Double Patenting
3. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,114,293 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of instant application are substantially similar to the corresponding claim 8 of above cited US patent.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,114,293 B2 teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see claim 8, preamble) comprising a processor (see claim 8, limitation 1) and memory (see claim 8, limitation 2) the processor and memory configured to: monitor, in one or more monitoring occasions for control information (see claim 8, limitation 3), wherein the control information is received using a first beam, wherein the first beam is based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see claim 8, limitation 4); and receive, based on the one or more monitoring occasions, downlink control channel spatial information using the first beam (see claim 8, limitation 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov et al. (US Pub. No: 2018/0219605 A1) in view of Davydov_2 et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0364556 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Davydov et al. teach a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Abstract and Fig.7) comprising a processor and memory (see Fig.7, processor & memory and para [0059]), the processor and memory configured to: monitor, in one or more monitoring occasions for control information, wherein the control information is received using a first beam (see Fig.5 and para [0031] wherein an Rx beam being implicitly indicated by the transmission of a set of ePDCCH parameters (e.g., an ePDCCH set) whose values are associated with the Rx beam/first beam, is mentioned and also for each configured ePDCCH set that the UE is supposed to monitor, a corresponding Rx beam index being configured, is mentioned and also see para [0037]) and receive, based on the one or more monitoring occasions, downlink control channel spatial information using the first beam (see Fig.5 and para [0031] wherein an Rx beam being implicitly indicated by the transmission of a set of ePDCCH parameters (e.g., an ePDCCH set) whose values are associated with the Rx beam/first beam, is mentioned and also for each configured ePDCCH set that the UE is supposed to monitor, a corresponding Rx beam index being configured, is mentioned and also see para [0037] wherein the UE being configured to receive, via a higher layer, configuration information for a plurality of receive (Rx) beams for the UE from a cellular base station, is mentioned and also see para [0040]).
Davydov et al. is silent in teaching the above wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising wherein the first beam is based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB).
However, Davydov_2 et al. teach a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Abstract and Fig.2C/UE) comprising wherein the first beam is based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see Fig.2C & para [0036] wherein the each SS block can be assigned to a specific/first beam, is mentioned, also see para [0038] wherein the quasi co-location between the one or more antenna ports of an SS block and the one or more demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) antenna ports of the common control channel/PDCCH being established with respect to spatial parameters at the receiver of UE, is mentioned and also see para [0040] wherein under the QCL assumption, the UE tuning the Rx beam according to the Tx beam of the SS block, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “wherein the first beam is based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) of Davydov et al. to have the first beam being based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) quasi co-located with a synchronization signal block (SSB), disclosed by Davydov_2 et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a user equipment (UE) for efficiently demodulating a synchronization signal (SS) block transmitted by a gNB from a first antenna port, wherein one or more of a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, an average delay, a delay spread, and spatial receiving parameters are derived from the SS block in wireless communication system.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SHI et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0232571 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a wireless device for providing a channel transmission method in wireless communication system.
Davydov et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0058519 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a wireless device for monitoring of Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in a search space configured by gNB, subsequent to a transmission of the beam failure recovery request in wireless communication system.
7. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
6/7/2026