DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0316438 (Crewson) in view of 2024/0048056 (Miller).
For claim 1, Crewson teaches a high power (HP) generator (power modular 1) configured to deliver a pulsed high power with a high voltage and/or a high current to a capacitive load (see e.g., para [0028], “…load 40 to be supplied with short high voltage pulses”), the HP generator comprising:
a plurality of low power (LP) generators (switched pulse generator sections 22),
each respective LP generator comprising a respective energy storage component (energy storage 51), wherein, during operation, the respective energy storage component is charged to a respective predefined value related to the respective energy storage component, the predefined value being a voltage of a capacitor or a current of an inductor (51 is a capacitor),
each respective LP generator configured to supply, during operation, at an output thereof a respective LP-generator output. which corresponds to the respective predefined value of the respective energy storage component incorporated in the respective LP generator (see, e.g., para [0048]),
a coupling in which the plurality of LP generators is electrically connected such that a coupling-value at an output of the coupling, which corresponds to an output value at an output of the HP generator, is obtainable, wherein the coupling-value is a voltage, a current, or a power, and wherein, during operation the coupling-value is higher than the LP-generator output at the output of one of the plurality of LP generators (see, e.g., figure 2; 24 operates the 22s such that the summation of the selected 22s reach the desired voltage level), and
a control unit (switch control 24) configured to select a respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators to the output of the HP generator during power delivery of the HP generator, in order to generate a rise and/or a decay of a pulse at the output of the coupling (see, e.g., figure 10A),
However, Crewson does not explicitly teach having its control unit configured to select the respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a galvanically isolated way.
Nevertheless, Miller teaches having its control unit configured to select the respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a galvanically isolated way (see, e.g., para [0137], “In some embodiments, a system can include a pulse generator that is galvanically isolated”).
Given Miller, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to select Crewson’s 22s in a galvanically isolated way for the purpose allowing the use of two different voltage domains.
For claim 2, Crewson further teaches the control unit is further configured to select the respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a way that one or a combination of following features is accomplished:
the output of the coupling and/or the output of the HP generator is a step-function (see, e.g., para [0055], “Each switched pulse generator section 22 can therefore in the present embodiment contribute 8.75 J in each discharging step, which in the present embodiment is 15 .mu.s long.”), at a rising edge and/or a falling edge of a pulse, and/or during the pulse,
the plurality of LP generators is activated sequentially during the pulse,
the plurality of LP generators is connected by switching only (see, e.g., para [0040]).
However, Crewson does not teach its amplitude step to be less than 1 kV. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to make the step less than 1kV, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine sill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
For claim 3, Crewson further teaches more than four LP generators of the plurality of LP generators are electrically connected in the coupling (figure 1 shows six 22s all connected by switches), and/or wherein a number of LP generators electrically connected in the coupling is high enough to form, at the output of the coupling:
pulses with a voltage rise and/or a voltage fall with values equal to or higher than a sum of the LP-generator-values-outputs of the number of LP generators (see, e.g., figure 10A), and
a step-line pulse shape, wherein a value of a step of the step-line pulse shape is equal to or higher than the LP-generator-values-outputs of one or more of the number of LP generators (see, e.g., figure 10A).
For claim 6, Crewson further teaches a balancing circuit, the balancing circuit comprising a component allowing a current to flow in one direction only (blocking diode 57).
For claim 9, Crewson further teaches the control unit is configured to select the respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a sequenced way through the plurality of LP generators, wherein each pulse sequence begins on a different LP generator (see, e.g., figures 10-10c, para [0058]).
For claim 10, Crewson further teaches the control unit comprises switching units (53).
However, Crewson does not teach the parameters/tolerances of its IGBTs. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to make the IGBTs have a current rise capability of at least 10 A/µs, and/or having a capability of withstanding a voltage of at least 0.5 kV with voltage rise and fall rates of at least 15 kV/µs, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine sill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 11. (Original): The HP generator according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to select the respectfully contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a way to reduce voltage overshoots at the output of the HP generator and/or at a dedicated location on the capacitive load (see, e.g., para [0058]).
For claim 12, Crewson further teaches at least one LP generator comprises an LP-generator output limiting circuit (55).
For claim 14, Crewson teaches a method of supplying a plasma process with high power pulses having varying amplitudes provided by a high power (HP) generator (power modulator 1), the HP generator comprising a plurality of low power (LP) generators (switched pulse generator sections 22) electrically connected in a coupling, each respective LP generator comprising a respective energy storage component (storage 51), the method comprising:
C. continuously charging the respective energy storage component (storage 51) component of each respective LP generator of the plurality of LP generators to a respective predefined value (see, e.g., para [0048]), the predefined value being a voltage of a capacitor (51 is a capacitor) or a current of an inductor, and
d. selectively coupling outputs values of at least some of the plurality of LP generators (performed by 24) sequentially to obtain a desired output value of the HP generator corresponding to a pulse having a desired amplitude, by controlling the plurality of LP generators (see, e.g., figure 10A).
However, Crewson does not explicitly teach having its control unit configured to select the respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a galvanically isolated way.
Nevertheless, Miller teaches having its control unit configured to select the respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a galvanically isolated way (see, e.g., para [0137], “In some embodiments, a system can include a pulse generator that is galvanically isolated”).
Given Miller, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to select Crewson’s 22s in a galvanically isolated way for the purpose allowing the use of two different voltage domains.
For claim 15, Crewson further teaches selectively coupling outputs of at least some of the plurality of LP generators sequentially to obtain the desired output of the HP generator includes activating the LP generators such that consecutive pulses of the HP generator begin on different LP generators (see, e.g., figure 10C).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crewson in view of Miller as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2005/0145611 (Blankenship).
For claim 4, Crewson does not explicitly teach how its power supply charges up its LPs.
Nevertheless, Blankenship figure 1 teaches a charging energy of the plurality of elements by using a transformer (T) with a primary winding (left side winding T) and a secondary winding (right side winding T) for each element,
a. wherein the secondary winding is connected to a rectifier (rectifier 80), the rectifier would be connected to the energy storage component of the corresponding LP generator, and/or
b. wherein a plurality of the primary windings is connected in series (the windings on the right side are connected in series).
Given Blankenship, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to implement the power supplies in Crewson with transformers and rectifiers for the purpose of creating a DC charge from the AC current that is the power grid.
For claim 5, Crewson does not explicitly teach how its power supply charges up its LPs.
Nevertheless, Blankenship figure 1 teaches charging energy of the plurality of LP generators is supplied over a plurality of transformers (T), wherein
each respective transformer corresponds to a respective LP generator and comprises at least one balancing winding (120, 122, or 124), and wherein a balancing winding of one transformer is connected to a balancing winding of a different transformer (the windings are connected in series).
Given Blankenship, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to implement a balancing winding for the purpose of equalizing the DC output voltage of each section.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crewson in view of Rolf as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0323576 (Crawford).
For claim 7, Crewson does not explicitly teach using damping circuits.
Nevertheless, Crawford teaches the use of damping circuits (see, e.g., figure 3, para [0002] and [0077] – [0086]).
Given Crawford, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention to implement a damping circuit for each LP generator for the purpose of compensating for the parasitic resonance that becomes larger as the output current from the switched pulse generators.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crewson in view of Miller as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5,905,646 (Rolf).
For claim 8, Crewson does not explicitly teach using liquid to cool off its circuitry.
Nevertheless, Rolf teaches cooling its circuity by immersing it in oil (see, e.g, column 14, line 14 “Main parts of the system… are immersed in oil for isolating and cooling the system.”).
Given Rolf, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have parts of Crewson liquid cooled for the purpose of improving longevity and performance of the circuits.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crewson in view of Miller as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2003/0099122 (Cho).
For claim 13, Crewson teaches charging energy of the plurality of LP generators is supplied from a power source (power supply 12).
However, Crewson does not explicitly teach how to implement its power supply 12.
Nevertheless, Cho figures 28 and 29 teach a power supply that comprises a charging energy of the plurality of LP generators is supplied over a transformer (29t) with a primary winding (left side) and a secondary winding (right side) for each respective LP generator, the HP generator further comprising an inverter connected to the primary windings, the inverter comprising a full-bridge circuit (272) and a buck converter (260).
Given Cho, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the power supply 12 in Crewson with a transformer, full-bridge circuit, and buck converter for the purpose of lowering the DC voltage while converting the DC voltage to an AC voltage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). The wherein clauses (except the last one) have changed the scope of the claim since the claim now requires "charging energy for each respective energy storage component" and "wherein each secondary winding is connected to a respective rectifier". Before all that was required was a single secondary winding connected to a single rectifier and now a plurality of secondary windings each connected to a respective rectifier of a plurality of rectifiers.
/ADAM D HOUSTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842