DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
This Office Action is made in response to amendment, filed 4/14/2026. Applicant has amended claims 1-2, 11-12, and 18-19, and cancelled claims 9 and 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see “Remarks”, made in an Amendment”, filed 4/14/2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. With respect to Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. §102 and 35 U.S.C. §103, for claim 1, the Applicant argues that de Heer does not disclose receive, originating from a client device and via an HTTP live streaming (HLS) protocol, an HTTP request associated with a user preference for media content because de Heer allegedly discloses only a request for VOD recommendations and does not disclose an HTTP request. Applicant further argues that Swaminathan discloses only an HTTP request used to access a manifest file and that such HTTP request is not associated with a user preference. The argument is not persuasive because it attacks the references individually rather than the teachings of the combination. The rejection does not rely upon de Heer for teaching the claimed HTTP request. As set forth in the rejection, de Heer teaches identifying one or more VOD media assets from a VOD catalog based at least in part on user preferences and generating a client manifest corresponding to the identified media asset. Swaminathan teaches transmitting an HTTP request and transmitting user preference information to obtain content tailored to a user’s preferences. See, e.g., Swaminathan, Fig.5, step S504 and paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0039. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating the HTTP request and user preference teachings of Swaminathan into the VOD recommendation and content selection system of de Heer would have predictably resulted in a system in which a client device transmits an HTTP request associated with user preference information for media content. The combination merely applies a known HTTP-based content request mechanism to the known preference-based content selection system of de Heer to obtain the predictable result of providing content corresponding to a user’s preferences. Accordingly, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan teach or at least suggest the limitation of receiving, originating from a client device and via an HTTP live streaming (HLS) protocol, an HTTP request associated with a user preference for media content, as recited in claim 1.
The Applicant submits that claims 1, 11, and 18, and the claims depending therefrom, are patentable over the cited references. Therefore, Applicant submits the claims are patentable over the cited references and requests the withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103. In response, with respect to the applicant arguments of claims 1, 11, and 18 together with their respective dependent claims, have been fully considered but they are non-persuasive and moot in view of the new grounds of rejection (see rejections below).
Double Patenting Analysis
It is determined that no form of double patenting, statutory or non—statutory, is appropriate with respect to the current application. Statutory double patenting under 35 U.S.C. § 101 does not apply because the present independent claims are not identical to, nor coterminous with, any claims of the cited family parent claims (see ADS 8/26/2024). The claims recite additional affirmative operational limitations directed to runtime control, verification, and orchestration of concurrent presentation of programming and non-programming media assets that are absent from the earlier parent claims. Non-statutory (obviousness-type) double patenting is likewise improper because the present claims are not obvious variants of any single earlier-issued family claim when evaluated on a claim-to-claim basis. While certain individual limitations may appear in the earlier patents, no earlier independent claims require the specific combination and sequence of steps now claimed, including event-opportunity-point-driven modification of a display view during playback, concurrent presentation control tied to those event points, and verification of the modified versus unmodified display states. These limitations are neither inherent nor routine optimizations of the earlier claims and reflect a distinct inventive concept rather than predictable narrowing. Accordingly, the present claims are patentable distinct and do not impermissible extend the term of any earlier patent, and a double patenting rejection is not warranted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Heer et al., Pat No US 7,904,924 (hereafter de Heer) and further in view Swaminathan et al., Pub No US 2014/0040026 (hereafter Swaminathan).
Regarding Claim 1, de Heer discloses a system comprising memory and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory [col.3, lines 23-29: Discloses headend (FIG.1 block 100) includes processor, and one or more memory components.], the one or more processors configured to:
receive, originating from a client device a user preference for media content [col.3, lines 4-10, FIG.10, block 1008, FIG.11, block 1106: Discloses the client device sends (originating) a request for VOD recommendations. Under BRI, the request identifies the user by identifying the viewer/client, which causes the system to use viewer-associated television viewing data representing user preference.];
identify one or more video on demand (VOD) media assets from a VOD catalog based at least in part on the user preference [FIG.1, col.4, lines 1-8, col.6, lines 35-44: Discloses available VOD Titles Store (a VOD catalog) containing a listing of VOD titles currently available for purchase. In FIG.4, the recommendations tab 402 is selected. Recommended VOD titles 408, 410, 412, 414, and 416 represent available VOD titles that have been automatically selected for recommendation to the viewer based on viewer-specific recommendation criteria. For example, in the described implementation, television programs that the viewer has previously watched are compared to television programs that have been previously watched by other viewers. When a match is found, VOD titles that have been purchased by those other viewers are then selected for recommendation to the viewer.];
de Heer does not explicitly disclose generate a client manifest corresponding to a VOD media asset of the one or more VOD media assets, wherein the client manifest comprises a plurality of uniform resource identifiers that respectively correspond to a plurality of encoded media segments of the VOD media asset; and provide, for the client device, the client manifest in response to the HTTP request; and receive, originating from a client device and via an HTTP live streaming (HLS) protocol, an HTTP request, associated with a user preference for media content (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by de Heer). However, in analogous art, Swaminathan discloses
generate a client manifest corresponding to a VOD media asset of the one or more VOD media assets, wherein the client manifest comprises a plurality of uniform resource identifiers that respectively correspond to a plurality of encoded media segments of the VOD media asset [para.0018: Discloses a manifest file (also known as an index file or a playlist file) for streaming particular video content may be accessed by the client device from a server device via a network, the manifest file including one or more media segment URLs; and para.0026: Discloses the manifest file may include one or more media segment reference links and one or more advertisement markers arranged in a predetermined sequence. The media segment reference links are reference links that point to (and may be used for accessing) segments of media content, such as media segment files. A media segment reference link may be, for example, a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), Uniform Resource Locator (URL), Uniform Resource name (URN), or some other type of reference link. According to a preferred embodiment, the media segment reference links correspond to URLs (referred to throughout this disclosure as "media segment URLs", in the interests of clarity and brevity); and para.0027: Discloses the manifest file 300 includes six media segment URLs (e.g. media segment URL 301), arranged in a specific order, for accessing sequential media segment files corresponding to sequential portions of the video content via a network 104.]; and
receive, originating from a client device and via an HTTP live streaming (HLS) protocol, an HTTP request, associated with a user preference for media content [para.0025: Discloses receiving a request in an HTTP streaming environment; and para.0043-0044: Discloses HTTP live streaming (HLS) manifest retrieval; and paras.0019, 0030-0033: Discloses user-customized content advertisements based on user preference information. Therefore, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan teach or suggest receiving, originating from a client device and via an HTTP live streaming (HLS) protocol, an HTTP request associated with a user preference for media content.];
provide, for the client device, the client manifest in response to the HTTP request [para.0038-0039: Discloses the manifest is provided to the client device in direct response; and para.0025: Discloses the request is an HTTP request for retrieval of the manifest file. Therefore, Swaminathan teaches providing the client manifest in response to an HTTP request.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify de Heer with these features, as taught by Swaminathan in order to yield predictable result such as delivering user-preferred VOD media assets using a client manifest that includes URIs for encoded media segments, enabling segment-based streaming of the selected VOD content to the client device [Swaminathan: para(s).0018-0019, 0025-0026, 0030-0033, 0038-0039, and 0043-0044].
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the HTTP request comprises one or more request parameters [Swaminathan – para.0025: Discloses transmitting an HTTP request; and para.0039, Fig.5 step S, 504: Discloses transmitting user preference information to an advertisement network server and/or a request for advertisement URLs; and paras.0030-0034: Discloses the transmitted user preference information may include metadata, keywords, interests, geolocation information, playback history information, and advertising target information. Thus, Swaminathan teaches an HTTP request comprises one or more request parameters.] and the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive the VOD media asset from a content delivery network (CDN) [de Heer - col.3, 66-67, col.4, lines 1-2: Discloses VOD server (element 114 - a content delivery network) is configured to manage the sale and distribution of those VOD titles to client devices (element 106). Listings of available VOD titles are broadcast over network (element 104) to client devices (element 106).]; and
generate the plurality of encoded media segments of the VOD media asset based on the one or more request parameters [de Heer - col.3, line 19-22: Discloses client devices (element 106) are representative of television set-top boxes or any other type of client device configured to receive broadcast television programs and other data over network (element 104). Generation and preparation of VOD content for network delivery included producing distributed media units responsive to client’s request.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the system according to claim 2, and de Heer further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
insert one or more executable tags within one or more of the plurality of encoded media segments [col.3, lines 32-35: Discloses other data that may be broadcast may include, but is not limited to, electronic program guide data and VOD recommendations that may be broadcast over in-band or out-of-band portions of network (element 104). Embedded control or signal data associated with delivered VOD content satisfies executable tag insertion.].
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the system according to claim 2, and de Heer further discloses wherein the one or more request parameters identify device data, a network configuration, a network Internet Protocol (IP), device IP, and client device type [col.3, lines 57-58: Discloses each record stored in TV data store (element 110) includes a client device identifier and a program identifier.].
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
generate a personalized play list based on the one or more VOD media assets [de Heer – col.4, lines 9-18: Discloses the VOD recommendation engine (element 118) is configured to generate VOD recommendations (a personalized play list) based on data stored in TV data store (element 110) and TV VOD association store (element 120).]; and
generate the client manifest based on the personalized playlist [Swaminathan – FIG.6 item 602, para.0041: Discloses a manifest file from a server device via a network, the manifest file including one or more media segment URLs and one or more advertisement markers arranged in a predetermined sequence. Generating a manifest from a sequence of media assets corresponds to generating a client manifest based on a playlist.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the system according to claim 6, and de Heer further discloses wherein the personalized play list comprises a recommended sequence of the one or more VOD media assets [col.2, lines 15-17: Discloses videos-on-demand that have highly weighted associations with one or more television programs that the viewer has watched are recommended. Recommending multiple VOD titles to a viewer constitutes a recommended sequence.].
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the system according to claim 7, and de Heer further discloses wherein the recommended sequence of the one or more VOD media assets is based on a user selection originating from the client device [col.6, lines 4-5; Discloses a VOD listing button (element 304, when selected, causes a listing of all available VOD titles to be displayed; and col.10, lines 11-20: Discloses data mining engine derives from the TV viewing data, predictions for VOD viewing. In one implementation, a decision tree algorithm is used. In this case the data mining engine creates a decision tree for each VOD title using the TV viewing data to generate the tree splitting criteria. The tree that is generated lists from most significant to less significant the TV shows that separate clients who have purchased the VOD from those who have not.].
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the system according to claim 1, and de Heer further discloses wherein the user preference identifies a type of the media content and the one or more processors are further configured to store the user preference in a user profile corresponding to a user of the client device [claim 10: Discloses wherein the weight represents a percentage of viewers who purchased or watched the particular video-on-demand and who also watched the particular broadcast television program; and col.10, lines 13-20: Discloses the data mining engine derives from the TV viewing data, predictions for VOD viewing. Generated lists from most significant to less significant the TV shows that separate clients who have purchased the VOD from those who have not (user preferences).].
Regarding Claim 11, de Heer discloses a computer-implemented method [col.9, lines 24-30: Discloses Video-On-Demand Recommendation Method.], comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors and originating from a client device a user preference for media content [col.3, lines 4-10, FIG.10, block 1008, FIG.11, block 1106: Discloses the client device sends (originating) a request for VOD recommendations. Under BRI, the request identifies the user by identifying the viewer/client, which causes the system to use viewer-associated television viewing data representing user preference.];
identifying, by the one or more processors, one or more video on demand (VOD) media assets from a VOD catalog based at least in part on the user preference [FIG.1, col.4, lines 1-8, col.6, lines 35-44: Discloses available VOD Titles Store (a VOD catalog) containing a listing of VOD titles currently available for purchase. In FIG.4, the recommendations tab 402 is selected. Recommended VOD titles 408, 410, 412, 414, and 416 represent available VOD titles that have been automatically selected for recommendation to the viewer based on viewer-specific recommendation criteria. For example, in the described implementation, television programs that the viewer has previously watched are compared to television programs that have been previously watched by other viewers. When a match is found, VOD titles that have been purchased by those other viewers are then selected for recommendation to the viewer.];
de Heer does not explicitly disclose generating, by the one or more processors, a client manifest corresponding to a VOD media asset of the one or more VOD media assets, wherein the client manifest comprises a plurality of uniform resource identifiers that respectively correspond to a plurality of encoded media segments of the VOD media asset; and providing, by the one or more processors and for the client device, the client manifest in response to the HTTP request; and receiving, by one or more processors and originating from a client device and via an HTTP live streaming (HLS) protocol, an HTTP request associated with a user preference for media content (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by de Heer). However, in analogous art, Swaminathan discloses:
generating, by the one or more processors, a client manifest corresponding to a VOD media asset of the one or more VOD media assets, wherein the client manifest comprises a plurality of uniform resource identifiers that respectively correspond to a plurality of encoded media segments of the VOD media asset [para.0018: Discloses a manifest file (also known as an index file or a playlist file) for streaming particular video content may be accessed by the client device from a server device via a network, the manifest file including one or more media segment URLs; and para.0026: Discloses the manifest file may include one or more media segment reference links and one or more advertisement markers arranged in a predetermined sequence. The media segment reference links are reference links that point to (and may be used for accessing) segments of media content, such as media segment files. A media segment reference link may be, for example, a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), Uniform Resource Locator (URL), Uniform Resource name (URN), or some other type of reference link. According to a preferred embodiment, the media segment reference links correspond to URLs (referred to throughout this disclosure as "media segment URLs", in the interests of clarity and brevity); and para.0027: Discloses the manifest file 300 includes six media segment URLs (e.g. media segment URL 301), arranged in a specific order, for accessing sequential media segment files corresponding to sequential portions of the video content via a network 104.]; and
receiving, by one or more processors and originating from a client device and via an HTTP live streaming (HLS) protocol, an HTTP request associated with a user preference for media content [para.0025: Discloses receiving a request in an HTTP streaming environment; and para.0043-0044: Discloses HTTP live streaming (HLS) manifest retrieval; and paras.0019, 0030-0033: Discloses user-customized content advertisements based on user preference information. Therefore, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan teach or suggest receiving, originating from a client device and via an HTTP live streaming (HLS) protocol, an HTTP request associated with a user preference for media content.];
providing, by the one or more processors and for the client device, the client manifest in response to the HTTP request [para.0038-0039: Discloses the manifest is provided to the client device in direct response; and para.0025: Discloses the request is an HTTP request for retrieval of the manifest file. Therefore, Swaminathan teaches providing the client manifest in response to an HTTP request.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify de Heer with these features, as taught by Swaminathan in order to yield predictable result such as delivering user-preferred VOD media assets using a client manifest that includes URIs for encoded media segments, enabling segment-based streaming of the selected VOD content to the client device [Swaminathan: para(s).0018-0019, 0025-0026, 0030-0033, 0038-0039, and 0043-0044].
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 11, and further discloses wherein the HTTP request comprises one or more request parameters [Swaminathan – para.0025: Discloses transmitting an HTTP request; and para.0039, Fig.5 step S, 504: Discloses transmitting user preference information to an advertisement network server and/or a request for advertisement URLs; and paras.0030-0034: Discloses the transmitted user preference information may include metadata, keywords, interests, geolocation information, playback history information, and advertising target information. Thus, Swaminathan teaches an HTTP request comprises one or more request parameters.] and the computer-implemented method further comprises:
receive the VOD media asset from a content delivery network (CDN) [de Heer - col.3, 66-67, col.4, lines 1-2: Discloses VOD server (element 114 - a content delivery network) is configured to manage the sale and distribution of those VOD titles to client devices (element 106). Listings of available VOD titles are broadcast over network (element 104) to client devices (element 106).]; and
generate the plurality of encoded media segments of the VOD media asset based on the one or more request parameters [de Heer - col.3, line 19-22: Discloses client devices (element 106) are representative of television set-top boxes or any other type of client device configured to receive broadcast television programs and other data over network (element 104). Generation and preparation of VOD content for network delivery included producing distributed media units responsive to client’s request.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 11.
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 11, and further discloses wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises:
generate a personalized play list based on the one or more VOD media assets [de Heer – col.4, lines 9-18: Discloses the VOD recommendation engine (element 118) is configured to generate VOD recommendations (a personalized play list) based on data stored in TV data store (element 110) and TV VOD association store (element 120).]; and
generate the client manifest based on the personalized playlist [Swaminathan – FIG.6 item 602, para.0041: Discloses a manifest file from a server device via a network, the manifest file including one or more media segment URLs and one or more advertisement markers arranged in a predetermined sequence. Generating a manifest from a sequence of media assets corresponds to generating a client manifest based on a playlist.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 11.
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 13, and de Heer further discloses wherein the personalized playlist comprises a recommended sequence of the one or more VOD media assets [col.2, lines 15-17: Discloses videos-on-demand that have highly weighted associations with one or more television programs that the viewer has watched are recommended. Recommending multiple VOD titles to a viewer constitutes a recommended sequence.].
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 14, and de Heer further discloses wherein the recommended sequence of the one or more VOD media assets is based on a user selection originating from the client device [col.6, lines 4-5; Discloses a VOD listing button (element 304, when selected, causes a listing of all available VOD titles to be displayed; and col.10, lines 11-20: Discloses data mining engine derives from the TV viewing data, predictions for VOD viewing. In one implementation, a decision tree algorithm is used. In this case the data mining engine creates a decision tree for each VOD title using the TV viewing data to generate the tree splitting criteria. The tree that is generated lists from most significant to less significant the TV shows that separate clients who have purchased the VOD from those who have not.].
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 11, and de Heer further discloses wherein the user preference identifies a type of the media content and the one or more processors are further configured to store the user preference in a user profile corresponding to a user of the client device [claim 10: Discloses wherein the weight represents a percentage of viewers who purchased or watched the particular video-on-demand and who also watched the particular broadcast television program; and col.10, lines 13-20: Discloses the data mining engine derives from the TV viewing data, predictions for VOD viewing. Generated lists from most significant to less significant the TV shows that separate clients who have purchased the VOD from those who have not (user preferences).].
Regarding Claim 18, de Heer discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors [col.4, lines 63-67, col.5, lines 1-12, claim 25: Discloses computer-readable storage device having computer-readable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor, implements the method] to:
receive, originating from a client device a user preference for media content [col.3, lines 4-10, FIG.10, block 1008, FIG.11, block 1106: Discloses the client device sends (originating) a request for VOD recommendations. Under BRI, the request identifies the user by identifying the viewer/client, which causes the system to use viewer-associated television viewing data representing user preference.];
identify one or more video on demand (VOD) media assets from a VOD catalog based at least in part on the user preference [FIG.1, col.4, lines 1-8, col.6, lines 35-44: Discloses available VOD Titles Store (a VOD catalog) containing a listing of VOD titles currently available for purchase. In FIG.4, the recommendations tab 402 is selected. Recommended VOD titles 408, 410, 412, 414, and 416 represent available VOD titles that have been automatically selected for recommendation to the viewer based on viewer-specific recommendation criteria. For example, in the described implementation, television programs that the viewer has previously watched are compared to television programs that have been previously watched by other viewers. When a match is found, VOD titles that have been purchased by those other viewers are then selected for recommendation to the viewer.];
de Heer does not explicitly disclose generate a client manifest corresponding to a VOD media asset of the one or more VOD media assets, wherein the client manifest comprises a plurality of uniform resource identifiers that respectively correspond to a plurality of encoded media segments of the VOD media asset; and provide, for the client device, the client manifest in response to the HTTP request; and receive, originating from a client device and via an HTTP live streaming (HLS) protocol, an HTTP request associated with a user preference for media content (emphasis added to distinguish the elements not taught by de Heer). However, in analogous art, Swaminathan discloses
generate a client manifest corresponding to a VOD media asset of the one or more VOD media assets, wherein the client manifest comprises a plurality of uniform resource identifiers that respectively correspond to a plurality of encoded media segments of the VOD media asset [para.0018: Discloses a manifest file (also known as an index file or a playlist file) for streaming particular video content may be accessed by the client device from a server device via a network, the manifest file including one or more media segment URLs; and para.0026: Discloses the manifest file may include one or more media segment reference links and one or more advertisement markers arranged in a predetermined sequence. The media segment reference links are reference links that point to (and may be used for accessing) segments of media content, such as media segment files. A media segment reference link may be, for example, a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), Uniform Resource Locator (URL), Uniform Resource name (URN), or some other type of reference link. According to a preferred embodiment, the media segment reference links correspond to URLs (referred to throughout this disclosure as "media segment URLs", in the interests of clarity and brevity); and para.0027: Discloses the manifest file 300 includes six media segment URLs (e.g. media segment URL 301), arranged in a specific order, for accessing sequential media segment files corresponding to sequential portions of the video content via a network 104.]; and
receive, originating from a client device and via an HTTP live streaming (HLS) protocol, an HTTP request, associated with a user preference for media content [para.0025: Discloses receiving a request in an HTTP streaming environment; and para.0043-0044: Discloses HTTP live streaming (HLS) manifest retrieval; and paras.0019, 0030-0033: Discloses user-customized content advertisements based on user preference information. Therefore, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan teach or suggest receiving, originating from a client device and via an HTTP live streaming (HLS) protocol, an HTTP request associated with a user preference for media content.];
provide, for the client device, the client manifest in response to the HTTP request [para.0038-0039: Discloses the manifest is provided to the client device in direct response; and para.0025: Discloses the request is an HTTP request for retrieval of the manifest file. Therefore, Swaminathan teaches providing the client manifest in response to an HTTP request.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify de Heer with these features, as taught by Swaminathan in order to yield predictable result such as delivering user-preferred VOD media assets using a client manifest that includes URIs for encoded media segments, enabling segment-based streaming of the selected VOD content to the client device [Swaminathan: para(s).0018-0019, 0025-0026, 0030-0033, 0038-0039, and 0043-0044].
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 18, and further discloses wherein the HTTP request comprises one or more request parameters [Swaminathan – para.0025: Discloses transmitting an HTTP request; and para.0039, Fig.5 step S, 504: Discloses transmitting user preference information to an advertisement network server and/or a request for advertisement URLs; and paras.0030-0034: Discloses the transmitted user preference information may include metadata, keywords, interests, geolocation information, playback history information, and advertising target information. Thus, Swaminathan teaches an HTTP request comprises one or more request parameters.] and the one or more processors are further caused to:
receive the VOD media asset from a content delivery network (CDN) [de Heer - col.3, 66-67, col.4, lines 1-2: Discloses VOD server (element 114 - a content delivery network) is configured to manage the sale and distribution of those VOD titles to client devices (element 106). Listings of available VOD titles are broadcast over network (element 104) to client devices (element 106).]; and
generate the plurality of encoded media segments of the VOD media asset based on the one or more request parameters [de Heer - col.3, line 19-22: Discloses client devices (element 106) are representative of television set-top boxes or any other type of client device configured to receive broadcast television programs and other data over network (element 104). Generation and preparation of VOD content for network delivery included producing distributed media units responsive to client’s request.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 18.
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 19, and de Heer further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further caused to:
insert one or more executable tags within one or more of the plurality of encoded media segments [col.3, lines 32-35: Discloses other data that may be broadcast may include, but is not limited to, electronic program guide data and VOD recommendations that may be broadcast over in-band or out-of-band portions of network (element 104). Embedded control or signal data associated with delivered VOD content satisfies executable tag insertion.].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Heer et al., Pat No US 7,904,924 (hereafter de Heer) and further in view of Swaminathan et al., Pub No US 2014/0040026 (hereafter Swaminathan) and further in view of Bloch et al., Pub No US 2017 /0062012 (hereafter Bloch).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of de Heer and Swaminathan discloses the system according to claim 4, and the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the device data identifies a scale, an aspect ratio, and a resolution of the client device. However, in analogous art, Bloch discloses other properties of user devices, such as smartphone, can include screen resolution, aspect ratio, display proportions, and physical screen size [para.0028]. Physical screen size and display proportions constitute a scale of the client device, while aspect ratio and screen resolution are expressly identified. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify de Heer and Swaminathan with these features, as taught by Bloch in order to yield predictable result such as the video content is adapted to properly fit the client device [Bloch: para(s).0005, 0028].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wagenaar et al., (US 9,491,499) – Discloses Unified Streaming Module streams media content from one unified source (e.g., Live, VOD, MP4, etc.) to multiple clients and devices (e.g., smart device, PC/Mac, TV/Radio, etc.). In one arrangement, it wraps the platform specific solutions available from Apple® (HTTP Live Streaming), Adobe® (HTTP Dynamic Streaming) and Microsoft® (Smooth Streaming) as well as MPEG_DASH into one (FIG.1, col.5 lines 18-26). Wagenaar further discloses generating a player-specific manifest for HTTP Live Streaming (HLS), translating an encoded playlist into the manifest, combining playlist items into a content stream, and delivering personalized content based on user preferences (col.9 lines 35-63, col.10 lines 15-52).
/ADIL OCAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426