DETAILED ACTION
Application # 18/814,875 was filed on 12/9/2024.
Claims 1-10 are subject to examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a server registration module configured to receive…a database configured to connect…a server verification module configured to receive…a server authorization module configured to connect… in claim 1. Furthermore, in claim 7, such claim limitations are a terminal connection module configured to connect…a terminal authorization module configured to connect….a terminal verification module configured to connect….
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomi et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2022/0377063 (hereinafter Gomi) in view of Chin et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2024/0121238 (hereinafter Chin)
With respect to claim 1, Gomi teaches a data verification server, comprising:
-a server registration module configured to receive a plurality pieces of registration data of a user and process the plurality pieces of registration data to generate at least one piece of aggregated data (i.e. terminal device of the user sets a password in the authentication server in advance, the terminal device sends the password and registers an ID of the user U and the password in a memory area) (Paragraph 33-34);
-a database configured to connect with the server registration module and store verification check data and the at least one piece of aggregated data (i.e. authentication server registers the ID and the password of the user U in the authentication information database)(Paragraph 34);
a server verification module (Fig. 6 element 133) configured to receive verification data (i.e. biometric information or challenge) from a data verification terminal (paragraph 38-40) and compare (i.e. matching) the received verification data and the verification check data stored in the database to determine whether the received verification data and the stored verification check data match (Paragraph 39, 56, 174); and
a server authorization module configured to connect with the server verification module and the database, wherein: when the received verification data and the verification check data stored in the database match (Paragraph 39-40, 56)
Gomi does not explicitly teach the server authorization module selectively obtains the at least one piece of aggregated data from the database and transmits the at least one piece of aggregated data obtained to a service platform server through a communication network.
Chin teaches a server authorization module (i.e. authorization server) configured to connect with the server verification module and the database (Paragraph 35, 32), wherein: when the received verification data and the verification check data stored in the database match (Paragraph 39), the server authorization module selectively obtains the at least one piece of aggregated data from the database and transmits the at least one piece of aggregated data obtained to a service platform server through a communication network (i.e. server obtaining username and then server sending back QR code including username, user code and URI) (Paragraph 32, 39, 44-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Chin’s teaching in Gomi’s teaching to come up with having obtaining at least one piece of aggregate data from the database and transmitting the piece of aggregated to the service platform server. The motivation for doing so would be to authenticate the user using biometric information and not the password.
With respect to claim 2, Gomi and Chin teaches the data verification server of claim 1, but Chin further teaches wherein when the data verification terminal is verified to be operated by the user, the server authorization module is further configured to update a part of the at least one piece of aggregated data in the database based on one or more data aggregation instructions received from the data verification terminal (i.e. server obtaining username and then server sending back QR code including username, user code and URI) (Paragraph 32, 39, 44-45)
With respect to claim 3, Gomi and Chin teaches the data verification server of claim 1, but Gomi further teaches wherein the server authorization module is further configured to store in the database an authorization record regarding the at least one piece of aggregated data provided to the data verification terminal (Paragraph 156, 157, 160)
With respect to claim 4, Gomi and Chin teaches the data verification server of claim 3, but Gomi further teaches wherein the server authorization module, when receiving the one or more data aggregation instructions, determines whether one of the atleast one piece of aggregated data stored in the database correspond to the one or more data aggregation instructions to selectively update the part of the at least one piece of aggregated data in the database (Paragraph 155-160)
With respect to claim 5, Gomi and Chin teaches the data verification server of claim 1, but Gomi further teaches wherein the server verification module further includes a verification kernel that complies with Fast Identity Online 2 (FIDO2) project and uses an authentication standard of Universal 2nd Factor for verification (Paragraph 40)
With respect to claim 6, Gomi and Chin teaches the data verification server of claim 1, but Chin further teaches wherein the server authorization module transmits the at least one piece of aggregated data obtained to the service platform server through the communication network to complete authorization (i.e. server obtaining username and then server sending back QR code including username, user code and URI) (Paragraph 32, 39, 44-45)
With respect to claim 7, Gomi teaches a data verification terminal, comprising:
-a terminal connection module configured to connect with a data verification server (i.e. authentication server) and a service platform server (i.e. FIDO server) through a communication network (Paragraph 33, 34, 37, 42)
-a terminal authorization module configured to connect with the terminal connection module (i.e. terminal of the user U sends the challenge and the server information to the FIDO authenticator)(Paragraph 38) and receive an authorization request from the service platform server through the terminal connection module (i.e. FIDO authenticator performs user verifications on the basis of biometric information and verifies the identity of the user)(Paragraph 39); and
a terminal verification module configured to connect with the terminal connection module and the terminal authorization module, obtain biometric data, and generate verification data based on the obtained biometric data (I.e. biometric information which can be fingerprint, a vein) (Paragraph 39-41), wherein: when the terminal authorization module receives the authorization request (Paragraph 51), the terminal verification module is configured to transmit the verification data to the data verification server through the terminal connection module (Paragraph 67-68), so that the data verification server transmits at least one piece of aggregated data to the service platform server.
Gomi does not explicitly teach the data verification server transmits at least one piece of aggregated data to the service platform server
Chin teaches the data verification server transmits at least one piece of aggregated data to the service platform server (i.e. server obtaining username and then server sending back QR code including username, user code and URI) (Paragraph 32, 39, 44-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Chin’s teaching in Gomi’s teaching to come up with having obtaining at least one piece of aggregate data from the database and transmitting the piece of aggregated to the service platform server. The motivation for doing so would be to authenticate the user using biometric information and not the password.
With respect to claim 8, Gomi and Chin teaches the data verification terminal of claim 7, but Gomi further teaches further comprising: a terminal registration module configured to connect with the terminal connection module and obtain one or more pieces of registration data of a user (Paragraph 33-34) and transmit the one or more pieces of registration data to the data verification server through the terminal connection module (Paragraph 33-34, 42-43)
With respect to claim 9, Gomi and Chin teaches the data verification terminal of claim 7, but Gomi further teaches wherein the terminal verification module is further configured to generate an authorization password based on time-based one- time password (TOTP) algorithm by using a verification time interval to obtain the verification data (Paragraph 40) encrypt the verification data with the authorization password (Paragraph 40, 26), and transmit the encrypted verification data to the data verification server through the terminal connection module (Paragraph 40-41)
With respect to claim 10, Gomi and Chin teaches the data verification terminal of claim 7, but Gomi further teaches wherein when the terminal connection module receives a piece of aggregated data from the data verification server, the terminal authorization module generate an authorization password based on time-based one-time password (TOTP) algorithm by using an authorization time interval to obtain the aggregated data (Paragraph 40), encrypt the aggregated data with the authorization password (Paragraph 40-41, 26) and transmit the encrypted aggregated data to a verification platform through the terminal connection module (Paragraph 40-41)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Reed et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2024/0007461
B). Lee et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2022/0337589
C). Vo et al. U.S. Patent # 10,461,942
E). Brown et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2019/0279212
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453