DETAIL ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/26/24.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 10, 12, 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding independent claim 1, at the end of last line amend sign “;.” to only --“.”--.
Regarding claim 10, at the end of last line amend sign “;.” to only --“.”--.
Regarding claim 12, in L2-3, between phrases “the temperature detection circuit” and “the connection joint” add word— “and--. Furthermore, the phrase “the connection joint” lacks antecedent basis, which must be corrected (for example, claim 12 being dependent on claim 2, instead of claim 1).
Regarding independent claim 13, in L12-14, after phrase “a controller”, amend sign “,;.” to only --“.”--.
Regarding independent claim 15, in L15-16, after phrase “the housing structure”, amend sign “;.” to only --“.”--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-12 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant claims the following limitation(s),
In L 2, L 15, “a housing structure”;
In L 6-10, “a plurality of photovoltaic terminals penetrating the housing structure, and having first ends inside the housing structure configured to be electrically connected to the PCB and second ends outside the housing structure configured to be connected to a plurality of photovoltaic modules, wherein the electrically conductive layer of the PCB is configured to transmit electric energy generated by the plurality of photovoltaic modules to the converter”; and
In L 18, “wherein the converter and the PCB are disposed inside the housing structure”, are indefinite.
Applicant fails to clearly point out how is L 2’s claimed “a housing structure” different than L 15’s claimed “a housing structure” and which one of the two (i.e., in L 2 vs. L 15) “a housing structure” is related to L ‘6-10, 18’’s claimed “the housing structure”. Going forward, under broadest reasonable interpretation(s) (BRI), Examiner is interpreting both L 2 and L 15’s “a housing structure” to be single and same housing structure. Examiner recommends to cancel L15’s “a housing structure”. Applicant must amend the claim to distinguish between both housing structure to overcome the rejections.
Claims 2-12 and 18-20 are depending from claim 1, inheriting same deficiencies and thus rejected. Additionally note that Applicant explicitly again claim ‘a/the housing structure” in claim 8, which required extra attention for correction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruben et al. (“Ruben”, DE 10 2021 117 090).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ruben teaches (Fig. 1-2; see English translated document) a photovoltaic inverter (1) comprising:
a housing structure (2);
a printed circuit board (PCB) (7) comprising an electrically conductive layer (i.e., left hand side of 7) and a thermally conductive insulation layer (i.e., right hand side of 7);
a converter (any one of DC-DC 11, Intermediate stage 12 or DC-AC 13);
a plurality of photovoltaic terminals (plurality of solar cell strings 14 used to provide/penetrating a DC Input voltage(s) into housing 2, via respective terminals) penetrating the housing structure (2), and having first ends inside the housing structure (1st end being input side of housing 2 that connects +/-DC Vin of solar strings 14 to PCB 7) configured to be electrically connected to the PCB (7) and second ends outside the housing structure (2nd end being output side of housing 2, connected to receive +/ -DC Vin from solar strings 14) configured to be connected to a plurality of photovoltaic modules (plurality of solar cell strings 14),
wherein the electrically conductive layer of the PCB (i.e., left hand side of 7) is configured to transmit electric energy generated by the plurality of photovoltaic modules (2nd end being output side of housing 2, connected to receive +/ -DC Vin from solar strings 14) to the converter (any one of DC-DC 11, Intermediate stage 12 or DC-AC 13);
a temperature detection circuit (temp sensor not explicitly shown in Fig., but see i) last three para in pg. 4 of English translated document, under description section and ii) last pg. of translated document, before section claim: “the photovoltaic inverter 1 has an internal temperature sensor (temp. sensor), particularly to prevent temperatures within the housing 2 that could damage the components. The internal temperature sensor provides temperature sensor data to the controller 4, which monitors the internal temperature. Based on the sensor data, the controller 4 recognizes, for example, that the interior of the housing has not reached a certain internal temperature for a minimum period of time, thus initiating the heating routine. Such an internal temperature sensor is standard for device protection and monitoring even without the method according to the invention.”) configured to detect a temperature of the thermally conductive insulation layer of the PCB (i.e., detecting using temp sensor of 14’s output and or switching operation in the taught converter, arranged within the housing 2, and lastly controlling temp. on the right-hand side of 7, using ‘cooling device 3, controller 4, internal fan 6’ to vent out heat, via venting device 5),
wherein the thermally conductive insulation layer of the PCB (i.e., right hand side of 7) is configured to conduct heat generated by the plurality of photovoltaic terminals (plurality of solar cell strings 14 used to provide/penetrating a DC Input voltage(s) into housing 2, via respective terminals) to the temperature detection circuit (temp sensor);
the (see, above 112 rejection) housing structure (2); and
a controller (4) configured to detect a temperature of at least one of the plurality of photovoltaic terminals (i.e., detecting using temp sensor of 14’s output and or switching operation in the taught converter, arranged within the housing 2, and lastly controlling temp. on the right-hand side of 7, using ‘cooling device 3, controller 4, internal fan 6’ to vent out heat, via venting device 5) based on the temperature of the thermally conductive insulation layer of the PCB,
wherein the converter (any one of DC-DC 11, Intermediate stage 12 or DC-AC 13) and the PCB (7) are disposed inside the housing structure (2).
Regarding claim 2, Ruben teaches wherein, between one of the plurality of photovoltaic terminals (i.e., 14’s output) and the temperature detection circuit (temp sensor), the PCB (7) comprises a thermally conductive path (i.e., heat/air flow path in Fig. 1) including the thermally conductive insulation layer (i.e., right hand side of 7) a connection joint (i.e., connection joint being where 14’s output (+/- DC Vin) is connected to 2’s input to provide/transmit electric energy of 14), at which the one of the pluralities of photovoltaic terminals (14’s output) is connected to the PCB (7).
Regarding independent claim 13, Ruben teaches (Fig. 1-2; see English translated document) a temperature detection (Fig. 1) apparatus, applied to a photovoltaic inverter (1) comprising a plurality of photovoltaic terminals (plurality of solar cell strings 14 used to provide/penetrating a DC Input voltage(s) into housing 2, via respective terminals) respectively connected to a plurality of photovoltaic modules (plurality of solar cell strings 14) and a converter (any one of DC-DC 11, Intermediate stage 12 or DC-AC 13),
wherein the temperature detection apparatus comprises:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (7) comprising an electrically conductive layer (i.e., left hand side of 7) configured to transmit electric energy generated by the plurality of photovoltaic modules (left-hand-side of PCB 7, arranged in housing 2, connected to receive +/ -DC Vin from solar strings 14, and eventually transmit the electric energy to respective taught converter) to the converter (any one of DC-DC 11, Intermediate stage 12 or DC-AC 13) and a thermally conductive insulation layer (i.e., right hand side of 7), wherein one end of each photovoltaic terminal is connected to the PCB (one end on 14’s output is connected to input side of housing 2, in order to receive +/-DC Vin of solar strings 14 to PCB 7);
a temperature detection circuit (temp sensor not explicitly shown in Fig., but see i) last three para in pg. 4 of English translated document, under description section and ii) last pg. of translated document, before section claim: “the photovoltaic inverter 1 has an internal temperature sensor (temp. sensor), particularly to prevent temperatures within the housing 2 that could damage the components. The internal temperature sensor provides temperature sensor data to the controller 4, which monitors the internal temperature. Based on the sensor data, the controller 4 recognizes, for example, that the interior of the housing has not reached a certain internal temperature for a minimum period of time, thus initiating the heating routine. Such an internal temperature sensor is standard for device protection and monitoring even without the method according to the invention.”) configured to detect a temperature of the thermally conductive insulation layer (i.e., detecting using temp sensor of 14’s output and or switching operation in the taught converter, arranged within the housing 2, and lastly controlling temp. on the right-hand side of 7, using ‘cooling device 3, controller 4, internal fan 6’ to vent out heat, via venting device 5), wherein the thermally conductive insulation layer is configured to conduct heat generated by at least one photovoltaic terminal to the temperature detection circuit (temp sensor); and
a controller (4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 are allowed.
Regarding independent claim 15, Ruben teaches (Fig. 1-2; see English translated document) a photovoltaic inverter (1) comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (7) comprising an electrically conductive layer (i.e., left hand side of 7) and a thermally conductive insulation layer (i.e., right hand side of 7);
a housing structure (2);
a plurality of photovoltaic terminals (plurality of solar cell strings 14 used to provide/penetrating a DC Input voltage(s) into housing 2, via respective terminals) penetrating the housing structure (2), and having first ends inside the housing structure (1st end being input side of housing 2 that connects +/-DC Vin of solar strings 14 to PCB 7) configured to be electrically connected to the PCB (7) and second ends outside the housing structure (2nd end being output side of housing 2, connected to receive +/ -DC Vin from solar strings 14) configured to be connected to a plurality of photovoltaic modules (plurality of solar cell strings 14);
a converter (any one of DC-DC 11, Intermediate stage 12 or DC-AC 13), wherein the electrically conductive layer of the PCB is configured to transmit electric energy generated by the plurality of photovoltaic modules (left-hand-side of PCB 7, arranged in housing 2, connected to receive +/ -DC Vin from solar strings 14, and eventually transmit the electric energy to respective taught converter) to the converter (any one of DC-DC 11, Intermediate stage 12 or DC-AC 13) to the converter (any one of DC-DC 11, Intermediate stage 12 or DC-AC 13);
a temperature detection circuit (temp sensor not explicitly shown in Fig., but see i) last three para in pg. 4 of English translated document, under description section and ii) last pg. of translated document, before section claim: “the photovoltaic inverter 1 has an internal temperature sensor (temp. sensor), particularly to prevent temperatures within the housing 2 that could damage the components. The internal temperature sensor provides temperature sensor data to the controller 4, which monitors the internal temperature. Based on the sensor data, the controller 4 recognizes, for example, that the interior of the housing has not reached a certain internal temperature for a minimum period of time, thus initiating the heating routine. Such an internal temperature sensor is standard for device protection and monitoring even without the method according to the invention.”) configured to detect a temperature of the thermally conductive insulation layer (i.e., detecting using temp sensor of 14’s output and or switching operation in the taught converter, arranged within the housing 2, and lastly controlling temp. on the right-hand side of 7, using ‘cooling device 3, controller 4, internal fan 6’ to vent out heat, via venting device 5), wherein the thermally conductive insulation layer … the PCB (7) … a connection joint at which one of the photovoltaic terminals is connected to the PCB (14’s output connected to PCB); and
the converter (any one of DC-DC 11, Intermediate stage 12 or DC-AC 13) and the PCB (7) are disposed inside the housing structure (2).
However, cited prior art(s) failed to teach, nor would it be obvious to simply combine with any other art(s) piecewise having “a temperature detection circuit configured to detect a temperature of the thermally conductive insulation layer, wherein the thermally conductive insulation layer is embedded in the PCB and disposed between the temperature detection circuit and a connection joint at which one of the photovoltaic terminals is connected to the PCB; and the converter and the PCB are disposed inside the housing structure”.
Claims 16-17 are depending from claim 15.
Claim(s) 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, Ruben teaches the thermally conductive insulation layer (right hand-side of 7) … the PCB (7) and the connection joint (connection joint being where 14’s provided output is received by housing 2), at which one of the photovoltaic terminals (14’s output terminal) is connected to the PCB (7).
However, Ruben fails to teach the thermally conductive insulation layer is embedded in the PCB and disposed between the temperature detection circuit and the connection joint (at which one of the photovoltaic terminals is connected to the PCB).
However, CN 216770837 (from Applicant’s submitted IDS) teaches wherein each thermally conductive insulation layer (thermistor NTC 4 arranged on PCB board 2, wherein 2 also includes control chip 5, wiring terminals 1a and bonding posts leg 1b) comprises a thermally conductive material (3-c being copper material) and is an insulation gap.
However, it would not be obvious Ruben’s teaching with the teaching of CN 216770837, thus as a whole cited art(s) failed to teach, “wherein the thermally conductive insulation layer is embedded in the PCB and disposed between the temperature detection circuit and a connection joint at which at least one of the photovoltaic terminals is connected to the PCB”.
Claim(s) 3-11 and 18-20 are would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, Ruben teaches wherein each thermally conductive insulation layer comprises a thermally conductive material and is coated with an insulation material
However, CN 216770837 (from Applicant’s submitted IDS) teaches wherein each thermally conductive insulation layer (thermistor NTC 4 arranged on PCB board 2, wherein 2 also includes control chip 5, wiring terminals 1a and bonding posts leg 1b) comprises a thermally conductive material (3-c being copper material) and is an insulation gap”.
However, cited art(s) failed to teach, nor would it be obvious to piecewise combine with any other art(s) to teach, “wherein each thermally conductive insulation layer comprises a thermally conductive material and is coated with an insulation material”.
Claims 4-6, 18-19 are depending from claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, cited art(s) failed to teach, “wherein the temperature detection circuit further comprises: a first temperature detection circuit and a second temperature detection circuit, the plurality of photovoltaic terminals and the converter are respectively disposed on two sides of the PCB, the PCB comprises a first thermally conductive insulation layer and a second thermally conductive insulation layer, the first thermally conductive insulation layer is close to a side of the converter, and the second thermally conductive insulation layer is close to a side of the plurality of photovoltaic terminal”.
Regarding claim 8, cited art(s) failed to teach, “a mounting panel, wherein the housing structure is provided with a notch” and “the mounting panel is provided with through holes for the plurality of photovoltaic terminals to penetrate, and the mounting panel is configured to be mounted on the housing structure and plug the notch”.
Claim 9 is depending from claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, cited art(s) failed to teach, “wherein each photovoltaic terminal of the plurality of photovoltaic terminals further comprises: a board-end terminal, wherein a channel that penetrates through two ends of the board-end terminal is provided in the board-end terminal; a cable-end terminal, wherein a channel that penetrates through two ends of the cable-end terminal is provided in the cable-end terminal; a first electrically conductive core slidably disposed in the channel of the board-end terminal; a second electrically conductive core slidably disposed in the channel of the cable-end terminal; a first electrically conductive cable, wherein a first end of the first electrically conductive cable is crimped on the first electrically conductive core and a second end of the first electrically conductive cable is soldered on the PCB; and a second electrically conductive cable slidably disposed in the channel of the cable-end terminal, wherein a first end of the second electrically conductive cable is crimped on the second electrically conductive core and a second end of the second electrically conductive cable is connected to the photovoltaic module”.
Claims 11, 20 are depending from claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Ruben teaches the thermally conductive insulation layer (right hand-side of 7) … the PCB (7) and the connection joint (connection joint being where 14’s provided output is received by housing 2), at which one of the photovoltaic terminals (14’s output terminal) is connected to the PCB (7).
However, Ruben fails to teach the thermally conductive insulation layer is embedded in the PCB and disposed between the temperature detection circuit and the connection joint (at which one of the photovoltaic terminals is connected to the PCB).
However, CN 216770837 (from Applicant’s submitted IDS) teaches wherein each thermally conductive insulation layer (thermistor NTC 4 arranged on PCB board 2, wherein 2 also includes control chip 5, wiring terminals 1a and bonding posts leg 1b) comprises a thermally conductive material (3-c being copper material) and is an insulation gap.
However, it would not be obvious Ruben’s teaching with the teaching of CN 216770837, thus as a whole cited art(s) failed to teach, “the thermally conductive insulation layer is embedded in the PCB and disposed between the temperature detection circuit the connection joint, at which one of the photovoltaic terminals is connected to the PCB”.
Conclusion
/NUSRAT QUDDUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838