DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, and 4-11 were filed with the amendment dated 01/20/2026.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/26/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to amended claim 1, Applicant argues that FR 3037377 (“Schrader”) fails to disclose a “flow restrictor shaped to allow a fluid to pass from the inlet to the outlet at a first flow rate when a differential pressure between the outlet and the inlet is below a threshold, and at a second flow rate, significantly lower than the first flow rate, when the differential pressure between the outlet and the inlet is above the threshold” because Schrader shows that the valve has only two states: open or closed (see Remarks at page 2). Applicant further states that when the pressure P is less than 4 bar, the valve is in the closed position and the flow rate is zero, and when the pressure is 4 bar, the valve is in the open position (Remarks at page 2). The examiner respectfully disagrees. As the claim is so broadly recited, Schrader meets the required claim language. Schrader discloses that when a differential pressure is below a threshold (below 4 bar), the flow restrictor (61/610) allows fluid to pass from the inlet (3) to the outlet at a first flow rate (Fig 3 position, when pressure from inlet pushing left is balanced against pressure within 61 pushing toward the right). Schrader also discloses that when a differential pressure between the outlet and inlet is above a threshold (i.e., 4 bar) the flow rate is significantly lower (i.e., zero in Fig. 2 state) or moving toward Fig. 2 state so that the opening for fluid to pass through to the outlet reduces in size, thus reducing the flow rate (see Translation at page 2, last 11 lines through page 3, line 6).
Applicant further argues that Schrader fails to teach “wherein the flow restrictor comprises a restrictor piston and a restrictor seat, the restrictor piston is adapted to be pushed towards the restrictor seat by a fluid flowing from the inlet to the outlet, the restrictor seat has a restrictor hole coinciding with the outlet and the restrictor piston comprises a restrictor end, arranged opposite the restrictor hole, shaped in a complementary manner to the restrictor hole so that the restrictor end closes the restrictor hole when pushed against the restrictor hole” (see Remarks at pages 2 to 3). Applicant argues that the Non-Final Office Action appears to argue that the central orifice of piston 6 is considered to be the leak (see Remarks page 3). However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not actually require a “leak” that passes through the restrictor hole when the restrictor end contacts the restrictor seat. Rather, the claims require that the restrictor seat has a restrictor hole that is closed by the restrictor end. Schrader meets this requirement because the restrictor end (610) closes off the hole (at 20) when the restrictor end (610) seats at the restrictor seat (22). The claims do not require that the fluid pass through the restrictor hole when the restrictor end contacts and closes on the restrictor seat. As such, the claims remain rejected.
The rejection is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FR3037377 (“Schrader”).
With regard to claim 1, Schrader discloses a fluidic device (see Figs 1-8, note, embodiment of Figs 6-8 operate identically to that of Figs 1-5, see Translation last sentence), comprising an inlet (3’) and an outlet (4’) connected by a body (1c+1d) forming a channel (pathway shown between 3’ and 4’) between the inlet (3’) and the outlet (4’), wherein the fluidic device (1) comprises a non-return valve (at 6/91) shaped to prevent a fluid from passing from the outlet (4’) to the inlet (3’) (See Translation: “In the closed position, the head 91 bears on the seat 92 in order to close off 5 the fluid passage between the inlet duct 30 and the housing”), and a flow restrictor (2/610) shaped to allow a fluid to pass from the inlet (3’) to the outlet (4’) at a first flow rate when a differential pressure between the outlet (4’) and the inlet (3’) is below a threshold (when differential pressure is only enough to move 610 slightly towards 2, which allows for a first flow rate that is larger accounting for the larger space between 610 and 2), and at a second flow rate, significantly lower than the first flow rate, when the differential pressure between the outlet (4’) and the inlet (3’) is above the threshold (when higher differential pressure pushes 6/610 to nearly touch 2, the second flow rate is significantly lower as the opening between 610 and 2 is smaller than when 610 is farther from 2); and the flow restrictor (610/2) comprises a restrictor piston (610) and a restrictor seat (22, see Figs 7-8), the restrictor piston (610) is adapted to be pushed towards the restrictor seat (22) by a fluid flowing from the inlet (3’) to the outlet (4’) (see Fig 7), the restrictor seat (22) has a restrictor hole (20) coinciding with the outlet (4’, see Fig 7) and the restrictor piston (610) comprises a restrictor end (end of 610, see Fig 7), arranged opposite the restrictor hole (20), shaped in a complementary manner to the restrictor hole (20) so that the restrictor end (end of 610) closes the restrictor hole (20) when pushed against the restrictor hole (20) (when 610 contacts 2/22, 20 is closed off, see Figs 7-8 and compare with Figs 1-3 which works the same).
4
With regard to claim 2, Schrader discloses that the non-return valve (6/91) comprises a non-return piston (91) and a non-return seat (92), wherein the non-return piston (91) is adapted to be pushed towards the non-return seat (92) by a fluid flowing from the outlet (4’) to the inlet (3’) (if fluid flows from 4’ toward 3’, fluid would contact inner surface of 91 pushing 91 closed against seat 92 and assisted by spring 8), wherein the non-return seat (92) has a non-return hole (hole/port within seat 92) coinciding with the inlet (3’; see Fig 7) and the non-return piston (91) comprises a non-return end (end of 91, see annotated Figs), arranged opposite the non-return hole (see Fig 7), shaped in a complementary manner to the non-return hole (hole within seat 92) so that the non-return end closes the non-return hole (shown in Fig 7) when pushed against the non-return hole (shown in Fig 7).
With regard to claim 4, Schrader discloses that the restrictor end (end of 610) is pierced by a leak (as so broadly recited, opening at end of 610 is the leak, see annotated Figs) opposite the restrictor hole (20) (see Figs 7 and 8).
With regard to claim 8, Schrader discloses that the non-return piston (91) further comprises at least one non-return through-hole (64).
With regard to claim 9, Schrader discloses that the restrictor piston (610) further comprises at least one restrictor through-hole (through hole is opening at 610, annotated as “leak” in annotated Figs, and it is a through hole because leads through to 64).
With regard to claim 10, Schrader discloses that the non-return seat (92), coinciding with the inlet, is made of the same material as the body (1c+1d, same material because 92 is part of 1c, see Fig 7) or with a plug mounted on the body, and the restrictor seat (22), coinciding with the outlet (4’) (seat 22 leads to 4’ so is considered to be “coinciding with the outlet”), is made of the same material as the body or with a plug mounted on the body (1c+1d) (22 is a plug 2 mounted on the body 1d, see Fig 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR3037377 (“Schrader”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2009/0320931 (“Wears”).
With regard to claim 11, Schrader discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the non-return seat is made with the plug mounted on the body.
Schrader discloses that the non-return seat (92) is coinciding with the inlet and is part of the body (1c).
Wears teaches that it is known in the art to provide a valve seat (22) that coincides with the inlet (14/18) and is made with a plug (22) mounted on a body (12) for the purpose of inserting a valve seat in a valve housing/body (see Figs 1-2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a seat made with a plug mounted on the body as taught by Wears in place of the seat of Schrader since the valve seats are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are allowed.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753