DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a non-final rejection in response to the communication filed 02/25/2026. Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 20218951 to Linde AG (Linde).
In Reference to Claim 1
Linde discloses a fan control system (¶ [0016]), comprising:
a fan (¶ [0013]);
a dust barrier at or adjacent to the fan (¶ [0011], a sieve or perforated sheet for instance);
a fan actuator to rotate the fan in a normal direction and a reverse direction (¶ [0022]);
a fan controller configured or programmed to control a manner in which the fan actuator is driven (see ¶ [0016] and [0013]);
a clogging degree calculator configured or programmed to calculate a clogging degree of the dust barrier based on drive behavior of the fan (¶ [0016], means for detecting the degree of contamination for instance); and
a reverse rotation instructor configured or programmed to instruct the fan controller based on the clogging degree to rotate the fan in the reverse direction (¶ [0016] and [0013], control of the eversible fan for instance).
In Reference to Claim 2
Linde discloses the fan control system according to claim 1, wherein the fan actuator includes a fan motor (see ¶ [0022] for instance) to receive from the fan controller a drive signal to control the manner in which the fan motor is driven (see ¶ [0016], as part of the fan control for instance).
In Reference to Claim 3
Linde discloses the fan control system according to claim 1, wherein the drive behavior is based on either or both of a rotation speed of the fan and a drive time of the fan (¶ [0021], a drive time of the fan for instance, and using time relays).
In Reference to Claim 4
Linde discloses the fan control system according to claim 1, wherein the fan rotates in the reverse direction over a predetermined time period (¶ [0017], for a certain period of time for instance).
In Reference to Claim 5
Linde discloses the fan control system according to claim 1, wherein the fan rotates in the reverse direction over a time period variable according to the clogging degree (¶ [0017]).
In Reference to Claim 6
Linde discloses the fan control system according to claim 1, wherein the fan is a cooling fan to cool at least one heat generating component with use of at least one cooling medium; the fan control system includes an internal temperature detector to detect a temperature of the at least one cooling medium or a temperature of the at least one heat generating component; and the clogging degree calculator is configured or programmed to calculate the clogging degree based on the temperature detected by the internal temperature detector and the drive behavior (¶ [0017] and [0021], temperature difference in a condenser for instance and the conceivability of using time relays which is a drive time of the fan).
In Reference to Claim 7
Linde discloses the fan control system according to claim 6, further comprising: an external temperature detector to detect a temperature of outside air; wherein the clogging degree calculator is configured or programmed to calculate the clogging degree based on the temperature of the outside air, the temperature detected by the internal temperature detector, and the drive behavior (¶ [0017] and [0021], temperature difference in a condenser and ambient temperature for instance and the conceivability of using time relays which is a drive time of the fan).
In Reference to Claim 8
Linde discloses the fan control system according to claim 6, wherein the at least one cooling medium is at least one of cooling air, cooling liquid, or a heat pipe (¶ [0017], temperature associated with a condenser for instance, such as the fluid of the condenser).
In Reference to Claim 9
Linde discloses the fan control system according to claim 6, wherein the at least one heat generating component is at least one of a radiator, an engine, an electric motor, an inverter, or a battery (¶ [0004], a radiator or heat exchanger, for instance).
In Reference to Claim 10
Linde discloses a work machine (intended use, see note below), comprising:
a cooling fan to cool a heat generating component with use of a cooling medium (abstract and ¶ [0004], ventilation fan and use of air with a radiator for instance);
a dust barrier at or adjacent to the cooling fan (¶ [0011], a sieve or perforated sheet for instance);
a fan actuator to rotate the cooling fan in a normal direction and a reverse direction (¶ [0022]);
a fan controller configured or programmed to control a manner in which the fan actuator is driven (see ¶ [0016] and [0013]);
an internal temperature detector to detect a temperature of the cooling medium or a temperature of the heat generating component (¶ [0017] and [0021], temperature difference in a condenser for instance);
a clogging degree calculator configured or programmed to calculate a clogging degree of the dust barrier (¶ [0016], means for detecting the degree of contamination for instance) based on the temperature detected by the internal temperature detector and drive behavior of the cooling fan (¶ [0017] and [0021], temperature difference in a condenser for instance and the conceivability of using time relays which is a drive time of the fan); and
a reverse rotation instructor configured or programmed to instruct the fan controller based on the clogging degree to rotate the cooling fan in the reverse direction (¶ [0017]).
Examiner notes that it has been held that ‘A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.’ Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114(II).
In Reference to Claim 11
Linde discloses the work machine according to claim 10, wherein the drive behavior is based on either or both of a rotation speed of the cooling fan and a drive time of the cooling fan (¶ [0021], a drive time of the fan for instance, and using time relays).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show control for reversible fan systems, control of fans and dust in a system, the measurement of blockage in a filter system and vehicles with reversible fan systems.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745