DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 8 recites the limitation, “The folded camera of claim 7, wherein L1 has an aperture cut along the second optical axis.” Thus does not further limit the claims from which it depends because Claim 7 depends from Claim 4, which further depends from Claim 1, which also recites the limitation, “…wherein L1 has an aperture cut along the second optical axis.”Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 1 and 9, Applicant argues that Fig. 6 of Bone does not teach the limitation, “wherein L1 has an aperture cut along the second optical axis”, because Bone does not explicitly refer to a “aperture cut” and because, “…it would not be clear to a person skilled in the art considering Fig. 6 alone, that Fig. 6 discloses this technical feature. The upright edges of the lens do not teach cut edges, as an upright edge is needed in an un-cut lens to achieve a required thickness at the edge of the lens. Moreover, the figure is of a specific, generic, cross-section. Thus, Fig. 6 does not hint any cuts in the lens.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Neither the Claims nor the Specification of the Instant Application define the term “aperture cut”. The closest the Specification comes to a definition is the following on Page 7 of the Instant Application, “Li has two surfaces (
L
i
S
i
,
L
1
S
2
) having two apertures that include two cuts (facets)112a and 112b.” Elements 112a and 112b can be seen in the top down view of the camera in lens in Fig. 1C, to be simply “facets” on the face of lens L1, just as the Specification describes. Below is annotated Fig. 6 of the Bone reference used in the prior art rejection of Claims 1 and 9, where it can be clearly seen that lens 3 has two facets, A and B, at the width of aperture 2, establishing an aperture of lens 3 along the direction of axis I2 [Par 60]. Therefore, Bone wherein L1 (lens 3) has an aperture cut along the second optical axis (facets along axis I2), as claimed.
Examiner Annotated Fig. 6 of Bone
Therefore the rejection of Claims 1, and 3-10 are sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bone (US 20180059365 A1) in view of Aschwanden (US 20160202455 A1).
Re Claim 1, Bone discloses, on Fig. 6, a folded camera, comprising: a first lens element Li (first lens element 3) with a first optical axis (first axis I1); a light folding element (reflector 8); a plurality of additional lens elements L2-LN (lenses 5-6) with a common second optical axis (axis I2); and an image sensor (image plane 100 would inherently include an image sensing apparatus), wherein the light folding element is configured to fold light from the first optical axis to the second optical axis (reflector 8 folds light from the first axis I1 to the second axis I2) [Par 61], wherein L1 has a length A1 (A1 is not disclosed, but for scale G23/EPD≤1.2 [Par 10], Where G23= 5.2 mm, so EPD≥4.4) wherein OH marks an optical height (Depth= 6.043 mm [Par 69]), defined as a distance from a lowest of a bottom-most part of any of the lens elements L2...LN and the light folding element to a top-most part of Li.
But Bone does not explicitly disclose, wherein OH/A1< 1.4, and wherein the light folding element has a light entering surface and a light exiting surface, and wherein a diameter of the light exiting surface is smaller than a diameter of the light entering surface, and wherein the light folding element has a height H measured along the first optical axis and a width W measured along an axis perpendicular to both the first optical axis and the second optical axis, and wherein H<W.
However, due to the nature of optics, the process of lens design includes manipulation of variables such as the number of lenses, the placement of apertures, the surface types of the lenses, the refractive powers of the lenses, the surface parameters of the lens surfaces, the spacings between the lenses, the center thicknesses of the lenses, the index of refraction of the lenses, the lens surface radii, the material of construction of the lenses, and other shape concerns in order to make a lens system meet its particular utility. This manipulation would normally be considered routine experimentation since the results are well known optics equations at the time the invention was filed (unless the particular range of values meets secondary, specific considerations). Further the court has determined that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to vary the length of the first lens such that the claimed expression of OH/A1 is satisfied, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Furthermore, this would provide the predictable result of increasing optical performance, reducing size, and/or limiting optical variations and aberrations, as taught by Bone [Par 10].
But Bone does not explicitly disclose, wherein the light folding element has a light entering surface and a light exiting surface, and wherein a diameter of the light exiting surface is smaller than a diameter of the light entering surface, and wherein the light folding element has a height H measured along the first optical axis and a width W measured along an axis perpendicular to both the first optical axis and the second optical axis, and wherein H<W.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Aschswanden teaches, on Fig. 3, that it is desirable in lens systems for the light folding element to have a light entering surface (surface 80a) and a light exiting surface (surface 80b), and wherein a diameter of the light exiting surface is smaller than a diameter of the light entering surface (the diameter of 80a is greater than 80b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bone with Aschwanden in order to provide for facilitating the use of a fully illuminated rectangular sensor in the imaging plane 200 while keeping its size smaller, as taught by Aschwanden [Par 97].
But Aschwanden does not explicitly teach, wherein the light folding element has a height H measured along the first optical axis and a width W measured along an axis perpendicular to both the first optical axis and the second optical axis, and wherein H<W.
However, Aschwanden further teaches wherein the light folding element has a height H measured along the first optical axis and a width W measured along an axis perpendicular to both the first optical axis and the second optical axis (“This folding prism 80 has a rectangular footprint in the y-z-plane”, thus the length of prism 80 along the y-axis can be greater than the length along the Z-axis) [Par 97], for facilitating the use of a fully illuminated rectangular sensor [Par 97].
Optimizing the shape of a light folding element is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Aschwanden teaches the height H and width W of the light folding element as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting the height and width and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize the height and width of the light folding element since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Re Claim 3, Bone in view of Aschwanden discloses, the folded camera of claim 1, and Aschwanden further discloses, on Fig. 3, wherein the light folding element has a height H measured along the first optical axis (length of surface 80b) and a length A measured along the second optical axis (length of surface 80a), and wherein H <A (surface 80b is longer than surface 80 because the prism is a cut rectangle) [Par 97].
Re Claim 4, Bone in view of Aschwanden discloses, the folded camera of claim 1, and Aschwanden further discloses, Fig. 3, wherein the light folding element is a prism (folding prism 80).
Re Claim 5, Bone in view of Aschwanden discloses, the folded camera of claim 1, and Bone further discloses on Fig. 6, wherein L1 (lens 3) has an aperture cut ( the edges of Lens 3 that are orthogonal to the second optical axis are disposed at aperture 2) along the second optical axis ( the edges of lens 3, See annotated Fig. 6 below, are disposed along the second optical axis I2).
Annotated Bone Figure 6
Re Claim 6, Bone in view of Aschwanden discloses, the folded camera of claim 1, and Bone further discloses, on Fig. 6, wherein L1 has positive refractive power (lens 3 is positive).
Re Claim 7, Bone in view of Aschwanden discloses, the folded camera of claim 4, and Aschwanden further discloses on Fig. 3, wherein the prism has a flat surface (surface 80a) parallel to the light entering surface (area of 80a where light rays enter) and intersecting the light exiting surface (surface 80b).
Re claim 8, Bone in view of Aschwanden discloses, the folded camera of claim 7, and Bone further discloses on Fig. 6, wherein L1 (lens 3) has an aperture cut ( the edges of Lens 3 that are orthogonal to the second optical axis are disposed at aperture 2) along the second optical axis ( the edges of lens 3, See annotated Fig. 6 above, are disposed along the second optical axis I2).
Re claim 9, Bone discloses, Bone discloses, on Fig. 6, a folded camera, comprising: a first lens element Li (first lens element 3) with a first optical axis (first axis I1); a light folding element (reflector 8); a plurality of additional lens elements L2-LN (lenses 5-6) with a common second optical axis (axis I2); and an image sensor (image plane 100 would inherently include an image sensing apparatus), wherein the light folding element is configured to fold light from the first optical axis to the second optical axis (reflector 8 folds light from the first axis I1 to the second axis I2) [Par 61], wherein L1 has a width
W
1
(Fig. 8: 0.973 mm), wherein OH marks an optical height (Depth= 6.043 mm [Par 69]), defined as a distance from a lowest of a bottom-most part of any of the lens elements L2...LN and the light folding element to a top-most part of Li.
But Bone does not explicitly disclose, wherein OH/
W
1
< 1.1, and the light folding element has a light entering surface and a light exiting surface, and wherein a diameter of the light exiting surface is smaller than a diameter of the light entering surface, wherein the light folding element has a height H measured along the first optical axis and a width W measured along an axis perpendicular to both the first optical axis and the second optical axis, and wherein H<W.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Aschswanden teaches, on Fig. 3, that it is desirable in lens systems for the light folding element to have a light entering surface (surface 80a) and a light exiting surface (surface 80b), and wherein a diameter of the light exiting surface is smaller than a diameter of the light entering surface (the diameter of 80a is greater than 80b)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bone with Aschwanden in order to provide for facilitating the use of a fully illuminated rectangular sensor in the imaging plane 200 while keeping its size smaller, as taught by Aschwanden [Par 97].
But Bone in view of Aschwnaden does not explicitly disclose, wherein OH/
W
1
< 1.1, wherein the light folding element has a height H measured along the first optical axis and a width W measured along an axis perpendicular to both the first optical axis and the second optical axis, and wherein H<W.
However, due to the nature of optics, the process of lens design includes manipulation of variables such as the number of lenses, the placement of apertures, the surface types of the lenses, the refractive powers of the lenses, the surface parameters of the lens surfaces, the spacings between the lenses, the center thicknesses of the lenses, the index of refraction of the lenses, the lens surface radii, the material of construction of the lenses, and other shape concerns in order to make a lens system meet its particular utility. This manipulation would normally be considered routine experimentation since the results are well known optics equations at the time the invention was filed (unless the particular range of values meets secondary, specific considerations). Further the court has determined that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to vary the width of the first lens, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Furthermore, this would provide the predictable result of increasing optical performance, reducing size, and/or limiting optical variations and aberrations, as taught by Aschwanden [Par 50].
But Aschwanden does not explicitly teach, wherein the light folding element has a height H measured along the first optical axis and a width W measured along an axis perpendicular to both the first optical axis and the second optical axis, and wherein H<W.
However, Aschwanden further teaches wherein the light folding element has a height H measured along the first optical axis and a width W measured along an axis perpendicular to both the first optical axis and the second optical axis (“This folding prism 80 has a rectangular footprint in the y-z-plane”, thus the length of prism 80 along the y-axis can be greater than the length along the Z-axis) [Par 97], for facilitating the use of a fully illuminated rectangular sensor [Par 97].
Optimizing the shape of a light folding element is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Aschwanden teaches the height H and width W of the light folding element as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting the height and width and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize the height and width of the light folding element since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Re claim 10, Bone in view of Aschwanden discloses, the folder camera of Claim 1.
But Bone in view of Aschwanden does not disclose, wherein
O
H
A
1
<
1.1
.
However, due to the nature of optics, the process of lens design includes manipulation of variables such as the number of lenses, the placement of apertures, the surface types of the lenses, the refractive powers of the lenses, the surface parameters of the lens surfaces, the spacings between the lenses, the center thicknesses of the lenses, the index of refraction of the lenses, the lens surface radii, the material of construction of the lenses, and other shape concerns in order to make a lens system meet its particular utility. This manipulation would normally be considered routine experimentation since the results are well known optics equations at the time the invention was filed (unless the particular range of values meets secondary, specific considerations). Further the court has determined that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
The lens depth disclosed by Bone, “The lens depth, Depth, refers to a distance in a direction of the first optical axis I1 from a first position P1 of the object-side surface 31 of the first lens element 3 intersecting the first optical axis I1 to a second position P2 of the optical imaging lens 10 farthest away from the first position P1 in the direction of the first optical axis II.” [Par 69], is analogous with the definition for optical height defined in Claim 1 of the instant application; “OH marks an optical height defined as a distance from a lowest of a bottom-most part of any of the lens elements L2...LN and the light folding element to a top-most part of Li.” Though Bone does not explicitly teach wherein the height of lens 3 in Fig. 6 (analogous to the instant application’s length
A
1
) satisfies the claimed expression. However, it can be seen on Fig. 6 that the ratio is between
2
>
O
H
A
1
>
1
. Hence, the general conditions of the limitation are taught.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to vary the length of the first lens or the optical OH, such that the claimed expression is satisfied, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Furthermore, this would provide the predictable result of increasing optical performance, reducing size, and/or limiting optical variations and aberrations, as taught by Bone [Par 10].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sato (US 20060056048 A1) teaches an optical system with a light folding element.
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872