DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “wherein the crash test dummy is configured such that the sensor grid is posiitoned to the chest of the crash test dummy;”, it appears the term “positioned” is spelled incorrectly. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pressure sensing garment" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xsensor “High Speed (HS) Impact System” https://www.systemaccess.com.tw/upload/web/Product/XSENSOR/647613e1185990c2bcb8994f_XSENSOR_Datasheet_HSImpactSystem_052023.pdf published 05/2023 (hereinafter “Xsensor”)
Regarding claim 1, Xsensor discloses a system (abstract) for determining pressure sensing data exerted on a crash test dummy during a crash test (See Pages 1-2), the system comprising:
in an environment where a vehicle is configured to be pulled into a collision with the crash test dummy strapped by a seatbelt across a chest of the crash test dummy (See page 1);
the pressure sensing garment (garment shown worn by test dummy in image of page 1) configured to measure pressure applied to a chest of the crash test dummy during a collision (detects impact data of seat belt worn by test dummy), wherein the crash test dummy is affixed to the pressure sensing garment and the seatbelt is positioned on top of the pressure sensing garment (See pages 1-2), the pressure sensing garment comprising:
a sensor grid (uses a plurality of thin, flexible sensors that covers various sizes grid ranges) including a plurality of sensors configured to measure pressure data (see pages 1-2), wherein the crash test dummy is configured such that the sensor grid is positioned to the chest of the crash test dummy (sensors positioned in seatbelts across the chest of the test dummy); and
a computer configured to: receive pressure data from the pressure sensing garment, and determine the position of the seatbelt based on the received pressure data (Sensors transmit data to data logger which performs pressure mapping and provides a visual real-time analysis).
Regarding claim 2, Xsensors discloses the pressure sensing garment is further configured to measure acceleration of the crash test dummy during the collision. (Sensors transmit data to data logger which performs high speed pressure and impact analysis of the crash test dummy during and after crash events).
Regarding claim 3, Xsensors discloses the pressure sensing garment is further configured to measure pressure applied to a back of the crash test dummy during the collision. (See pages 1-2 which discloses placing sensors in different areas such as the back of the seat and head area of the crash test dummy.)
Regarding claim 4, Xsensors discloses the pressure sensing garment is a flexible panel applied to the chest of the crash test dummy. (See pages 1-2 which discloses the garment could be a vest/shirt placed on the dummy.)
Regarding claim 5, Xsensors discloses the pressure sensing garment is a vest. (See pages 1-2 which discloses the garment could be a vest/shirt placed on the dummy.)
Regarding claim 6, Xsensors discloses the pressure sensing garment is a shirt. (See pages 1-2 which discloses the garment could be a vest/shirt placed on the dummy.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xsensor “High Speed (HS) Impact System” https://www.systemaccess.com.tw/upload/web/Product/XSENSOR/647613e1185990c2bcb8994f_XSENSOR_Datasheet_HSImpactSystem_052023.pdf published 05/2023 (hereinafter “Xsensor”) in view of Reinbold et al US20030217582.
Regarding claim 7, Xsensor discloses the system according to claim 1.
However, Xsensor fails to disclose apply a set of filters to the pressure data to isolate pressure data. Reinbold discloses apply a set of filters to the pressure data to isolate pressure data (Paragraphs 0039-0040, 0043-0044, 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Reinbold into Xsensor for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for filtering out unwanted data that can cause measurement errors.
Regarding claim 8, Xsensor discloses the system according to claim 7.
However, Xsensor fails to disclose the set of filters includes a low pressure filter. Reinbold discloses the set of filters includes a low pressure filter. (Paragraphs 0039-0040, 0043-0044, 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Reinbold into Xsensor for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for filtering out unwanted data that can cause measurement errors.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xsensor “High Speed (HS) Impact System” https://www.systemaccess.com.tw/upload/web/Product/XSENSOR/647613e1185990c2bcb8994f_XSENSOR_Datasheet_HSImpactSystem_052023.pdf published 05/2023 (hereinafter “Xsensor”) in view of Albertelli et al US7068856 (hereinafter “Albertelli”).
Regarding claim 9, Xsensor discloses the system according to claim 1.
However, Xsensor fails to disclose the computer is configured to compute a center of pressure (COP) of the pressure data. Albertelli discloses the computer (system-100) is configured to compute a center of pressure (COP) (centroid-35) of the pressure data. (See Figs 2, Col 3 line 9-40, Col 5 line 38- Col 6 line 50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Albertelli into Xsensor for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow more accurately determining the angle of the seatbelt.
Regarding claim 10, Xsensor discloses the system according to claim 9.
However, Xsensor fails to disclose the computer is configured to compute an angle of the seatbelt based on the COP of the pressure data. Albertelli discloses the computer is configured to compute an angle (orientation angle- 55, 60) of the seatbelt based on the COP of the pressure data. (See Figs 2, Col 3 line 9-40, Col 5 line 38- Col 6 line 50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Albertelli into Xsensor for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow more accurately determining the angle of the seatbelt.
Regarding claim 11, Xsensor discloses the system according to claim 10.
However, Xsensor fails to disclose the computer is configured to compute a centerline of the seatbelt based on the COP of the pressure data and the angle of the seatbelt. Albertelli discloses the computer is configured to compute a centerline of the seatbelt based on the COP of the pressure data and the angle of the object in the image. (See Figs 2, Col 3 line 9-40, Col 5 line 38- Col 6 line 50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Albertelli into Xsensor for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow more accurately determining the angle of the seatbelt.
Regarding claim 12, Xsensor discloses the system according to claim 11.
However, Xsensor fails to disclose the computer is configured to compute the centerline of the seatbelt using a convolution neural network (CNN). Albertelli discloses the computer (system-100) is configured to compute the centerline of the seatbelt using a convolution neural network (CNN). (Col 6 line 27- Col 7 line 42)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Albertelli into Xsensor for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow more accurately determining the angle of the seatbelt.
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xsensor “High Speed (HS) Impact System” https://www.systemaccess.com.tw/upload/web/Product/XSENSOR/647613e1185990c2bcb8994f_XSENSOR_Datasheet_HSImpactSystem_052023.pdf published 05/2023 (hereinafter “Xsensor”) in view of Reinbold et al US20030217582 in further view of Albertelli et al US7068856 (hereinafter “Albertelli”).
Regarding claim 13, Xsensor discloses a method (system shown implements the method) of determining a seatbelt using a pressure sensing garment (uses vest/shirt), the method comprising:
receiving pressure data from a pressure sensing garment affixed to a crash test dummy (See image on page 1),
wherein the pressure sensing garment is configured to measure pressure applied to a chest of the crash test dummy during a collision (detects and maps pressure data),
wherein the pressure sensing garment comprises a sensor grid including a plurality of sensors configured to measure pressure data (garment can include various size grids of sensors), and
wherein the crash test dummy is strapped, by a seatbelt, into a vehicle configured to be pulled into a collision (see pages 1-2).
However, Xsensor fails to disclose applying a set of filters to the pressure data to isolate pressure data caused by the seatbelt. Reinbold discloses applying a set of filters to the pressure data to isolate pressure data caused by the seatbelt. (Paragraphs 0039-0040, 0043-0044, 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Reinbold into Xsensor for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for filtering out unwanted data that can cause measurement errors.
However, the combination of Xsensor and Reinbold fails to disclose computing a center of pressure (COP) of the filtered pressure data; computing an angle of the seatbelt based on the COP; and computing a centerline of the seatbelt based on the COP and angle of the seatbelt. Albertelli discloses computing a center of pressure (COP) (centroid-35) of the filtered pressure data (See Figs 2, Col 3 line 9-40, Col 5 line 38- Col 6 line 50); computing an angle of the seatbelt based on the COP (orientation angle- 55, 60) (See Figs 2, Col 3 line 9-40, Col 5 line 38- Col 6 line 50); and computing a centerline of the image based on the COP and angle of the image. (See Figs 2, Col 3 line 9-40, Col 5 line 38- Col 6 line 50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Albertelli into Xsensor for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow more accurately determining the angle of the seatbelt.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Xsensor in view of Reinbold in further view of Albertelli discloses the method according to claim 13.
Furthermore, Xsensor discloses the pressure sensing garment is further configured to measure acceleration of the crash test dummy during the collision. (Sensors transmit data to data logger which performs high speed pressure and impact analysis of the crash test dummy during and after crash events).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Xsensor in view of Reinbold in further view of Albertelli discloses the method according to claim 13.
Furthermore, Xsensor discloses the pressure sensing garment is further configured to measure pressure applied to a back of the crash test dummy during the collision. (See pages 1-2 which discloses placing sensors in different areas such as the back of the seat and head area of the crash test dummy.)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Xsensor in view of Reinbold in further view of Albertelli discloses the method according to claim 13.
Furthermore, Xsensor discloses the pressure sensing garment is a flexible panel applied to the chest of the crash test dummy. . (See pages 1-2 which discloses the garment could be a vest/shirt placed on the dummy.)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Xsensor in view of Reinbold in further view of Albertelli discloses the method according to claim 13.
Furthermore, Xsensor discloses the pressure sensing garment is a vest. (See pages 1-2 which discloses the garment could be a vest/shirt placed on the dummy.)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Xsensor in view of Reinbold in further view of Albertelli discloses the method according to claim 13.
Furthermore, Xsensor discloses the pressure sensing garment is a shirt. (See pages 1-2 which discloses the garment could be a vest/shirt placed on the dummy.)
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Xsensor in view of Reinbold in further view of Albertelli discloses the method according to claim 13.
However, the combination of Xsensor and Reinbold fails to disclose the computer is configured to compute the centerline of the seatbelt using a convolution neural network (CNN). Albertelli discloses the computer (system-100) is configured to compute the centerline of the seatbelt using a convolution neural network (CNN). (Col 6 line 27- Col 7 line 42)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Albertelli into Xsensor for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow more accurately determining the angle of the seatbelt.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Xsensor in view of Reinbold in further view of Albertelli discloses the method according to claim 13.
However, the combination of Xsensor and Albertelli fails to disclose applying a set of filters to the pressure data to isolate pressure data caused by the seatbelt comprises applying a low pressure filter to the pressure data. Reinbold discloses applying a set of filters to the pressure data to isolate pressure data caused by the seatbelt comprises applying a low pressure filter to the pressure data. (Paragraphs 0039-0040, 0043-0044, 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Reinbold into Xsensor for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for filtering out unwanted data that can cause measurement errors.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855