DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of claim 2 (see 112 2nd paragraph below) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 13 requires that the clutch part is disposed to move along the axis and to rotate also along the axis. The clutch part and the linkage part each comprises respective cam surfaces so as to slidingly engage each other, to move the clutch part along the axis.
However, without the spring 154, there is no engagement. The spring 154 will push the clutch part so that the cam surfaces can perform the claimed movement. Correction is required (providing the limitations of claims 9 and 18 respectively).
Claim 2 requires that one of the first engagement portion and the second engagement portion is a recess, and the other of the first engagement portion and the second engagement portion is a protrusion.
At the instant, the limitation is indefinite since the drawings, and the specification discloses that the first engagement is a recess (1462) on the knob and the second engagement is a protrusion (1486) on the clutch part.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the limitation will be interpreted as mentioned above. Correction is required.
Claims 3 and 14 require that the fixed base has a third engagement portion. At the instant, the limitation is indefinite.
As defined, the fixed base is 142, and the third engagement portion is 1426a. However, this engagement portion is on a fixed plate 1426, not the fixed base.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the third engagement portion being on a fixed plate mounted to the fixed base. Correction is required.
Claim 4 requires that the fixed base has a spring limitation portion. The limitation is indefinite since it is the fixing plate that has the spring limitation portion 1426b. Correction is required.
Claims 6 and 16 require that the fixed base has a positioning hole. At the instant, the limitation is indefinite since the positioning hole 1426c is on the fixed plate, not the fixed base.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the positioning hole being on a fixed plate mounted to the fixed base.
As to claims 6 and 16, the claim requires a positioning bead that is movably disposed in the accommodating hole, a spring is compressedly disposed in the accommodating hole and between the positioning bead and the closed end, and the spring pushes the positioning bead to move outward to snap into the positioning hole. At the instant, the limitation is indefinite since there is no disclosure or basis for the limitation.
As described, the positioning bead (160) is a non-movable member, and the spring is not even in contact with it.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, a broad interpretation will be given. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 10, 13, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 10,385,588 to Huang et al (Huang 588) in view of US Pat No 6,021,654 to McCaa.
Regarding claim 1, Huang 588 discloses a clutch mechanism, used in an electric lock, the electric lock having a lock cylinder (190) operable with a key (200), the lock cylinder having a latch drive lever (170) that extends along an axis and is rotatable about the axis.
The clutch mechanism comprises a fixed base (110) being fixedly connected to the lock cylinder; a rotatable knob (130) rotatably disposed on the fixed base and having a first engagement portion (132); and a clutch part (140) being disposed movably along the axis and rotatably about the axis on the fixed base (directions R and D).
The clutch part has a driving hole, a second engagement portion (144), and a first cam surface (exterior surface of 142). The latch drive lever passes through the driving hole.
The clutch mechanism further comprises a linkage part (123) being disposed rotatably about the axis on the fixed base and having a second cam surface (internal surface of 123). The linkage part is adjacent to the clutch part along the axis. The first cam surface and the second cam surface abut against each other.
A driving device (124, 126, and 128) is being coupled to the linkage part for driving the linkage part to rotate about the axis.
Wherein, the driving device drives the linkage part to rotate to make the first cam surface and the second cam surface to slide relative to each other, so that the clutch part moves along the axis to make the second engagement portion to be engaged with or disengaged from the first engagement portion (figs 8 and 9).
Huang 588 fails to disclose that the driving hole have a first pushing portion and a second pushing portion, the clutch part rotating the latch drive lever in a first rotation direction through the first pushing portion, the clutch part rotating the latch drive lever in a second rotation direction through the second pushing portion, the first rotation direction being opposite to the second rotation direction, the first pushing portion and the second pushing portion not abutting against the latch drive lever at the same time. Huang 588 discloses a singular portion.
McCaa teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a driving hole with 1st and 2nd pushing portions (98) that accept and interact with a latch drive lever (92).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the driving hole described by Huang 588 as one defining pushing portions, as taught by McCaa, in order to aid in the installation so the user does not need to align the drive lever at an specific orientation.
As to claim 2, Huang 588 discloses that the first engagement portion (132) is a recess, and the second engagement portion is a protrusion (144).
As to claims 8 and 17, McCaa teaches that the driving hole comprises two sector-shaped portions, and the two sector-shaped portions are symmetrical relative to the axis.
As to claims 10 and 19, Huang 588, as modified by McCaa, will teach that the driving hole allows the latch drive lever to rotate freely about the axis between a locked state and an unlocked state.
Claim(s) 4, 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 10,385,588 to Huang et al (Huang 588) in view of US Pat No 6,021,654 to McCaa and further in view of US Pat No 5,058,404 to Fish et al (Fish), US Pat No 11,585,116 to Riley et al (Riley) and US Pat No 2,729,485 to Schlage.
As to claim 4, Huang 588, as modified by McCaa, fails to disclose that the mechanism comprises a first spring and a second spring, wherein the fixed plate has a spring limitation portion, the rotatable knob has an arc-shaped recess, the arc-shaped recess extends the axis, the spring limitation portion, the first spring, and the second spring are accommodated in the arc-shaped recess, the first spring is compressedly disposed between the spring limitation portion and a first end of the arc-shaped recesses, and the second spring is compressedly disposed between the spring limitation portion and a second end of the arc-shaped recesses.
As seen above, Huang 588 discloses that the fixed base (110) comprises an accommodation space, as a one-piece element.
Fish teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a fixed plate (14) between the fixed base (3) and the door (2), and an accommodation space, as two elements fastened together.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fixed base and the accommodation space described by Huang 588, as two separate elements connected together, as taught by Fish, in order to provide a member that if is broken can be easily replaced instead of manufacturing the whole housing member while at the same time providing tightness when is used.
Riley teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a spring arrangement that comprises an arc shaped recess (78) on a handle (102, 70) and 1st and 2nd springs (52, 54) positioned between the recess and a fixed plate (58) and a spring limiting portion (56) to aid in the compression of the spring.
Schlage teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a spring limitation portion (44) on the fixed plate (41) to interact with springs (66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mechanism described by Huang 588, as modified by McCaa, with a spring arrangement, as taught by Riley and Schlage, in order to aid in the movement of the knob back to the original position.
As to claims 6 and 16, Fish teaches that the fixed plate (14) is secured by means of positioning beads.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 10,385,588 to Huang et al (Huang 588) in view of US Pat No 6,021,654 to McCaa and further in view of US Pat No 10,597,900 to Holman et al (Holman).
McCaa teaches the use of a torsion spring (112) located on a circular recess to bias the handle. However, Huang 588, as modified by McCaa, fails to disclose that the recess comprises a 1st spring limitation block and the fixed plate a 2nd spring limitation block, to interact with the spring. McCaa shoes a different configuration.
Holman teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a torsion spring (130) for biasing a handle (220) by means of a 1st spring limitation portion (117) located on a recess (116) and a 2nd limitation portion (154) that moves the spring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mechanism described by Huang 588, as modified by McCaa, with a spring arrangement, as taught by Holman, in order to aid in the movement of the knob back to the original position.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 10,385,588 to Huang et al (Huang 588) in view of US Pat No 6,021,654 to McCaa and further in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20180135335 to Huang et al (Huang 335).
As to claim 7, Huang 588 discloses that the linkage part (123) has external teeth, the driving device has a motor (124) and a pinion (128) fixed in an output shaft of the motor.
However, Huang 588 fails to disclose that the pinion mesh with the external teeth. Huang 588 discloses another gear (128) between the pinion and the linkage part.
Huang 335 teaches that it is well known in the art to provide the motor (124) with a pinion (126) that mesh directly with the linkage part (122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the pinion/linkage part described by Huang 588, as modified by McCaa, as one meshing directly, as taught by Huang 335, in order to eliminate elements and provide a simpler connection.
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 10,385,588 to Huang et al (Huang 588) in view of US Pat No 6,021,654 to McCaa and further in view of US Pat No 9,303,433 to Chiou et al (Chiou).
Huang 588 discloses that the mechanism comprises a control module (160) that controls operation of the driving device.
However, Huang 588, as modified by McCaa, fails to disclose the use of a sensor that is disposed to sense the latch drive lever.
Chiou teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a sensor (44) to sense a latch driver lever (51, through the cam 43) and impart the information to a control module (28) and perform a desired function.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mechanism described by Huang 588, as modified by McCaa, with a sensor, as taught by Chiou, in order to give information to the control module about the shaft position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9, 14 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
March 14, 2026