Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 03/23/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPG_Pub. 20150382079 to Lister, in view of USPG_Pub. 20150317341 to Barker.
Regarding claim 19, Lister discloses a method comprising: obtaining an audio video stream to be made searchable with natural language commands (fig. 4, 404; Para. 74 (a spoken user request can be received that is associated with an event in a media stream-the spoken request is a natural language command));
generating, in response to said obtaining, an index in which each event of a plurality of events occurring throughout the audio video stream is associated with (i) a corresponding portion of the audio video stream (Para. 75 (virtual assistant response that causes playback to commence based on an event in a media stream is the control signal)) and (ii) an elapsed time of the audio video stream (fig. 5, 514, 516; Para. 71 (each event 516 is associated with a time that has passed since the beginning of the media stream 514)); and storing the index in a repository (Para. 73 (stream and data feed received stored at server 114 incorporation into knowledge base/database)).
Lister does not explicitly disclose index including elapsed time of the event.
Barker discloses index including elapsed time of the event (fig. 4; Para. 39).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the index of Lister to include elapsed time of the event as disclosed by Barker in order to be able to search and retrieve events according to the game clock instead of the absolute time.
Regarding claim 20, Lister in view of Barker discloses the method, wherein the index is generated in real time as the audio video stream is obtained, as part of an ongoing and continuous process, in the form of a live stream (Lister: Para. 65).
Regarding claim 21, Lister discloses the method, wherein the index is generated in response to the audio video stream, in the form of a complete recording, being retrieved from the repository (Lister: Para. 24-25, 73 (retrieval from knowledgebase database)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 and 23-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,075,126. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are similar and/or broader variations of the claims of the 126’ parent patent.
Claim 1 of the application corresponds to claim 12 of the parent patent.
Claim 2 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the parent patent.
Claim 3 of the application corresponds to claim 24 of the parent patent (sequential playback of adjacent segments means end of first is start of second in the sequence).
Claim 4 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the parent patent.
Claim 5 of the application corresponds to claim 2 of the parent patent.
Claim 6 of the application corresponds to claim 4 of the parent patent.
Claim 7 of the application corresponds to claim 3 of the parent patent.
Claim 8 of the application corresponds to claim 6 of the parent patent.
Claim 9 of the application corresponds to claim 7 of the parent patent.
Claim 10 of the application corresponds to claim 24 of the parent patent.
Claim 11 of the application corresponds to claim 22 of the parent patent.
Claim 12 of the application corresponds to claim 8 of the parent patent.
Claim 13 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the parent patent.
Claim 14 of the application corresponds to claim 11 of the parent patent.
Claim 15 of the application corresponds to claim 13 of the parent patent.
Claim 16 of the application corresponds to claim 14 of the parent patent.
Claim 17 of the application corresponds to claim 15 of the parent patent.
Claim 18 of the application corresponds to claim 16 of the parent patent.
Claim 19 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the parent patent.
Claim 20 of the application corresponds to claim 15 of the parent patent.
Claim 21 of the application corresponds to claim 16 of the parent patent.
Claim 23 of the application corresponds to claim 22 of the parent patent.
Claim 24 of the application corresponds to claim 19 of the parent patent.
Claim 25 of the application corresponds to claim 20 of the parent patent.
Claim 26 of the application corresponds to claim 21 of the parent patent.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY BANTAMOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2422