DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
Examiner notes that the IDS submitted on 26 August 2024 and 20 March 2025 lists U.S. Application numbers. It is impractical for the examiner to consider the ongoing prosecution of an application. Examiner’s initials indicates only the abstract, drawings, specification and claims were reviewed. The entire prosecution history of these applications was NOT reviewed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hacohen (US Patent Application 2011/0137410).
Claim 1: Hacohen’410 discloses an apparatus (20) for use with a prosthetic valve that is configured to be deployed within a native atrio-ventricular valve of a heart of a subject (paragraph [0044]), the native atrio-ventricular valve including a valve annulus, valve leaflets, and chords (paragraph [0044]), the apparatus comprising:
a valve frame (36, 38, 24, 46, 48) configured to support the prosthetic valve within the native atrio-ventricular valve, the valve frame comprising:
a frame body comprising:
an atrial part (36, 38) configured to be positioned, when the valve frame is deployed, such that at least a portion of the atrial part is disposed on an atrial side of the native atrio-ventricular valve (paragraph [0049]; and
a ventricular part (24, 46, 48) configured to be positioned, when the valve frame is deployed, such that at least a portion of the ventricular part is disposed within a ventricle of the subject (paragraph [0048], [0050]); and
at least one arm (32) configured to extend from the ventricular part of the frame body (paragraph [0048]), the at least one arm being configured to deploy among the chords of the native atrio-ventricular valve (paragraph [0059], and the at least one arm being configured such that when the at least one arm is deployed among the chords and is rotated, the at least one arm pulls the native atrio-ventricular valve radially inward toward the valve frame and twists the native atrio-ventricular valve around the valve frame (paragraph [0059]; Figure 4), by recruiting and deflecting at least a portion of the chords,
the frame body of the valve frame being configured to trap the native valve leaflets in a partially closed and twisted configuration by radially expanding, to thereby at least partially seal a space between the native atrio-ventricular valve and the prosthetic valve (paragraph [0059], [0060]).
Claim 3: Hacohen’410 discloses a protruding member shaped to protrude from the at least one arm (32), and configured to bar the portion of the chords that are recruited by the at least one arm from exiting the at least one arm (see annotated copy of figure below).
Claim 4: Hacohen’410 discloses the native atrio-ventricular valve includes a mitral valve, and the valve frame is configured to support the prosthetic valve within the native mitral valve (paragraph [0005]
Claim 5: Hacohen’410 discloses the frame body of the valve frame is configured to trap the native valve leaflets in the partially closed and twisted configuration by the atrial part radially expanding against the at least one arm, such as to trap the native valve leaflets between the atrial part and the at least one arm (paragraph [0060]).
Claim 6: Hacohen’410 discloses the atrial part comprises a cylindrical portion that is configured to extend through an annular level of the native atrio-ventricular valve (Figure 2 shows the atrial part 36, 38 is cylindrical), and
wherein the cylindrical portion of the atrial part is configured to radially expand toward the at least one arm, such as to trap the native valve leaflets between the cylindrical portion of atrial part and the at least one arm (Figure 4; paragraph [0060]).
Claim 7: Hacohen’410 discloses the at least one arm (32) is configured to twist the leaflets of the native valve, such that the leaflets of the native valve are shaped into overlapping configurations with respect to each other (the arm is configured to twist the leaflets into an overlapping configuration because the prosthetic valve is disclosed as being rotated during delivery into the native valve), and
the frame body of the valve frame is configured to seal the space between the native atrio-ventricular valve and the prosthetic valve by trapping the leaflets of the native valve in the overlapping configurations with respect to each other (paragraph [0060]).
Claim 8: In the device of Hacohen’410, the at least one arm (32) is configured to seal commissures between the leaflets of the native atrio-ventricular valve by the twisting the leaflets of the native valve into the overlapping configurations with respect to each other (since Hacohen’410’s device is rotating in the ventricular part of the native valve with arms engaging the chordae, as recited in the claims, it would similarly be expected to seal the commissures between the leaflets of the native valve; see MPEP 2112 and 2114).
Claim 9: In Hacohen’410, the device (20) is configured so the at least one arm (32) is configured to deploy among the chords of the native atrio-ventricular valve to a distance sufficient to recruit and deflect at least primary and secondary chords of the native atrio-ventricular valve (Hacohen’410’s device fully expands in the native atrio-ventricular valve; as such, it is configured to engage both the primary and secondary chords because typically these chords do not extend beyond the periphery of the native valve.)
Claim 10: In Hacohen’410, the device (20) is configured so the at least one arm (32) is configured to deploy among the chords of the native atrio-ventricular valve to a distance sufficient to further recruit and deflect tertiary chords of the native atrio-ventricular valve (Hacohen’410’s device fully expands in the native atrio-ventricular valve; as such, it is configured to engage the tertiary chords because typically these chords do not extend beyond the periphery of the native valve.)
Double Patenting
The claims of the patent "anticipate" the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claim. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claims 1-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-8, 10-16, 18, 19, 21-26 of U.S. Patent No. 10,292,816. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are anticipated by the claims of the ‘816 patent, as outlined in the chart below:
Claims of present application 18/814988
Anticipated by claims of 10,292,816
1
1, 16
2
1, 16
3
7, 18
4
8, 19
5
10, 21
6
11, 22
7
12, 23
8
13, 24
9
14, 25
10
15, 26
Claims 1-5, 7, 8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 18, 20, 22, 23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,065,114. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are anticipated by the claims of the ‘114 patent, as outlined in the chart below:
Claims of present application 18/814988
Anticipated by claims of 11,065,114
1
1, 12, 22, 23
2
1, 12, 22, 23
3
6, 16
4
9, 12, 23
5
8, 18
7
20
8
4, 20
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,779,459. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are anticipated by the claims of the ‘459 patent, as outlined in the chart below:
Claims of present application 18/814988
Anticipated by claims of 11,779,459
1
9
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 8, 10-16, 18, 19, 21-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,097,114. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are anticipated by the claims of the ‘114 patent, as outlined in the chart below:
Claims of present application 18/814988
Anticipated by claims of 12,097,114
1
1, 16
2
1, 16
3
7, 18
4
8, 19
5
10, 21
6
11, 22
7
12, 23
8
13, 24
9
14, 25
10
15
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent "anticipate" the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claim. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if a terminal disclaimer were filed to overcome the double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
Lindsey Bachman
/L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3771 19 December 2025
/ELIZABETH HOUSTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771