Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is greater than 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“rack replacement device” in claim 1.
In this instant case: “rack replacement device” in claim 1 is being interpreted as a device that includes a storage unit containing a plurality of racks and an arm (instant specification, [0024]) or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okado et al. (US 20190277736 A1) in view of Deppermann et al. (US 20110195866 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Okado teaches an extraction analysis system (Fig. 1) comprising an extraction analysis device (Fig. 1 and [0006] teaches a component extraction device where extracted samples are sent to a detector to be analyzed),
wherein the extraction analysis device includes a placement table (Fig. 1, rack mounting stand 17) for placing a rack (container rack 12) holding a plurality of extraction containers (sample containers 11) and an analysis channel for analyzing a component extracted from a sample (Fig. 1 teaches channels from valve 19; [0006] teaches liquid in each sample container is sent to the detector to be analyzed; therefore, the device includes a channel for analyzing a component extracted from a sample), and the extraction analysis device is configured to execute an extraction operation for extracting components from a sample to a mobile phase being a supercritical fluid in the extraction container set as the extraction target ([0001] teaches extracting a target component from a sample using a supercritical fluid; [0036] teaches the supercritical fluid is flowed into the sample container 11 to extract a component from a sample, i.e. from a sample to a supercritical fluid), and to execute analysis of the components by introducing the components extracted by the extraction operation into the analysis channel ([0006] teaches liquid in each of the sample containers is sent to the detector where the component in the supercritical fluid is analyzed),
Okado fails to teach:
a rack replacement device;
the extraction analysis device is configured to set the plurality of extraction containers held in the rack placed on the placement table as extraction targets in a preset order;
the rack replacement device is configured to execute replacement of the rack on the placement table by performing movement of the rack from the placement table of the extraction analysis device and placement of the rack on the placement table,
the extraction analysis device is configured to bring the rack into a movable state in which the rack can be moved from the placement table during the analysis of components extracted from a sample by the extraction operation in the extraction container set as a last extraction target among the plurality of extraction containers held in the rack, and
the rack replacement device is configured to execute replacement of the rack on the placement table during the analysis of the components extracted by the extraction operation in the extraction container set as the last extraction target.
Okado teaches liquid in each of the sample containers is sent to the detector for analysis ([0006]). Okado teaches supercritical fluid is flowed consecutively into the sample containers to extract the component from the sample in each containers ([0039]). Okado teaches the needle is inserted into an opening of one of the other containers by the needle moving mechanism to analyze a component of a sample of the other sample containers ([0038]). Okado teaches a moving mechanism to move the needle (Fig. 1; [0024]), which is controlled by a control unit ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the extraction analysis device to incorporate Okado’s teachings of a moving mechanism to move a needle to consecutively extract and sample components of the containers for analysis ([0006],[0024],[0027],[0038]-[0039]) to provide: the extraction analysis device is configured to set the plurality of extraction containers held in the rack placed on the placement table as extraction targets in a preset order. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automation of consecutive sampling of each container of the rack for analysis of the components in each container.
Modified Okado fails to teach: a rack replacement device;
the rack replacement device is configured to execute replacement of the rack on the placement table by performing movement of the rack from the placement table of the extraction analysis device and placement of the rack on the placement table,
the extraction analysis device is configured to bring the rack into a movable state in which the rack can be moved from the placement table during the analysis of components extracted from a sample by the extraction operation in the extraction container set as a last extraction target among the plurality of extraction containers held in the rack, and
the rack replacement device is configured to execute replacement of the rack on the placement table during the analysis of the components extracted by the extraction operation in the extraction container set as the last extraction target.
Deppermann teaches a system and method for analyzing a plurality of samples including a staging console for supporting sample trays and a tray shuttle robot that distributes and retrieve sample trays to and from the workstations (abstract). Deppermann teaches the methods are adapted for automation, which provides greater efficiency and throughput than was previously practical ([0005]). Deppermann teaches the tray shuttle robot that is structured and operable to remove each sample tray from the staging console, distribute each sample tray to a corresponding one of the workstations, retrieve the sample trays from the workstations, and return each sample tray to the staging console ([0006]). Deppermann teaches embodiments where a tray staging console can be mobile and temporarily locked at the tray staging location prior to shuttling of the sample trays, and then replaced or exchanged once each tray has been processed ([0037]). Deppermann teaches the tray shuttle robot removes the sample tray from the respective workstation, replaces the removed sample tray with a subsequent sample tray populated with object samples to be analyzed, and returns the removed tray to the tray staging console ([0038],[0090]). Deppermann teaches robotic arms for removing and placing containers for analysis ([0040]). Deppermann teaches tray locking mechanisms to steadily and security retain each sample tray ([0046]). Deppermann teaches the system including various storage units or workstations with a plurality of trays (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of modified Okado to incorporate Deppermann’s teachings of a tray shuttle robot that replaces sample trays once the tray has been processed (abstract; [0006],[0037],[0038],[0090]), temporarily locking trays at a location prior to shuttling of the trays ([0037],[0046]), and robotic arms for removing and placing containers for analysis ([0040]) to provide: a rack replacement device; the rack replacement device is configured to execute replacement of the rack on the placement table by performing movement of the rack from the placement table of the extraction analysis device and placement of the rack on the placement table, the extraction analysis device is configured to bring the rack into a movable state in which the rack can be moved from the placement table during the analysis of components extracted from a sample by the extraction operation in the extraction container set as a last extraction target among the plurality of extraction containers held in the rack, and the rack replacement device is configured to execute replacement of the rack on the placement table during the analysis of the components extracted by the extraction operation in the extraction container set as the last extraction target. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automation of analysis and processing of a plurality of racks, improving secure retention of the rack in the placement table (i.e. locked) and movability of the rack from the placement table after complete processing of the containers (i.e. unlocked), and improving efficiency and throughput of the extraction analysis device (Deppermann, abstract, [0005], [0037],[0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Okado further teaches wherein the extraction analysis device includes, on the placement table (Fig. 1, rack mounting stand 17), a heater for individually heating each of the extraction containers held on the rack (Fig. 1 and [0038] teaches heater 175 for heating each sample container on the rack 17), and is configured to execute a temperature regulation operation of regulating a temperature of the extraction container to a set temperature using the heater before executing the extraction operation in the extraction container set as the extraction target ([0036] teaches the heater 175 is operated at appropriate timing and at a predetermined temperature and consequently, a component is extracted; [0038] teaches the heater operates and then operations from extraction is performed), and
Okado fails to teach: the extraction analysis device is configured to start the temperature regulation operation for the extraction container that is a first extraction target among the plurality of extraction containers held on the rack newly placed on the placement table after replacement of the rack on the placement table is executed by the rack replacement device and before analysis in the analysis channel is ended.
Okado teaches the heater of each heating block is operated at an appropriate timing ([0036]). Okado teaches consecutively flowing a solvent into the sample containers to extract the component in each sample container ([0039]).
Deppermann teaches the methods are adapted for automation, which provides greater efficiency and throughput than was previously practical ([0005]). Deppermann teaches the tray shuttle robot that is structured and operable to remove each sample tray from the staging console, distribute each sample tray to a corresponding one of the workstations, retrieve the sample trays from the workstations, and return each sample tray to the staging console ([0006]). Deppermann teaches embodiments where a tray staging console can be mobile and temporarily locked at the tray staging location prior to shuttling of the sample trays, and then replaced or exchanged once each tray has been processed ([0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the extraction analysis device of modified Okado to incorporate Okado’s teachings of operating heating at appropriate timing ([0036]) and consecutive processing of each container ([0039]) and Deppermann’s teachings of tray shuttle robot that replaces sample trays once the tray has been processed (abstract; [0006],[0037]) to provide: the extraction analysis device is configured to start the temperature regulation operation for the extraction container that is a first extraction target among the plurality of extraction containers held on the rack newly placed on the placement table after replacement of the rack on the placement table is executed by the rack replacement device and before analysis in the analysis channel is ended. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automation of analysis and processing (e.g. temperature regulation) of a desired extraction container of the newly placed rack, and improving efficiency and throughput of the extraction analysis device.
Regarding claim 3, modified Okado fails to teach: wherein the extraction analysis device outputs a rack replaceable signal immediately after the rack is brought into the movable state, and the rack replacement device is configured to execute replacement of the rack due to the rack replaceable signal output from the extraction analysis device.
Deppermann teaches the methods are adapted for automation, which provides greater efficiency and throughput than was previously practical ([0005]). Deppermann teaches the tray shuttle robot that is structured and operable to remove each sample tray from the staging console, distribute each sample tray to a corresponding one of the workstations, retrieve the sample trays from the workstations, and return each sample tray to the staging console ([0006]). Deppermann teaches embodiments where a tray staging console can be mobile and temporarily locked at the tray staging location prior to shuttling of the sample trays, and then replaced or exchanged once each tray has been processed ([0037]). Deppermann teaches tray locking mechanisms to steadily and security retain each sample tray ([0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of modified Okado to incorporate Deppermann’s teachings of a tray shuttle robot that replaces sample trays once the tray has been processed (abstract; [0006],[0037]) and temporarily locking trays at a location prior to shuttling of the trays ([0037],[0046]) to provide: wherein the extraction analysis device outputs a rack replaceable signal immediately after the rack is brought into the movable state (e.g. unlocked state), and the rack replacement device is configured to execute replacement of the rack due to the rack replaceable signal output from the extraction analysis device. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automation of analysis and processing of a plurality of racks, improving movability of the rack from the placement table after complete processing of the containers (i.e. unlocked signal), and improving efficiency and throughput of the extraction analysis device (Deppermann, abstract, [0005], [0037],[0046]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okado in view of Deppermann as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Vansickler et al. (US 20200319219 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Okado further teaches the extraction analysis system according to claim 3, further comprising a controller (Fig. 1, control unit 39) configured to control operations of the extraction analysis device ([0026]).
Modified Okado fails to teach: the controller configured to control operations of the extraction analysis device and the rack replacement device using an operation sequence preset for the rack set in the rack replacement device, wherein the controller is configured to acquire, upon receiving the rack replaceable signal output from the extraction analysis device, rack information regarding the rack to be placed next onto the placement table from the operation sequence, and to notify the rack replacement device of the acquired rack information.
Deppermann teaches the methods are adapted for automation, which provides greater efficiency and throughput than was previously practical ([0005]). Deppermann teaches embodiments where a tray staging console can be mobile and temporarily locked at the tray staging location prior to shuttling of the sample trays, and then replaced or exchanged once each tray has been processed ([0037]). Deppermann teaches the tray shuttle robot removes the sample tray from the respective workstation, replaces the removed sample tray with a subsequent sample tray populated with object samples to be analyzed, and returns the removed tray to the tray staging console ([0038],[0090]). Deppermann teaches each transfer subsystem further includes an identification reader connected to the control system to read sample identification information associated with each sample container ([0048]).
Vansickler teaches an automated pre-analytical processing method and apparatus for samples to be forwarded to an analyzer for analysis; wherein rack label information is read and communicated to a processor to determine where to route the rack; the system has a rack robot that conveys racks to locations depending on the routing information (abstract). Vansickler teaches high-throughput platform that automates sample preparation and preprocessing for any number of tests and assays performed by one or more analyzers ([0096]). Vansickler teaches once operation of sample container is complete, a pick and place robot receives instructions to place the sample into a sample rack ([0437]) and once the rack has been populated according to instructions, the rack elevator conveys the rack to a space ([0437]). Vansickler teaches a reader for reading rack labels including processing instructions and destination location and robotic elements, such as a transfer arm and shuttle, to transfer racks to desired locations ([0500]). Vansickler teaches a queue manager to retrieve other samples to populate the shuttle for a designated test ([0165]). Vansickler teaches racks are placed in a queue for preparation and preprocessing, where a user may identify a rack as being a priority to move the rack up in the queue to be immediately prepared and processed, which may be performed via a user interface ([0346]). Vansickler teaches when a processor determines a rack should be called into a processing queue, the rack is called to a rack space ([0375]). Vansickler teaches a processor communicates with an analyzer to notify the analyzer so that it is prepared to receive a shuttle ([0373]). Vansickler teaches container barcodes are scanned and information regarding preprocessing, such as warming time, temperature, and cooling time, are acquired for operation ([0369]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller of modified Okado to incorporate Deppermann’s teachings of replacing or exchanging each tray after processing ([0037],[0038],[0090]) and reading sample identification information of each sample container ([0048]) and Vansickler’s teachings of reading rack label information for automated processing and routing to desired locations via robotic elements (abstract; [0096],[0500]), a robot to receive information to place a sample into a rack and convey the rack to a space after an operation is complete ([0437]), a queue for retrieving and identifying racks for subsequent preparation and processing ([0165],[0346]), calling a rack to a rack space based on the queue ([0375]), notification of an analyzer to receive a shuttle ([0373]) and barcode information with operation information of containers ([0369]) to provide: the controller configured to control operations of the extraction analysis device and the rack replacement device using an operation sequence preset for the rack set in the rack replacement device, wherein the controller is configured to acquire, upon receiving the rack replaceable signal output from the extraction analysis device, rack information regarding the rack to be placed next onto the placement table from the operation sequence, and to notify the rack replacement device of the acquired rack information. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automated preparation and processing of a rack based on an operation sequence preset (e.g. operation instructions of the rack) and improving automated processing of replacement of the rack with a desired rack in a queue after the operation of the rack on the placement table is complete, therefore improving efficiency and throughput of the system.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okado in view of Deppermann and Vansickler as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Silbert (US 20170052205 A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Okado fails to teach: the extraction analysis system according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to receive the rack replaceable signal from the extraction analysis device during the analysis of the component extracted by the extraction operation in the extraction container set as the last extraction target.
Deppermann teaches embodiments where a tray staging console can be mobile and temporarily locked at the tray staging location prior to shuttling of the sample trays, and then replaced or exchanged once each tray has been processed ([0037]). Deppermann teaches the tray shuttle robot removes the sample tray from the respective workstation, replaces the removed sample tray with a subsequent sample tray populated with object samples to be analyzed, and returns the removed tray to the tray staging console ([0038],[0090]).
Silbert teaches an automated instrument for processing a sample including a lock configured to move between a locked and unlocked configuration; a robotic arm to move the lock and to move the sample processing device within the system (abstract). Silbert teaches an output pay configured to movably receive racks, and can act as output queues for the automated instrument ([0072]). Silbert teaches arms for translating receptacles within the instrument ([0083]). Silbert teaches after completion of processing of receptacles, a robotic arm moves the receptacles to an output rack ([0094]). Silbert teaches an embodiment of processing receptacle holders in an incubator, wherein a first processing receptacle completes its incubation and can be removed from incubator to an output rack at the same time the last of the processing receptacle holders is filled ([0097]); therefore, maximizing throughput of the incubator ([0097]). Silbert teaches samples incubated at any particular time, thus permitting continuous flow of samples from input racks while concurrently processing samples requiring incubation ([0222]). Silbert teaches it is unnecessary to await for completion of incubation of all receptacles to fill an output rack, rather the rack can be populated while the remaining pockets in the output rack are filled ([0222]). Silbert teaches the automated processing instrument is designed to process any combination of sample racks at any time, while minimizing dead time; and utilizes software for timing of transferring samples in the system ([0225]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the extraction analysis system of modified Okado to incorporate Deppermann’s teachings of replacing or exchanging trays after being processed ([0037],[0038],[0090]) and Silbert’s teachings of automated processing of sample and racks (abstract) including processing receptacles at the same time a last receptacle holder is being filled ([0097]) and concurrent translation of receptacles while other samples are processing ([0222],[0225]) to provide: the extraction analysis system according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to receive the rack replaceable signal from the extraction analysis device during the analysis of the component extracted by the extraction operation in the extraction container set as the last extraction target. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automation of replacement of the rack as the last extraction target is being analyzed, therefore improving minimizing dead time between replacement of racks and improving throughput of the overall system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suzuki et al. (WO 2023007826 A1; published 02/02/2023; see machine translation; note that WO 2023007826 A1 includes different inventors from the instant application) teaches a locking device that locks a sample tray of sample containers on a mounting unit during a start to end of a measurement operation period and the locking device unlocks the sample tray based on determination of an information processing unit (abstract). Suzuki teaches when the fixed state of the sample tray is released, the tray can be replaced (page 4, paragraph, “Fig. 2 is…”). Suzuki teaches
Kimoto et al. (US 20200355650 A1) teaches a chromatograph data processor and automated sample injector ([0002]) and pre-registration information representing a correspondence relationship between analysis information representing conditions for analysis or preparation of a sample, and a tray ID is acquired by a pre-registration information acquirer (abstract). Kimoto teaches a processor connected to an automated sample injector that introduces sample to sample holders of a tray ([0006]), wherein a tray ID acquirer acquires information that specifies analysis and preparation of the sample ([0006]). Kimono teaches acquiring information and notifying a data processor to determine if detection is completed in all of the placement units of trays ([0085]; Fig. 14). Kimono teaches controlling the sequence of analysis or preparation in regards to the one or plurality of samples held by the tray based on the holding information acquired by the holding information acquirer ([0100]).
Imaeda et al. (US 20210356486 A1) teaches a plate changer that carries out supply and collection of a sample plate to an autosampler, and a chromatograph including the plate changer (Fig. 1; [0001]). Imaeda teaches the plate transporter includes a transport robot that takes out a sample plate in a plate storage and transports the sample plate to the autosampler ([0063]). Imaeda teaches the controller transmits various information about the supply and collection of the sample plates in the autosampler to the control unit or receives such information from the control unit ([0111]).
Berger et al. (US 20020070170 A1) teaches a sample collection process and device (abstract); wherein after filling with sample, a collection chamber is returned to a clean state and ready for refilling with a new sample by manually or automatically replacing the liner (abstract). Berger the system provides supercritical fluid to the sample ([0020]). Berger teaches the automated system includes a robotic arm and a supply of vials in racks ([0044]). Berger teaches an arm acts in concert with automated movement of a shuttle to replace vials in the shuttle ([0092]). Berger teaches the robotic arm may replace integrated cassette units as a whole after a sampling event is completed or chamber wells contain the desired amount of liquid phase fractions ([0093]).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758