Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN on 07/12/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202421655551.7 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stump (US5800105A).
Regarding claim 1, Stump discloses a fast-connecting safety tensioning device for automobiles, comprising: a main body (13; Figures 1-5) which consists of a base assembly (27), a handle assembly (37) and a rolling assembly (47, 39); and a band (65); wherein, the base assembly (27) comprises a base (base of 27, 29, 31) having a bottom (base of 27), the rolling assembly (47, 39) comprises a spindle (47) for mounting the band (65), the spindle (47) is mounted on the base (base of 27, 29, 31); the base (base of 27, 29, 31) has one threaded hole (69) on the bottom of the base (base of 27, 29, 31) for one screw (67) to pass through so as to mount the fast-connecting safety tensioning device onto an object (11) to be fixed in place.
Regarding claim 7, Stump discloses wherein a connecting plate (15) having one connecting hole (71) for allowing the one or more screws (67) to pass through is disposed under the bottom of the base (base of 27, 29, 31), so that the main body (13) is mounted onto an object (11) to be fixed in place.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stump in view of Matsuda (CN103771277A).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Stump discloses the above tensioning device, but fails to teach wherein one or more (“two blind” claim 4) rivet nuts each having one threaded hole are integrally formed (“disposed” claim 4) on the bottom of the base.
Matsuda teaches a similar tensioning device and further teaches wherein one or more (“two blind” claim 4) nuts (16a, 16b; page 8, ¶8; Figure 5) each having one threaded hole are integrally formed (“disposed” claim 4) on the bottom of the base (13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tensioning device of Stump to include the nuts as taught by Matsuda and wherein the nuts are riveted in order to provide strong and reliable threads for continuous use and high load. Furthermore, it is known in the art that rivet nuts are joined to thin materials to avoid damage and warping of the material.
Regarding claim 3, Stump discloses the above tensioning device, but fails to teach wherein the number of the threaded holes is two and the two threaded holes are respectively located on opposite sides of the spindle.
Matsuda teaches a similar tensioning device and further teaches wherein the number of the threaded holes (10a, 10b; page 7, ¶8, tapped bores set on two sides, above and below sides; Figure 7, 10a,10b holes are on bottom side of device 1 attached to the trolley 30) is two and the two threaded holes (10a, 10b) are respectively located on opposite sides of the spindle (14; Figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tensioning device of Stump to include the two threaded holes as taught by Matsuda in order to stably secure the main body and prevent rotation of the tensioning device.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stump, in view of Joly (EP2980421A1), and in further view of Matsuda.
Regarding claim 6, Stump discloses the above tensioning device and further teaches wherein the one threaded hole (69) comprise a first threaded hole, but fails to teach a second threaded hole; a first column with the first threaded hole extends downward from the bottom of the base, and a second column with the second threaded hole extends upward from the bottom of the base.
Joly teaches a similar threaded hole and nut and further teaches a first column (15; Figures 5-6) with the first threaded hole (10) extends downward from the bottom of the base (3; base 27 of Stump). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first threaded hole of Stump to include the first threaded hole as taught by Joly in order to provide tolerance spacing adjustment between the base of the device and uneven portions of an object to ensure proper engagement and fixation.
Matsuda teaches a similar tensioning device and further teaches a second threaded hole (10b; page 8, ¶8; Figure 5), and a second column (16b) with the second threaded hole (10b) extends upward from the bottom of the base (13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tensioning device of Stump to include the seconded threaded hole as taught by Matsuda in order to reduce protrusions in areas to allow the base of the device to be flushed with the object.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing the first threaded nut is adjacent to the band and extends downward from the bottom of the base.
Stump teaches the above tensioning device, but fails to teach wherein a first threaded nut with a first threaded hole and a second threaded nut with a second threaded hole are disposed on the bottom of the base; the first threaded nut is adjacent to the band and extends downward from the bottom of the base, the second threaded nut extends upward from the bottom of the base. Matsuda teaches wherein a first threaded nut with a first threaded hole and a second threaded nut with a second threaded hole are disposed on the bottom of the base; the second threaded nut extends upward from the bottom of the base, but fails to teach the first threaded nut is adjacent to the band and extends downward from the bottom of the base.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663