DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Amendments
Acknowledgment of receiving amendments to the claims, which were received by the Office on 06/03/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In that remarks, applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argues: “Aihara is directed to "an imaging apparatus that is attached to a side of a moving body and that captures an image of a subject, an imaging system including the imaging apparatus, and a display system." (Aihara, para. [0001].) The Office Action relies on FIG. 9 of Aihara and paragraphs [0048] through [0050] of Aihara, among others, to reject portions of independent claim 1. (Office Action, page 23.) The Office Action asserts that Aihara discloses a configuration that forms, on a sensor, subject images having different resolutions in different regions such as a central side and a peripheral side. Therefore, the Office Action argues that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the optical system of Aihara to Ikedo to obtain a configuration having a first pixel region and a second pixel region with different resolutions. As best understood by Applicant, Aihara merely discloses an optical system in which a wide angle of view and a high resolution of a specific region coexist. Even if the optical system of Aihara designates a region to have a high resolution because of its importance for image analysis, this only relates to region setting. Aihara fails to disclose a processor selecting a predetermined range of an angle of view based on optical characteristics information indicating a resolution distribution, setting a pixel region corresponding to the range of an angle of view as a region of interest, and setting an accumulation period of a first pixel region as a first accumulation period. Therefore, Aihara, alone or in combination with Ikedo, fails to teach or suggest "wherein optical characteristic information includes information indicating a resolution distribution corresponding to an angle-of-view range of the optical system," "set the first pixel region as a region of interest corresponding to a predetermined angle-of-view range selected based on the resolution distribution," and "set the accumulation period of the first pixel region to the first accumulation period," as recited in amended independent claim 1.”
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim language does not require “a processor selecting a predetermined range of an angle of view based on optical characteristics information indicating a resolution distribution”. Claim language merely recites “wherein optical characteristic information includes information indicating a resolution distribution corresponding to an angle-of-view range of the optical system; set the first pixel region as a region of interest corresponding to a predetermined angle-of- view range selected based on the resolution distribution; and set the accumulation period of the first pixel region to the first accumulation period”.
Aihara discloses wherein optical characteristic information includes information indicating a resolution distribution corresponding to an angle-of-view range of the optical system (Aihara, Figs. 7 and 10, Paragraphs 0044-0045 and 0051, Claim language does not require storing or accessing the optical characteristic information. Aihara’s optical system/design is seen to include the optical characteristic information.);
set the first pixel region as a region of interest corresponding to a predetermined angle-of-view range selected based on the resolution distribution (Aihara, Fig. 8 and 14, Paragraphs 0046-0047, 0058 and 0076-0077, A first pixel region R1 is set corresponding to a predetermined angle-of-view range selected based on the resolution distribution.).
Ikedo discloses setting the accumulation period of the first pixel region to the first accumulation period (Ikedo, Figs. 2 and 24, The first and second pixel regions have both the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period.). That is, Ikedo uses the same accumulation periods over the entire image sensor. Therefore, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara would disclose “the accumulation period of the first pixel region to the first accumulation period” where the first pixel region is set corresponding to a predetermined angle-of-view range selected based on the resolution distribution.
Claim language does not require the accumulation period of the first pixel region or the second pixel region to be set differently based on the resolution distribution.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-24 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the same combination of references being used in the current rejection. Applicant’s arguments are directed solely to the claimed invention as amended 06/03/2026, which has been rejected under new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment. See rejection below for full detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-15, 17-19 and 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo (US 2020/0351464 A1) in view of Aihara et al. (US 2019/0273889 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ikedo teaches a photoelectric conversion device (Ikedo, Fig. 1) comprising:
a plurality of pixels (Ikedo, Fig. 2, pixel area 200, Paragraph 0044) each including a photoelectric conversion unit configured to emit pulses in response to photons (Ikedo, Fig. 3, PD 303, Paragraph 0050), a counter configured to count a number of the pulses (Ikedo, Fig. 3, counter circuit 306, Paragraph 0054), and a memory configured to store a count value of the counter (Ikedo, Fig. 3, memory 307, Paragraph 0055);
a first pixel region and a second pixel region of a sensor unit consisting of the plurality of pixels (Ikedo, Fig. 2, A first pixel region may be a first arbitrary portion of the pixel array. A second pixel region may be a second arbitrary portion of the pixel array.);
one or more memories (Ikedo, Paragraph 0147) storing instructions; and
one or more processors (Ikedo, Fig. 1, control/arithmetic unit 104, Paragraph 0041 and 0147) executing the instructions to:
generate a signal based on a difference between count values of the counter at a start time and an end time of an accumulation period (Ikedo, Fig. 23-24, Paragraphs 0137-0144, A start time is t702 and an end time is t703.);
perform control such that a signal generated in a first accumulation period (Ikedo, Fig. 24, The first accumulation period may be any of times t702-t2401, t702-t2404 or t702-t2405.) is output between an end time of the first accumulation period and an end time of a second accumulation period (Ikedo, Fig. 24, The second accumulation period may be any of times t702-t2404, t702-t2405 or t702-t703 dependent on the first accumulation period.) the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period that is longer than the first accumulation period being included in one full frame period (Ikedo, Fig. 24, Time t702-t703); and
perform control such that an accumulation period of the first pixel region is set to the first accumulation period and an accumulation period of the second pixel region is set to the second accumulation period, or that an accumulation period of the first pixel region is set to the second accumulation period and an accumulation period of the second pixel region is set to the first accumulation period (Ikedo, Figs. 2 and 24, The first and second pixel regions have both the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period.); and
set the accumulation period of the first pixel region to the first accumulation period (Ikedo, Figs. 2 and 24, The first and second pixel regions have both the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period.).
However, Ikedo does not teach an optical system configured to form an object image having different resolutions in a first pixel region and a second pixel region of a sensor unit consisting of the plurality of pixels, wherein optical characteristic information includes information indicating a resolution distribution corresponding to an angle-of-view range of the optical system; set the first pixel region as a region of interest corresponding to a predetermined angle-of- view range selected based on the resolution distribution.
In reference to Aihara et al. (hereafter referred as Aihara), Aihara teaches an optical system configured to form an object image having different resolutions in a first pixel region and a second pixel region (Aihara, Fig. 9, Paragraphs 0048-0050) of a sensor unit consisting of the plurality of pixels (Aihara, Fig. 9, image sensor 12, The first and second pixel regions different regions.),
wherein optical characteristic information includes information indicating a resolution distribution corresponding to an angle-of-view range of the optical system (Aihara, Figs. 7 and 10, Paragraphs 0044-0045 and 0051, Claim language does not require storing or accessing the optical characteristic information. Aihara’s optical system/design is seen to include the optical characteristic information.);
set the first pixel region as a region of interest corresponding to a predetermined angle-of-view range selected based on the resolution distribution (Aihara, Figs. 4, 8 and 14, Paragraphs 0039, 0046-0047, 0058 and 0076-0077, A first pixel region R1 is set corresponding to a predetermined angle-of-view range selected based on the resolution distribution. Alternatively, region R2 may be considered to be a first pixel region since it is also a region of interest (subject region).).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Ikedo with the optical system as seen in Aihara to obtain a high resolution image of a region corresponding to a portion important for image analysis, while achieving a wide view angle without increasing a size of the apparatus (Aihara, Paragraph 0005).
Claims 24-26 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to control the first pixel region to have at least the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period (Ikedo, Figs. 2 and 24, The first and second pixel regions have both the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period.).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to control the second pixel region to have at least the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period (Ikedo, Figs. 2 and 24, The first and second pixel regions have both the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to make the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period overlap (Ikedo, Fig. 24, The first accumulation period may be times t702-t2401 and the second accumulation period may be t702-t2404.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to start the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period at the same time (Ikedo, Fig. 24, The first accumulation period may be times t702-t2401 and the second accumulation period may be t702-t2404.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein an end time of the second accumulation period coincides with an end time of a full frame period (Ikedo, Fig. 24, The second accumulation period may be t702-t703.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the photoelectric conversion unit includes an avalanche photodiode (Ikedo, Fig. 3, PD 303, Paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to set the second pixel region on the center side of a light receiving surface of the sensor unit (Aihara, Fig. 8, The second pixel region R2 covers the center of the light receiving surface.) in a case where a resolution in a vicinity of an optical axis of the optical system is higher than a resolution on a peripheral side away from the optical axis (Aihara, Fig. 8, Resolution in the center (G0) is higher than the resolution on the right side. Resolution in a vicinity of an optical axis (G1) is higher than the resolution on the sides).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to set the second pixel region on a peripheral side of a light receiving surface of the sensor unit( Aihara, Fig. 8, The second pixel region R2 covers the peripheral sides of the light receiving surface.) in a case where a resolution on a peripheral side away from an optical axis of the optical system is higher than a resolution in a vicinity of the optical axis (Aihara, Fig. 8, Resolution on a peripheral side away from an optical axis (G1) is higher than a resolution in a vicinity of the optical axis (G0).).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to set a pixel region having a relatively high resolution of a light receiving surface of the sensor unit in the second pixel region (Aihara, Fig. 8, Resolution at optical center G0 is considered to be relatively high compared to the resolution at the far peripheral sides and is set as second region R2.).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the second pixel region is provided inside the first pixel region (Aihara, Figs. 4, 8 and 14, Paragraphs 0039, 0046-0047, 0058 and 0076-0077, Region R2 may be considered to be a first pixel region and R1 may be the second pixel region.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the second pixel region is adjacent to the first pixel region (Aihara, Figs. 6 and 8, Region R2 is a second pixel region and is adjacent to region R1.).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to set the first pixel region or the second pixel region based on at least one of characteristic information on a characteristic of the photoelectric conversion device (Aihara, Figs. 8-9 and 16, Paragraphs 0046-0047, Regions R1 and R2 are based on the combination of optical system and characteristic information on a characteristic of the photoelectric conversion device (number of pixels/pixel density).), installation information on an installation state of the photoelectric conversion device, and environmental information on a surrounding environment of the photoelectric conversion device.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 17 (see claim 17 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to set at least one of a position, a size, and an accumulation period of the first pixel region or the second pixel region based on at least one of the characteristic information (Aihara, Figs. 8-9 and 16, Paragraphs 0046-0047, Position and size of Regions R1 and R2 are based on the combination of optical system and characteristic information on a characteristic of the photoelectric conversion device (number of pixels/pixel density/pixel size).), the installation information, and the environmental information.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 17 (see claim 17 analysis), wherein the characteristic information includes optical characteristic information of the optical system, a resolution of the sensor unit, and a pixel size of the sensor unit (Aihara, Figs. 8-9 and 16, Paragraphs 0046-0047, Position and size of Regions R1 and R2 are based on the combination of optical system and characteristic information on a characteristic of the photoelectric conversion device (number of pixels/pixel density/pixel size).).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to set a length of at least one of the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period based on luminance information of a signal generated in at least one of the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period (Ikedo, Paragraphs 0042, 0091-0092).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to control whether or not to perform predetermined processing in the control unit according to luminance information of a signal generated in at least one of the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period (Ikedo, Paragraphs 0042, 0091-0092).
Claim(s) 7-8, 16-19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo (US 2020/0351464 A1) in view of Aihara et al. (US 2019/0273889A1) in view of Huggett (US 2022/0261963 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), a signal generated in at least the first accumulation period (Ikedo, Fig. 24, Paragraphs 0144-0145, The final pixel output or final image output is a signal generated in at least the first accumulation period or based on a signal generated in at least the first accumulation period.).
However, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara does not teach wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to recognize an object based on a signal generated in at least the first accumulation period.
In reference to Huggett, Huggett teaches one or more processors further executes instructions to recognize an object based on an image signal (Huggett, Paragraphs 0020 and 0026).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Ikedo and Aihara with method of detecting objects and encoding images as seen in Huggett to selectively encode objects to have higher resolutions and provide greater functionality to the device. Further, the limitation “executes instructions to recognize an object based on a signal generated in at least the first accumulation period” is met since the image signal is, or is based on, a signal generated in at least the first accumulation period.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ikedo, Aihara and Huggett teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 7 (see claim 7 analysis wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to further recognize the object based on a signal generated in the second accumulation period (Huggett, Paragraphs 0020 and 0026, Ikedo, Fig. 24, Paragraphs 0144-0145, The final pixel output or final image output is a signal generated in at least the first and second accumulation periods or based on a signal generated in at least the first and second accumulation periods.).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis). However, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara does not teach wherein at least one of a position and a size of the first pixel region and the second pixel region can be set by a user.
In reference to Huggett, Huggett teaches wherein at least one of a position and a size of the first pixel region and the second pixel region can be set by a user (Huggett, Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0027 and 0029-0030, A first and second window may be set by a user of the system.).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Ikedo and Aihara with method of user selected windows and encoding images as seen in Huggett to selectively encode user selected regions to have higher resolutions and provide greater functionality to the device.
Alternatively, regarding claim 17, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis). However, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara does not teach wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to set the first pixel region or the second pixel region based on at least one of characteristic information on a characteristic of the photoelectric conversion device, installation information on an installation state of the photoelectric conversion device, and environmental information on a surrounding environment of the photoelectric conversion device.
In reference to Huggett, Huggett teaches one or more processors further executes instructions to set a first pixel region or a second pixel region (Huggett, Fig. 3, windows W1-W4 are considered to be first and second pixel regions.) based on at least one of characteristic information on a characteristic of the photoelectric conversion device (Huggett, Paragraphs 0018, 0020 and 0026-0029, The pixels on which an object is imaged on the image sensor is based on the lenses and characteristics of the image sensor.), installation information on an installation state of the photoelectric conversion device, and environmental information on a surrounding environment of the photoelectric conversion device (Huggett, Paragraphs 0020 and 0026-0029, Detected objects are environmental information. Windows are determined based on the pixel regions containing the object.).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Ikedo and Aihara with method of detecting objects and encoding images as seen in Huggett to selectively encode objects to have higher resolutions and provide greater functionality to the device.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ikedo, Aihara and Huggett teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 17 (see claim 17 analysis), wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to set at least one of a position, a size, and an accumulation period of the first pixel region or the second pixel region based on at least one of the characteristic information, the installation information, and the environmental information (Huggett, Paragraphs 0020 and 0026-0029, Size and position of the first pixel region or the second pixel region based on at least one of the characteristic information and the environmental information.).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ikedo, Aihara and Huggett teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 17 (see claim 17 analysis), wherein the characteristic information includes optical characteristic information of the optical system, a resolution of the sensor unit, and a pixel size of the sensor unit (Huggett, Paragraphs 0026-0029, The pixels on which an object is imaged on the image sensor is based on the lenses and characteristics of the image sensor including a resolution of the sensor unit, and a pixel size.).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis). However, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara does not teach wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to set the first pixel region or the second pixel region according to distance information of an object.
In reference to Huggett, Huggett teaches wherein the one or more processors further executes instructions to set the first pixel region or the second pixel region according to distance information of an object (Huggett, Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0020, 0026 and 0027-0028, Huggett teaches determining distances to objects in images and selecting objects moving towards the image sensor for window selection.).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Ikedo and Aihara with method of detecting objects and encoding images as seen in Huggett to selectively encode objects to have higher resolutions and provide greater functionality to the device.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo (US 2020/0351464 A1) in view of Aihara et al. (US 2019/0273889A1) in view of in view of Sato (US 2020/0304745 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), further comprising a display unit (Ikedo, Fig. 1, Display unit 106).
However, the combination of Ikedo and Aihara does not explicitly state the display unit is configured to display a signal generated in the second accumulation period as an image.
In reference to Sato, Sato teaches a display unit is configured to display a signal generated in a second accumulation period as an image (Sato, Fig. 1, Display unit 107, Paragraphs 0014 and 0066)
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Ikedo and Aihara with the explicit teaching of displaying the image as seen in Sato to allow a user to view the captured image.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo (US 2020/0351464 A1) in view of Aihara et al. (US 2019/0273889A1) in view of Huggett (US 2022/0261963 A1) in view of Sawada (US 2021/0300261 A1).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Ikedo, Aihara and Huggett teaches the photoelectric conversion device according to Claim 17 (see claim 17 analysis), However, the combination of Ikedo, Aihara and Huggett does not teach wherein the installation information includes at least one of a height, an angle, and a direction in which the photoelectric conversion device is installed. (Examiner notes claim 17 recites: set the first pixel region or the second pixel region based on at least one of characteristic information…, installation information…, and environmental information…. Therefore, the installation information is not required.).
In reference to Sawada, Sawada teaches wherein the installation information includes at least one of a height, an angle, and a direction in which the photoelectric conversion device is installed (Sawada, Paragraph 0043).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Ikedo, Aihara and Huggett with the explicit teaching of installation information as seen in Sawada since it is known for installation information to include at least one of a height, an angle, and a direction. That is, no modification is made to combination of Ikedo, Aihara and Huggett since the installation information is not required. Sawada is referenced to explicitly disclose installation information to include at least one of a height, an angle, and a direction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WESLEY J CHIU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639