Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. There is lack of antecedent basis in claim 11 for the features, “the reporting, by the first device, the target sensing measurement result or a result of quantizing the target sensing measurement result to a second device” rendering the scope of claim 11 and claim 12 which depends upon claim 11 indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 13 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0256949 A1) in view of Poddar et al. (US 2024/0069152 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee appears to disclose a sensing method, comprising:
obtaining, by a first device (Fig. 1, signal receiver 30, [0026]) at least one time-frequency domain channel matrix (Figs. 2-3, S16, [0029]-[0030] disclosing the signal processing method obtains a time-frequency channel response matrix),
wherein the time-frequency domain channel matrix comprises information about frequency domain channel responses that correspond to a plurality of time-frequency domain sampling points (Fig. 3, [0028]-[0029] disclosing an MxN channel coefficient matrix is formed of channel coefficient matrix blocks 402 from sampling; [0030] disclosing the time-frequency channel response matrix is obtained by performing a two-dimensional fast Fourier transform on the channel coefficient matrix),
each time-frequency domain channel matrix corresponds to one antenna transceiver combination (Fig. 1, antenna 32, signal processing unit 34, Fig. 3, 40, 42, 44, [0029] disclosing each antenna signal processing unit combination generates channel coefficient matrices 40, 42 and 44 respectively),
the information about the frequency domain channel responses is obtained by performing channel estimation on a received first signal by the first device ([0028]-[0030] disclosing the processing steps to determine (i.e., estimate) the channel coefficient matrix blocks 402 according to equation (3) and a two-dimensional fast Fourier transform, or an OFDM signal obtained in the conventional OFDM signal processing manner),
the time-frequency domain channel matrix is an M×N or N×M matrix, M represents a quantity of frequency domain sampling points, and N represents a quantity of time domain sampling points ([0028]-[0030] disclosing a two-dimensional fast Fourier transform is performed on the samples in the MxN coefficient matrix to obtain a time-frequency channel response matrix); and
obtaining, by the first device, a target sensing measurement result based on the at least one time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0030] disclosing determining a relative distance, a relative velocity and a reference angle for the target from the time-frequency channel response matrix).
Lee does not expressly disclose the following; however, Poddar suggests obtaining, by a first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on at least one of a time domain variance, standard deviation, or coefficient of variation of at least one time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0002] disclosing measurement results such as range, relative velocity and angle to a target; Fig. 5, [0044]-[0046] disclosing determining a dispersion of a phase characteristic, such as a standard deviation, variance, interquartile range of the range (e.g., distance) measurement); and
obtaining, by the first device, a target sensing measurement result based on the at least one sensing measurement result ([0046]-[0049] disclosing assigning the range bin as exhibiting synchronous interference based on the dispersion which result in real targets and additional fake targets which can be distinguished using the disclosed synchronous interference techniques).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radar of Lee as suggested by Poddar because this can allow the radar to detect existing targets while rejecting interference without any prior knowledge of the parameters of the interfering radar ([0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Poddar appears to suggest the sensing method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by a first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a time domain variance of at least one time-frequency domain channel matrix comprises at least one of the following:
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on at least one of M variances corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]);
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a weighted sum of M variances corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0081]);
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a variance of M variances corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]);
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a standard deviation of M variances corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]); or
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a coefficient of variation of M variances corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radar of Lee as suggested by Poddar because this can allow the radar to detect existing targets while rejecting interference without any prior knowledge of the parameters of the interfering radar ([0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Poddar appears to suggest the sensing method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by a first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a time domain standard deviation of at least one time-frequency domain channel matrix comprises at least one of the following:
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on at least one of M standard deviations corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]);
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a weighted sum of M standard deviations corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0081]);
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a variance of M standard deviations corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]);
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a standard deviation of M standard deviations corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]); or
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a coefficient of variation of M standard deviations corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radar of Lee as suggested by Poddar because this can allow the radar to detect existing targets while rejecting interference without any prior knowledge of the parameters of the interfering radar ([0003]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Poddar appears to suggest the sensing method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by a first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a time domain coefficient of variation of at least one time-frequency domain channel matrix comprises at least one of the following:
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on at least one of M coefficients of variation corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]);
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a weighted sum of M coefficients of variation corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0081]);
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a variance of M coefficients of variation corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]);
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a standard deviation of M coefficients of variation corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]); or
obtaining, by the first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on a coefficient of variation of M coefficients of variation corresponding to M subcarriers (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radar of Lee as suggested by Poddar because this can allow the radar to detect existing targets while rejecting interference without any prior knowledge of the parameters of the interfering radar ([0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee appears to disclose the sensing method according to claim 1, wherein an element in each time-frequency domain channel matrix comprises one of the following:
a raw complex value of a frequency domain channel response corresponding to the antenna transceiver combination ([0030]);
an amplitude of a frequency domain channel response corresponding to the antenna transceiver combination ([0030]);
a phase of a frequency domain channel response corresponding to the antenna transceiver combination ([0030]);
at least one of inphase data and quadrature data of a frequency domain channel response corresponding to the antenna transceiver combination ([0030]);
a weighted sum of an amplitude and a phase of a frequency domain channel response corresponding to the antenna transceiver combination;
a weighted sum of inphase data and quadrature data of a frequency domain channel response corresponding to the antenna transceiver combination;
a raw complex value of a first result, wherein the first result is a quotient or a conjugate multiplication result of frequency domain channel responses corresponding to a first antenna transceiver combination and a second antenna transceiver combination ([0030]);
an amplitude of the first result ([0030]);
a phase of the first result ([0030]);
at least one of inphase data and quadrature data of the first result ([0030]);
a weighted sum of an amplitude and a phase of the first result; or
a weighted sum of inphase data and quadrature data of the first result ([0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Poddar appears to suggest the sensing method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by the first device, a target sensing measurement result based on the at least one sensing measurement result comprises:
using, by the first device, at least one of the sensing measurement results as the target sensing measurement result (Lee: [0028]-[0030], Poddar [0002], Fig. 5, [0042]-[0049]);
or calculating, by the first device, a weighted sum of at least two sensing measurement results, to obtain the target sensing measurement result (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radar of Lee as suggested by Poddar because this can allow the radar to detect existing targets while rejecting interference without any prior knowledge of the parameters of the interfering radar ([0003]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Poddar suggests the sensing method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by the first device, a target sensing measurement result based on the at least one sensing measurement result comprises at least one of the following:
selecting a sensing measurement result that meets a first threshold as the target sensing measurement result (Poddar: [0053]-[0054]);
using information about a relationship between a sensing measurement result and a first threshold as the target sensing measurement result (Poddar: [0053]-[0054]]);
when a sensing measurement result meets a first threshold, using a difference between the sensing measurement result and the first threshold as the target sensing measurement result; or
when a sensing measurement result meets a first threshold, using target information that is obtained based on the time-frequency domain channel matrix, as the target sensing measurement result (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]-[0054]),
wherein the target information comprises at least one of the following:
doppler information of a target object (Lee: [0029]);
a velocity of a target object (Lee: [0030]);
coordinates of a target object;
a range between a target object and a signal transceiver device (Lee: [0030]);
an angle between a target object and a signal transceiver device (Lee: [0030]); or
a transmission-to-reception delay of the first signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radar of Lee as suggested by Poddar because this can allow the radar to detect existing targets while rejecting interference without any prior knowledge of the parameters of the interfering radar ([0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee appears to disclose the sensing method according to claim 1, wherein before the obtaining, by a first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on at least one of a time domain variance, standard deviation, or coefficient of variation of at least one time-frequency domain channel matrix, the sensing method further comprises:
receiving first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of the following:
sensing requirement information, wherein the sensing requirement information corresponds to at least one of a sensing measurement item ([0030]),
a first threshold, configuration information of a first signal, or
information about a time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0026], [0028]-[0029]);
a sensing measurement item, wherein the sensing measurement item corresponds to the sensing measurement result ([0030]);
a first threshold;
configuration information of a first signal ([0026], [0028]-[0029]); or
information about a time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0026], [0028]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee appears to disclose the sensing method according to claim 10, wherein the information about a time-frequency domain channel matrix comprises at least one of the following:
information about a time domain calculation window ([0026]-[0030]);
information about a frequency domain calculation window ([0026]-[0030]);
a sliding step of a time domain calculation window of a time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0026]-[0030]); or
information indicating a type of an element in a time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0026]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is directed towards a communication device, comprising: a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising the metho of claim 1.
Lee does not expressly disclose such implementation; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the method as a special purpose processor system as claimed because it provides a flexibly configurable system that can be modified to meet changing needs.
Claim(s) 8, 11-12 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0256949 A1) in view of Poddar et al. (US 2024/0069152 A1) in view of Herbertsson et al. (US 2023/0040147 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee does not expressly disclose the following; however, Herbertsson suggests the sensing method according to claim 1, further comprising:
reporting, by the first device, the target sensing measurement result or a result of quantizing the target sensing measurement result to a second device ([0080], [0082] disclosing reporting targets to a target tracking function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Lee as suggested by Herbertsson because this allows a device to utilize the radar to control a vehicle while avoiding collisions with nearby objects ([0080])
Regarding claim 11, Lee does not expressly disclose the following; however, Herbertsson suggest the sensing method according to claim 10, wherein after the reporting, by the first device, the target sensing measurement result or a result of quantizing the target sensing measurement result to a second device ([0080]-[0084]), the sensing method further comprises:
receiving second indication information, wherein the second indication information is sent when the target sensing measurement result meets the first threshold, and the second indication information is used for adjusting a target parameter in the first indication information ([0080]-[0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radar of Lee as suggested by Herbertsson because this allows adjusting the radar operation in various situations to properly classify the target, and to allow an vehicle to avoid collisions with a very close vehicle ([0081]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee does not expressly disclose the following; however, Herbertsson suggests the sensing method according to claim 11, wherein the target parameter comprises at least one of the following:
the sensing requirement information ([0080]-[0084]);
the sensing measurement item ([0083]);
the configuration information of the first signal ([0080]-[0084]); or
the information about a time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0080]-[0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radar of Lee as suggested by Herbertsson because this allows adjusting the radar operation in various situations to properly classify the target, and to allow an vehicle to avoid collisions with a very close vehicle ([0081]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee appears to disclose a A sensing method, comprising:
wherein the target sensing measurement result is obtained by a first device ([0030] disclosing determining a relative distance, a relative velocity and a reference angle for the target from the time-frequency channel response matrix), wherein the target sensing measurement result is based on at least one time-frequency domain channel matrix obtained by a first device (Fig. 1, signal receiver 30, [0026]; Figs. 2-3, S16, [0029]-[0030] disclosing the signal processing method obtains a time-frequency channel response matrix),
wherein the time-frequency domain channel matrix comprises information about frequency domain channel responses that correspond to a plurality of time-frequency domain sampling points (Fig. 3, [0028]-[0029] disclosing an MxN channel coefficient matrix is formed of channel coefficient matrix blocks 402 from sampling; [0030] disclosing the time-frequency channel response matrix is obtained by performing a two-dimensional fast Fourier transform on the channel coefficient matrix),
each time-frequency domain channel matrix corresponds to one antenna transceiver combination (Fig. 1, antenna 32, signal processing unit 34, Fig. 3, 40, 42, 44, [0029] disclosing each antenna signal processing unit combination generates channel coefficient matrices 40, 42 and 44 respectively),
the information about the frequency domain channel responses is obtained by performing channel estimation on a received first signal by the first device ([0028]-[0030] disclosing the processing steps to determine (i.e., estimate) the channel coefficient matrix blocks 402 according to equation (3) and a two-dimensional fast Fourier transform, or an OFDM signal obtained in the conventional OFDM signal processing manner),
the time-frequency domain channel matrix is an M×N or N×M matrix, M represents a quantity of frequency domain sampling points, and N represents a quantity of time domain sampling points ([0028]-[0030] disclosing a two-dimensional fast Fourier transform is performed on the samples in the MxN coefficient matrix to obtain a time-frequency channel response matrix); and
Lee does not expressly disclose the following; however, Poddar suggests obtaining, by a first device, at least one sensing measurement result based on at least one of a time domain variance, standard deviation, or coefficient of variation of at least one time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0002] disclosing measurement results such as range, relative velocity and angle to a target; Fig. 5, [0044]-[0046] disclosing determining a dispersion of a phase characteristic, such as a standard deviation, variance, interquartile range of the range (e.g., distance) measurement); and
obtaining, by the first device, a target sensing measurement result based on the at least one sensing measurement result ([0046]-[0049] disclosing assigning the range bin as exhibiting synchronous interference based on the dispersion which result in real targets and additional fake targets which can be distinguished using the disclosed synchronous interference techniques).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radar of Lee as suggested by Poddar because this can allow the radar to detect existing targets while rejecting interference without any prior knowledge of the parameters of the interfering radar ([0003]).
Herbertsson suggests obtaining, by a second device, a target sensing measurement result ([0080], [0082] disclosing a target tracking function receives a list of target detections).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Lee as suggested by Herbertsson because this allows a device to utilize the radar to control a vehicle while avoiding collisions with nearby objects ([0080])
Regarding claim 15, Lee does not expressly disclose the following; however, Herbertsson suggests the sensing method according to claim 14, wherein before the obtaining, by a second device, a target sensing measurement result, the sensing method further comprises:
sending, by the second device, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of the following:
sensing requirement information, wherein the sensing requirement information corresponds to at least one of a sensing measurement item ([0080]-[0084]),
a first threshold,
configuration information of a first signal ([0080]-[0084]), or
information about a time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0080]-[0084]);
a sensing measurement item, wherein the sensing measurement item corresponds to a sensing measurement result ([0080]-[0084]);
a first threshold;
configuration information of a first signal ([0080]-[0084]); or
information about a time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0080]-[0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Lee as suggested by Herbertsson because this allows a device to utilize the radar to control a vehicle while avoiding collisions with nearby objects ([0080])
Regarding claim 16, Lee does not expressly disclose the following; however, Herbertsson suggests the sensing method according to claim 15, wherein after the obtaining, by a second device, a target sensing measurement result, the sensing method further comprises:
when the target sensing measurement result meets the first threshold, sending second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for adjusting a target parameter in the first indication information ([0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Lee as suggested by Herbertsson because this allows a device to utilize the radar to control a vehicle while avoiding collisions with nearby objects ([0080]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee does not expressly disclose the following; however, Herbertsson suggests the sensing method according to claim 16, wherein the target parameter comprises at least one of the following:
the sensing requirement information; the sensing measurement item; the configuration information of the first signal; or the information about a time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0080]-[0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Lee as suggested by Herbertsson because this allows a device to utilize the radar to control a vehicle while avoiding collisions with nearby objects ([0080]).
Regarding claim 18, Lee appears to disclose the sensing method according to claim 15, wherein the information about a time-frequency domain channel matrix comprises at least one of the following:
information about a time domain calculation window ([0026]-[0030]);
information about a frequency domain calculation window ([0026]-[0030]);
a sliding step of a time domain calculation window of a time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0026]-[0030]); or
information indicating a type of an element in a time-frequency domain channel matrix ([0026]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 19, Lee in view of Poddar suggests the sensing method according to claim 14, wherein the target sensing measurement result comprises at least one of the following:
a sensing measurement result meeting the first threshold (Poddar: [0049], [0053]-[0054], );
information about a relationship between a sensing measurement result and the first threshold (Poddar: [0053]-[0054]);
a difference between the first threshold and a sensing measurement result that meets the first threshold; or
target information obtained based on the time-frequency domain channel matrix, wherein the target information is reported when a sensing measurement result meets the first threshold (Lee: [0028]-[0030]; Poddar [0053]-[0054]), and
the target information comprises at least one of the following:
doppler information of a target object (Lee: [0029]);
a velocity of a target object (Lee: [0030]);
coordinates of a target object;
a range between a target object and a signal transceiver device (Lee: [0030]);
an angle between a target object and a signal transceiver device (Lee: [0030]); or
a transmission-to-reception delay of the first signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radar of Lee as suggested by Poddar because this can allow the radar to detect existing targets while rejecting interference without any prior knowledge of the parameters of the interfering radar ([0003]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0256949 A1) in view of Poddar et al. (US 2024/0069152 A1) in view of Herbertsson et al. (US 2023/0040147 A1) further in view of Graves et al. (US 2019/0329772 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Lee does not expressly disclose the following; however, Graves suggest the sensing method according to claim 8, wherein the target sensing measurement result further comprises:
a time at which the first device receives the first signal; a time at which the first device obtains the sensing measurement result or a time at which the first device obtains the target sensing measurement result; and time unit information corresponding to the first signal ([0097], [0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radar of Lee as suggested by Graves because this can provide a radar that is useful for maintaining safe distances between vehicles in varying conditions ([0002]-[0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang et al. (US 2021/0247483 A1) discloses many statistical techniques which can be utilized to enhance radar detections ([0176).
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461