DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s Amendment which is filed on February 12, 2026.
An amendment to amend the claims 7 and 14 has been entered and made of record in the application of Hormann et al. for a “biometric information for collecting a shipment” filed on August 26, 2024.
Claim 9 is cancelled.
Claims 1-8 and 10-18 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
In view of applicant’s amendment to amend the claim 14 to obviate the 35 U.S.C. §101 rejections, therefore, examiner has withdrawn the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §101 rejections.
In view of applicant’s arguments to the claims 15-18 to obviate the 35 U.S.C. §112 (f) and second paragraph rejections, therefore, examiner has withdrawn the rejection under 35 U.S.C §112, second paragraph 35 U.S.C. §112 (f).
Applicant’s arguments to the rejected claims are insufficient to distinguish the claimed invention from the cited prior arts or overcome the rejection of said claims under 35 U.S.C § 103(a) as discussed below. Applicant's argument with respect to the pending claims 1-18, filed on February 12, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons.
On page 8 to page 12, Applicant's arguments with respect to the invention in Levy et al. does not teach or suggest “determining authorization indication information, at least partially based on the authorization information and the biometric information, wherein the authorization indication information indicates that the biometric information authorizes collection of the shipment from the locker installation” is not persuasive. The claims in a pending application should be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974).
As defined by claim 1, Levy et al. disclose determining authorization indication information (i.e. a tracking number associated with the barcode at the storage area), at least partially based on the authorization information (i.e. the bar code) and the biometric information (i.e. a fingerprint or retinal scan), wherein the authorization indication information (i.e. the tracking number) indicates that the biometric information authorizes collection of the shipment from the locker installation (102) (i.e. based on the tracking number, a message is received from the delivery service 116 with details about the delivery. The details may include the time of departure of the package and/or an expected delivery time, date of departure, and/or date of expected arrival. The delivery details may also include one or more of, but are not limited to, delivery address, name of intended recipient, telephone number of intended recipient, delivery address, name of intended sender, telephone number of sender, etc. The details provided to the system maybe the details that the delivery service 116 has that are associated with the tracking number extracted and/or derived from the barcode) (page 11 paragraphs 0097; see Figure 3B and 3D). Determining authorization indication information define as weather the authorization indication information indicates that the biometric information authorizes collection of the shipment from the locker installation. In other word, the method just determine that biometric information authorizes collection of the shipment from the locker installation.
Applicant argues that the invention creates a new and alternative authorization credential drive from the user’s biometrics.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “new authorization credential drive from the user’s biometrics” does not include certain features of Applicant’s invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e. “authorization indication information is created from authorization information and the biometric information”) are not stated in the claims. It is the claims that define the claimed invention, and it is claims, not specifications that are anticipated or unpatentable. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
As recited in the claim, nowhere in the claim recites that the method creates a new authorization credential derived from the user’s biometrics and using the new authorization credential for authorization the collection of the shipment. As recited in the claim, only the biometric information is needed for authorization collection of the shipment from the locker installation. See Specification in paragraphs 0034-0035.
Furthermore, by definition of “determining” by Merriam-Webster’s collegiate dictionary, tenth edition, is serving to decide something. In other meaning, causing something to occur or be done in a particular way. Examiner understood as decide that the biometric information indicates that the biometric information authorizes collection of the shipment from the locker installation
Regarding the amended claim 7, the claims in a pending application should be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974). The claim 7 is broader than the claim 1, and as recited in the claim 1 that “wherein the determining whether the biometric information authorizes collection of a shipment”. That means only the biometric information is required for authorization to collect of a shipment.
For at least these reasons, the examiner maintains that the references cited and applied in the last office actions for the rejection of the claims are maintained in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11, 12, 14, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Levy et al. (Pub. No. 2024/0013139).
Referring to Claim 1, Levy et al. disclose a method (i.e. a method for controlling package delivery) (page 1 paragraph 0023 to 0025; see Figures 1 to 4), wherein the method comprises:
obtaining authorization information (i.e. a bar code), wherein the authorization information authorizes collection of a shipment (i.e. a package by a delivery service) from a locker installation (102) (i.e. locked area 102) (i.e. based in-part on delivery service recognition logic 208, the barcode information related to the delivery service is analyzed and extracted to identify whether the delivery service is a valid/supported delivery service or part of a list of delivery services from which packages are accepted, not on any list of delivery services) (page 10 paragraph 0090 to page 11 paragraphs 0096; see Figures 3A-3B);
obtaining biometric information (i.e. other credentials such as fingerprint or retinal scan), wherein the biometric information represents at least one biometric feature of a person (i.e. user device 112 may be a mobile device, such as a mobile phone or tablet computer, which is used by a user for picking up a package. User device 112 may interface with storage management system 106, via which the user may enter a password and/or other credentials (e.g., a fingerprint, retinal scan, digital token, username, and/or PIN) to gain access to locked area 102 to pick up a package delivered) (page 6 paragraph 0046; see Figures 1 and 3B);
determining authorization indication information (i.e. a tracking number associated with the barcode at the storage area), at least partially based on the authorization information (i.e. the bar code) and the biometric information (i.e. a fingerprint or retinal scan), wherein the authorization indication information (i.e. the tracking number) indicates that the biometric information authorizes collection of the shipment from the locker installation (102) (i.e. based on the tracking number, a message is received from the delivery service 116 with details about the delivery. The details may include the time of departure of the package and/or an expected delivery time, date of departure, and/or date of expected arrival. The delivery details may also include one or more of, but are not limited to, delivery address, name of intended recipient, telephone number of intended recipient, delivery address, name of intended sender, telephone number of sender, etc. The details provided to the system maybe the details that the delivery service 116 has that are associated with the tracking number extracted and/or derived from the barcode) (page 11 paragraphs 0097; see Figure 3B and 3D); and
providing the authorization indication information (i.e. the tracking number) and the biometric information (i.e. information received from delivery service 116 is analyzed. The delivery service 116 provides the delivery details so that the system can validate the delivery details associated with the barcode and/or other information associated with the package and/or a label on the package. For example, based on delivery details (e.g., the departure time of the package and/or expected delivery time of the package) a window within which the package should have arrived may be computed) (page 11 paragraph 0098; see Figure 3B).
Referring to Claim 2, Levy et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the authorization information (i.e. a tracking number) is represented by a collection code (i.e. if the pattern (and optionally the format) of the barcode corresponds to a supported delivery service, a message is sent to the delivery service providing the tracking number associated with the barcode at the storage area (the locked area 102), via storage management system 106 or storage management system 230, or via processor system 218 or 240. Which delivery service is contacted is determined by the pattern of the symbols in the tracking number) (page 11 paragraph 0095).
Referring to Claim 3, Levy et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining of the authorization information comprises:
receiving the authorization information from a backend server (116) (i.e. delivery service system 116) (i.e. based on the tracking number, a message is received from the delivery service 116 with details about the delivery. The details may include the time of departure of the package and/or an expected delivery time, date of departure, and/or date of expected arrival) (page 11 paragraph 0097; see Figure 3B); or
causing capturing of the authorization information by an image recording device of a user device (i.e. the delivery person approves the information presented by the system 100 and causes the information to be submitted (e.g., sent from delivery service device 110 or user device 112) to the storage management system 106 for authentication. Based on the tracking number, a message is received from the delivery service 116 with details about the delivery. The details may include the time of departure of the package and/or an expected delivery time, date of departure, and/or date of expected arrival) (page 14 paragraphs 0122 to 0123; see Figure 4).
Referring to Claim 4, Levy et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining of the biometric information comprises:
causing capturing of the at least one biometric feature represented by the biometric information by one or more biometric sensors of the user device (112) (i.e. user device 112 may be a mobile device, such as a mobile phone or tablet computer, which is used by a user for picking up a package. User device 112 may interface with storage management system 106, via which the user may enter a password and/or other credentials (e.g., a fingerprint, retinal scan, digital token, username, and/or PIN) to gain access to locked area 102 to pick up a package delivered) (page 6 paragraph 0046; see Figure 1).
Referring to Claim 5, Levy et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining of the biometric information comprises: requesting the biometric information from a further user device (110) (i.e. a delivery service device); receiving the requested biometric information from the further user device (i.e. User device 112 may be a mobile device, such as a mobile phone or tablet computer, which is used by a user for picking up a package. User device 112 may interface with storage management system 106, via which the user may enter a password and/or other credentials (e.g., a fingerprint, retinal scan, digital token, username, and/or PIN) to gain access to locked area 102 to pick up a package delivered. (page 6 paragraph 0046; see Figure 1). A sign-in page is sent to the delivery person, by sending a sign-in page to a user interface 108, at storage management system 106 of locked area 102, to delivery service device 110, to user device 112, and/or another device. The sign-in page may include one or more fields for entering information, thereby requesting information such as an identifier of the delivery person, an identifier of the delivery service, information about the intended recipient, and/or information about the sender) (page 10 paragraph 0084; see Figure 3A).
Referring to Claim 6, Levy et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the providing of the authorization indication information and of the biometric information comprises:
transmitting the biometric information and the authorization indication information to a backend server (116) (i.e. delivery service system 116 may coordinate deliveries on behalf of a delivery service. Each delivery service 116 may use a different type of code having a different pattern of symbols and/or different symbology. Optionally, the delivery service system 116 may communicate with delivery service device 110 and/or user device 112 (while the delivery person is delivering packages) regarding delivery schedules, the progress in delivering packages to their destinations, and/or about whether a package was deliverable.) (page 6 paragraph 0048; page 11 paragraph 0098; see Figures 1 and 3B).
Referring to Claim 11, Levy et al. disclose a method, although different in scope from the claim 1, the claim 11 contains similar limitations in that the claim 1 already addressed above therefore claim 11 is also rejected for the same reasons given with respect to claim 1.
Referring to Claim 12, Levy et al. disclose the method according to claim 11, wherein the providing of authorization information (i.e. bar code) comprises transmitting the authorization information to a user device (112) (i.e. based in-part on delivery service recognition logic 208, the barcode information related to the delivery service is analyzed and extracted to identify whether the delivery service is a valid/supported delivery service or part of a list of delivery services from which packages are accepted, not on any list of delivery services) (page 11 paragraphs 0093; see Figures 3A-3B);
wherein the obtaining of authorization indication information and biometric information comprises receiving the authorization indication information and the biometric information from the user device (i.e. information received from delivery service 116 is analyzed. The delivery service 116 provides the delivery details so that the system can validate the delivery details associated with the barcode and/or other information associated with the package and/or a label on the package. For example, based on delivery details (e.g., the departure time of the package and/or expected delivery time of the package) a window within which the package should have arrived may be computed) (page 11 paragraph 0098; see Figure 3B), and
wherein the providing of the authorization indication information and of the biometric information comprises transmitting the authorization indication information and the biometric information to a control unit of a locker installation (i.e. information received from delivery service 116 is analyzed. The delivery service 116 provides the delivery details so that the system can validate the delivery details associated with the barcode and/or other information associated with the package and/or a label on the package. For example, based on delivery details (e.g., the departure time of the package and/or expected delivery time of the package) a window within which the package should have arrived may be computed) (page 11 paragraph 0098; see Figure 3B).
Referring to Claims 14-15 and 17, Levy et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon a computer program and a user device configured to perform the method according to claim 1 or a backend server, although different in scope from the claim 1, the claims 14-15 and 17 contain similar limitations in that the claim 1 already addressed above therefore claims 14-15 and 17 are also rejected for the same reasons given with respect to claim 1.
Claims 7, 8, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robinson et al. (US# 11,182,733).
Referring to Claim 7, Robinson et al. disclose a method (i.e. a method for confirming an identity of an individual at a locker bank 700) (column 2 lines 32 to column 3 line 47; see Figures 1 to 21) comprising:
obtaining biometric information (i.e. a height of the person requesting retrieval of the parcel), wherein the biometric information represents at least one biometric feature of a person (i.e. the locker bank may comprise one or more cameras configured to determine a height of the person requesting retrieval of the parcel. In various embodiments, the system may be configured to compare the person's determined height to a height determined from their identification card. In still other embodiments, the locker bank may comprise one or more cameras configured to determine an eye color of the person, a hair color of the person, etc.) (column 26 lines 51 to 64; see Figures 4 and 5);
determining whether the biometric information authorizes collection of a shipment (i.e. the system may then compare this determined information with information listed on the person's identification card. In various embodiments, confirming the identity of the person requesting retrieval of the parcel using this additional information may at least partially prevent an unauthorized person from retrieving a parcel using an identification card of another person) (column 26 line 64 to column 27 line 4; see Figure 5); and
if it (locker device) is determined that the biometric information authorizes collection of a shipment, causing opening of a compartment of a locker installation in which the shipment is stored (i.e. at least partially in response to confirming the identity of the individual, releases the one or more parcels to the individual) (column 31 lines 25 to 38; see Figure 5);
wherein the determining whether the biometric information authorizes collection of a shipment comprises: determining whether authorization indication information is available indicating that the obtained biometric information authorizes collection of a shipment (i.e. the system continues by, at least partially in response to receiving the request, confirming an identity of the individual making the request. In various embodiments, the system is configured to confirm the identity of the individual based, at least in part, on any suitable information such, as, for example, information determined from an identification card associated with the individual or a telephone number provided by the individual. In various embodiments, the system may confirm the individual's identity substantially automatically based on the nature of the request received at Step 510 (e.g., because the request came from a consignee account). These various manners of confirming an individual's identity are discussed in greater detail below) (column 23 lines 23 to 38; column 26 lines 51 to column 27 line 4; column 31 lines 25 to 45; see Figures 4 to 8).
Referring to Claim 8, Robinson et al. disclose the method according to Claim 7, wherein the obtaining of the biometric information comprises:
causing capturing of the at least one biometric feature represented by the biometric information by one or more biometric sensors (i.e. one or more cameras 750) of the locker installation (700) (i.e. the locker bank may comprise one or more cameras configured to determine a height of the person requesting retrieval of the parcel. In various embodiments, the system may be configured to compare the person's determined height to a height determined from their identification card. In still other embodiments, the locker bank may comprise one or more cameras configured to determine an eye color of the person, a hair color of the person, etc.) (column 26 lines 51 to 64; column 34 lines 13 to 18; see Figures 4 to 8).
Referring to Claim 10, Robinson et al. disclose the method according to Claim 7, wherein causing the opening of the compartment (710) comprises: determining, at least partially based on the available authorization indication information, the compartment (710) of the locker installation (700) in which the shipment authorized for collection by the biometric information is stored (i.e. at least partially in response to confirming the identity of the individual, releases the one or more parcels to the individual) (column 20 lines 8 to 33; column 31 lines 25 to 38; see Figures 4 to 8).
Referring to Claim 16, Levy et al. disclose a device configured to perform the method according to claim 7, although different in scope from the claim 7, the claim 16 contain similar limitations in that the claim 7 already addressed above therefore claim 16 is also rejected for the same reasons given with respect to claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al. (Pub. No. 2024/0013139) as applied to claim 1 and in view of Robinson et al. (US# 11,182,733).
Referring to claim 13, Levy et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, however, Levy et al. did not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one biometric feature of the person is a facial feature of the person.
In the same field of endeavor of an access control locker system, Robinson et al. teach that wherein the at least one biometric feature of the person is a facial feature of the person (column 30 lines 20 to 32) in order to identify the individual requesting retrieval of the one or more parcels.
At the time of the effective filing date of the current application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the need for a method of using the facial structure of the individual requesting retrieval of the one or more parcels to facilitate delivery of the parcel taught by Robinson et al. in the controlling access to the storage area for package delivery to the user using the biometric credential to identify the authorized user of Levy et al. because using the facial structure of the individual requesting retrieval of the one or more parcels to facilitate delivery of the parcel would provide an alternative way to verify the authorized user for accepting the package in the storage area.
Referring to claim 18, Levy et al. disclose a system (100) (i.e. a package delivery system 100) (column 2 paragraph 0027; see Figures 1 to 4) comprising:
a user device (112); a device (100) (i.e. a locked area 102 with lockers (109a); a backend server (116) (i.e. a delivery service system);
wherein, the backend server (116) is configured to perform and/or comprises means for performing: providing authorization information (i.e. a bar code), wherein the authorization information authorizes collection of a shipment from a locker installation (102) (i.e. locked area 102) (i.e. based in-part on delivery service recognition logic 208, the barcode information related to the delivery service is analyzed and extracted to identify whether the delivery service is a valid/supported delivery service or part of a list of delivery services from which packages are accepted, not on any list of delivery services (page 11 paragraphs 0093; see Figures 3A-3B). Based in-part on delivery service recognition logic 208, the barcode information related to the delivery service is analyzed and extracted to identify whether the delivery service is a valid/supported delivery service or part of a list of delivery services from which packages are accepted, not on any list of delivery services) (page 10 paragraph 0090 to page 11 paragraphs 0096; see Figures 3A-3B);
obtaining authorization indication information and biometric information (i.e. information received from delivery service 116 is analyzed. The delivery service 116 provides the delivery details so that the system can validate the delivery details associated with the barcode and/or other information associated with the package and/or a label on the package. For example, based on delivery details (e.g., the departure time of the package and/or expected delivery time of the package) a window within which the package should have arrived may be computed) (page 11 paragraph 0098; see Figure 3B),
providing the authorization indication information and the biometric information (i.e. information received from delivery service 116 is analyzed. The delivery service 116 provides the delivery details so that the system can validate the delivery details associated with the barcode and/or other information associated with the package and/or a label on the package. For example, based on delivery details (e.g., the departure time of the package and/or expected delivery time of the package) a window within which the package should have arrived may be computed) (page 11 paragraph 0098; see Figure 3B);
wherein, the user device (112) is configured to perform and/or comprises means for performing: obtaining the authorization information (i.e. a package by a delivery service) from a locker installation (102) (i.e. locked area 102) (i.e. based in-part on delivery service recognition logic 208, the barcode information related to the delivery service is analyzed and extracted to identify whether the delivery service is a valid/supported delivery service or part of a list of delivery services from which packages are accepted, not on any list of delivery services) (page 10 paragraph 0090 to page 11 paragraphs 0096; see Figures 3A-3B),
obtaining the biometric information, wherein the biometric information represents at least one biometric feature of a person (i.e. user device 112 may be a mobile device, such as a mobile phone or tablet computer, which is used by a user for picking up a package. User device 112 may interface with storage management system 106, via which the user may enter a password and/or other credentials (e.g., a fingerprint, retinal scan, digital token, username, and/or PIN) to gain access to locked area 102 to pick up a package delivered) (page 6 paragraph 0046; see Figures 1 and 3B);
determining authorization indication information, at least partially based on the authorization information and the biometric information, wherein the authorization indication information indicates that the biometric information authorizes collection of the shipment from the locker installation (i.e. based on the tracking number, a message is received from the delivery service 116 with details about the delivery. The details may include the time of departure of the package and/or an expected delivery time, date of departure, and/or date of expected arrival. The delivery details may also include one or more of, but are not limited to, delivery address, name of intended recipient, telephone number of intended recipient, delivery address, name of intended sender, telephone number of sender, etc. The details provided to the system maybe the details that the delivery service 116 has that are associated with the tracking number extracted and/or derived from the barcode) (page 11 paragraphs 0097; see Figure 3B and 3D); and
providing the authorization indication information and the biometric information (i.e. information received from delivery service 116 is analyzed. The delivery service 116 provides the delivery details so that the system can validate the delivery details associated with the barcode and/or other information associated with the package and/or a label on the package. For example, based on delivery details (e.g., the departure time of the package and/or expected delivery time of the package) a window within which the package should have arrived may be computed) (page 11 paragraph 0098; see Figure 3B);
Robinson et al. disclose wherein the locker device (i.e. a locked area (110) with lockers 109a) is configured to perform and/or comprises means for performing: obtaining the biometric information (i.e. one or more imaging devices 750 (e.g., one or more cameras), a card reader 760, and a machine-readable indicia scanner 770 (e.g., a barcode scanner). As may be understood from this disclosure and FIGS. 7 and 8, a delivery driver that is delivering or picking up one or more parcels from the locker bank 700 or a consignee (e.g., or other person on behalf of the consignee) desiring to retrieve one or more parcels from the locker bank would first approach the locker bank computer 730) (column 30 lines 20 to 32; column 34 lines 13 to 24; see Figures 5, 7 and 8),
determining whether the biometric information authorizes collection of a shipment (i.e. the system may then compare this determined information with information listed on the person's identification card. In various embodiments, confirming the identity of the person requesting retrieval of the parcel using this additional information may at least partially prevent an unauthorized person from retrieving a parcel using an identification card of another person) (column 26 line 64 to column 27 line 4; see Figure 5); and (i.e. any identifying information (e.g., information collected in the context of Step 520 of the Consignee Parcel Release Module 500 discussed above) that may be used to confirm the identity of the consignee. This identifying information may, for example, include the consignee's: (1) first name and/or middle name; (2) last name and/or suffix (e.g., Jr., Sr., III, IV, etc.); (3) zip code; (4) house number; (5) street name; (6) city of residence; (7) state of residence; (8) driver's license number; (9) date of birth; (10) height; (11) weight; (12) eye color; (13) gender; (14) telephone number; (16) e-mail address; and/or (17) any other suitable identifying information associated with the consignee) (column 32 lines 21 to 37; see Figure 5); and
if it (locker device) is determined that the biometric information authorizes collection of a shipment, causes opening of a compartment of the locker installation in which the shipment is stored (i.e. at least partially in response to confirming the identity of the individual, releases the one or more parcels to the individual) (column 31 lines 25 to 38; see Figure 5).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM V NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685