DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on July 27, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the composition cannot be used for a distinct purpose because it is claimed as a “bed bug control composition”. This is not found persuasive because an intended use of a composition does not necessarily mean that the composition cannot be used for a distinct purpose if a prior art composition is structurally the same as the claimed composition. In addition, applicant argues that it would not be burdensome to examine both groups together because the searches would overlap. However, while the searches might overlap to some degree, each group of invention raises distinct examination issues. Thus, these arguments are not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
4. Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
5. Claims 1-16 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-9, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bessette (US 2010/0120724 A) in view of Wilson (US 2016/0309726).
Bessette teaches pesticidal composition where the ingredients can comprise rosemary oil, peppermint oil, clove oil, mineral oil, isopropyl alcohol, isopropyl myristate, and oleic acid. The composition is a liquid that can be used as a spray (which would require placing in a spray bottle). The composition is useful against bed bugs (see paragraphs 16, 115, and the claims). The reference does not teach using ethyl lactate in the composition.
However, Wilson teaches that ethyl lactate is a useful emulsifier to use in pesticidal compositions that contain oils such as peppermint oil. The reference teaches that the ethyl lactate helps the dispersion of the oil in water (see abstract and claims). Thus, given the advantages of ethyl lactate taught by Wilson, an artisan of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that ethyl lactate would be a useful ingredient to add to the composition of Bessette. This reasonable expectation of success would have motivated the artisan to modify Bessette to include the use of ethyl lactate as taught by Wilson.
The references do not specifically teach adding the ingredients together in the amounts claimed by applicant. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Varying the concentration of ingredients within a pesticidal composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed concentration of the ingredients produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameter, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
7. Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bessette (US 2010/0120724 A) in view of Wilson (US 2016/0309726) as applied to claims 1-9, 12, and 13 above, and further in view of Murray (US 2022/0183303).
The teachings of Bessette and Wilson are discussed above. The references do not teach including lauric acid in the composition. However, Murray teaches including lauric acid in pesticidal compositions (see abstract).
These references show that it was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to use the claimed ingredients in pesticidal compositions. It is well known that it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition which is useful for the same purpose. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art.
Based on the disclosure by these references that these substances are used in pesticidal compositions, an artisan of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation that a combination of the substances would also be useful in creating pesticidal compositions. Therefore, the artisan would have been motivated to combine the claimed ingredients into a single composition. No patentable invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients. See MPEP section 2144.06, In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
Double Patenting
8. Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/207,580 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application comprise peppermint oil, clove oil, rosemary oil, mineral oil, isopropyl myristate, oleic acid, isopropyl alcohol, lauric acid, and ethyl lactate in amounts that overlap with those claimed by applicant. Thus, the claims are not considered to be patentably distinct due to their overlapping scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 14-16 are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655