DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on August 21, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,126 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Double Patenting
Based on the terminal disclaimer filed August 21, 2026, the double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the 35 USC § 102 rejection, the applicant argues that Lee fails to disclose a WTRU that performs a PDCCH-only paging reception when in a camped on any cell state or that the WTRU performs PDCCH and PDSCH reception when in a camped normally state. More specifically, the applicant argues that Lee’s generic idle-mode disclosure does not identify either of the camped states. The examiner, however, disagrees.
At the outset, the examiner notes that only a paging reception when in a camped on only state as described is the limitation discussed below based on the or limitation as claimed in independent claims 1, 9 and 17.
Lee discloses a method and apparatus for paging procedures in a telecommunications network. In one embodiment, Lee discloses a WTRU that receives a paging message from the network while the WTRU is in an idle mode and/or connected mode. While in the idle/connected mode, the WTRU monitors the PDCCH channel during paging occasions for pages directed to the WTRU (For example, to receive paging message from the network, WTRUs in idle mode may monitor the PDCCH channel for an RNTI value used to indicate paging (i.e. P-RNTI).) (0073).
Lee does not specifically disclose “in a camped on any cell state”, however, because the WTRU is in the idle/connected state, this state is inherent based on the 3GPP specification TS 38.304 standards as indicated in the applicant’s specification (The UE behaviors in idle and inactive state (mode) are defined in 3GPP specification TS 38.304. Idle state and inactive state are a kind of UE power saving state. UE's sub-state in idle state/mode and inactive state/mode can be defined as being as “camped normally state” or “camped on/in any cell state”.) (applicant’s specification, 0045).
Thus, the examiner maintains that Lee discloses the invention as presently claimed. A rejection to the claims is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (Lee), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0120634.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Lee discloses an apparatus (UE and method) comprising: one or more processors coupled to a memory, the one or more processors (the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118…non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132) (0031) configured to: perform a paging reception, when in a camped on any cell state, by processing only a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); or perform the paging reception, when in a camped normally state, by processing a first reception of the PDCCH, and processing a second reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); and receive a communication, according to the paging reception (For paging, a WTRU may periodically monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for a downlink control information (DCI) or downlink (DL) assignment on a PDCCH masked with a paging RNTI (P-RNTI), for example, in idle mode and/or in connected mode) (0072).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Lee discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to enter into an idle mode before performing the paging reception (A WTRU may monitor PDCCH for P-RNTI discontinuously, for example, to reduce battery consumption when there may be no pages for the WTRU. DRX may be or include the process of monitoring PDCCH discontinuously. In idle mode, DRX may be or include the process of monitoring PDCCH discontinuously for P-RNTI, for example to monitor for or listen to a paging message during RRC idle state.) (0078).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, Lee discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: enter into an idle mode by entering into the camped on any cell state in response to a cell being selected irrespective of a public land mobile network (PLMN) identity (A WTRU may monitor PDCCH for P-RNTI discontinuously, for example, to reduce battery consumption when there may be no pages for the WTRU. DRX may be or include the process of monitoring PDCCH discontinuously. In idle mode, DRX may be or include the process of monitoring PDCCH discontinuously for P-RNTI, for example to monitor for or listen to a paging message during RRC idle state.) (0078).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20, Lee discloses wherein the PDSCH is processed based on an allocated radio resource of a downlink control information (DCI) of the PDCCH (For paging, a WTRU may periodically monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for a downlink control information (DCI) or downlink (DL) assignment on a PDCCH masked with a paging RNTI (P-RNTI), for example, in idle mode and/or in connected mode) (0072).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Lee discloses wherein the PDCCH is processed by only processing an allocated downlink control information (DCI) of the PDCCH is processed (For paging, a WTRU may periodically monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for a downlink control information (DCI) or downlink (DL) assignment on a PDCCH masked with a paging RNTI (P-RNTI), for example, in idle mode and/or in connected mode) (0072).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Lee discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: reduce power in the paging reception by monitoring a presence of an early warning system message and a system information change indication comprised only in the PDCCH (a WTRU may monitor for or listen to the paging message for incoming calls, system information change, Earthquake and Tsunami Warning Service (ETWS) notification for ETWS capable WTRUs, Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) notification. Extended Access Barring parameters modification, or the like.) (0077).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Lee discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: in response to being in the camped normally state, determine inherently a user equipment (UE) identifier in a paging message in the PDSCH based on a downlink control information (DCI) comprised in the PDCCH (For paging, a WTRU may periodically monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for a downlink control information (DCI) or downlink (DL) assignment on a PDCCH masked with a paging RNTI (P-RNTI), for example, in idle mode and/or in connected mode. When a WTRU detects or receives a DCI or DL assignment using a P-RNTI, the WTRU may demodulate the associated or indicated physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) resource blocks (RBs) and/or may decode a paging channel (PCH) that may be carried on an associated or indicated PDSCH. A PDSCH carrying PCH may be referred to as a PCH PDSCH.) (0072).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Lee discloses wherein an information of the PDCCH comprises at least one of: an early warning system message or a system information change indication, the early warning system message comprising an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System, ETWS, message or Commercial Mobile Alert System, CMAS, message (a WTRU may monitor for or listen to the paging message for incoming calls, system information change, Earthquake and Tsunami Warning Service (ETWS) notification for ETWS capable WTRUs, Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) notification. Extended Access Barring parameters modification, or the like.) (0077).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646