DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
This Final Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks/Amendments filed on 24 June,2026. The amendments have been entered.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3,5-7,9,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU et al. (CN-115297693-A – published 4 November, 2022), and further in view of WOLFGANG et al. (DE-102020101017-A1-published 22 December 2022).
As to claim 1, ZHU discloses a leakage protection device (100), comprising: liquid collecting components located at different positions of a liquid-cooling heat-dissipation module, respectively, to collect a leaking liquid of the liquid-cooling heat-dissipation module (Contents of the Invention: The embodiments of the present application provide a liquid cold plate and electronic equipment, which are used to solve the technical problem that when the liquid cold plate leaks, the leaked cooling liquid tends to fall on the electronic devices near the liquid cold plate, thereby causing damage to the electronic devices .In order to achieve the above purpose, the embodiment of the present application provides the following technical solutions: The first aspect of the embodiments of the present application provides a liquid cold plate, which includes a cooling body, a leak-proof housing, a liquid inlet pipe, and a liquid outlet pipe )(See Annotated Figure ZHU);
However, ZHU does not disclose, plurality of liquid collecting components located at different positions of a liquid-cooling heat-dissipation module and that the leakage protection device comprises a suction apparatus, wherein, a plurality of suction pipelines is arranged corresponding to the liquid collecting components, respectively, wherein each suction pipeline has a first end located inside the corresponding liquid collecting component, and a second end connected to the suction apparatus, at least one of the suction pipelines is provided with a blocking component at the first end thereof, and the blocking component has a property that can prevent passage of gas and allow passage of the leaking liquid in the corresponding liquid collecting component
WOLFGANG, However, teaches the suction apparatus (29), wherein,
a suction pipeline (55) is arranged corresponding to the liquid collecting components, wherein
suction pipeline (55) has a first end (57) located inside the corresponding liquid collecting component, and a second end connected to the suction apparatus (29) (See Annotated Figure Wolfgang), wherein,
the suction pipeline is provided with a blocking component (61) at the first end (57) thereof, and the blocking component has a property that can prevent passage of gas and allow passage of the leaking liquid in the corresponding liquid collecting component (Paragraph 30 mentions blocking component 61 blocks air, and dissolves upon contact with the leaking liquid allowing the passage of the leaking liquid in the corresponding liquid collecting component),
ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG, However, still does not teach plurality of liquid collecting components located at different positions of a liquid-cooling heat-dissipation module and plurality of suction pipelines arranged corresponding to the liquid collecting components.
While, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG, does not teach plurality of liquid collecting components located at different positions of a liquid-cooling heat-dissipation module and plurality of suction pipelines arranged corresponding to the liquid collecting components, as stated above, it teaches liquid collecting components located at different positions of a liquid-cooling heat-dissipation module and suction pipeline arranged corresponding to the liquid collecting components, it is known, to provide any number of liquid collecting components and any number of suction pipelines to the corresponding liquid collecting component is merely a duplication of parts that has not patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. (See MPEP § 2144.04 – VI (B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify ZHU to include a suction apparatus, wherein a plurality of suction pipelines arranged corresponding to the liquid collecting components, respectively, wherein each suction pipeline has a first end located inside the corresponding liquid collecting component, and a second end connected to the suction apparatus, at least one of the suction pipelines is provided with a blocking component at the first end thereof, and the blocking component has a property that can prevent passage of gas and allow passage of the leaking liquid in the corresponding liquid collecting component, in view of the teachings of WOLFGANG and in view of the courts holding the duplication of parts having no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
[AltContent: textbox (Liquid collecting components formed by cover plate, top plate, wall plates, and the cavity located at different positions of liquid cooling heat dissipation module )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Leakage Protection Device)]
Annotated Figure (ZHU)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Liquid collecting components)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second end of the suction pipe 55 connected to the suction apparatus 29)][AltContent: textbox (Blocking Component 61 at the first end of the suction pipe)][AltContent: textbox (Mouth 57 of the suction pipe 55 is in the liquid collecting component chamber and the second end is connected to suction apparatus 29 which has a blocking component at the first end that prevents passage of gas and allows passage of leaking liquid by dissolving the blocking component)][AltContent: textbox (Gap is formed between the end face of the first end and the liquid collecting component)][AltContent: textbox (Suction pipe)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Suction apparatus)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First end of the suction pipe)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (Wolfgang)
As to claim 2, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG teaches the limitation of claim 1, WOLFGANG further teaches the leakage protection device, wherein the blocking component (61) is a sealing component for sealing the first end (See Annotated Figure Wolfgang), and the sealing component is configured to unseal when contacting the leaking liquid inside the corresponding liquid collecting component so as to communicate the corresponding liquid collecting component with the suction apparatus (Paragraph 30).
As to claim 3, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG teaches the limitation of claim 2, WOLFGANG further teaches the leakage protection device, wherein the sealing component (61) is made of a material that is dissolvable in the leaking liquid (Paragraph 30).
As to claim 5, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG teaches the limitation of claim 2, WOLFGANG further teaches the leakage protection device, wherein the sealing component is located inside a cavity of the suction pipeline, or covers the first end from outside (Paragraph 29, See Annotated Figure Wolfgang).
As to claim 6, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG teaches the limitation of claim 5, WOLFGANG further teaches the leakage protection device, wherein the sealing component is in a block structure, and an outer end of the sealing component is located inside or flush with an end face of the first end (Paragraph 29), wherein a gap is formed between the end face of the first end and the liquid collecting component (See Annotated Figure Wolfgang), or the outer end of the sealing component protrudes from the end face of the first end and contacts a bottom face of the liquid collecting component.
As to claim 7, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG teaches the limitation of claim 1, WOLFGANG further teaches the leakage protection device, wherein the blocking component is a permeable membrane (59 and 61 combined can be considered a blocking component, Paragraph 11 mentions wick as a permeable membrane optimizing liquid flow through capillary force).
As to claim 9, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG teaches the limitation of claim 3, WOLFGANG further teaches the leakage protection device, wherein the sealing component is located inside a cavity of the suction pipeline, or covers the first end from outside (Paragraph 29, See Annotated Figure Wolfgang).
As to claim 11, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG teaches the limitation of claim 9, WOLFGANG further teaches the leakage protection device, wherein the sealing component is in a block structure, and an outer end of the sealing component is located inside or flush with an end face of the first end (Paragraph 29), wherein a gap is formed between the end face of the first end and the liquid collecting component, or the outer end of the sealing component protrudes from the end face of the first end and contacts a bottom face of the liquid collecting component (See Annotated Figure Wolfgang).
Claim(s) 8,13,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU et al. (CN-115297693-A – published 4 November, 2022), and further in view of WOLFGANG et al. (DE-102020101017-A1-published 22 December 2022, and TOWNSEND et al. (US-20200121513-A1-published 23 April, 2020).
As to claim 8, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG teaches the limitation of claim 1, ZHU teaches the leakage protection device, further comprising: a sensor (700 is used for inductively monitoring the leak into the leak-proof cavity) arranged at the liquid collecting component to detect whether there is a leakage; and a controller (720, Paragraph 77) connected to the sensor.
However, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG, does not teach that the controller connected to the sensor activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage,
TOWNSEND, However, teaches that the controller connected to the sensor activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage (Paragraph 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG, to incorporate a controller that is connected to the sensor and activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage as taught by TOWNSEND in order to automate the leakage absorption mechanism and arrive at the claimed invention as specified in claim 8.
As to claim 13, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG teaches the limitation of claim 2, ZHU teaches the leakage protection device, further comprising: a sensor (700 is used for inductively monitoring the leak into the leak-proof cavity) arranged at the liquid collecting component to detect whether there is a leakage; and a controller (720, Paragraph 77) connected to the sensor.
However, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG, does not teach that the controller connected to the sensor activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage,
TOWNSEND, However, teaches that the controller connected to the sensor activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage (Paragraph 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG, to incorporate a controller that is connected to the sensor and activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage as taught by TOWNSEND in order to automate the leakage absorption mechanism and arrive at the claimed invention as specified in claim 13.
As to claim 14, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG teaches the limitation of claim 3, ZHU teaches the leakage protection device, further comprising: a sensor (700 is used for inductively monitoring the leak into the leak-proof cavity) arranged at the liquid collecting component to detect whether there is a leakage; and a controller (720, Paragraph 77) connected to the sensor.
However, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG, does not teach that the controller connected to the sensor activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage,
TOWNSEND, However, teaches that the controller connected to the sensor activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage (Paragraph 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG, to incorporate a controller that is connected to the sensor and activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage as taught by TOWNSEND in order to automate the leakage absorption mechanism and arrive at the claimed invention as specified in claim 14.
Claim(s) 4,10,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU et al. (CN-115297693-A – published 4 November, 2022), and further in view of WOLFGANG et al. (DE-102020101017-A1-published 22 December 2022), and KUMAR et al. (US-9073294-B2-published 7 July,2015).
As to claim 4, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG teaches the limitation of claim 2, Wolfgang teaches the leakage protection device, and that the sealing component is made of a water-soluble film (Paragraph 13).
However, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG, does not teach wherein the sealing component is made of a material selected from at least one of salt, oxide, and water-soluble polymer material.
KUMAR, However, teaches that the sealing component is made of a material selected from one of salt, oxide, and water-soluble polymer material (Paragraphs 2,10,27,37, Claim 11). Water- soluble films are well known in the art with many applications, one of which is to provide a tight seal, and provide time sufficient sealing solution between surfaces (Paragraph 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG, to incorporate a sealing component made of a material selected at least one salt, oxide, and water-soluble polymer material as taught by KUMAR in order to prevent the passage of air when there is no leakage, and giving the suction pipe enough time to dissolve the sealing component when in contact with the leaking fluid and allow passage of the leaking fluid and arrive at the claimed invention as specified in claim 4.
As to claim 10, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG and KUMAR teaches the limitation of claim 4, Wolfgang further teaches the leakage protection device, wherein the sealing component is located inside a cavity of the suction pipeline, or covers the first end from outside (Paragraph 29, See Annotated Figure Wolfgang).
As to claim 12, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG and KUMAR teaches the limitation of claim 10, WOLFGANG further teaches the leakage protection device, wherein the sealing component is in a block structure, and an outer end of the sealing component is located inside or flush with an end face of the first end (Paragraph 29), wherein a gap is formed between the end face of the first end and the liquid collecting component, or the outer end of the sealing component protrudes from the end face of the first end and contacts a bottom face of the liquid collecting component (See Annotated Figure Wolfgang).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU et al. (CN-115297693-A – published 4 November, 2022), and further in view of WOLFGANG et al. (DE-102020101017-A1-published 22 December 2022), KUMAR et al. (US-9073294-B2-published 7 July,2015), and TOWNSEND et al. (US-20200121513-A1-published 23 April, 2020).
As to claim 15, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG and KUMAR teaches the limitation of claim 4, ZHU teaches the leakage protection device, further comprising: a sensor (700 is used for inductively monitoring the leak into the leak-proof cavity) arranged at the liquid collecting component to detect whether there is a leakage; and a controller (720, Paragraph 77) connected to the sensor.
However, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG and KUMAR, does not teach that the controller connected to the sensor activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage,
TOWNSEND, However, teaches that the controller connected to the sensor activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage (Paragraph 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG and KUMAR, to incorporate a controller that is connected to the sensor and activates the suction apparatus when the sensor detects a leakage as taught by TOWNSEND in order to automate the leakage absorption mechanism and arrive at the claimed invention as specified in claim 15.
Claim(s) 16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU et al. (CN-115297693-A – published 4 November, 2022), and further in view of WOLFGANG et al. (DE-102020101017-A1-published 22 December 2022), and ERIKSEN et al. (US-20140251583-A1-published 11 September, 2014).
As to claim 16, ZHU as modified by WOLGANG teaches the limitation of claim1,
However, ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG does not teach a liquid cooling system, comprising the leakage protection device of claim 1.
However, ERIKSEN, teaches a liquid cooling system and a leak detection system (Paragraph 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify ERIKSEN by incorporating the leakage protection device as taught by ZHU modified by WOLFGANG, in order to arrive at the claimed invention as specified in claim 15.
As to claim 17, ERIKSEN as modified by ZHU modified by WOLGANG teaches the limitation of claim 16, ERISEN as modified by ZHU modified by WOLFGANG further teaches a server (Paragraph 5), comprising a liquid cooling system, comprising the leakage protection device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 24 June,2026, with regards to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claim 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claim 1, A leakage protection device, comprising: one suction apparatus; a plurality of liquid collecting components located at different positions of a liquid-cooling heat-dissipation module, respectively, to collect a leaking liquid of the liquid-cooling heat- dissipation module; and a plurality of suction pipelines arranged corresponding to the liquid collecting components, respectively, wherein each suction pipeline has a first end located inside the corresponding liquid collecting component, and a second end connected to the suction apparatus, each suction pipeline is provided with a blocking component at the first end thereof, and the blocking component has a property that can prevent passage of gas and allow passage of the leaking liquid in the corresponding liquid collecting component, when the suction apparatus is activated, for one or more of the plurality of suction pipelines, the leaking liquid is collected in the liquid collecting components thereof or collected leaking liquid reach a suction level, thus the blocking components thereof allow the leaking liquid to enter the suction pipelines and then be drawn away along the suction pipelines, for the others of the plurality of suction pipelines, the leaking liquid is not collected in the liquid collecting components thereof or collected leaking liquid does not reach the suction level, thus the blocking component thereof does not allow the leaking liquid to enter the suction pipelines and keep the suction pipelines closed, thereby suction efficiency and capacity are improved.
ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG in combination teaches the limitations of claim 1. Applicant argues on page 9, that ZHU as modified by WOLFGANG does not teach plurality and conditions of operation.
In response to applicant’s arguments against duplication of parts, if the prior art teaches a singular liquid collection component or singular suction pipeline, providing there are multiple (absent any criticality in the instant application for multiple), then duplication of parts can be relied upon (See MPEP § 2144.04 – VI (B)).
The amended claim further doesn’t differentiate any structural differences between the prior art, only functional and conditional language. With regards to the apparatus being operated, as long as it does not structurally require anything that differentiates the claimed invention from the prior art and the prior art remains capable of performing the function, then it is merely functional language that does not differentiate from the prior art. (See MPEP 2114 - II and 2111.04 – II). As such, the rejections are maintained therein.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BIGYAN BHATTACHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763