Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baltes et al. (US 6,708,999 B1) hereinafter, Baltes.
Regarding claim 1, Baltes teaches a suspension, comprising:
an upper tube (22) telescopically engaged with a lower tube (24); and
a sag value generating assembly comprising:
a first sag value generating component (51) located relative to one of said upper tube and said lower tube (Fig 3); and
a second sag value generating component (52) slidably coupled about an outer diameter of said one of said upper tube and said lower tube (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 2, Baltes teaches a second upper tube (22) telescopically engaged with a second lower tube (24); and
a fork arch coupling said lower tube with said second lower tube (Fig 1), wherein said fork arch extends above said lower tube and said second lower tube a distance of at least twenty percent of a total stroke length of said suspension (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 11, Baltes teaches a front fork assembly (10), comprising:
a first upper tube (22) telescopically engaged with a first lower tube (24);
a second upper tube (22) telescopically engaged with a second lower tube (24);
a fork arch coupling said first lower tube with said second lower tube (Fig 1-3); and
a sag value generating assembly comprising:
a first sag value generating component (51) located relative to at least one of said first upper tube, said second upper tube, said first lower tube, or said second lower tube (Fig 3); and
a second sag value generating component (52) coupled with at least one of said first upper tube, said second upper tube, said first lower tube, or said second lower tube (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 19, Baltes teaches that said second sag value generating component is slidably coupled about an outer diameter of said one of said first upper tube and said second upper tube (Col. 4, Lines 38-39 and Fig 3).
Regarding claim 20, Baltes teaches a shock assembly, comprising:
an upper tube (22) telescopically engaged with a lower tube (24); and
a sag value generating assembly comprising:
a first sag value generating component (52) located relative to one of said upper tube and said lower tube (Fig 3); and
a second sag value generating component (52) slidably coupled about an outer diameter of one of said upper tube and said lower tube (Col. 4, Lines 38-39 and Fig 3).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elizaga (GB 2510103 A).
Regarding claim 1, Elizaga teaches a suspension, comprising:
an upper tube (INNER TUBE) telescopically engaged with a lower tube (OUTER TUBE); and
a sag value generating assembly comprising:
a first sag value generating component (MEASURING WINDOW) located relative to one of said upper tube and said lower tube; and
a second sag value generating component (POINTING DEVICE) slidably coupled about an outer diameter of said one of said upper tube and said lower tube (FIG).
Regarding claim 5, Elizaga teaches that said first sag value generating component is integrated with a cover (FORK PROTECTOR) of said shock assembly.
Regarding claim 20, Elizaga teaches a shock assembly, comprising:
an upper tube (INNER TUBE) telescopically engaged with a lower tube (OUTER TUBE); and
a sag value generating assembly comprising:
a first sag value generating component (MEASURING WINDOW) located relative to one of said upper tube and said lower tube; and
a second sag value generating component (POINTING DEVICE) slidably coupled about an outer diameter of one of said upper tube and said lower tube (FIG).
Regarding claim 22, Elizaga teaches that said first sag value generating component is integrated with a dust cover (FORK PROTECTOR+DUST CAP) of said shock assembly (FIG).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baltes et al. (US 6,708,999 B1) in view of Cox et al. (US 11,413,924 B2) hereinafter, Cox.
Regarding claim 21, Baltes teaches the assembly of claim 20. However, Baltes does not teaches that said first sag value generating component is built into an eyelet assembly.
Cox teaches adjuster assembly 200 built into an eyelet assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify Baltes’s assembly, in view of Cox, with a first sag value generating component is built into an eyelet assembly, to adjust the rear suspension sag for better performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-10, 12-18, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 3-4 and 17-18 recites that said first sag value generating component is integrated with said arch.
Claims 6 and 12 recites that said sag value generating assembly further comprises: a capturable code coupled with at least one of said lower tube and said upper tube.
Since the prior art (Baltes and Elizaga) teaches mobile robot that lack said features, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter.
For illustration purposes, Fig 4B of the examined disclosure shows the sag generating assembly, which is different than the sag generating assembly taught by the prior art of record (Fig. 3 of Baltes and Fig. of Elizaga, etc.)
Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Claims 7-10 and 12-16 are allowed as depending from an allowed parent claim (see above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shock sag value generating assemblies of interest.
/HOSAM SHABARA/Examiner, Art Unit 3618