Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 8/12/2026. Claims 1, 8, 11, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “mount to an interior surface of a portion of the wall, such that a part of the container superposes the interior surface of the portion of the wall” and claim 11 recites “mount to an interior surface of a portion of the barrier, such that a part of the of the container superposes the portion of the barrier”, however it’s unclear as to whether the respective recitations of “a portion of the wall” and “a portion of the barrier” refer to the previous recitations of “a portion of the wall” and “a portion of the barrier”, or to different portions. Further, the claim 11’s additional recitation of “superposes the portion of the barrier” lacks proper antecedent basis as it’s unclear as to which “portion of the barrier” the limitation is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 12, 14-16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Wetterwald” (US 2017/0353446) in view of “Isaacks” (US 2014/0290975) in further view of “Macioch” (US 2014/0230342).
Regarding Claim 11:
Wetterwald teaches:
A system (Fig. 4) comprising:
a barrier (Fig. 4, element 430 - - “Substation Physical Security Perimeter (ESP)) surrounding an enclosure (Fig. 4, element 428; ¶0035, “Also as show, architecture 400 may implement an electronic security perimeter (ESP) 428 that protects the equipment of the critical infrastructure from unauthorized virtual/cyber intrusions”) containing a private computer network (¶0031, “… networking device 410 may also function as a path computation engine (PCE), to determine the various communication pathways used in the local network of the substation”; ¶0035, “For example, networking device 410 (e.g., a connected grid router/PCE, etc.) may implement ESP 428 by differentiating the subnets and dedicating different subnets for the critical flows (e.g., within ESP 428)”; i.e., the ESP contains a LAN which is considered a “private” network - see ¶0014, “LANs typically connect the nodes over dedicated private communications links located in the same general physical location, such as a building or campus”) and one or more networked devices configured to be connected to the private computer network (Fig. 4, elements 422 and 426 are connected via the private network),
wherein the barrier is configured to permit a public computer network to enter a portion of the barrier (Fig. 4, element 406 connects with element 410 via the barrier 430; ¶0030, “External to the substation may be any number of enterprise/data center devices 406, such as servers, routers, switches, and the like, which may provide any number of services with respect to the substation … In another example, enterprise/data center devices 406 may execute a network and security management service 404 that provides control over the networking and security devices of the substation via MPLS WAN 408”; i.e.., a WAN is considered a “public” network - see ¶0014, “WANs, on the other hand, typically connect geographically dispersed nodes over long-distance communications links … The Internet is an example of a WAN that connects disparate networks throughout the world, providing global communication between nodes on various networks”);
…
a gateway (Fig. 4, element 410; ¶0035, “Further, by requirement, communications between a control center (e.g., the control center housing devices 406) and the devices in ESP 428 must go over an Access Point/Gateway, such as PCE 410”) … configured to control network traffic between the one or more networked devices and the public computer network (¶0035, “For example, networking device 410 (e.g., a connected grid router/PCE, etc.) may implement ESP 428 by differentiating the subnets and dedicating different subnets for the critical flows (e.g., within ESP 428), as compared to other non-critical flows through access control lists (ACLs). To comply with regulatory requirements, ESP 428 must be maintained within PSP 430 and all of the links IN or OUT of PSP 430 should permit only predefined information to flow, while preventing undesired traffic such as firmware updates, etc. from entering or existing ESP 428. Further, by requirement, communications between a control center (e.g., the control center housing devices 406) and the devices in ESP 428 must go over an Access Point/Gateway, such as PCE 410”; i.e., the access point 410 controls all traffic between a public network element 406 and the private network elements contained within 428).
Wetterwald does not disclose:
a container located within the enclosure and configured to:
mount to an interior surface of a portion of the barrier, such that a part of the container superposes the portion of the barrier; and
prevent the public computer network from breaching the container and entering a piece of the enclosure located outside the container; and
a gateway located within the container …
Isaacks teaches:
a container located within the enclosure (Fig. 1A, element 100 discloses a service cable box within an enclosed space) and configured to:
mount to an interior surface of a portion of the barrier (¶0031, “In other implementations, the service cable box remains unconcealed (e.g., mounted in the floor, ceiling, or wall)”), such that a part of the container superposes the portion of the barrier (¶0032, “Particularly, when installed within the floor, ceiling, or wall, the service cable box can have a recessed connection chamber and a recessed connector module”; ¶0048, “The service cable box 100 also can include a face plate 170, which can conceal rough edges of an opening in the wall 180 (or other mounting surface). More specifically, the face plate 170 may be flush with the wall 180, such as to create an aesthetically pleasing appearance of the service cable box 100”; i.e., mount a service cable box within an interior surface of a barrier in a manner where a front-facing portion of the service cable box is superposed on the barrier); and
prevent the public computer network from breaching the container and entering a piece of the enclosure located outside the container (¶0056, “In any event, the housing 120 can include multiple connection chambers, such as the service connection chamber 110a. In at least one implementation, the housing 120 also includes a secondary connection chamber 110b. The secondary connection chamber 110b can accept and physically secure secondary network cables 200, which can enter the secondary connection chamber 110b through an entry port 310. Furthermore, as described above, the barrier plate 140 can at least partially restrict access to the secondary network cables 200 by restricting access to the one secondary connection chamber 110b”; ¶0084, “Additionally or alternatively, the secondary network cables 200a, 200b can connect distinct sets of networks, and each set of networks can have distinct characteristics or attributes. Such characteristics or attributes can include network classification, network type (e.g., data network, telephone network, electrical, network, etc.)”; i.e., prevent a public (second) computer network connection from breaching container via the secondary connection chamber); and
…
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald’s secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald’s perimeter to include a mountable enclosure for securely separating external networks from access to within the perimeter, as taught by Isaacks, in order to protect and safely route service network cables.
The motivation is to incorporate external network cables directed towards a public network to a secure enclosure, where the secure enclosure is mountable within a perimeter in a way that allows only authorized individuals with access to terminated ends of the cables (Isaacks, ¶0032).
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks does not disclose:
a gateway located within the container …
Macioch teaches:
a gateway (Fig. 2, element 128) located within the container (¶0068, “Similarly, data farm 104 should include a communication interface 128 to WAN 101”; ¶0078, “Therefore, each dispersed data farm 104 should include a data protection module such as a firewall, anti-virus processes, and so forth. Data protection modules may be implemented in local controller 124 and/or communication interface 128”; i.e., the data farm 104 is contained within the container (Fig. 3, element 302) and contains at least a firewall at its communication interface 128) …
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald in view of Isaacks’ secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald in view of Isaacks’ perimeter to include a container houses an access control device, as taught by Macioch, in order to provide a secure means to house the access control device.
The motivation is to incorporate a gateway device within a secured enclosure such that the gateway device is not easily tampered with during operation.
Regarding Claim 12:
The system of claim 11, wherein Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch further teaches the private computer network and the public computer network each include cables fastened to the container using tamper-resistant fasteners located within the container (Isaacks, ¶0060, “For instance, the housing 120 can incorporate the entry port 310, which can include an opening that allows the secondary network cables 200 to pass into the housing 120 and into the secondary connection chamber 110b. Additionally, the entry port 310 can include a clamp, which can secure the secondary network cables 200 at the entry port 310, thereby preventing potential damage to the secondary network cables 200”; Fig. 1B details cable connectors used to clamp cables and/or attach cables from within the container, where the container comprises a lock 160 that makes the internal connectors tamper-resistant), and
wherein the cables are configured to be unfastened from only within the container (Isaacks, Fig. 1C details the connectors being accessible only when the door of the container is opened).
The motivation to apply Isaacks to Wetterwald for the rejection of claim 12 is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 11 above.
Regarding Claim 14:
The system of claim 11, wherein Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch further teaches the one or more networked devices include at least one of a computer (Wetterwald, ¶0034, “For example, substation bus 420 may include any number of local, IP-enabled intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) 426. As would be appreciated, IEDs are typically computerized devices…”), a server, or a database storing data, images, algorithms, software, applications, or processes.
Regarding Claim 15:
The system of claim 11, wherein Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch further teaches the enclosure includes a room, and the barrier includes a floor, a ceiling, and a wall of the room (Isaacks, ¶0031, “In other implementations, the service cable box remains unconcealed (e.g., mounted in the floor, ceiling, or wall)”; i.e., the examiner interprets a barrier that includes a floor, ceiling, or wall necessitates a “room”).
The motivation to apply Isaacks to Wetterwald for the rejection of claim 15 is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 11 above.
Regarding Claim 16:
The system of claim 11, wherein Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch further teaches the container is configured to prevent a user located within the enclosure from accessing the public computer network (Wetterwald, ¶0035, “For example, networking device 410 (e.g., a connected grid router/PCE, etc.) may implement ESP 428 by differentiating the subnets and dedicating different subnets for the critical flows (e.g., within ESP 428), as compared to other non-critical flows through access control lists (ACLs). To comply with regulatory requirements, ESP 428 must be maintained within PSP 430 and all of the links IN or OUT of PSP 430 should permit only predefined information to flow, while preventing undesired traffic such as firmware updates, etc. from entering or existing ESP 428. Further, by requirement, communications between a control center (e.g., the control center housing devices 406) and the devices in ESP 428 must go over an Access Point/Gateway, such as PCE 410”; i.e., all traffic is handled via grid router 410 in such a matter that a user located within the security perimeter cannot directly access the public network outside of the perimeter).
Regarding Claim 19:
The system of claim 11, wherein Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch further teaches the container has a fastener configured to penetrate the barrier at the portion (Isaacks, Fig. 1B, element 252c; ¶0066, “For instance, the back wall 190e of the housing 120 can have various holes or perforations that can accept fasteners to secure the service cable box 100 within the wall, such as holes 252c, 252d.”) and
wherein the portion of the barrier defines:
an aperture configured to permit the public computer network to penetrate the barrier at the portion (Isaacks, Fig. 1B, element 310); and
a slot configured to permit the fastener to penetrate the barrier at the portion (Isaacks, Fig. 1B, element 252c).
The motivation to apply Isaacks to Wetterwald for the rejection of claim 19 is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 11 above.
Regarding Claim 20:
The system of claim 19, wherein Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch further teaches the container comprises a catch configured to couple to the fastener at the portion (Isaacks, ¶0064, “The installer can fasten the service cable box 100 to a portion of the wall (e.g., to a support beam or a stud), by fastening the flanges 250a, 250b to such portions of the wall”), and wherein the container is fastened to the barrier and the container prevents access to the fastener (Isaacks, Fig. 1B details an barrier plate element 140 that prevents access to the fastener element 252c; ¶0039, “In any event, housing 120 can fasten or couple to the barrier plate 140, such that the barrier plate 140 is immovable with respect to the housing 120. Accordingly, network cables located in the connection chambers covered by the barrier plate 140 may not be accessible to the users”).
The motivation to apply Isaacks to Wetterwald for the rejection of claim 20 is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 11 above.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Wetterwald” (US 2017/0353446) in view of “Isaacks” (US 2014/0290975) in view of “Macioch” (US 2014/0230342) in view of “Strong” (US 2019/0043201) in further view of “Wedig” (US 2018/0293864).
Regarding Claim 13:
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch teaches:
The system of claim 11, comprising:
a door embedded in the barrier and securable by a lock, wherein the door is configured to permit entry into the enclosure (Isaacks, ¶0043, “In the implementations where the service cable box 100 incorporates at least one door, such as the door 150, the service cable box 100 also can include a lock 160, which can secure the door 150 in the closed position”);
a security camera … configured to scan at least one of a location outside the enclosure or a location within the enclosure (Wetterwald, ¶0033, “For example, physical security devices 414 may include security cameras, biometric readers, motion detectors, keycard readers, door or gate locks, and the like, to prevent unauthorized physical access to the equipment in PSP 430”);
The motivation to apply Isaacks to Wetterwald for the rejection of claim 13 is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 11 above.
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch does not disclose:
a security camera mounted on the barrier …;
a motion sensor mounted on the barrier and configured to sense at least one of motion outside the enclosure or motion inside the enclosure; and
a door sensor mounted on the door and configured to sense at least one of motion of the door or a barrier breach.
Strong teaches:
a security camera mounted on the barrier (¶0081, “loT devices 114 may also include…security systems (e.g., alarms, locks, cameras, motion detectors, fingerprint scanners, facial recognition systems), … loT devices 114 can be statically located, such as mounted on a building, wall …”) …;
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch’s secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch’s security camera to be wall-mounted, as taught by Strong, in order to allow the camera to be positioned in a manner where it’s more difficult to tamper with.
The motivation is to utilize a wall-mounted security camera to monitor a space housing secure components in order to provide a better scanning radius for the camera in addition to reducing the likelihood the camera may be tampered with.
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong does not disclose:
a motion sensor mounted on the barrier and configured to sense at least one of motion outside the enclosure or motion inside the enclosure; and
a door sensor mounted on the door and configured to sense at least one of motion of the door or a barrier breach
Wedig teaches:
a motion sensor mounted on the barrier (¶0232, “… the sensors 110 before or after installing (e.g., mounting) those sensors in various locations of the building 105”) and configured to sense at least one of motion outside the enclosure or motion inside the enclosure (¶0049, “… the sensor 145 is a motion sensor that is used to detect motion in the building …”); and
a door sensor mounted on the door (¶0050, “For example, if the sensor 150, which is a door sensor, is configured to detect the status of a single door, one instance of the sensor 150 may be installed on every (or selected) door(s) of an area of the building 105”) and configured to sense at least one of motion of the door or a barrier breach (¶0049, “… the sensor 150 is a door sensor to determine the status of doors (e.g., open, closed, locked, or unlocked)…”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in view of Strong’s secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong’s perimeter to utilize various sensors, as taught by Wedig, in order to provide sufficient surveillance needs for a secure site.
The motivation is to employ a plurality of sensors at a secure site to ensure that a threat may be indicated, such as a burglary, before severe damage has already occurred (Wedig, ¶0003, “The sensed condition may be indicative of a threat, such as a fire or burglary within the building. In many instances, by the time the threat is detected and emergency response personnel are called, severe damage has already occurred to the building and to people and property within the building”).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Wetterwald” (US 2017/0353446) in view of “Isaacks” (US 2014/0290975) in view of “Macioch” (US 2014/0230342) in further view of “Eterovic Alliende” (US 2021/0320948).
Regarding Claim 17:
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch teaches:
The system of claim 11, comprising:
a door embedded in the container and securable by a lock, wherein the door is configured to permit access to the gateway (Isaacks, ¶0043, “In the implementations where the service cable box 100 incorporates at least one door, such as the door 150, the service cable box 100 also can include a lock 160, which can secure the door 150 in the closed position”);
The motivation to apply Isaacks to Wetterwald for the rejection of claim 13 is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 11 above.
Wetterwald in view of in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch does not disclose:
a security camera mounted on the container and configured to scan at least one of a location outside the container or the gateway; and
a door sensor is mounted on the door and configured to sense at least one of motion of the door or a lock breach.
Eterovic Alliende teaches:
… comprising:
a door embedded in the container and securable by a lock, wherein the door is configured to permit access to the gateway (Fig. 1, elements 160 and 240 are contained within server rack element 100; ¶0001, “To protect the server computers, each rack may be positioned inside an enclosure, or the rack itself may serve as the enclosure. The enclosure may include one or more doors that allow entry or access when needed, for example such as for maintenance, and one or more locks to secure the doors at all other times”);
a security camera mounted on the container and configured to scan at least one of a location outside the container or the gateway (¶0001, “The datacenter and the enclosures may also include additional security measures, such as security cameras…”; i.e., utilize a plurality of cameras at the container); and
a door sensor is mounted on the door (¶0029, “The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104… ”) and configured to sense at least one of motion of the door or a lock breach (¶0029, “The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks)…”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch’s secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch’s enclosure to utilize various sensors, along with a door lock, as taught by Eterovic Alliende, in order to provide sufficient surveillance needs for a secure site.
The motivation is to prevent unauthorized entities from accessing critical network infrastructure via utilizing additional security measures for an enclosure housing the network infrastructure via use of sensors. This allows authorized personnel to monitor the enclosure and quickly respond to emergencies triggered by the sensors (Eterovic Alliende, ¶0001).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Wetterwald” (US 2017/0353446) in view of “Isaacks” (US 2014/0290975) in view of “Macioch” (US 2014/0230342) in further view of “Franck” (US 2016/0295722).
Regarding Claim 18:
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch teaches:
The system of claim 11, …
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch does not disclose:
…comprising:
a window embedded in the container and configured to permit a user located within the enclosure to observe a visual indicator within the container,
wherein the visual indicator is generated by at least one of the gateway, a motion sensor mounted on the container and configured to sense a container breach, or a motion sensor mounted on the gateway and configured to sense a gateway breach.
Franck teaches:
…comprising:
a window embedded in the container and configured to permit a user located within the enclosure to observe a visual indicator within the container (¶0139, “Referring to FIG. 21, the door 702 may include a … window 778. In some embodiments, the window 778 is transparent or semi-transparent. … The window allows a user to view the status of a device mounted on the support plate 760 (FIG. 19)”),
wherein the visual indicator is generated by at least one of the gateway (¶0139, “… The window allows a user to view the status of a device mounted on the support plate 760 (FIG. 19)”), a motion sensor mounted on the container and configured to sense a container breach, or a motion sensor mounted on the gateway and configured to sense a gateway breach.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch’s secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch’s container to include a transparent window panel, as taught by Franck, in order to allow a user to view the status of a device mounted within the container.
The motivation is to provide an added convenience to a user, such as a network administrator, who may need to troubleshoot networking equipment within a container, but without having to open the container by adding a transparent window to the container.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Wetterwald” (US 2017/0353446) in view of “Isaacks” (US 2014/0290975) in view of “Macioch” (US 2014/0230342) in further view of “Strong” (US 2019/0043201).
Regarding Claim 1:
Wetterwald teaches:
A system (Fig. 4) comprising:
a [barrier] (Fig. 4, element 430 - - “Substation Physical Security Perimeter (ESP)) surrounding a [enclosure] (Fig. 4, element 428; ¶0035, “Also as show, architecture 400 may implement an electronic security perimeter (ESP) 428 that protects the equipment of the critical infrastructure from unauthorized virtual/cyber intrusions”) containing a private computer network (¶0031, “… networking device 410 may also function as a path computation engine (PCE), to determine the various communication pathways used in the local network of the substation”; ¶0035, “For example, networking device 410 (e.g., a connected grid router/PCE, etc.) may implement ESP 428 by differentiating the subnets and dedicating different subnets for the critical flows (e.g., within ESP 428)”; i.e., the ESP contains a LAN which is considered a “private” network - see ¶0014, “LANs typically connect the nodes over dedicated private communications links located in the same general physical location, such as a building or campus”) and one or more networked devices storing algorithms and configured to be connected to the private computer network (Fig. 4, elements 422 and 426 are connected via the private network),
wherein the [barrier] is configured to permit a public computer network to enter a portion of the [barrier] (Fig. 4, element 406 connects with element 410 via the barrier 430; ¶0030, “External to the substation may be any number of enterprise/data center devices 406, such as servers, routers, switches, and the like, which may provide any number of services with respect to the substation … In another example, enterprise/data center devices 406 may execute a network and security management service 404 that provides control over the networking and security devices of the substation via MPLS WAN 408”; i.e.., a WAN is considered a “public” network - see ¶0014, “WANs, on the other hand, typically connect geographically dispersed nodes over long-distance communications links … The Internet is an example of a WAN that connects disparate networks throughout the world, providing global communication between nodes on various networks”);
a security camera … configured to scan at least one of a location outside the room or a location within the room (¶0033, “For example, physical security devices 414 may include security cameras, biometric readers, motion detectors, keycard readers, door or gate locks, and the like, to prevent unauthorized physical access to the equipment in PSP 430”);
…
gateway (Fig. 4, element 410; ¶0035, “Further, by requirement, communications between a control center (e.g., the control center housing devices 406) and the devices in ESP 428 must go over an Access Point/Gateway, such as PCE 410”) … configured to control network traffic between the one or more networked devices and the public computer network (¶0035, “For example, networking device 410 (e.g., a connected grid router/PCE, etc.) may implement ESP 428 by differentiating the subnets and dedicating different subnets for the critical flows (e.g., within ESP 428), as compared to other non-critical flows through access control lists (ACLs). To comply with regulatory requirements, ESP 428 must be maintained within PSP 430 and all of the links IN or OUT of PSP 430 should permit only predefined information to flow, while preventing undesired traffic such as firmware updates, etc. from entering or existing ESP 428. Further, by requirement, communications between a control center (e.g., the control center housing devices 406) and the devices in ESP 428 must go over an Access Point/Gateway, such as PCE 410”; i.e., the access point 410 controls all traffic between a public network element 406 and the private network elements contained within 428).
Wetterwald does not disclose:
a wall surrounding a room …
a security camera mounted on the wall …;
a container located within the room and configured to:
mount to an interior surface of a portion of the wall, such that a part of the container superposes interior surface of the the portion of the wall; and
prevent the public computer network from breaching the container and entering a piece of the room located outside the container; and
a gateway located within the container …
Isaacks teaches:
a container located within the room (Fig. 1A, element 100 discloses a service cable box within an enclosed space) and configured to:
mount to an interior surface of a portion of the wall (¶0031, “In other implementations, the service cable box remains unconcealed (e.g., mounted in the floor, ceiling, or wall)”), such that a part of the container superposes the interior surface of the portion of the wall (¶0032, “Particularly, when installed within the floor, ceiling, or wall, the service cable box can have a recessed connection chamber and a recessed connector module”; ¶0048, “The service cable box 100 also can include a face plate 170, which can conceal rough edges of an opening in the wall 180 (or other mounting surface). More specifically, the face plate 170 may be flush with the wall 180, such as to create an aesthetically pleasing appearance of the service cable box 100”; i.e., mount a service cable box within an interior surface of a barrier in a manner where a front-facing portion of the service cable box is superposed on the barrier); and
prevent the public computer network from breaching the container and entering a piece of the room located outside the container (¶0056, “In any event, the housing 120 can include multiple connection chambers, such as the service connection chamber 110a. In at least one implementation, the housing 120 also includes a secondary connection chamber 110b. The secondary connection chamber 110b can accept and physically secure secondary network cables 200, which can enter the secondary connection chamber 110b through an entry port 310. Furthermore, as described above, the barrier plate 140 can at least partially restrict access to the secondary network cables 200 by restricting access to the one secondary connection chamber 110b”; ¶0084, “Additionally or alternatively, the secondary network cables 200a, 200b can connect distinct sets of networks, and each set of networks can have distinct characteristics or attributes. Such characteristics or attributes can include network classification, network type (e.g., data network, telephone network, electrical, network, etc.)”; i.e., prevent a public (second) computer network connection from breaching container via the secondary connection chamber); and
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald’s secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald’s perimeter to include a mountable enclosure for securely separating external networks from access to within the perimeter, as taught by Isaacks, in order to protect and safely route service network cables.
The motivation is to incorporate external network cables directed towards a public network to a secure enclosure, where the secure enclosure is mountable within a perimeter in a way that allows only authorized individuals with access to terminated ends of the cables (Isaacks, ¶0032).
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks does not disclose:
a wall surrounding a room …
a security camera mounted on the wall …;
a gateway located within the container …
Macioch teaches:
a wall surrounding a room (¶0058, “FIG. 3 illustrates an internal view of a wall 300 without attached drywall”; i.e. Fig. 3 details open walls surrounding the outside of a “room”. Here, the examiner interprets the term “room” to encompass both the interior portion of the wall, as well as the space enclosed by it); …
a gateway (Fig. 2, element 128) located within the container (¶0068, “Similarly, data farm 104 should include a communication interface 128 to WAN 101”; ¶0078, “Therefore, each dispersed data farm 104 should include a data protection module such as a firewall, anti-virus processes, and so forth. Data protection modules may be implemented in local controller 124 and/or communication interface 128”; i.e., the data farm 104 is contained within the container (Fig. 3, element 302) and contains at least a firewall at its communication interface 128) …
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald in view of Isaacks’ secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald in view of Isaacks’ perimeter to include a container houses an access control device, as taught by Macioch, in order to provide a secure means to house the access control device.
The motivation is to incorporate a gateway device within a secured enclosure such that the gateway device is not easily tampered with during operation.
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch does not disclose:
a security camera mounted on the wall …
Strong teaches:
a security camera mounted on the wall (¶0081, “loT devices 114 may also include…security systems (e.g., alarms, locks, cameras, motion detectors, fingerprint scanners, facial recognition systems), … loT devices 114 can be statically located, such as mounted on a building, wall …”) …
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch’s secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in further view of Macioch’s security camera to be wall-mounted, as taught by Strong, in order to allow the camera to be positioned in a manner where it’s more difficult to tamper with.
The motivation is to utilize a wall-mounted security camera to monitor a space housing secure components in order to provide a better scanning radius for the camera in addition to reducing the likelihood the camera may be tampered with.
Regarding Claim 2:
The system of claim 1,wherein Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong further teaches private computer network and the public computer network each include cables fastened to the container using tamper-resistant fasteners located within the container (Isaacks, ¶0060, “For instance, the housing 120 can incorporate the entry port 310, which can include an opening that allows the secondary network cables 200 to pass into the housing 120 and into the secondary connection chamber 110b. Additionally, the entry port 310 can include a clamp, which can secure the secondary network cables 200 at the entry port 310, thereby preventing potential damage to the secondary network cables 200”; Fig. 1B details cable connectors used to clamp cables and/or attach cables from within the container, where the container comprises a lock 160 that makes the internal connectors tamper-resistant), and
wherein the cables are configured to be unfastened from only within the container (Isaacks, Fig. 1C details the connectors being accessible only when the door of the container is opened).
The motivation to apply Isaacks to Wetterwald for the rejection of claim 2 is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 4:
The system of claim 1, wherein Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong further teaches the one or more networked devices include at least one of a computer (Wetterwald, ¶0034, “For example, substation bus 420 may include any number of local, IP-enabled intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) 426. As would be appreciated, IEDs are typically computerized devices…”), a server, or a database storing data, images, software, applications, or processes.
Regarding Claim 5:
The system of claim 1, wherein Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong teaches the container is configured to prevent a user located within the room from accessing the public computer network (Wetterwald, ¶0035, “For example, networking device 410 (e.g., a connected grid router/PCE, etc.) may implement ESP 428 by differentiating the subnets and dedicating different subnets for the critical flows (e.g., within ESP 428), as compared to other non-critical flows through access control lists (ACLs). To comply with regulatory requirements, ESP 428 must be maintained within PSP 430 and all of the links IN or OUT of PSP 430 should permit only predefined information to flow, while preventing undesired traffic such as firmware updates, etc. from entering or existing ESP 428. Further, by requirement, communications between a control center (e.g., the control center housing devices 406) and the devices in ESP 428 must go over an Access Point/Gateway, such as PCE 410”; i.e., all traffic is handled via grid router 410 in such a matter that a user located within the security perimeter cannot directly access the public network outside of the perimeter).
Regarding Claim 8:
The system of claim 1, wherein Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong further teaches the container has a fastener configured to penetrate the wall at the portion (Isaacks, Fig. 1B, element 252c; ¶0066, “For instance, the back wall 190e of the housing 120 can have various holes or perforations that can accept fasteners to secure the service cable box 100 within the wall, such as holes 252c, 252d.”), and
wherein the portion of the wall defines:
an aperture configured to permit the public computer network to penetrate the wall at the portion (Isaacks, Fig. 1B, element 310); and
a slot configured to permit the fastener to penetrate the wall at the portion (Isaacks, Fig. 1B, element 252c).
The motivation to apply Isaacks to Wetterwald for the rejection of claim 8 is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 9:
The system of claim 1, wherein Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong further teaches the container comprises a catch configured to couple to a fastener at the portion (Isaacks, ¶0064, “The installer can fasten the service cable box 100 to a portion of the wall (e.g., to a support beam or a stud), by fastening the flanges 250a, 250b to such portions of the wall”), and
wherein the container is fastened to the wall and the container prevents access to the fastener (Isaacks, Fig. 1B details an barrier plate element 140 that prevents access to the fastener element 252c; ¶0039, “In any event, housing 120 can fasten or couple to the barrier plate 140, such that the barrier plate 140 is immovable with respect to the housing 120. Accordingly, network cables located in the connection chambers covered by the barrier plate 140 may not be accessible to the users”).
The motivation to apply Isaacks to Wetterwald for the rejection of claim 9 is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 10:
The system of claim 9, wherein Wetterwald in view of Issacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong further teaches the catch is configured to be uncoupled from the fastener from only within the container, and
wherein the container is unfastened from the wall from only within the container (Isaacks, Fig. 1B details an barrier plate element 140 that prevents access to the fastener element 252c; ¶0039, “In any event, housing 120 can fasten or couple to the barrier plate 140, such that the barrier plate 140 is immovable with respect to the housing 120. Accordingly, network cables located in the connection chambers covered by the barrier plate 140 may not be accessible to the users”; i.e., unfastening the container would require opening of the door of the container to remove the barrier plate inside).
The motivation to apply Isaacks to Wetterwald for the rejection of claim 10 is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Wetterwald” (US 2017/0353446) in view of “Isaacks” (US 2014/0290975) in view of “Macioch” (US 2014/0230342) in view of “Strong” (US 2019/0043201) in further view of “Wedig” (US 2018/0293864).
Regarding Claim 3:
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong teaches:
The system of claim 1, …
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong does not disclose:
… comprising:
a door embedded in the wall and securable by a lock, wherein the door is configured to permit entry into the room;
a motion sensor mounted on the wall and configured to sense at least one of motion outside the room or motion inside the room; and
a door sensor mounted on the door and configured to sense at least one of motion of the door or a wall breach.
Wedig teaches:
… comprising:
a door embedded in the wall and securable by a lock, wherein the door is configured to permit entry into the room (¶0048, “Likewise, although not shown, the building 105 may have walls, roof, windows, doors, foundation, and other features found in buildings”; ¶0049, “… to determine the status of doors (e.g., open, closed, locked, or unlocked)…”);
a motion sensor mounted on the wall (¶0232, “… the sensors 110 before or after installing (e.g., mounting) those sensors in various locations of the building 105”) and configured to sense at least one of motion outside the room or motion inside the room (¶0049, “… the sensor 145 is a motion sensor that is used to detect motion in the building …”); and
a door sensor mounted on the door (¶0050, “For example, if the sensor 150, which is a door sensor, is configured to detect the status of a single door, one instance of the sensor 150 may be installed on every (or selected) door(s) of an area of the building 105”) and configured to sense at least one of motion of the door or a wall breach (¶0049, “… the sensor 150 is a door sensor to determine the status of doors (e.g., open, closed, locked, or unlocked)…”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in view of Strong’s secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong’s perimeter to utilize various sensors, along with a door lock, as taught by Wedig, in order to provide sufficient surveillance needs for a secure site.
The motivation is to employ a plurality of sensors, including a door and lock, at a secure site to ensure that a threat may be indicated, such as a burglary, before severe damage has already occurred (Wedig, ¶0003, “The sensed condition may be indicative of a threat, such as a fire or burglary within the building. In many instances, by the time the threat is detected and emergency response personnel are called, severe damage has already occurred to the building and to people and property within the building”).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Wetterwald” (US 2017/0353446) in view of “Isaacks” (US 2014/0290975) in view of “Macioch” (US 2014/0230342) in view of “Strong” (US 2019/0043201) in further view of “Eterovic Alliende” (US 2021/0320948).
Regarding Claim 6:
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong teaches:
The system of claim 1, comprising:
a door embedded in the container and securable by a lock, wherein the door is configured to permit access to the gateway (Isaacks, ¶0043, “In the implementations where the service cable box 100 incorporates at least one door, such as the door 150, the service cable box 100 also can include a lock 160, which can secure the door 150 in the closed position”);
The motivation to apply Isaacks to Wetterwald for the rejection of claim 6 is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wetterwald in view of Issacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong does not disclose:
a second security camera mounted on the container and configured to scan at least one of a location outside the container or the gateway; and
a door sensor is mounted on the door and configured to sense at least one of motion of the door or a lock breach.
Eterovic Alliende teaches:
…comprising:
a door embedded in the container and securable by a lock, wherein the door is configured to permit access to the gateway (Fig. 1, elements 160 and 240 are contained within server rack element 100; ¶0001, “To protect the server computers, each rack may be positioned inside an enclosure, or the rack itself may serve as the enclosure. The enclosure may include one or more doors that allow entry or access when needed, for example such as for maintenance, and one or more locks to secure the doors at all other times”);
a second security camera mounted on the container and configured to scan at least one of a location outside the container or the gateway (¶0001, “The datacenter and the enclosures may also include additional security measures, such as security cameras…”; i.e., utilize a plurality of cameras (second camera) at the container); and
a door sensor is mounted on the door (¶0029, “The sensors 140 may be positioned anywhere on or in the enclosure, such as on the frame 102, on or near the doors 104… ”) and configured to sense at least one of motion of the door or a lock breach (¶0029, “The sensors 140 may capture the physical environment or state of the server rack 100, which may include positioning of a door or other components of the server rack 100 (e.g., open or closed), contacts made with any part of the server rack 100, tampering with the server rack 100 (e.g., with doors or locks)…”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in view of Strong’s secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong’s enclosure to utilize various sensors as taught by Eterovic Alliende, in order to provide sufficient surveillance needs for a secure site.
The motivation is to prevent unauthorized entities from accessing critical network infrastructure via utilizing additional security measures for an enclosure housing the network infrastructure via use of sensors. This allows authorized personnel to monitor the enclosure and quickly respond to emergencies triggered by the sensors (Eterovic Alliende, ¶0001).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Wetterwald” (US 2017/0353446) in view of “Isaacks” (US 2014/0290975) in view of “Macioch” (US 2014/0230342) in view of “Strong” (US 2019/0043201) in further view of “Franck” (US 2016/0295722).
Regarding Claim 7:
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong teaches:
The system of claim 1, …
Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong does not disclose:
… comprising:
a window embedded in the container and configured to permit a user located within the room to observe a visual indicator within the container,
wherein the visual indicator is generated by at least one of the gateway, a first motion sensor mounted on the container and configured to sense a container breach, or a second motion sensor mounted on the gateway and configured to sense a gateway breach.
Franck teaches:
… comprising:
a window embedded in the container and configured to permit a user located within the room to observe a visual indicator within the container (¶0139, “Referring to FIG. 21, the door 702 may include a … window 778. In some embodiments, the window 778 is transparent or semi-transparent. … The window allows a user to view the status of a device mounted on the support plate 760 (FIG. 19)”),
wherein the visual indicator is generated by at least one of the gateway (¶0139, “… The window allows a user to view the status of a device mounted on the support plate 760 (FIG. 19)”), a first motion sensor mounted on the container and configured to sense a container breach, or a second motion sensor mounted on the gateway and configured to sense a gateway breach.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in view of Strong’s secured perimeter system by enhancing Wetterwald in view of Isaacks in view of Macioch in further view of Strong’s container to include a transparent window panel, as taught by Franck, in order to allow a user to view the status of a device mounted within the container.
The motivation is to provide an added convenience to a user, such as a network administrator, who may need to troubleshoot networking equipment within a container, but without having to open the container by adding a transparent window to the container.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/DANIEL B POTRATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491