2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s amendments/remarks received on April 13, 2026.
3. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
4. Claims 1, 5, 11 and 17 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed April 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed moot in view of a new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWASHIMA et al.(Machine translation of WO 2018212087 A1)(hereinafter Kawashima) in view of Mun et al.(US 2015/0204800 A1)(hereinafter Mun).
Regarding claim 1, Kawashima discloses an inspection device of a semiconductor device [See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 regarding defect inspection device for semiconductor chip 16], the inspection device comprising:
a semiconductor device which has a first face and a second face that are opposite to each other[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 regarding semiconductor chip 16 having a first face and a second face opposite to each other]; and
a measuring device which faces the first face, and measures heat of the semiconductor device [See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, par. 19-21 regarding The stage 3, the stage controller 8, the laser light source 1, the infrared camera 2, the CCD camera 4 and the beam damper 11 are installed inside the housing 5. In other words, the housing 5 covers the area in which the laser can propagate or scatter. The sample 17 placed on the stage 3 has a configuration in which a plate-shaped substrate 15, which is a first member, and a semiconductor chip 16, which is a second member thinner than the substrate 15, are joined by solder (not shown)… the heat is generated when the sample 17 is heated by the laser], wherein the measuring device includes:
a heat generating unit which generates heat on the second face of the semiconductor device, by emitting electromagnetic waves that penetrate through the semiconductor device [See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, par. 19-21, 24, 31, 36 , 48, 55, 59, 75, 76 regarding The sample 17 placed on the stage 3 has a configuration in which a plate-shaped substrate 15, which is a first member, and a semiconductor chip 16, which is a second member thinner than the substrate 15, are joined by solder (not shown)… the heat is generated when the sample 17 is heated by the laser light source 1…The laser light source 1 irradiates a surface 16 a of the semiconductor chip 16 with a laser to heat the sample 17]; and
a thermal capturing unit which generates image data about a temperature of the second face of the semiconductor device [See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 and par. 10-13, 36-37, 44 regarding infrared camera 2…The defect inspection apparatus acquires temperature change data of each pixel based on a plurality of infrared images taken at predetermined time intervals, and performs Fourier transform on the acquired temperature change data… In order to protect the infrared camera 2 from laser, the protective cover has optical properties that block laser wavelengths but transmit infrared wavelengths. Here, the protective cover has optical properties that cut wavelengths of 2000 nm or less, particularly wavelengths of around 1100 nm, which is the wavelength of a YAG laser, and transmit wavelengths in the range of 2000 nm to 6000 nm.].
Kawashima does not explicitly disclose a heat generating unit which vertically faces the first face and generates heat on the second face of the semiconductor device.
However, configuring the heat generating unit to vertically face a first face of the semiconductor device to generate heat was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Mun[See Mun: at least Figs. 1-5A par. 31-32, 65-75, 77-88, 104, 135 regarding the apparatus 1000 for inspecting surfaces of semiconductor chips (hereinafter, referred to as surface inspection apparatus) in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the present inventive concepts may include a laser generator 100 generating a periodic continuous wave (CW) laser L1, a laser controller 200 transforming the periodic CW laser L1 into an inspection laser beam L2 of which a beam size is smaller than a surface size of the semiconductor chip C and irradiating the inspection laser beam L2 onto a plurality of the semiconductor chips C such that the semiconductor chips C are partially and, in some embodiments, simultaneously heated by the inspection laser beam L2, a thermal image generator 300 detecting thermal waves TW radiated from the semiconductor chips C in response to the inspection laser beam L2 and generating thermal images corresponding to the thermal waves…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawashima with Mun teachings by including “a heat generating unit which vertically faces the first face and generates heat on the second face of the semiconductor device” because this combination has the benefit of providing an improved surface inspection apparatus and method for reducing the inspection time together with high inspection accuracy and efficiency[See Mun: at least par. 5-8].
Regarding claim 2, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima and Mun teach or suggest wherein the heat generating unit includes: a laser generator which emits a laser beam toward the second face of the semiconductor device[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, par. 19-21, 24, 31, 36 , 48, 55, 59, 75, 76 regarding The sample 17 placed on the stage 3 has a configuration in which a plate-shaped substrate 15, which is a first member, and a semiconductor chip 16, which is a second member thinner than the substrate 15, are joined by solder (not shown)… the heat is generated when the sample 17 is heated by the laser light source 1…The laser light source 1 irradiates a surface 16 a of the semiconductor chip 16 with a laser to heat the sample 17… See Mun: at least Figs. 1-5A par. 31-32, 65-75, 77-88, 104, 135 regarding the apparatus 1000 for inspecting surfaces of semiconductor chips (hereinafter, referred to as surface inspection apparatus) in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the present inventive concepts may include a laser generator 100 generating a periodic continuous wave (CW) laser L1, a laser controller 200 transforming the periodic CW laser L1 into an inspection laser beam L2 of which a beam size is smaller than a surface size of the semiconductor chip C and irradiating the inspection laser beam L2 onto a plurality of the semiconductor chips C such that the semiconductor chips C are partially and, in some embodiments, simultaneously heated by the inspection laser beam L2..]; and a beam shaper which adjusts a shape of the laser beam that is emitted to the second face of the semiconductor device[See Kawashima: at least par. 32-34, 108 regarding FIG. 5 is a plan view showing the sample 17 and the laser irradiation area 1c. The laser irradiation area 1c is a range in which the entire surface of the semiconductor chip 16 can be irradiated. The laser irradiation shape is circular, and the diameter of the circle is at least greater than the diagonal distance of the semiconductor chip 16 . The shape of the laser irradiation is not limited to a circle but may be a rectangle. The laser light source 1 is, for example, a YAG laser or a semiconductor laser. As described above, most of the surface 16a of the semiconductor chip 16 is made of an alloy containing aluminum. The laser light source 1 preferably emits a laser beam in a wavelength band that is relatively easily absorbed by aluminum alloys, and the laser wavelength is preferably 2000 nm or less. Furthermore, since aluminum has a high absorption coefficient in the wavelength range of 700 to 1000 nm, it is preferable that the laser have a wavelength in this range of 700 to 1000 nm. When the laser wavelength is 700 to 1000 nm, the detection resolution of voids, which will be described later, can be further improved. In addition, it is possible to improve the detection resolution in other regions by increasing the laser output… The mask 20 prevents the laser from irradiating the solder fillet. The laser irradiation area adjusted by the opening 21 of the mask 20 heats only the inside of the surface 16a of the semiconductor chip 16, and prevents diffuse reflection of the laser due to heating of the solder fillet. See Mun: at least Figs. 1-5B and par. 79 regarding the beam expander 210 may transform the shape of the CW laser L1 from the point beam to a surface beam].
Regarding claim 3, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined, Mun teaches wherein the heat generating unit further includes: a first infrared filter which is disposed between the laser generator and the first face of the semiconductor device [See Mun: at least Figs. 1-5A par. 31-32, 79-88, 104, 135 regarding the beam splitter 230 may include a plurality of beam passing holes 231 through which the parallel spot beams of the inspection laser beam L2 individually pass toward the substrate S in such a way that the cross-sectional beam size of the inspection laser beam L2 is controlled by a hole size of the beam passing hole 231. In the present example embodiment, the beam splitter 230 may include a pattern mask having the beam passing holes 231 and comprising photoresist materials. Some of the flat beam L12 may selectively pass through the pattern mask via the beam passing holes 231, thereby transforming into the spot beams, while the remainder of the flat beam L12 may be blocked by the pattern mask. Thus, the flat beam L12 may be split into a plurality of spot beams in parallel with one another in accordance with the arrangement of the beam passing holes 231. Therefore, a plurality of the parallel spot beams may be irradiated onto the substrate S and a plurality of the semiconductor chips C may be irradiated by the parallel spot beams…].
Regarding claim 4, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined, Kawashima and Mun teach wherein the thermal image capturing unit includes: a thermal image camera which detects heat on the second face; and a second infrared filter which is disposed between the thermal image camera and the first face of the semiconductor device. [See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 and par. 10-13, 36-37, 44 regarding infrared camera 2…The defect inspection apparatus acquires temperature change data of each pixel based on a plurality of infrared images taken at predetermined time intervals, and performs Fourier transform on the acquired temperature change data… In order to protect the infrared camera 2 from laser, the protective cover has optical properties that block laser wavelengths but transmit infrared wavelengths. Here, the protective cover has optical properties that cut wavelengths of 2000 nm or less, particularly wavelengths of around 1100 nm, which is the wavelength of a YAG laser, and transmit wavelengths in the range of 2000 nm to 6000 nm. See Mun: at least par. 11, 65-66 regarding a thermal image generator 300 detecting thermal waves TW radiated from the semiconductor chips C in response to the inspection laser beam L2 and generating thermal images corresponding to the thermal waves].
Regarding claim 5, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima teaches wherein the semiconductor device includes a first region and a second region [See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 regarding semiconductor chip 16 having a first region and a second region], wherein the thermal image capturing unit generates image data about temperatures of the first region and the second region[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 and par. 10-13, 36-37, 44 regarding infrared camera 2…The defect inspection apparatus acquires temperature change data of each pixel based on a plurality of infrared images taken at predetermined time intervals, and performs Fourier transform on the acquired temperature change data… In order to protect the infrared camera 2 from laser, the protective cover has optical properties that block laser wavelengths but transmit infrared wavelengths. Here, the protective cover has optical properties that cut wavelengths of 2000 nm or less, particularly wavelengths of around 1100 nm, which is the wavelength of a YAG laser, and transmit wavelengths in the range of 2000 nm to 6000 nm.], and wherein, if there is a defect in the first region, the temperature of the first region is different from the temperature of the second region[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, 8-17, par. 22, 76, 81-82 , 97-100 regarding when the defect inspection device inspects the bonded portion by heating the sample 17 to be inspected by laser irradiation, it suppresses the temperature rise outside the inspection area and improves the detection resolution for defects in the bonded portion. The defect inspection device further includes a control unit 6 that analyzes the bonding state between the substrate 15 and the semiconductor chip 16 based on the intensity of the infrared light detected by the infrared camera 2. With this configuration, the defect inspection device can calculate and determine the position and size of a defect from the infrared image acquired by the infrared camera 2…The program describes a function in which the defect inspection device divides the infrared image into a plurality of regions based on the infrared emissivity, and executes the infrared image analysis method shown in step S4 in each region. At this time, a threshold value is appropriately set for obtaining a binarized phase image for each divided region. ..The defect inspection device can accurately detect voids even when a plurality of members having different infrared emissivities are present on the surface 16a of the semiconductor chip 16 of the sample 17 to be inspected…(Thus, defects can be detected by examining the temperatures observed in the infrared image regions)].
Regarding claim 6, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 5, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima teaches wherein the temperature of a region corresponding to the first region is lower than the temperature of a region corresponding to the second region[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, 8-17, par. 22, 68, 76, 81-82 , 96-100 regarding when the defect inspection device inspects the bonded portion by heating the sample 17 to be inspected by laser irradiation, it suppresses the temperature rise outside the inspection area and improves the detection resolution for defects in the bonded portion. The defect inspection device further includes a control unit 6 that analyzes the bonding state between the substrate 15 and the semiconductor chip 16 based on the intensity of the infrared light detected by the infrared camera 2. With this configuration, the defect inspection device can calculate and determine the position and size of a defect from the infrared image acquired by the infrared camera 2…The program describes a function in which the defect inspection device divides the infrared image into a plurality of regions based on the infrared emissivity, and executes the infrared image analysis method shown in step S4 in each region. At this time, a threshold value is appropriately set for obtaining a binarized phase image for each divided region...The defect inspection device can accurately detect voids even when a plurality of members having different infrared emissivities are present on the surface 16a of the semiconductor chip 16 of the sample 17 to be inspected…FIG. 17 is a diagram showing a phase image of a region A in the infrared image shown in FIG. The voids 10 in the phase image are more clearly visible than the voids 10 in the infrared image…(Thus, defects can be detected by examining the temperatures observed in the infrared image regions)].
Regarding claim 7, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima teaches further comprising: a projection region which is adjacent to the second face of the semiconductor device, and which is irradiated by electromagnetic waves that are emitted from the heat generating unit [See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, par. 19-21, 24, 31, 36 , 48, 55, 59, 75, 76 regarding The sample 17 placed on the stage 3 has a configuration in which a plate-shaped substrate 15, which is a first member, and a semiconductor chip 16, which is a second member thinner than the substrate 15, are joined by solder (not shown)… the heat is generated when the sample 17 is heated by the laser light source 1…The laser light source 1 irradiates a surface 16 a of the semiconductor chip 16 with a laser to heat the sample 17].
Regarding claim 8, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima teaches further comprising: a controller which processes the image data that is generated by the thermal image capturing unit [See Kawashima: at least par. 40, 51 regarding The control unit 6 includes a control device 6a and a control PC 6b. The control unit 6 analyzes the bonding state between the semiconductor chip 16 and the substrate 15 based on the intensity of the infrared light detected by the infrared camera 2 . The control device 6 a is connected to the laser light source 1 and the infrared camera 2 , and controls the driving of the laser light source 1 and the infrared camera 2 . The control PC 6 b is provided outside the housing 5 , is connected to the CCD camera 4 , and controls the driving of the CCD camera 4 . A user of the defect inspection device can remotely operate the CCD camera 4 using the control PC 6b. The control PC 6b is also connected to the control device 6a, and transmits and receives data to and from the control device 6a…],
wherein the controller generates a first image from the image data that is generated by the thermal image capturing unit[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 44 regarding The program also describes a function in which the defect inspection device acquires data on the temperature change over time for each pixel based on multiple infrared images taken at a predetermined time interval, calculates the sum of the phases for each pixel by performing a Fourier transform on the acquired data on the temperature change over time..],
generates a second image by removing a specific thermal response from the first image, generates a third image by removing noise from the second image[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 71, 110, 114,116, 120 regarding When the void size is small, the phase difference between the void portion and the non-void portion in the phase image calculated by one laser irradiation is not clear. Therefore, it may be difficult to identify voids. In order to improve the S/N ratio between the void portion and the non-void portion, the control PC 6b may determine the presence of voids from an integrated phase image obtained by repeating the above steps multiple times. By performing such processing, the control PC 6b can obtain a clearer image with less noise. Therefore, the control PC 6b can accurately determine the voids… With this configuration, the intensity of the laser reflected within the housing 5 is reduced, and the noise irradiated onto the semiconductor chip 16 is reduced. As a result, the variation in temperature captured by the infrared camera 2 is reduced, and the inspection accuracy of the defect inspection device is improved…], and generates a binarized fourth image to select defects of the semiconductor device from the third image[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 67-68 regarding In step S46, the control PC 6b binarizes the sum of the phases based on each sum and a predetermined threshold value. In step S47, the control PC 6b outputs the binarized phase image. FIG. 17 is a diagram showing a phase image of a region A in the infrared image shown in FIG. The voids 10 in the phase image are more clearly visible than the voids 10 in the infrared image…].
Regarding claim 9, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima teaches wherein the electromagnetic waves have a wavelength band of about 1 μm to about 5 μm[See Kawashima: at least par. 33, 37 regarding The laser light source 1 preferably emits a laser beam in a wavelength band that is relatively easily absorbed by aluminum alloys, and the laser wavelength is preferably 2000 nm or less. Furthermore, since aluminum has a high absorption coefficient in the wavelength range of 700 to 1000 nm, it is preferable that the laser have a wavelength in this range of 700 to 1000 nm. When the laser wavelength is 700 to 1000 nm, the detection resolution of voids, which will be described later, can be further improved. In addition, it is possible to improve the detection resolution in other regions by increasing the laser output…In order to protect the infrared camera 2 from laser, the protective cover has optical properties that block laser wavelengths but transmit infrared wavelengths. Here, the protective cover has optical properties that cut wavelengths of 2000 nm or less, particularly wavelengths of around 1100 nm, which is the wavelength of a YAG laser, and transmit wavelengths in the range of 2000 nm to 6000 nm…]
Regarding claim 10, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima discloses wherein the semiconductor device includes silicon (Si)[See Kawashima: at least par. 22 regarding The semiconductor chip 16 may be a diode, a transistor, a MOSFET (Metal-Oxide-Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor), an IGBT (Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor), or the like. The semiconductor chip 16 is, for example, a power semiconductor chip containing Si, SiC, or GaN as its main component.].
Regarding claim 11, Kawashima discloses an inspection device of a semiconductor device[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 regarding defect inspection device for semiconductor chip 16], the inspection device comprising:
a semiconductor device which includes a first region, and a second region[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 regarding semiconductor chip 16 having a first region and a second region]; and
a measuring device which measures heat that is inside the semiconductor device[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, par. 19-21 regarding The stage 3, the stage controller 8, the laser light source 1, the infrared camera 2, the CCD camera 4 and the beam damper 11 are installed inside the housing 5. In other words, the housing 5 covers the area in which the laser can propagate or scatter. The sample 17 placed on the stage 3 has a configuration in which a plate-shaped substrate 15, which is a first member, and a semiconductor chip 16, which is a second member thinner than the substrate 15, are joined by solder (not shown)… the heat is generated when the sample 17 is heated by the laser, wherein the measuring device includes:
a heat generating unit which generates heat to the inside of the semiconductor device, by emitting electromagnetic waves that penetrate through the semiconductor device[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, par. 19-21, 24, 31, 36 , 48, 55, 59, 75, 76 regarding The sample 17 placed on the stage 3 has a configuration in which a plate-shaped substrate 15, which is a first member, and a semiconductor chip 16, which is a second member thinner than the substrate 15, are joined by solder (not shown)… the heat is generated when the sample 17 is heated by the laser light source 1…The laser light source 1 irradiates a surface 16 a of the semiconductor chip 16 with a laser to heat the sample 17]; and
a thermal image capturing unit which generates image data about temperatures of the first region and the second region[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 and par. 10-13, 36-37, 44 regarding infrared camera 2…The defect inspection apparatus acquires temperature change data of each pixel based on a plurality of infrared images taken at predetermined time intervals, and performs Fourier transform on the acquired temperature change data… In order to protect the infrared camera 2 from laser, the protective cover has optical properties that block laser wavelengths but transmit infrared wavelengths. Here, the protective cover has optical properties that cut wavelengths of 2000 nm or less, particularly wavelengths of around 1100 nm, which is the wavelength of a YAG laser, and transmit wavelengths in the range of 2000 nm to 6000 nm.].
Kawashima does not explicitly disclose a heat generating unit which vertically faces the semiconductor device and generates heat to the inside of the semiconductor device.
However, configuring the heat generating unit to vertically face a first face of the semiconductor device to generate heat was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Mun[See Mun: at least Figs. 1-5A par. 31-32, 65-75, 77-88, 104, 135 regarding the apparatus 1000 for inspecting surfaces of semiconductor chips (hereinafter, referred to as surface inspection apparatus) in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the present inventive concepts may include a laser generator 100 generating a periodic continuous wave (CW) laser L1, a laser controller 200 transforming the periodic CW laser L1 into an inspection laser beam L2 of which a beam size is smaller than a surface size of the semiconductor chip C and irradiating the inspection laser beam L2 onto a plurality of the semiconductor chips C such that the semiconductor chips C are partially and, in some embodiments, simultaneously heated by the inspection laser beam L2, a thermal image generator 300 detecting thermal waves TW radiated from the semiconductor chips C in response to the inspection laser beam L2 and generating thermal images corresponding to the thermal waves…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawashima with Mun teachings by including “a heat generating unit which vertically faces the semiconductor device and generates heat to the inside of the semiconductor device” because this combination has the benefit of providing an improved surface inspection apparatus and method for reducing the inspection time together with high inspection accuracy and efficiency[See Mun: at least par. 5-8].
Regarding claim 12, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima teaches wherein the semiconductor device has an upper face and a lower face that are opposite to each other[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 regarding semiconductor chip 16 having an upper face and a lower face that are opposite to each other.], the measuring device is disposed adjacent to the upper face, and the inspection device further comprises a projection region which is adjacent to the lower face, and which is irradiated by infrared rays that are emitted from the heat generating unit [See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, par. 19-21, 24, 31, 36 , 48, 55, 59, 75, 76 regarding The sample 17 placed on the stage 3 has a configuration in which a plate-shaped substrate 15, which is a first member, and a semiconductor chip 16, which is a second member thinner than the substrate 15, are joined by solder (not shown)… the heat is generated when the sample 17 is heated by the laser light source 1…The laser light source 1 irradiates a surface 16 a of the semiconductor chip 16 with a laser to heat the sample 17].
Regarding claim 13, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima teaches wherein the semiconductor device has an upper face and a lower face that are opposite to each other, and a first side face and a second side face that connect the upper face and the lower face to each other and are opposite to each other [See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 regarding semiconductor chip 16 having an upper face and a lower face that are opposite to each other, a first side face and a second side face connecting with the upper face and lower face.], the measuring device is disposed adjacent to the first side face, and the semiconductor device further comprises a projection region which is adjacent to the second side face, and which is irradiated by infrared rays that are emitted from the heat generating unit[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, par. 19-21, 24, 31, 36 , 48, 55, 59, 75, 76 regarding The sample 17 placed on the stage 3 has a configuration in which a plate-shaped substrate 15, which is a first member, and a semiconductor chip 16, which is a second member thinner than the substrate 15, are joined by solder (not shown)… the heat is generated when the sample 17 is heated by the laser light source 1…The laser light source 1 irradiates a surface 16 a of the semiconductor chip 16 with a laser to heat the sample 17].
Regarding claim 14, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima teaches wherein in the image data, if there is a defect in the first region and no defect in the second region, a temperature of a region corresponding to the first region is lower than a temperature of a region corresponding to the second region[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, 8-17, par. 22, 68, 76, 81-82 , 96-100 regarding when the defect inspection device inspects the bonded portion by heating the sample 17 to be inspected by laser irradiation, it suppresses the temperature rise outside the inspection area and improves the detection resolution for defects in the bonded portion. The defect inspection device further includes a control unit 6 that analyzes the bonding state between the substrate 15 and the semiconductor chip 16 based on the intensity of the infrared light detected by the infrared camera 2. With this configuration, the defect inspection device can calculate and determine the position and size of a defect from the infrared image acquired by the infrared camera 2…The program describes a function in which the defect inspection device divides the infrared image into a plurality of regions based on the infrared emissivity, and executes the infrared image analysis method shown in step S4 in each region. At this time, a threshold value is appropriately set for obtaining a binarized phase image for each divided region...The defect inspection device can accurately detect voids even when a plurality of members having different infrared emissivities are present on the surface 16a of the semiconductor chip 16 of the sample 17 to be inspected…FIG. 17 is a diagram showing a phase image of a region A in the infrared image shown in FIG. The voids 10 in the phase image are more clearly visible than the voids 10 in the infrared image…(Thus, defects can be detected by examining the threshold of temperatures observed in the infrared image regions)].
Regarding claim 15, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined, Kawashima teaches wherein the heat generating unit includes: a laser generator which emits a laser beam toward the semiconductor device[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, par. 19-21, 24, 31, 36 , 48, 55, 59, 75, 76 regarding The sample 17 placed on the stage 3 has a configuration in which a plate-shaped substrate 15, which is a first member, and a semiconductor chip 16, which is a second member thinner than the substrate 15, are joined by solder (not shown)… the heat is generated when the sample 17 is heated by the laser light source 1…The laser light source 1 irradiates a surface 16 a of the semiconductor chip 16 with a laser to heat the sample 17]; a beam shaper which adjusts a shape of the laser beam that is emitted to the semiconductor device[See Kawashima: at least par. 32-34, 108 regarding FIG. 5 is a plan view showing the sample 17 and the laser irradiation area 1c. The laser irradiation area 1c is a range in which the entire surface of the semiconductor chip 16 can be irradiated. The laser irradiation shape is circular, and the diameter of the circle is at least greater than the diagonal distance of the semiconductor chip 16 . The shape of the laser irradiation is not limited to a circle but may be a rectangle. The laser light source 1 is, for example, a YAG laser or a semiconductor laser. As described above, most of the surface 16a of the semiconductor chip 16 is made of an alloy containing aluminum. The laser light source 1 preferably emits a laser beam in a wavelength band that is relatively easily absorbed by aluminum alloys, and the laser wavelength is preferably 2000 nm or less. Furthermore, since aluminum has a high absorption coefficient in the wavelength range of 700 to 1000 nm, it is preferable that the laser have a wavelength in this range of 700 to 1000 nm. When the laser wavelength is 700 to 1000 nm, the detection resolution of voids, which will be described later, can be further improved. In addition, it is possible to improve the detection resolution in other regions by increasing the laser output… The mask 20 prevents the laser from irradiating the solder fillet. The laser irradiation area adjusted by the opening 21 of the mask 20 heats only the inside of the surface 16a of the semiconductor chip 16, and prevents diffuse reflection of the laser due to heating of the solder fillet.]; wherein the thermal image capturing unit includes: a thermal image camera which detects infrared rays, and a second infrared filter which is disposed between the thermal image camera and the semiconductor device[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 and par. 10-13, 36-37, 44 regarding infrared camera 2…The defect inspection apparatus acquires temperature change data of each pixel based on a plurality of infrared images taken at predetermined time intervals, and performs Fourier transform on the acquired temperature change data… In addition, in order to protect the infrared camera 2 from foreign matter generated during use of the infrared camera 2 and the laser light source 1, it is preferable that a protective cover be attached to the lens of the infrared camera 2…In order to protect the infrared camera 2 from laser, the protective cover has optical properties that block laser wavelengths but transmit infrared wavelengths. Here, the protective cover has optical properties that cut wavelengths of 2000 nm or less, particularly wavelengths of around 1100 nm, which is the wavelength of a YAG laser, and transmit wavelengths in the range of 2000 nm to 6000 nm.]; and Mun teaches a first infrared filter which is disposed between the laser generator and the semiconductor device [See Mun: at least Figs. 1-5A par. 31-32, 79-88, 104, 135 regarding the beam splitter 230 may include a plurality of beam passing holes 231 through which the parallel spot beams of the inspection laser beam L2 individually pass toward the substrate S in such a way that the cross-sectional beam size of the inspection laser beam L2 is controlled by a hole size of the beam passing hole 231. In the present example embodiment, the beam splitter 230 may include a pattern mask having the beam passing holes 231 and comprising photoresist materials. Some of the flat beam L12 may selectively pass through the pattern mask via the beam passing holes 231, thereby transforming into the spot beams, while the remainder of the flat beam L12 may be blocked by the pattern mask. Thus, the flat beam L12 may be split into a plurality of spot beams in parallel with one another in accordance with the arrangement of the beam passing holes 231. Therefore, a plurality of the parallel spot beams may be irradiated onto the substrate S and a plurality of the semiconductor chips C may be irradiated by the parallel spot beams…].
Regarding claim 16, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima teaches further comprising: a controller which processes the image data that is generated by the thermal image capturing unit[See Kawashima: at least par. 40, 51 regarding The control unit 6 includes a control device 6a and a control PC 6b. The control unit 6 analyzes the bonding state between the semiconductor chip 16 and the substrate 15 based on the intensity of the infrared light detected by the infrared camera 2 . The control device 6 a is connected to the laser light source 1 and the infrared camera 2 , and controls the driving of the laser light source 1 and the infrared camera 2 . The control PC 6 b is provided outside the housing 5 , is connected to the CCD camera 4 , and controls the driving of the CCD camera 4 . A user of the defect inspection device can remotely operate the CCD camera 4 using the control PC 6b. The control PC 6b is also connected to the control device 6a, and transmits and receives data to and from the control device 6a…], wherein the controller generates a first image by compressing the image data that is generated by the thermal image capturing unit[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 44 regarding The program also describes a function in which the defect inspection device acquires data on the temperature change over time for each pixel based on multiple infrared images taken at a predetermined time interval, calculates the sum of the phases for each pixel by performing a Fourier transform on the acquired data on the temperature change over time..], generates a second image by removing noise from the first image See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 71, 110, 114,116, 120 regarding When the void size is small, the phase difference between the void portion and the non-void portion in the phase image calculated by one laser irradiation is not clear. Therefore, it may be difficult to identify voids. In order to improve the S/N ratio between the void portion and the non-void portion, the control PC 6b may determine the presence of voids from an integrated phase image obtained by repeating the above steps multiple times. By performing such processing, the control PC 6b can obtain a clearer image with less noise. Therefore, the control PC 6b can accurately determine the voids… With this configuration, the intensity of the laser reflected within the housing 5 is reduced, and the noise irradiated onto the semiconductor chip 16 is reduced. As a result, the variation in temperature captured by the infrared camera 2 is reduced, and the inspection accuracy of the defect inspection device is improved…], and generates a binarized third image to select defects of the semiconductor device from the second image[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 67-68 regarding In step S46, the control PC 6b binarizes the sum of the phases based on each sum and a predetermined threshold value. In step S47, the control PC 6b outputs the binarized phase image. FIG. 17 is a diagram showing a phase image of a region A in the infrared image shown in FIG. The voids 10 in the phase image are more clearly visible than the voids 10 in the infrared image…].
Regarding claim 17, Kawashima discloses an inspection method of a semiconductor device[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 regarding method for defect inspection device for semiconductor chip 16], the method comprising:
generating heat in a lower region of a semiconductor device by a measuring device including a heat generating unit which faces the semiconductor device[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5, par. 19-21, 24, 31, 36 , 48, 55, 59, 75, 76 regarding The sample 17 placed on the stage 3 has a configuration in which a plate-shaped substrate 15, which is a first member, and a semiconductor chip 16, which is a second member thinner than the substrate 15, are joined by solder (not shown)… the heat is generated when the sample 17 is heated by the laser light source 1…The laser light source 1 irradiates a surface 16 a of the semiconductor chip 16 with a laser to heat the sample 17];
acquiring thermal image data about the lower region of the semiconductor device by the measuring device[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 1-5 and par. 10-13, 36-37, 44 regarding infrared camera 2…The defect inspection apparatus acquires temperature change data of each pixel based on a plurality of infrared images taken at predetermined time intervals, and performs Fourier transform on the acquired temperature change data… In order to protect the infrared camera 2 from laser, the protective cover has optical properties that block laser wavelengths but transmit infrared wavelengths. Here, the protective cover has optical properties that cut wavelengths of 2000 nm or less, particularly wavelengths of around 1100 nm, which is the wavelength of a YAG laser, and transmit wavelengths in the range of 2000 nm to 6000 nm.]; and
processing the thermal image data[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 44 regarding calculates the sum of the phases for each pixel by performing a Fourier transform on the acquired data on the temperature change over time..], wherein processing of the thermal image data includes:
generating a first image from the thermal image data[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 44 regarding The program also describes a function in which the defect inspection device acquires data on the temperature change over time for each pixel based on multiple infrared images taken at a predetermined time interval, calculates the sum of the phases for each pixel by performing a Fourier transform on the acquired data on the temperature change over time..],
generating a second image by removing noise from the first image [See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 71, 110, 114,116, 120 regarding When the void size is small, the phase difference between the void portion and the non-void portion in the phase image calculated by one laser irradiation is not clear. Therefore, it may be difficult to identify voids. In order to improve the S/N ratio between the void portion and the non-void portion, the control PC 6b may determine the presence of voids from an integrated phase image obtained by repeating the above steps multiple times. By performing such processing, the control PC 6b can obtain a clearer image with less noise. Therefore, the control PC 6b can accurately determine the voids… With this configuration, the intensity of the laser reflected within the housing 5 is reduced, and the noise irradiated onto the semiconductor chip 16 is reduced. As a result, the variation in temperature captured by the infrared camera 2 is reduced, and the inspection accuracy of the defect inspection device is improved…], and
generating a third image for selecting a defect of the semiconductor device from the second image[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 67-68 regarding In step S46, the control PC 6b binarizes the sum of the phases based on each sum and a predetermined threshold value. In step S47, the control PC 6b outputs the binarized phase image. FIG. 17 is a diagram showing a phase image of a region A in the infrared image shown in FIG. The voids 10 in the phase image are more clearly visible than the voids 10 in the infrared image…].
Kawashima does not explicitly disclose generating heat in a lower region of a semiconductor device by a measuring device including a heat generating unit which vertically faces the semiconductor device.
However, configuring the heat generating unit to vertically face a first face of the semiconductor device to generate heat was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Mun[See Mun: at least Figs. 1-5A par. 31-32, 65-75, 77-88, 104, 135 regarding the apparatus 1000 for inspecting surfaces of semiconductor chips (hereinafter, referred to as surface inspection apparatus) in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the present inventive concepts may include a laser generator 100 generating a periodic continuous wave (CW) laser L1, a laser controller 200 transforming the periodic CW laser L1 into an inspection laser beam L2 of which a beam size is smaller than a surface size of the semiconductor chip C and irradiating the inspection laser beam L2 onto a plurality of the semiconductor chips C such that the semiconductor chips C are partially and, in some embodiments, simultaneously heated by the inspection laser beam L2, a thermal image generator 300 detecting thermal waves TW radiated from the semiconductor chips C in response to the inspection laser beam L2 and generating thermal images corresponding to the thermal waves…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawashima with Mun teachings by including “generating heat in a lower region of a semiconductor device by a measuring device including a heat generating unit which vertically faces the semiconductor device” because this combination has the benefit of providing an improved surface inspection apparatus and method for reducing the inspection time together with high inspection accuracy and efficiency[See Mun: at least par. 5-8].
Regarding claim 19, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 17, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima teaches wherein the generating of the second image further includes; removing a thermal reaction from the first image[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 71, 110, 114,116, 120 regarding When the void size is small, the phase difference between the void portion and the non-void portion in the phase image calculated by one laser irradiation is not clear. Therefore, it may be difficult to identify voids. In order to improve the S/N ratio between the void portion and the non-void portion, the control PC 6b may determine the presence of voids from an integrated phase image obtained by repeating the above steps multiple times. By performing such processing, the control PC 6b can obtain a clearer image with less noise. Therefore, the control PC 6b can accurately determine the voids… With this configuration, the intensity of the laser reflected within the housing 5 is reduced, and the noise irradiated onto the semiconductor chip 16 is reduced. As a result, the variation in temperature captured by the infrared camera 2 is reduced, and the inspection accuracy of the defect inspection device is improved…] .
Regarding claim 20, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 17, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Kawashima teaches wherein the generating of the third image further includes: performing binarization processing on the second image[See Kawashima: at least Figs. 8-17, par. 67-68 regarding In step S46, the control PC 6b binarizes the sum of the phases based on each sum and a predetermined threshold value. In step S47, the control PC 6b outputs the binarized phase image. FIG. 17 is a diagram showing a phase image of a region A in the infrared image shown in FIG. The voids 10 in the phase image are more clearly visible than the voids 10 in the infrared image…].
9. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWASHIMA et al.(Machine translation of WO 2018212087 A1)(hereinafter Kawashima) in view of Mun et al.(US 2015/0204800 A1)(hereinafter Mun) in further view of SOHN et al.(US 2020/0074901 A1)(hereinafter Sohn).
Regarding claim 18, Kawashima and Mun teach all of the limitations of claim 17, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Kawashima and Mun do not explicitly disclose wherein the generating of the first image further includes: compressing the thermal image data.
However, the compression of thermal image data in defect inspection systems was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Sohn[See Sohn: at least par. 81-85 regarding he control unit 130 may be configured to compress the extracted plurality of abnormal thermal wave images into an abnormal area image. The control unit 130 may be configured to compress the plurality of abnormal thermal wave images into one abnormal area image by accumulating the plurality of abnormal thermal wave images. Thereafter, the control unit 130 may be configured to perform a noise removal process for the abnormal area image to clearly display the potentially defected area. The noise removal processing may include a binary processing…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawashima and Mun with Sohn teachings by including “wherein the generating of the first image further includes: compressing the thermal image data” because this combination has the benefit of incorporating a compression step into the defect inspection image processing for a more reliable defect detection.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
IRIE et al.(US 2024/0219175 A1)
IKARASHI(US 2016/0069948 A1)
OHKURA et al.(US 8,224,062 B2)
Shiba et al.(US 7,385,686 B2)
Nikawa(US 6,160,407)
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ana Picon-Feliciano/Examiner, Art Unit 2482
/CHRISTOPHER S KELLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482