Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed on 08/03/2026. U.S. patents and Foreign Patents have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 – 9, 11, 12, 17 – 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20110004856A1 (Granik) in view of US20190137889A1 (Tel).
In regards to claim 1 (Granik) shows:
A method for optimizing a mask layout for producing masks that are used for manufacturing an integrated circuit (IC) comprising multiple layers of components, the method comprising: Granik [0047] discusses computer system methodology for mask calculations, Granik [0059] teaches pixel-based inverse mask optimization formulation, and Granik [0142] addresses practical application to semiconductor manufacturing where these methods collectively establish mask layout optimization for IC fabrication.
iteratively generating a plurality of simulated wafer images for a first layer of the IC based on a mask layout for the first layer; Granik [0211] teaches iterative comparison of exploratory pixel transmission values generating predicted manufactured shapes for different mask configurations, and Granik [0221] describes iterative recalculation of image intensity as mask pixels change that collectively establish iterative generation of a plurality of simulated wafer images from a mask layout.
computing an objective function based on (i) comparing one or more of the simulated wafer images to a target wafer image for the first layer to determine whether the predicted manufactured shapes match corresponding shapes in the target wafer image; Granik [0052] defines the objective function that relates a simulation of the image intensity on wafer to the pixel transmission characteristics of the mask data and the optics of the photolithographic printing system, Granik [0066] teaches Euclidean distance comparison between target and actual images, and Granik [0153] details optimization objectives for comparing predicted versus desired patterns.
performing an inverse lithography operation to adjust mask shapes of the mask layout based on optimizing the objective function; Granik [0059] establishes inverse lithography formulation, Granik [0112] teaches optimization algorithms including gradient descent, and Granik [0113] describes local variations methods where these collectively teach inverse lithography operations for mask adjustment.
wherein the inverse lithography operation explores different mask layouts; Granik [0112] teaches local variation algorithms comparing different transmission values, Granik [0113] describes exploratory pixel modifications, and Granik [0210] details constrained optimization methods that collectively demonstrate exploration of different mask configurations.
and is biased by the objective function to select mask shapes that ensure that critical regions of the predicted manufactured shapes more perfectly match the corresponding target shapes at expense of less important regions of the predicted manufactured shapes failing to match the corresponding target shapes; Granik [0051] introduces weighting functions for pixel importance, Granik [0234] describes weight assignment based on feature significance, and Granik [0266] teaches adaptive weight adjustment methods that collectively establish biased selection favoring critical regions.
Granik differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose each simulated wafer image comprising predicted manufactured shapes representing IC components for the first layer based on a different set of manufacturing process variations; measuring sizes of overlaps, accounting for the different sets of manufacturing process variations, between the predicted manufactured shapes in the plurality of simulated wafer images for the first layer of the IC and predicted manufactured shapes representing IC components for a second layer of the IC in a third set of one or more wafer images for the second layer; and said critical regions comprising the measured overlaps thereby ensuring that the respective overlaps measure at least respective threshold sizes irrespective of the manufacturing process variations.
Tel teaches each simulated wafer image comprising predicted manufactured shapes representing IC components for the first layer based on a different set of manufacturing process variations; Tel [0085] teaches that optimizing a lithographic projection apparatus expands the process window, defined as a set of focus and dose values for which the resist image is within a certain limit of the design target, and Tel [0086] teaches minimizing a cost function in the vicinity of a plurality of focus and dose conditions varied about a nominal focus and a nominal dose, whereby a simulated resist image comprising predicted manufactured shapes is generated for each of a plurality of different sets of manufacturing process variations.
Tel teaches measuring sizes of overlaps, accounting for the different sets of manufacturing process variations, between the predicted manufactured shapes in the plurality of simulated wafer images for the first layer of the IC and predicted manufactured shapes representing IC components for a second layer of the IC in a third set of one or more wafer images for the second layer; Tel [0065] teaches that the overlapping area between a pattern in one layer and a pattern in a different layer on the substrate is an interlayer characteristic that may be simulated by simulating one or both patterns, where the overlapping area equals a product of the overlapping widths of the two patterns, Tel [0057] establishes that a cost function term can be a function of an interlayer characteristic which is in turn a function of the design variables, and Tel [0086] teaches evaluating such cost function terms across the plurality of focus and dose conditions such that the overlap measurement accounts for the different sets of manufacturing process variations.
Tel teaches said critical regions comprising the measured overlaps thereby ensuring that the respective overlaps measure at least respective threshold sizes irrespective of the manufacturing process variations; Tel [0079] teaches a cost function that minimizes the magnitude of the largest deviation, the worst defect, among the characteristics, Tel [0081] and [0082] teach constraining each characteristic within a minimum and a maximum allowed deviation across the process window conditions, and Tel [0086] teaches minimizing the worst deviation over the plurality of focus and dose conditions such that the interlayer overlap is maintained at least at a respective threshold size irrespective of the manufacturing process variations.
The motivation to combine Granik and Tel at the effective filing date of the invention is to improve inverse lithography mask optimization for multi-layer IC manufacturing by incorporating inter-layer overlap measurement, evaluated across a range of manufacturing process variations, into the inverse lithography objective function, as Tel expressly recognizes that overlapping areas between patterns in different IC layers are critical interlayer characteristics warranting differential weighting in lithographic cost functions and that evaluating such characteristics across the process window ensures robustness to process variations.
In regards to claim 6 (Granik) shows the method of claim 1:
wherein the inverse lithography operation adjusts mask shapes that relate to fabrication of the IC components; Granik [0112] teaches optimization routine modification of transmission characteristics, Granik [0113] describes mask pixel adjustment methods, and Granik [0156] addresses pattern optimization for semiconductor fabrication that collectively establish mask shape adjustment for IC component fabrication.
In regards to claim 7 (Granik) shows the method of claim 6:
wherein the inverse lithography operation further adds and removes mask shapes that relate to fabrication of the IC components; Granik [0042] introduces subresolution assist feature insertion, Granik [0055] teaches penalty functions for adding mask features, and Granik [0135] demonstrates assist feature insertion capability that collectively establish adding and removing mask shapes.
In regards to claim 8 (Granik) shows the method of claim 1:
wherein the inverse lithography operation is biased by (i) applying a greater cost in the objective function to the critical regions failing to match the corresponding target shapes than to the less important regions failing to match the corresponding target shapes; Granik [0051] introduces weighting functions for objective function terms allowing differential importance assignment, Granik [0266] teaches adaptive weight adjustment that increases penalties for undesirable regions, Granik [0267] teaches adaptive modification of weight values during the optimization process, and Granik [0271] details weight modification procedures that collectively establish biased objective functions with greater costs for critical region failures.
Granik differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose (ii) applying costs to the overlaps that are inverse to the measured sizes of the overlaps.
Tel teaches (ii) applying costs to the overlaps that are inverse to the measured sizes of the overlaps; Tel [0057] teaches that a cost function term representing a characteristic is associated with a weight constant, and that a characteristic having a narrow range of permitted values is given a higher weight, and Tel [0065] teaches that the overlapping area between patterns in different layers is such a characteristic, such that a smaller measured overlap is assigned a greater cost, thereby applying costs to the overlaps that are inverse to the measured sizes of the overlaps.
The motivation to combine Granik and Tel at the effective filing date of the invention is to improve inverse lithography mask optimization for multi-layer IC manufacturing by incorporating inter-layer overlap measurement, evaluated across a range of manufacturing process variations, into the inverse lithography objective function, as Tel expressly recognizes that overlapping areas between patterns in different IC layers are critical interlayer characteristics warranting differential weighting in lithographic cost functions and that evaluating such characteristics across the process window ensures robustness to process variations.
In regards to claim 9 (Granik) shows the method of claim 8:
wherein the objective function is perfectly optimized when all of the predicted manufactured shapes exactly match all of the corresponding target shapes; Granik [0066] establishes optimization objective as Euclidean distance minimization and Granik [0153] teaches perfect optimization occurring when image intensity exactly matches the ideal target with zero error difference.
In regards to claim 11 (Granik) shows the method of claim 1:
wherein generating the simulated wafer image comprises simulating a set of lithography operations that are used to fabricate the layer of the IC using a set of masks based on the mask layout; Granik [0127] teaches electrical field caching for intensity calculations, Granik [0128] describes SOCS approximation for convolution operations, and Granik [0221] details computational methods for lithographic simulation that collectively establish simulation of lithography operations from mask to wafer.
In regards to claim 12 (Granik) shows:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium storing a program which when executed by at least one processing unit optimizes a mask layout for producing masks that are used for manufacturing an integrated circuit (IC) comprising multiple layers of components; Granik [0046] describes software implementation on a computer readable storage medium and Granik [0047] teaches computer system execution of mask optimization calculations that collectively establish a non-transitory medium storing optimization programs.
the program comprising sets of instructions for: iteratively generating a plurality of simulated wafer images for a first layer of the IC based on a mask layout for the first layer; Granik [0211] teaches iterative comparison of exploratory pixel transmission values generating predicted manufactured shapes for different mask configurations, and Granik [0221] describes iterative recalculation of image intensity as mask pixels change that collectively establish iterative generation of a plurality of simulated wafer images from a mask layout.
computing an objective function based on (i) comparing one or more of the simulated wafer images to a target wafer image for the first layer to determine whether the predicted manufactured shapes match corresponding shapes in the target wafer image; Granik [0052] defines the objective function that relates a simulation of the image intensity on wafer to the pixel transmission characteristics of the mask data and the optics of the photolithographic printing system, Granik [0066] teaches Euclidean distance comparison between target and actual images, and Granik [0153] details optimization objectives for comparing predicted versus desired patterns.
performing an inverse lithography operation to adjust mask shapes of the mask layout based on optimizing the objective function; Granik [0059] establishes inverse lithography formulation, Granik [0112] teaches optimization algorithms including gradient descent, and Granik [0113] describes local variations methods where these collectively teach inverse lithography operations for mask adjustment.
wherein the inverse lithography operation explores different mask layouts; Granik [0112] teaches local variation algorithms comparing different transmission values, Granik [0113] describes exploratory pixel modifications, and Granik [0210] details constrained optimization methods that collectively demonstrate exploration of different mask configurations.
and is biased by the objective function to select mask shapes that ensure that critical regions of the predicted manufactured shapes more perfectly match the corresponding target shapes at expense of less important regions of the predicted manufactured shapes failing to match the corresponding target shapes; Granik [0051] introduces weighting functions for pixel importance, Granik [0234] describes weight assignment based on feature significance, and Granik [0266] teaches adaptive weight adjustment methods that collectively establish biased selection favoring critical regions.
Granik differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose each simulated wafer image comprising predicted manufactured shapes representing IC components for the first layer based on a different set of manufacturing process variations; measuring sizes of overlaps, accounting for the different sets of manufacturing process variations, between the predicted manufactured shapes in the plurality of simulated wafer images for the first layer of the IC and predicted manufactured shapes representing IC components for a second layer of the IC in a third set of one or more wafer images for the second layer; and said critical regions comprising the measured overlaps thereby ensuring that the respective overlaps measure at least respective threshold sizes irrespective of the manufacturing process variations.
Tel teaches each simulated wafer image comprising predicted manufactured shapes representing IC components for the first layer based on a different set of manufacturing process variations; Tel [0085] teaches that optimizing a lithographic projection apparatus expands the process window, defined as a set of focus and dose values for which the resist image is within a certain limit of the design target, and Tel [0086] teaches minimizing a cost function in the vicinity of a plurality of focus and dose conditions varied about a nominal focus and a nominal dose, whereby a simulated resist image comprising predicted manufactured shapes is generated for each of a plurality of different sets of manufacturing process variations.
Tel teaches measuring sizes of overlaps, accounting for the different sets of manufacturing process variations, between the predicted manufactured shapes in the plurality of simulated wafer images for the first layer of the IC and predicted manufactured shapes representing IC components for a second layer of the IC in a third set of one or more wafer images for the second layer; Tel [0065] teaches that the overlapping area between a pattern in one layer and a pattern in a different layer on the substrate is an interlayer characteristic that may be simulated by simulating one or both patterns, where the overlapping area equals a product of the overlapping widths of the two patterns, Tel [0057] establishes that a cost function term can be a function of an interlayer characteristic which is in turn a function of the design variables, and Tel [0086] teaches evaluating such cost function terms across the plurality of focus and dose conditions such that the overlap measurement accounts for the different sets of manufacturing process variations.
Tel teaches said critical regions comprising the measured overlaps thereby ensuring that the respective overlaps measure at least respective threshold sizes irrespective of the manufacturing process variations; Tel [0079] teaches a cost function that minimizes the magnitude of the largest deviation, the worst defect, among the characteristics, Tel [0081] and [0082] teach constraining each characteristic within a minimum and a maximum allowed deviation across the process window conditions, and Tel [0086] teaches minimizing the worst deviation over the plurality of focus and dose conditions such that the interlayer overlap is maintained at least at a respective threshold size irrespective of the manufacturing process variations.
The motivation to combine Granik and Tel at the effective filing date of the invention is to improve inverse lithography mask optimization for multi-layer IC manufacturing by incorporating inter-layer overlap measurement, evaluated across a range of manufacturing process variations, into the inverse lithography objective function, as Tel expressly recognizes that overlapping areas between patterns in different IC layers are critical interlayer characteristics warranting differential weighting in lithographic cost functions and that evaluating such characteristics across the process window ensures robustness to process variations.
In regards to claim 17 (Granik) shows the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12:
wherein the inverse lithography operation adjusts mask shapes that relate to fabrication of the IC components; Granik [0112] teaches optimization routine modification of transmission characteristics, Granik [0113] describes mask pixel adjustment methods, and Granik [0156] addresses pattern optimization for semiconductor fabrication that collectively establish mask shape adjustment for IC component fabrication.
In regards to claim 18 (Granik) shows the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17:
wherein the inverse lithography operation further adds and removes mask shapes that relate to fabrication of the IC components; Granik [0042] introduces subresolution assist feature insertion, Granik [0055] teaches penalty functions for adding mask features, and Granik [0135] demonstrates assist feature insertion capability that collectively establish adding and removing mask shapes.
In regards to claim 19 (Granik) shows the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12:
wherein the inverse lithography operation is biased by (i) applying a greater cost in the objective function to the critical regions failing to match the corresponding target shapes than to the less important regions failing to match the corresponding target shapes; Granik [0051] introduces weighting functions for objective function terms allowing differential importance assignment, Granik [0266] teaches adaptive weight adjustment that increases penalties for undesirable regions, Granik [0267] teaches adaptive modification of weight values during the optimization process, and Granik [0271] details weight modification procedures that collectively establish biased objective functions with greater costs for critical region failures.
Granik differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose (ii) applying costs to the overlaps that are inverse to the measured sizes of the overlaps.
Tel teaches (ii) applying costs to the overlaps that are inverse to the measured sizes of the overlaps; Tel [0057] teaches that a cost function term representing a characteristic is associated with a weight constant, and that a characteristic having a narrow range of permitted values is given a higher weight, and Tel [0065] teaches that the overlapping area between patterns in different layers is such a characteristic, such that a smaller measured overlap is assigned a greater cost, thereby applying costs to the overlaps that are inverse to the measured sizes of the overlaps.
The motivation to combine Granik and Tel at the effective filing date of the invention is to improve inverse lithography mask optimization for multi-layer IC manufacturing by incorporating inter-layer overlap measurement, evaluated across a range of manufacturing process variations, into the inverse lithography objective function, as Tel expressly recognizes that overlapping areas between patterns in different IC layers are critical interlayer characteristics warranting differential weighting in lithographic cost functions and that evaluating such characteristics across the process window ensures robustness to process variations.
In regards to claim 20 (Granik) shows the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 19:
wherein the objective function is perfectly optimized when all of the predicted manufactured shapes exactly match all of the corresponding target shapes; Granik [0066] establishes optimization objective as Euclidean distance minimization and Granik [0153] teaches perfect optimization occurring when image intensity exactly matches the ideal target with zero error difference.
In regards to claim 22 (Granik) does not show: the different simulated wafer images in the plurality of simulated wafer images comprise different sizes of predicted manufactured shapes representing each of a set of the IC components for the first layer based on the different sets of manufacturing process variations; measuring size of a particular overlap between the predicted manufactured shapes representing a particular first-layer IC component in the plurality of simulated wafer images and a set of predicted manufactured shapes representing a particular second-layer IC component in the set of wafer images for the second layer comprises: computing an area of overlap between each different size predicted manufactured shape representing the particular first-layer IC component and each predicted manufactured shape representing the particular second-layer IC component; and using the computed areas of overlap to determine the size of the particular overlap.
Tel teaches the different simulated wafer images in the plurality of simulated wafer images comprise different sizes of predicted manufactured shapes representing each of a set of the IC components for the first layer based on the different sets of manufacturing process variations; Tel [0085] and [0086] teach evaluating the design across a plurality of focus and dose conditions varied about a nominal focus and a nominal dose, whereby the predicted manufactured shapes representing the IC components for the first layer take different sizes for the different sets of manufacturing process variations.
Tel teaches measuring size of a particular overlap between the predicted manufactured shapes representing a particular first-layer IC component in the plurality of simulated wafer images and a set of predicted manufactured shapes representing a particular second-layer IC component in the set of wafer images for the second layer comprises: computing an area of overlap between each different size predicted manufactured shape representing the particular first-layer IC component and each predicted manufactured shape representing the particular second-layer IC component; and using the computed areas of overlap to determine the size of the particular overlap; Tel [0065] teaches that the overlapping area between a first-layer pattern and a second-layer pattern is computed as a product of the overlapping widths of the two patterns, and that this overlapping area is used as the interlayer characteristic, thereby computing an area of overlap for each predicted manufactured shape and using the computed areas of overlap to determine the size of the particular overlap.
The motivation to combine Granik and Tel at the effective filing date of the invention is to improve inverse lithography mask optimization for multi-layer IC manufacturing by incorporating inter-layer overlap measurement, evaluated across a range of manufacturing process variations, into the inverse lithography objective function, as Tel expressly recognizes that overlapping areas between patterns in different IC layers are critical interlayer characteristics warranting differential weighting in lithographic cost functions and that evaluating such characteristics across the process window ensures robustness to process variations.
Claims 2 – 5 and 13 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20110004856A1 (Granik) in view of US20190137889A1 (Tel) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, respectively, and further in view of US20070037394A1 (Su).
In regards to claim 2 (Granik modified by Tel) does not show: wherein the overlap sizes between the predicted manufactured shapes in the simulated wafer images for the first layer and the predicted manufactured shapes in the third set of wafer images for the second layer represent regions of the IC components in the first layer that form z-axis connections with IC components on other layers of the IC.
Su teaches wherein the overlap sizes between the predicted manufactured shapes in the simulated wafer images for the first layer and the predicted manufactured shapes in the third set of wafer images for the second layer represent regions of the IC components in the first layer that form z-axis connections with IC components on other layers of the IC; Su [0052] describes multilayer interconnect architecture with vertical connections, Su [0054] details metal levels with orthogonal arrangements to minimize interference, and Su [0066] teaches intra-metal and inter-metal connections that collectively establish z-axis connections between IC layers.
The motivation to combine Granik and Tel at the effective filing date of the invention is to improve inverse lithography mask optimization for multi-layer IC manufacturing by incorporating inter-layer overlap measurement, evaluated across a range of manufacturing process variations, into the inverse lithography objective function, as Tel expressly recognizes that overlapping areas between patterns in different IC layers are critical interlayer characteristics warranting differential weighting in lithographic cost functions and that evaluating such characteristics across the process window ensures robustness to process variations.
The motivation to combine Granik, Tel, and Su at the effective filing date of the invention is to apply the Granik and Tel inter-layer overlap optimization framework specifically to z-axis connection regions, as Su identifies vias and contacts between metal wiring and neighboring dielectric layers as the functionally critical inter-layer regions in BEOL IC manufacturing, and a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized these regions as the natural targets for the higher-weighted interlayer cost terms taught by Tel within Granik inverse lithography framework.
In regards to claim 3 (Granik) shows the method of claim 2:
wherein the less important regions of the predicted manufactured shapes represent regions of the IC components in the first layer that do not form z-axis connections with any IC components on other layers; Granik [0051] introduces variable weighting functions for different pixel regions and Granik [0266] teaches differential weight assignment where pixels can receive lower importance values representing regions without critical connections.
In regards to claim 4 (Granik modified by Tel) does not show: wherein the first layer of the IC is a metal wiring layer and the second layer is a neighboring dielectric layer, wherein at least a subset of the z-axis connections comprise connections between interconnect wire segments in the metal wiring layer and vias in the neighboring dielectric layer.
Su teaches wherein the first layer of the IC is a metal wiring layer and the second layer is a neighboring dielectric layer, wherein at least a subset of the z-axis connections comprise connections between interconnect wire segments in the metal wiring layer and vias in the neighboring dielectric layer; Su [0052] describes metal interconnect layers within multilevel structures, Su [0064] teaches via connections between metal levels, and Su [0098] details via/metal enclosures that collectively establish metal wiring layers connected to vias in dielectric layers.
The motivation to combine Granik and Tel at the effective filing date of the invention is to improve inverse lithography mask optimization for multi-layer IC manufacturing by incorporating inter-layer overlap measurement, evaluated across a range of manufacturing process variations, into the inverse lithography objective function, as Tel expressly recognizes that overlapping areas between patterns in different IC layers are critical interlayer characteristics warranting differential weighting in lithographic cost functions and that evaluating such characteristics across the process window ensures robustness to process variations.
The motivation to combine Granik, Tel, and Su at the effective filing date of the invention is to apply the Granik and Tel inter-layer overlap optimization framework specifically to z-axis connection regions, as Su identifies vias and contacts between metal wiring and neighboring dielectric layers as the functionally critical inter-layer regions in BEOL IC manufacturing, and a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized these regions as the natural targets for the higher-weighted interlayer cost terms taught by Tel within Granik inverse lithography framework.
In regards to claim 5 (Granik modified by Tel) does not show: wherein the first layer of the IC is a dielectric layer and the second layer is a neighboring metal wiring layer, wherein at least a subset of the z-axis connections comprise connections between vias in the dielectric layer and interconnect wire segments in the neighboring metal wiring layer.
Su teaches wherein the first layer of the IC is a dielectric layer and the second layer is a neighboring metal wiring layer, wherein at least a subset of the z-axis connections comprise connections between vias in the dielectric layer and interconnect wire segments in the neighboring metal wiring layer; Su [0054] describes dielectric layer construction including ILD and IMD layers, Su [0121] teaches via formation through dielectric materials, and Su [0125] details dual damascene processes that collectively establish dielectric layers with vias connecting to metal wiring.
The motivation to combine Granik and Tel at the effective filing date of the invention is to improve inverse lithography mask optimization for multi-layer IC manufacturing by incorporating inter-layer overlap measurement, evaluated across a range of manufacturing process variations, into the inverse lithography objective function, as Tel expressly recognizes that overlapping areas between patterns in different IC layers are critical interlayer characteristics warranting differential weighting in lithographic cost functions and that evaluating such characteristics across the process window ensures robustness to process variations.
The motivation to combine Granik, Tel, and Su at the effective filing date of the invention is to apply the Granik and Tel inter-layer overlap optimization framework specifically to z-axis connection regions, as Su identifies vias and contacts between metal wiring and neighboring dielectric layers as the functionally critical inter-layer regions in BEOL IC manufacturing, and a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized these regions as the natural targets for the higher-weighted interlayer cost terms taught by Tel within Granik inverse lithography framework.
In regards to claim 13 (Granik modified by Tel) does not show: wherein the overlap sizes between the predicted manufactured shapes in the simulated wafer images for the first layer and the predicted manufactured shapes in the third set of wafer images for the second layer represent regions of the IC components in the first layer that form z-axis connections with IC components on other layers of the IC.
Su teaches wherein the overlap sizes between the predicted manufactured shapes in the simulated wafer images for the first layer and the predicted manufactured shapes in the third set of wafer images for the second layer represent regions of the IC components in the first layer that form z-axis connections with IC components on other layers of the IC; Su [0052] describes multilayer interconnect architecture with vertical connections, Su [0054] details metal levels with orthogonal arrangements to minimize interference, and Su [0066] teaches intra-metal and inter-metal connections that collectively establish z-axis connections between IC layers.
The motivation to combine Granik and Tel at the effective filing date of the invention is to improve inverse lithography mask optimization for multi-layer IC manufacturing by incorporating inter-layer overlap measurement, evaluated across a range of manufacturing process variations, into the inverse lithography objective function, as Tel expressly recognizes that overlapping areas between patterns in different IC layers are critical interlayer characteristics warranting differential weighting in lithographic cost functions and that evaluating such characteristics across the process window ensures robustness to process variations.
The motivation to combine Granik, Tel, and Su at the effective filing date of the invention is to apply the Granik and Tel inter-layer overlap optimization framework specifically to z-axis connection regions, as Su identifies vias and contacts between metal wiring and neighboring dielectric layers as the functionally critical inter-layer regions in BEOL IC manufacturing, and a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized these regions as the natural targets for the higher-weighted interlayer cost terms taught by Tel within Granik inverse lithography framework.
In regards to claim 14 (Granik) shows the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 13:
wherein the less important regions of the predicted manufactured shapes represent regions of the IC components in the first layer that do not form z-axis connections with any IC components on other layers; Granik [0051] introduces variable weighting functions for different pixel regions and Granik [0266] teaches differential weight assignment where pixels can receive lower importance values representing regions without critical connections.
In regards to claim 15 (Granik modified by Tel) does not show: wherein the first layer of the IC is a metal wiring layer and the second layer is a neighboring dielectric layer, wherein at least a subset of the z-axis connections comprise connections between interconnect wire segments in the metal wiring layer and vias in the neighboring dielectric layer.
Su teaches wherein the first layer of the IC is a metal wiring layer and the second layer is a neighboring dielectric layer, wherein at least a subset of the z-axis connections comprise connections between interconnect wire segments in the metal wiring layer and vias in the neighboring dielectric layer; Su [0052] describes metal interconnect layers within multilevel structures, Su [0064] teaches via connections between metal levels, and Su [0098] details via/metal enclosures that collectively establish metal wiring layers connected to vias in dielectric layers.
The motivation to combine Granik and Tel at the effective filing date of the invention is to improve inverse lithography mask optimization for multi-layer IC manufacturing by incorporating inter-layer overlap measurement, evaluated across a range of manufacturing process variations, into the inverse lithography objective function, as Tel expressly recognizes that overlapping areas between patterns in different IC layers are critical interlayer characteristics warranting differential weighting in lithographic cost functions and that evaluating such characteristics across the process window ensures robustness to process variations.
The motivation to combine Granik, Tel, and Su at the effective filing date of the invention is to apply the Granik and Tel inter-layer overlap optimization framework specifically to z-axis connection regions, as Su identifies vias and contacts between metal wiring and neighboring dielectric layers as the functionally critical inter-layer regions in BEOL IC manufacturing, and a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized these regions as the natural targets for the higher-weighted interlayer cost terms taught by Tel within Granik inverse lithography framework.
In regards to claim 16 (Granik modified by Tel) does not show: wherein the first layer of the IC is a dielectric layer and the second layer is a neighboring metal wiring layer, wherein at least a subset of the z-axis connections comprise connections between vias in the dielectric layer and interconnect wire segments in the neighboring metal wiring layer.
Su teaches wherein the first layer of the IC is a dielectric layer and the second layer is a neighboring metal wiring layer, wherein at least a subset of the z-axis connections comprise connections between vias in the dielectric layer and interconnect wire segments in the neighboring metal wiring layer; Su [0054] describes dielectric layer construction including ILD and IMD layers, Su [0121] teaches via formation through dielectric materials, and Su [0125] details dual damascene processes that collectively establish dielectric layers with vias connecting to metal wiring.
The motivation to combine Granik and Tel at the effective filing date of the invention is to improve inverse lithography mask optimization for multi-layer IC manufacturing by incorporating inter-layer overlap measurement, evaluated across a range of manufacturing process variations, into the inverse lithography objective function, as Tel expressly recognizes that overlapping areas between patterns in different IC layers are critical interlayer characteristics warranting differential weighting in lithographic cost functions and that evaluating such characteristics across the process window ensures robustness to process variations.
The motivation to combine Granik, Tel, and Su at the effective filing date of the invention is to apply the Granik and Tel inter-layer overlap optimization framework specifically to z-axis connection regions, as Su identifies vias and contacts between metal wiring and neighboring dielectric layers as the functionally critical inter-layer regions in BEOL IC manufacturing, and a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized these regions as the natural targets for the higher-weighted interlayer cost terms taught by Tel within Granik inverse lithography framework.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 14, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
Applicant argues that the cited references do not disclose or suggest generating a plurality of simulated wafer images for a layer based on different sets of manufacturing process variations. While Granik is relied upon for the iterative generation of simulated wafer images from a mask layout, the plurality of images corresponding to different sets of manufacturing process variations is taught by Tel. Tel [0085] and [0086] teach optimizing over a process window by minimizing a cost function evaluated at a plurality of focus and dose conditions varied about a nominal focus and a nominal dose, thereby generating a simulated resist image for each of a plurality of different sets of manufacturing process variations. Applicant's argument is directed only to Granik individually and does not address the Granik and Tel combination as a whole.
Applicant further argues that Tel does not measure overlaps while accounting for different sets of manufacturing process variations, and that neither reference uses an objective function to ensure that overlaps measure at least respective threshold sizes. This is not persuasive. Tel [0065] teaches measuring the overlapping area between patterns in different layers as an interlayer characteristic, and Tel [0057] incorporates that interlayer characteristic as a weighted term of the cost function. Tel [0086] teaches evaluating the cost function, including such terms, across the plurality of focus and dose conditions, so that the overlap measurement accounts for the different sets of manufacturing process variations. Tel [0079], [0081], and [0082] further teach a worst-defect formulation that constrains each characteristic within minimum and maximum allowed deviations across the process window, which, applied to the interlayer overlap, ensures the overlap is maintained at least at a respective threshold size irrespective of the manufacturing process variations.
For at least these reasons, the combination of Granik and Tel teaches the amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 12, and new claim 22 is likewise unpatentable over Granik and Tel. The rejections of the dependent claims, including the z-axis connection limitations addressed by Su, are maintained for the reasons set forth in the body of this action.
Conclusion
/ANWER AHMED ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2851
/JACK CHIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851