DETAILED ACTION
The following Office Action is in response to the Non-Provisional Patent Application filed on August 23, 2024. Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Concerning claim 1, lines 8 and 11 recite the phrase “stabilization based”, wherein the word “based” appears to be a misspelling of the word “base”.
Concerning claim 3, line 2 of the claim recites the word “complimentarily”, wherein this appears to be a misspelling of the word “complementarily”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dominguez et al. (US 2002/0038126, hereinafter Dominguez).
Concerning claim 1, the Dominguez et al. prior art reference teaches a system for fixing an anchor to a subject (Figures 1-8; 10), wherein said anchor may be a used as a tracking device or to fix a tracking device, comprising: an anchor configured to be passed through an incision in a subject to engage a bone (Figure 8; 156); an elongated member (Figure 2; 22) having an anchor engaging portion to engage the anchor (Figure 6; 134); a stabilization base having a passage (Figure 2; 18), wherein the elongated member is operable to pass through the passage such that the stabilization base is operable to move toward the anchor along the elongated member ([¶ 0031], base may extend or move/slide relative to the anchor such that distal points approach a level of the distal end of the anchor tube, and thus the anchor); and a knob to abut the stabilization base and move the stabilization base toward the subject along the elongated member (Figure 1; 16); wherein the stabilization base is operable to contact the subject with at least a portion of the stabilization base to hold the elongated member relative to the subject ([¶ 0035]).
Concerning claim 2, the Dominguez reference teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: a driving tool to drive the anchor into the bone of the patient (Figure 7; 150).
Concerning claim 5, the Dominguez reference teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the elongated member includes a distal end opposite the anchor engaging portion (Figure 2; 12, mounting bracket may be interpreted as comprising the distal end of the elongated member); wherein the distal end includes a smooth tapered outer wall (Figure 2; starburst teeth 44 of the mounting bracket may be interpreted as a smooth tapered portion of the outer wall given the tapering of the teeth) and a distal portion configured to puncture a drape (Figure 2; starburst teeth 44 capable of puncturing a drape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dominguez et al. (US 2002/0038126, hereinafter Dominguez) in view of Biedermann et al. (US 2015/0257797, hereinafter Biedermann).
Concerning claim 3, the Dominguez reference teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the Dominguez reference teaches the anchor having a head (Figure 8; 156) operable to engage a complementarily shaped anchor engagement portion of the elongated member (Figure 6; 134 | [¶ 0036]), but it does not specifically teach the head of the anchor being spherical.
However, the Biedermann reference teaches a bone anchor (Figure 21; 100), wherein the head of the anchor is spherical (Figure 21; 102) and is operable to engage a complementarily shaped anchor engagement portion (Figure 21; 26) of an elongated member (Figure 21; 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the head of the anchor of the Dominguez reference have a spherical shape as in the Biedermann given it is a common shape for polyaxial bone screws (Biedermann; [¶ 0039]), and to further have the anchor engagement be complementarily shaped to provide a seat for the head (Biedermann; [¶ 0045]).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dominguez et al. (US 2002/0038126, hereinafter Dominguez) in view of Kreidler (US 2005/0216015, hereinafter Kreidler)
Concerning claim 4, the Dominguez reference teaches the system of claim 1, but does not specifically teach the maximum exterior diameter of the anchor.
However, the Kreidler reference teaches a bone screw, wherein the reference teaches that the maximum diameter for a small fragment screw head may be about 3-4 mm ([¶ 0003]), which is about 2.3 mm, given the bounds of “about” have not been defined.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the maximum exterior dimension of the anchor of the Dominguez and Biedermann combination, which is defined at the head, be about 3-4 mm, which is about 2.3 mm, to allow the bone screw to be used for such applications as for cranial injuries, hand surgeries, or maxillofacial surgeries (Kreidler; [¶ 0003]).
Conclusion
/MARTIN T TON/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 12/2/2025