the robotic arms 31, 36 to perform a massage routine for a specified time, applying a specified force, but following a random path within a bounded area 217. Automatic change of end effector 58 in accordance with a specified massage routine. The ability to perform physical therapy tasks such as applying resistive force, traction or range of motion testing.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin in view of Wang et al (NPL “Constraint-based Correspondence Matching for Stereo-based Interactive Robotic Massage Machine” - 2013).
Regarding claim 6, Mackin discloses as discussed in claim 2. Mackin is silent to disclose, wherein the motion plan includes barycentric coordinates.
However, in the same field of endeavour or analogous art, Wang et teaches the claimed features implemented in a robotic massage machine, and further teaches the claimed feature of wherein the motion plan includes barycentric coordinates (see at least section 3.2.1, page 184 disclosing In the present study, these criteria are satisfied using a descriptor based on the Triangle Barycentric Coordinates system [18, 19]. According to [25], the barycentric coordinate system is a coordinate system in which the location of a point is specified as the center of mass, or barycenter, of masses placed at the vertices of a simplex. The Triangle Barycentric Coordinates (TBC) system provides the means to describe the position of a point relative to the positions of three vertices.).
Therefore, it is prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mackin to include the idea of wherein the motion plan includes barycentric coordinates, as taught by Wang et al, for the benefit of having a novel correspondences detection scheme designated as Correspondences from Epipolar geometry and Contours via Triangle barycentric coordinates (CECT).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin.
Regarding claim 6, Mackin discloses as discussed in claim 16. Mackin discloses substantially wherein the matching the current stroke from the plurality of strokes to the preceding stroke from the plurality of strokes (see [0072] disclosing the vibration / kneading parameters using computer), But does not expressly teach using a “neural network”. Nevertheless, although a “neural network” is not specified, it was common knowledge that a “neural network” is a popular choice among a finite number of options to process data, identify complex patterns, and make predictions, as such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mackin by using a “neural network” to match the strokes (i.e., vibrating, kneading, tapping) since a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached form PTO-892.
/JAIME FIGUEROA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656