DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-12 recite the limitation "the device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 5, and 7–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 5,348,710) in view of McKeigue et al. (US 6,713,158 B2), further in view of Ringo et al. (US 2003/0116871 A1) and Dufresne et al. (US 2006/0154812 A1).
Claim 1
Johnson teaches a structured catalyst packing comprising a plurality of catalyst-containing elements formed from fluid-permeable corrugated sheets defining catalyst-containing pockets and passages, together with inert spacing elements (Johnson, col. 2, lines 49–68; col. 3, lines 14–47; Figs. 1–7). Johnson further teaches arranging catalyst-containing pockets at different angular orientations, including approximately 90° (col. 4, lines 4–16; Fig. 8).
Johnson does not expressly teach each catalyst retention structure comprising a flat fluid-permeable metal sheet and a corrugated fluid-permeable metal sheet aligned to be co-planar, with adjacent structures arranged in parallel X-Y planes and catalyst-rich spaces having the claimed radial alignment angle.
McKeigue teaches structured packing comprising planar and corrugated sheet members forming fluid-contacting passages (McKeigue, Figs. 2–4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the planar/corrugated sheet arrangement taught by McKeigue in the catalyst-retaining packing of Johnson to provide mechanically supported catalyst-containing passages while maintaining fluid permeability.
Ringo teaches layered structured packing having corrugated elements arranged in different orientations in adjacent packing layers (Ringo, ¶¶[0042]–[0049] and [0061]–[0064]; Figs. 7A–7B and 10A–10C).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the modified catalyst-retaining structures of Johnson/McKeigue in parallel X-Y planes with their catalyst-containing passages oriented at different radial angles, including 90°, as suggested by Ringo, to promote fluid distribution and contacting throughout the structured packing.
Johnson does not expressly teach that the catalyst is a porous inorganic oxide-supported transition-metal hydroprocessing catalyst that has been ex situ presulfided and passivated.
Dufresne teaches supported transition-metal hydroprocessing catalysts, including cobalt-molybdenum, nickel-molybdenum, and nickel-tungsten catalysts, together with ex situ sulfiding and passivation treatments (Dufresne, ¶¶[0002]–[0003] and [0008]–[0012]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the ex situ presulfided and passivated hydroprocessing catalyst of Dufresne in the modified structured packing of Johnson/McKeigue/Ringo to provide hydroprocessing activity while facilitating catalyst handling and reducing the risks associated with exposure of sulfided catalyst to air.
Claim 2
Dufresne teaches ex situ sulfiding and passivation of hydroprocessing catalysts before their use in a hydroprocessing reactor (¶¶[0003], [0008]–[0010]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to presulfide and passivate the catalyst before loading it into the catalyst-rich spaces of the modified Johnson/McKeigue/Ringo structure, thereby permitting handling and installation of a previously activated, stabilized catalyst.
Claim 3
Dufresne teaches treatment of sulfided catalyst with passivating agents, including treatment in a catalyst bed (¶¶[0008]–[0011]).
Dufresne does not expressly establish that both presulfiding and passivation are performed after loading the catalyst into the particular retention structures of claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to load the hydroprocessing catalyst into the retention structures before carrying out the presulfiding and passivation treatments, as an alternative preparation sequence, to minimize subsequent handling of treated catalyst and provide treatment of catalyst in its installed configuration.
Claim 5
Dufresne teaches protective treatment of sulfided hydroprocessing catalysts with hydrocarbonaceous materials, including paraffin or wax-containing coatings (¶¶[0012], [0015]–[0016]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the disclosed waxy hydrocarbon coating on the sulfided catalyst of the modified structured bed to protect the catalyst during handling and storage.
Claim 7
Dufresne teaches porous inorganic oxide-supported hydroprocessing catalysts comprising transition metals, including cobalt, nickel, molybdenum, and tungsten, supported on oxide carriers such as alumina (¶[0002]).
The disclosed alumina-supported Group 6 and Group 9/10 hydroprocessing catalysts fall within the recited alternatives of claim 7.
Claim 8
Johnson teaches catalyst-containing pockets associated with inert spacing structures, including inert particulate materials (col. 3, lines 30–60; claims 6 and 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate suitable inert packing materials into the catalyst-rich spaces of the modified structures to provide mechanical support and adjust catalyst loading and fluid distribution.
Claim 9
Johnson teaches inert spacing elements and inert particulate packing in the structured bed (col. 2, lines 49–68; col. 3, lines 48–60; Figs. 5–7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position such inert packing materials in the catalyst-lean spaces of the modified structures to maintain spacing and promote fluid distribution without increasing active catalyst loading.
Claim 10
Johnson teaches fluid-permeable catalyst-containing elements formed from woven wire mesh (col. 3, lines 30–47; claims 8–9).
McKeigue further teaches perforated planar members used with corrugated sheets (Figs. 2–3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select woven wire mesh or perforated metal for the flat fluid-permeable sheet of the modified catalyst retention structure to permit fluid passage while retaining catalyst particles.
Claim 11
Johnson teaches corrugated catalyst-containing sheet elements (col. 3, lines 14–25 and 30–47; Figs. 1–4).
McKeigue teaches corrugated sheets having rectilinear corrugations and selectable corrugation geometry (Figs. 2–3 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a suitable corrugation profile, including a triangular or sawtooth profile, in the modified catalyst retention structures to form catalyst-containing channels of desired geometry.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of McKeigue, Ringo, and Dufresne, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Adams et al. (WO 98/34728).
Dufresne teaches passivation of sulfided hydroprocessing catalysts (¶¶[0008]–[0012]) but does not specifically identify every oxygen-containing passivating composition recited in claim 4.
Adams teaches passivation of sulfided hydroprocessing catalysts using oxygen-containing compositions, including air, carbon dioxide, aldehydes, ketones, ethers, alcohols, vitamin E, and water, and mixtures thereof (Adams, description discussing preferred oxygen-containing compositions).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an oxygen-containing passivating composition as taught by Adams in the process of Dufresne to stabilize the sulfided hydroprocessing catalyst and reduce its tendency toward self-heating upon exposure to air.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of McKeigue, Ringo, and Dufresne, as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of Gregoria (US 3,182,033).
Dufresne teaches waxy protective coatings on sulfided hydroprocessing catalysts (¶¶[0012], [0015]–[0016]) but does not expressly establish a coating melting point above about 60°C.
Gregoria teaches paraffin waxes having melting points of approximately 47–65°C, including wax having a melting point of 145°F (approximately 62.8°C) (Gregoria, col. 3, lines 17–25; Example 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a conventional paraffin wax having a melting point above about 60°C for the protective coating of Dufresne to provide a solid protective coating under ordinary handling and storage conditions.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of McKeigue, Ringo, and Dufresne, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Sunder (US 6,119,481).
The references applied to claim 1 do not expressly teach adjacent catalyst retention structures having catalyst-rich spaces defining different inclination angles relative to the X-Y plane.
However, Sunder teaches structured packing comprising adjacent layers arranged in generally horizontal planes, with vanes defining inclined fluid-flow passages. Sunder expressly teaches that the inclination angles of the vanes in the first and second layers may differ (col. 5, lines approximately 17–35; Fig. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the catalyst-rich passages of adjacent catalyst retention structures in the modified Johnson/McKeigue/Ringo packing with different inclination angles relative to the X-Y plane, as taught by Sunder, to control fluid-flow direction, promote fluid distribution and mixing, and optimize contacting efficiency and pressure drop.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771