DETAILED ACTION
This is the third office action for US Application 18/814,548 for a Collapsible Device Mounting Arm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0233639 to Mustari in view of US 5,165,264 to Chen. Regarding claim 1, Mustari discloses an adjustable device mounting arm comprising first and second adjustable length arms (see figures 1 and 9… 14 or 114). Each of the first and second adjustable length arms have a first end (at 34 or 134) and a second end (at 12 or 112). The second ends of the first and second adjustable length arms are rotatably joined to allow the second adjustable length arm to rotate with respect to the first adjustable length arm (see figures 1, 8, and 9… the second end of arms 14/114 are rotatably attached via 12/112).
Each of the first and second adjustable length arms have an inner arm section (28 or 128), an outer arm section (34 or 134), and the inner arm section is selectively slidable with respect to the outer arm section to adjust the length of the arm. The first ends of the first and second adjustable length arms define first and second mounts (see figures 6 and 7… each arm has a mount 42 or 140 at the end). The inner arm sections define the rotatably-joined second ends of the first and second adjustable length arms (the portions joined at 12 are the inner ends of the arms)
Mustari does not specifically disclose the adjustable length arms as having a locking device. Chen provides a teaching of providing a locking device (4, 13, and 23) to prevent inner (1) and outer (2) arm sections of an adjustable length arm from rotating with respect to one another (see column 2, lines 51-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a locking device with in the adjustable length arms of Mustari, to prevent the inner and outer sections of the arms from rotating relative to one another as taught by Chen.
Regarding claim 2, the teaching of Chen results in one of the inner and outer arm sections including a tab (4) and the other of the inner and outer arm sections as defining a groove (23). The tab is received in the groove to prevent the inner arm section from rotating with respect to the outer arms section (see column 2, lines 44-49).
Regarding claim 3, Mustari in view of Chen discloses a portion of the inner arm section selectively sliding inside a portion of the outer arm section, but does not disclose the inner and outer arm sections as having noncircular cross sections. However, the specific shapes of the inner and outer arm sections are a design preference that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention as the shape of the arm sections does not have any particular significance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Mustari “does not disclose, teach, or suggest the arrangement of the amended claim wherein the inner arm sections define the second ends that are rotatably joined. However, as noted above, the inner arm sections of the arms of Mustari are rotatably joined at 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEVEN M. MARSH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/STEVEN M MARSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632