DETAILED ACTION
1. The instant application No. 18815000 has claims 1-19 are pending.
2 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-14 and 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10270708 in view of Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0033243 A1; hereinafter Chen).
Instant Application: 18815000
Patent No. US 10270708 B2
1. An automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, the automated process comprising: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link; recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node; and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
17. An automated process executable by a satellite gateway device that controls access to a satellite communications link and that communicates with a server via, a network that is separate from the satellite communications link, the method comprising: recognizing, by the satellite gateway device, that a first client node communicating on the satellite communications link and a second client node also communicating on the satellite communications link are
2. The automated process of claim 1 further comprising the gateway device allocating the shared timelot for the requested same content to the first and second client nodes via the satellite data link.
10. the first and second client nodes of the allocated shared bandwidth for the requested same content.
3. The automated process of claim 2 further comprising processing subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
11. subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared bandwidth.
4. The automated process of claim 1 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the satellite data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
14. the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared bandwidth comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
6. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
12. the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared bandwidth comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
7. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
15. The gateway device of claim 9 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared bandwidth comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
8. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
16. The gateway device of claim 9 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared bandwidth to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
11. A gateway device that communicates with a server via a wide area network and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the wide area network, the gateway device comprising a processor, a memory, a first interface to communicate with the wide area network and a second interface to communicate via the cellular data link, wherein the processor is configured to: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link; recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node; and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, simultaneously providing the content from the gateway device to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
17. An automated process executable by a satellite gateway device that controls access to a satellite communications link and that communicates with a server via, a network that is separate from the satellite communications link, the method comprising: recognizing, by the satellite gateway device, that a first client node communicating on the satellite communications link and a second client node also communicating on the satellite communications link are content are recognized, the satellite gateway device placing
12. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein the processor is further configured to allocate the shared timeslot on the satellite data link to the first and second nodes, and to notify the first and second client nodes of the allocated shared timeslot for the requested same content.
10. the first and second client nodes of the allocated shared bandwidth for the requested same content.
13. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the processor is further configured to process subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot.
11. subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared bandwidth.
14. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the satellite data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
12. The gateway device of claim 9 wherein an amount of the shared bandwidth is allocated to be greater than an amount of bandwidth allocated to unshared data.
16. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
14. The gateway device of claim 9 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared bandwidth comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
17. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
15. The gateway device of claim 9 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared bandwidth comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
18. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
16. The gateway device of claim 9 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared bandwidth to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
However, Patent fails to disclose an automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
Chen disclose an automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, (20140033243-See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network; See 0045, System 100 may be implemented by one or more of the computing devices shown in FIG. 3 local network device 310 may include a network device at an edge of a content delivery network, a router, a gateway) and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, (20140033243-See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network) the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link. (See 0038, a group of users who share a common interest in a media program and have agreed to a particular timeslot for a multicast streaming event may tend to be associated with user devices that are more homogeneous than receiver devices in other multicasting situations. This may help mitigate the heterogeneity issue; See 0045, System 100 may be implemented by one or more of the computing devices shown in FIG. 3 local network device 310 may include a network device at an edge of a content delivery network, a router, a gateway)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify recognizing two client nodes request for the same data to include using a satellite link to distribute the content to the client nodes. The motivation to combine is a conservation of resources used to stream media content (e.g., resources of a media streaming service provider and/or a network service provider), a reduction in operating costs incurred by a media streaming service provider and/or a network service provider, a quality end-user experience with a media streaming service and/or media content (e.g., by promoting simultaneous experiencing of media content by users and/or interaction between the users related to the experiencing of the media content by the users), efficient multicast delivery of media content to the group of users (e.g., multicast streaming in a manner that takes into account and plans for various resources and/or capabilities of end-user devices), and/or an increase in revenue and/or a customer base of a media streaming service provider (See 0014).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Chen discloses same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast streams. (See 0081, To illustrate, certain users may want to be able to view live streaming video of a local event (e.g., a local sporting event such as a high school basketball or football game). The users may coordinate and submit a request to multicast event management facility 102 for a multicast streaming of video of the game.)
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 10270708 in view of Rodrigues (Pub. No. US 20130024582A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Patent fails to disclose the gateway device is further configured to redirect the first and second client nodes from the first and second media streams to the shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
Rodrigues disclose the gateway device redirecting the first and second client nodes from the first and second media streams to the shared timeslot of the satellite data link. (See 0030, As an example, during operation in a unicast mode (i.e. during unicast streaming of a media content program over wireless network 106), media subsystem 104 may detect that current demand by user devices 102 for unicast streams carrying data representative of a media content program satisfies a predefined maximum demand threshold. In response, media subsystem 104 may switch from operating in unicast mode (i.e., a low concurrent demand mode) to operating in multicast mode (i.e., a high concurrent demand mode) with respect to the media content program.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify sharing a timeslot for transmitting content to include a first stream for the first device and second stream for the second device. The motivation to combine is efficiently utilizing the resources of the wireless network (e.g., the frequency band spectrum of the wireless network) and/or resources of one or more server devices that stream media content over the wireless network.
Claim 9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10270708 in view of Joe et al. (Pub. No. US 2012/0198506 A1; hereinafter joe).
Regarding claim 9, Patent in view Chen fails to disclose the first data link is a connection to a wide area network.
Joe discloses the first data link is a connection to a wide area network. (See 0017, Multicast access network 120 may provide customers with multimedia content provided, for example, by content provider 150. Multicast access network 120 may include a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Patent in view of Chen includes the multicast network is a WAN network. The motivation to combine is Adaptive bit-rate switching concepts may be combined with IP multicast to simultaneously stream multiple qualities (e.g., bit-rate encodings) of the same video content that can be "hot-switched" by a client application residing on a user device (See 0010).
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-14 and 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 11-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10601730 in view of Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0033243 A1; hereinafter Chen).
Instant Application: 18815000
Patent No. 10601730
1. An automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, the automated process comprising: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link; recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node; and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
11. A gateway device that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a second data link that is separate from the first data link, the gateway device comprising a processor, a memory, a first interface to communicate with the first data link and a second interface to communicate via the second data link, wherein the processor is configured to:
2. The automated process of claim 1 further comprising the gateway device allocating the shared timeslot for the requested same content to the first and second client nodes via the satellite data link.
8. wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared bandwidth to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node
3. The automated process of claim 2 further comprising processing subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
13. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the processor is further configured to process subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared bandwidth.
4. The automated process of claim 1 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the satellite data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
14. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein an amount of the shared bandwidth is allocated to be greater than an amount of bandwidth allocated to unshared data.
6. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
16. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared bandwidth comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
7. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
17. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared bandwidth comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
8. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
18. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared bandwidth to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
10. The automated process of claim 1 wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast streams.
20. The gateway device of claim ii wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast streams.
11. A gateway device that communicates with a server via a wide area network and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the wide area network, the gateway device comprising a processor, a memory, a first interface to communicate with the wide area network and a second interface to communicate via the cellular data link, wherein the processor is configured to: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link; recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node; and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, simultaneously providing the content from the gateway device to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
11. A gateway device that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a second data link that is separate from the first data link, the gateway device comprising a processor, a memory, a first interface to communicate with the first data link and a second interface to communicate via the second data link, wherein the processor is configured to: receive, by the gateway device, a first request from a first client node on the second data link to obtain content from the server on the first data link on behalf of the first client node; receive, by the gateway device, a second request from a second client node on the second data link to obtain content from the server on the first data link on behalf of the second client node, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node; recognize
12. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein the processor is further configured to allocate the shared timeslot on the satellite data link to the first and second nodes, and to notify the first and second client nodes of the allocated shared timeslot for the requested same content.
12. The gateway device of claim ii wherein the processor is further configured to allocate shared bandwidth on the second data link to the first and second nodes, and to notify the first and second client nodes of the allocated shared bandwidth for the requested same content.
13. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the processor is further configured to process subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot.
13. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the processor is further configured to process subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared bandwidth.
14. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the satellite data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
14. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein an amount of the shared bandwidth is allocated to be greater than an amount of bandwidth allocated to unshared data.
16. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
16. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared bandwidth comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
17. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
17. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared bandwidth comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
18. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
18. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared bandwidth to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
19. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast stream.
20. The gateway device of claim ii wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast streams.
However, Patent fails to disclose an automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
Chen disclose an automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, (20140033243-See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network; See 0045, System 100 may be implemented by one or more of the computing devices shown in FIG. 3 local network device 310 may include a network device at an edge of a content delivery network, a router, a gateway) and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, (20140033243-See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network) the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link. (See 0038, a group of users who share a common interest in a media program and have agreed to a particular timeslot for a multicast streaming event may tend to be associated with user devices that are more homogeneous than receiver devices in other multicasting situations. This may help mitigate the heterogeneity issue; See 0045, System 100 may be implemented by one or more of the computing devices shown in FIG. 3 local network device 310 may include a network device at an edge of a content delivery network, a router, a gateway)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify recognizing two client nodes request for the same data to include using a satellite link to distribute the content to the client nodes. The motivation to combine is a conservation of resources used to stream media content (e.g., resources of a media streaming service provider and/or a network service provider), a reduction in operating costs incurred by a media streaming service provider and/or a network service provider, a quality end-user experience with a media streaming service and/or media content (e.g., by promoting simultaneous experiencing of media content by users and/or interaction between the users related to the experiencing of the media content by the users), efficient multicast delivery of media content to the group of users (e.g., multicast streaming in a manner that takes into account and plans for various resources and/or capabilities of end-user devices), and/or an increase in revenue and/or a customer base of a media streaming service provider (See 0014).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 10601730 in view of Rodrigues (Pub. No. US 20130024582A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Patent fails to disclose the gateway device is further configured to redirect the first and second client nodes from the first and second media streams to the shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
Rodrigues disclose the gateway device redirecting the first and second client nodes from the first and second media streams to the shared timeslot of the satellite data link. (See 0030, As an example, during operation in a unicast mode (i.e. during unicast streaming of a media content program over wireless network 106), media subsystem 104 may detect that current demand by user devices 102 for unicast streams carrying data representative of a media content program satisfies a predefined maximum demand threshold. In response, media subsystem 104 may switch from operating in unicast mode (i.e., a low concurrent demand mode) to operating in multicast mode (i.e., a high concurrent demand mode) with respect to the media content program.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify sharing a timeslot for transmitting content to include a first stream for the first device and second stream for the second device. The motivation to combine is efficiently utilizing the resources of the wireless network (e.g., the frequency band spectrum of the wireless network) and/or resources of one or more server devices that stream media content over the wireless network.
Claim 9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10601730 in view of Joe et al. (Pub. No. US 2012/0198506 A1; hereinafter joe).
Regarding claim 9, Patent in view Chen fails to disclose the first data link is a connection to a wide area network.
Joe discloses the first data link is a connection to a wide area network. (See 0017, Multicast access network 120 may provide customers with multimedia content provided, for example, by content provider 150. Multicast access network 120 may include a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Patent in view of Chen includes the multicast network is a WAN network. The motivation to combine is Adaptive bit-rate switching concepts may be combined with IP multicast to simultaneously stream multiple qualities (e.g., bit-rate encodings) of the same video content that can be "hot-switched" by a client application residing on a user device (See 0010).
Claims 1-4, 6-14 and 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-14 and 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11201833 in view of Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0033243 A1; hereinafter Chen).
Instant Application: 18815000
Patent No. US 11201833 B2
1. An automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, the automated process comprising: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link; recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node; and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
11. A gateway device that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a second data link that is separate from the first data link,
2. The automated process of claim 1 further comprising the gateway device allocating the shared timelot for the requested same content to the first and second client nodes via the satellite data link.
12. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein the processor is further configured to allocate the shared timeslot on the second data link to the first and second nodes, and to notify the first and second client nodes of the allocated shared timeslot for the requested same content.
3. The automated process of claim 2 further comprising processing subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
13. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the processor is further configured to process subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot.
4. The automated process of claim 1 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the satellite data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
14. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the second data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
6. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
16. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
7. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
17. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
8. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
18. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
9. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the first data link is a connection to a wide area network.
19. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein the first data link is a connection to a wide area network,
10. The automated process of claim 1 wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast streams.
20. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast streams.
11. A gateway device that communicates with a server via a wide area network and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the wide area network, the gateway device comprising a processor, a memory, a first interface to communicate with the wide area network and a second interface to communicate via the cellular data link, wherein the processor is configured to: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link; recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node; and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, simultaneously providing the content from the gateway device to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
11. A gateway device that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a second data link that is separate from the first data link, the gateway device comprising a processor, a memory, a first interface to communicate with the first data link and a second interface to communicate via the second data link, wherein the processor is configured to: receive, by the gateway device, a the server, and provide the obtained same content simultaneously to both the first client node and the second client node via a shared timeslot of the second data link.
12. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein the processor is further configured to allocate the shared timeslot on the satellite data link to the first and second nodes, and to notify the first and second client nodes of the allocated shared timeslot for the requested same content.
12. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein the processor is further configured to allocate the shared timeslot on the second data link to the first and second nodes, and to notify the first and second client nodes of the allocated shared timeslot for the requested same content.
13. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the processor is further configured to process subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot.
13. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the processor is further configured to process subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot.
14. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the satellite data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
14. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the second data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
16. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
16. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
17. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
17. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
18. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
18. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the communication link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
19. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast stream.
20. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast streams.
However, Patent fails to disclose an automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
Chen disclose an automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, (20140033243-See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network; See 0045, System 100 may be implemented by one or more of the computing devices shown in FIG. 3 local network device 310 may include a network device at an edge of a content delivery network, a router, a gateway) and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, (20140033243-See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network) the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link. (See 0038, a group of users who share a common interest in a media program and have agreed to a particular timeslot for a multicast streaming event may tend to be associated with user devices that are more homogeneous than receiver devices in other multicasting situations. This may help mitigate the heterogeneity issue; See 0045, System 100 may be implemented by one or more of the computing devices shown in FIG. 3 local network device 310 may include a network device at an edge of a content delivery network, a router, a gateway)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify recognizing two client nodes request for the same data to include using a satellite link to distribute the content to the client nodes. The motivation to combine is a conservation of resources used to stream media content (e.g., resources of a media streaming service provider and/or a network service provider), a reduction in operating costs incurred by a media streaming service provider and/or a network service provider, a quality end-user experience with a media streaming service and/or media content (e.g., by promoting simultaneous experiencing of media content by users and/or interaction between the users related to the experiencing of the media content by the users), efficient multicast delivery of media content to the group of users (e.g., multicast streaming in a manner that takes into account and plans for various resources and/or capabilities of end-user devices), and/or an increase in revenue and/or a customer base of a media streaming service provider (See 0014).
Claims 1-4, 6-14 and 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12095674 in view of Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0033243 A1; hereinafter Chen).
Instant application
Patent No. US 12095674 B2
1. An automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, the automated process comprising: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link; recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node; and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
1. An automated process executable by a gateway device on a
2. The automated process of claim 1 further comprising the gateway device allocating the shared timelot for the requested same content to the first and second client nodes via the satellite data link.
2. The automated process of claim 1 further comprising the gateway device allocating the shared timeslot for the requested same content to the first and second client nodes via the
3. The automated process of claim 2 further comprising processing subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
3. The automated process of claim 2 further comprising processing subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot of the
4. The automated process of claim 1 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the satellite data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
4. The automated process of claim 1 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the
6. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
5. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
7. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
6. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
8. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
7. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
9. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the first data link is a connection to a wide area network.
8. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the first data link is a connection to a wide area network.
10. The automated process of claim 1 wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast streams.
9. The automated process of claim 1 wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast streams.
11. A gateway device that communicates with a server via a wide area network and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the wide area network, the gateway device comprising a processor, a memory, a first interface to communicate with the wide area network and a second interface to communicate via the cellular data link, wherein the processor is configured to: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link; recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node; and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, simultaneously providing the content from the gateway device to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
10. A gateway device that communicates with a server via a first data link wide area network and with a plurality of client nodes via a memory, a first interface to communicate with the wide area network and a second interface to communicate via the cellular data link, wherein the processor is configured to:
12. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein the processor is further configured to allocate the shared timeslot on the satellite data link to the first and second nodes, and to notify the first and second client nodes of the allocated shared timeslot for the requested same content.
11. The gateway device of claim 10 wherein the processor is further configured to allocate the shared timeslot on the cellular data link to the first and second nodes, and to notify the first and second client nodes of the allocated shared timeslot for the requested same content.
13. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the processor is further configured to process subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot.
12. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein the processor is further configured to process subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot.
14. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the satellite data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
13. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the cellular data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
16. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
14. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
17. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
15. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein the
18. The gateway device of claim 12 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
16. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein the cellular data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
19. The gateway device of claim 11 wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast stream.
17. The gateway device of claim 10 wherein same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast stream.
However, Patent fails to disclose an automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
Chen disclose an automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, (20140033243-See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network; See 0045, System 100 may be implemented by one or more of the computing devices shown in FIG. 3 local network device 310 may include a network device at an edge of a content delivery network, a router, a gateway) and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, (20140033243-See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network) the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link. (See 0038, a group of users who share a common interest in a media program and have agreed to a particular timeslot for a multicast streaming event may tend to be associated with user devices that are more homogeneous than receiver devices in other multicasting situations. This may help mitigate the heterogeneity issue; See 0045, System 100 may be implemented by one or more of the computing devices shown in FIG. 3 local network device 310 may include a network device at an edge of a content delivery network, a router, a gateway)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify recognizing two client nodes request for the same data to include using a satellite link to distribute the content to the client nodes. The motivation to combine is a conservation of resources used to stream media content (e.g., resources of a media streaming service provider and/or a network service provider), a reduction in operating costs incurred by a media streaming service provider and/or a network service provider, a quality end-user experience with a media streaming service and/or media content (e.g., by promoting simultaneous experiencing of media content by users and/or interaction between the users related to the experiencing of the media content by the users), efficient multicast delivery of media content to the group of users (e.g., multicast streaming in a manner that takes into account and plans for various resources and/or capabilities of end-user devices), and/or an increase in revenue and/or a customer base of a media streaming service provider (See 0014).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12095674 B2 in view of Rodrigues (Pub. No. US 20130024582A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Patent fails to disclose the gateway device is further configured to redirect the first and second client nodes from the first and second media streams to the shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
Rodrigues disclose the gateway device redirecting the first and second client nodes from the first and second media streams to the shared timeslot of the satellite data link. (See 0030, As an example, during operation in a unicast mode (i.e. during unicast streaming of a media content program over wireless network 106), media subsystem 104 may detect that current demand by user devices 102 for unicast streams carrying data representative of a media content program satisfies a predefined maximum demand threshold. In response, media subsystem 104 may switch from operating in unicast mode (i.e., a low concurrent demand mode) to operating in multicast mode (i.e., a high concurrent demand mode) with respect to the media content program.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify sharing a timeslot for transmitting content to include a first stream for the first device and second stream for the second device. The motivation to combine is efficiently utilizing the resources of the wireless network (e.g., the frequency band spectrum of the wireless network) and/or resources of one or more server devices that stream media content over the wireless network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 recites the following limitation: “the first data link is a connection to a wide area network.” Nothing in the specification discloses the first data link is connection to a wide area network. The limitation has no support in the original specification.
Claim 11 recites the following limitation: “A gateway device that communicates with a server via a wide area network and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the wide area network” Nothing in the specification discloses the gateway device that communicates with a server via a wide area network. The limitation has no support in the original specification.
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11, recites the following limitation: “A gateway device that communicates with a server via a wide area network and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the wide area network, the gateway device comprising a processor, a memory, a first interface to communicate with the wide area network and a second interface to communicate via the cellular data link” Its unclear if gateway device connects to server via wide area network and with a plurality of client nodes via satellite data link then why does gateway have interface to communicate via the cellular data link. For examining purposes, it is interpreted as the gateway has two interfaces, one for satellite the other for wide area network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0033243 A1; hereinafter Chen) in view of Rodrigues (Pub. No. US 20130024582A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen disclose an automated process executable by a gateway device on a satellite data network that communicates with a server via a first data link and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the first data link, (20140033243-See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network; See 0045, System 100 may be implemented by one or more of the computing devices shown in FIG. 3 local network device 310 may include a network device at an edge of a content delivery network, a router, a gateway) and when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, (20140033243-See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network) the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link. (See 0038, a group of users who share a common interest in a media program and have agreed to a particular timeslot for a multicast streaming event may tend to be associated with user devices that are more homogeneous than receiver devices in other multicasting situations. This may help mitigate the heterogeneity issue; See 0045, System 100 may be implemented by one or more of the computing devices shown in FIG. 3 local network device 310 may include a network device at an edge of a content delivery network, a router, a gateway)
However, Chen fails to disclose the automated process comprising: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link; recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node;
Rodrigues disclose the automated process comprising: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link;(See 0019, wireless network has network devices including gateways; Fig. 7, See 0071, media subsystem 104 may transmit a single multicast stream 702 carrying the media content program over wireless network 106, and user devices 102-1 through 102-N may access the multicast stream 702 to continue to access the media content program; see Fig. 6 above, paragraph 70, teaches that the Media Content Provider Subsystem 104 recognizes that with the transmission of N number of unicast streams 502, the concurrent demand for the media content program meets a predefined threshold, i.e., the nodes are each requesting the same content via unicast streams from the content source in the media subsystem 104)) recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node; (As described in paragraphs 71-72, in response to detecting the number of unicast streamed concurrent demand reaching a threshold, dynamically switching delivery of the media content program to multicast delivery of the media content program via single multicast stream 702 carrying the media content program over wireless network 106; note: multicast streaming (i.e. broadcast streaming) the media content program via single stream 702 to user devices 102-1…102N corresponds to allocating shared bandwidth for same media content, which is accessible to both the first node and the second node, as further taught by paragraphs 25, 30).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify sharing a timeslot for transmitting content to include a first stream for the first device and second stream for the second device. The motivation to combine is efficiently utilizing the resources of the wireless network (e.g., the frequency band spectrum of the wireless network) and/or resources of one or more server devices that stream media content over the wireless network.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Chen discloses the gateway device allocating the shared timelot for the requested same content to the first and second client nodes via the satellite data link. (See 0029, multicast event management facility 102 may be configured to determine whether a minimum participation level for an event is satisfied (e.g., whether a group of users who have requested or agreed to participate in the event satisfies the minimum participation level); See 0035, For example, multicast event management facility 102 may obtain such information well before the start of a timeslot during which the event is scheduled to be executed.)
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Chen fails to disclose processing subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
Rodrigues discloses processing subsequent requests for the same content from the first and second client nodes by the gateway device using the shared timeslot of the satellite data link. (RODRIGUES, paragraph 58, teaches the nodes (i.e. user devices) are configured to communicate with the media subsystem in response to detection of switch instructions to request and receive instructions for buffering the content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify sharing a timeslot for transmitting content to include a first stream for the first device and second stream for the second device. The motivation to combine is efficiently utilizing the resources of the wireless network (e.g., the frequency band spectrum of the wireless network) and/or resources of one or more server devices that stream media content over the wireless network.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Chen fails to disclose an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the satellite data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data.
Rodrigues disclose an amount of the shared timeslot is allocated more bandwidth on the satellite data link than timeslots that are allocated to unshared data. (Fi. 4m As described in paragraphs 68-69, 72, in order to conserve resources of the system, media subsystem transitions from delivering media content via a number of unicast streams (see t0-t1 above) to a multicast delivery mode (406) (see t1-t2), which corresponds to an amount of shared bandwidth (i.e. multicast streaming/broadcast streaming) allocated to be “greater” than an amount of bandwidth allocated to unshared data (i.e. unicast streaming)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify sharing a timeslot for transmitting content to include a first stream for the first device and second stream for the second device. The motivation to combine is efficiently utilizing the resources of the wireless network (e.g., the frequency band spectrum of the wireless network) and/or resources of one or more server devices that stream media content over the wireless network.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Chen fails to disclose the gateway device redirecting the first and second client nodes from the first and second media streams to the shared timeslot of the satellite data link.
Rodrigues disclose the gateway device redirecting the first and second client nodes from the first and second media streams to the shared timeslot of the satellite data link. (See 0030, As an example, during operation in a unicast mode (i.e. during unicast streaming of a media content program over wireless network 106), media subsystem 104 may detect that current demand by user devices 102 for unicast streams carrying data representative of a media content program satisfies a predefined maximum demand threshold. In response, media subsystem 104 may switch from operating in unicast mode (i.e., a low concurrent demand mode) to operating in multicast mode (i.e., a high concurrent demand mode) with respect to the media content program.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify sharing a timeslot for transmitting content to include a first stream for the first device and second stream for the second device. The motivation to combine is efficiently utilizing the resources of the wireless network (e.g., the frequency band spectrum of the wireless network) and/or resources of one or more server devices that stream media content over the wireless network.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Chen discloses same content requested by the first node and the second node comprises the same segments of a live television broadcast streams. (See 0081, To illustrate, certain users may want to be able to view live streaming video of a local event (e.g., a local sporting event such as a high school basketball or football game). The users may coordinate and submit a request to multicast event management facility 102 for a multicast streaming of video of the game.)
Regarding claim 11, Chen disclose a gateway device that communicates with a server via a wide area network and with a plurality of client nodes via a satellite data link that is separate from the wide area network, (See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network, a terrestrial media broadcasting network, a wide area network, the Internet, and/or any other network(s) capable of transporting media content between computing devices) the gateway device comprising a processor, a memory, a first interface to communicate with the wide area network (See 0050, one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; the networks can include the satellite network and wide area network); See 0126, computing device 1200 may include a communication interface 1202, a processor 1204, a storage device 1206, and an input/output ("I/O") module 1208 communicatively connected via a communication infrastructure 1210.) and a second interface to communicate via the cellular data link, (See 0050, one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; the networks can include the satellite network and wide area network; interpreted that the a network device can be connected with satellite network through one interface and a wide area network through a second interface) wherein the processor is configured to: when the same content is recognized on the first and the second media streams, (20140033243-See 0050, user devices 306 may communicate with streaming server 304 by way of a network, which may include one or more networks provided by one or more appropriately configured network devices (and communication links thereto) and over which media content may be transported between computing devices such as from streaming server 304 to one or more user devices 306; a satellite media broadcasting network) the gateway device simultaneously providing the content to the first and the second nodes via a shared timeslot of the satellite data link. (See 0038, a group of users who share a common interest in a media program and have agreed to a particular timeslot for a multicast streaming event may tend to be associated with user devices that are more homogeneous than receiver devices in other multicasting situations. This may help mitigate the heterogeneity issue; See 0045, System 100 may be implemented by one or more of the computing devices shown in FIG. 3 local network device 310 may include a network device at an edge of a content delivery network, a router, a gateway)
However, Chen fails to disclose the automated process comprising: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link; recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node;
Rodrigues disclose the automated process comprising: recognizing, by the gateway device, a first media stream of media content established between a first client node and the server via the satellite data link;(See 0019, wireless network has network devices including gateways; Fig. 7, See 0071, media subsystem 104 may transmit a single multicast stream 702 carrying the media content program over wireless network 106, and user devices 102-1 through 102-N may access the multicast stream 702 to continue to access the media content program; see Fig. 6 above, paragraph 70, teaches that the Media Content Provider Subsystem 104 recognizes that with the transmission of N number of unicast streams 502, the concurrent demand for the media content program meets a predefined threshold, i.e., the nodes are each requesting the same content via unicast streams from the content source in the media subsystem 104)) recognizing, by the gateway device, a second media stream of the same content established between a second client node and the server via the satellite data link, wherein the second client node is different from the first client node; (As described in paragraphs 71-72, in response to detecting the number of unicast streamed concurrent demand reaching a threshold, dynamically switching delivery of the media content program to multicast delivery of the media content program via single multicast stream 702 carrying the media content program over wireless network 106; note: multicast streaming (i.e. broadcast streaming) the media content program via single stream 702 to user devices 102-1…102N corresponds to allocating shared bandwidth for same media content, which is accessible to both the first node and the second node, as further taught by paragraphs 25, 30).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify sharing a timeslot for transmitting content to include a first stream for the first device and second stream for the second device. The motivation to combine is efficiently utilizing the resources of the wireless network (e.g., the frequency band spectrum of the wireless network) and/or resources of one or more server devices that stream media content over the wireless network.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Rodrigues and, further in view of Lo et al. (US20130111520A1), hereinafter LO.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Chen in view of Rodrigues fails to disclose the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data.
Lo disclose the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, (LO, paragraph 41 teaches a time multiplexed link (e.g. a downlink) having a plurality of timeslots) and wherein the shared timeslot comprises at least one timeslot on the time multiplexed link having greater bandwidth than the timeslots allocated to unshared data. (LO, Fig. 4, paragraph 57, teaches subframes allocated for unicast or eMBMS, wherein the subframes for eMBMS having at least one timeslot with greater bandwidth, and for performing the functions as described in Fig. 12A, wherein block 1230 teaches providing broadcast service to a group of user equipment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Roderigues to configure broadcast as time multiplexed the various data streams intended for the various user equipment as including timeslots having greater bandwidth than timeslots allocated for the unicast data. The motivation would be to provide via a demand-based broadcast service, targeted content at a given resolution and a given data delivery rate (LO, paragraph 11).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Chen in view of Rodrigues fails to disclose the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link, and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node.
Lo discloses the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link, (LO, paragraph 41 teaches a time multiplexed link (e.g. a downlink) having a plurality of timeslots) and wherein the shared timeslot comprises a plurality of timeslots accessible to both the first client node and the second client node. (LO, Fig. 4, paragraph 57, teaches subframes allocated for unicast or eMBMS, wherein the subframes for eMBMS having at least one timeslot with greater bandwidth, and for performing the functions as described in Fig. 12A, paragraphs 108-110, block 1230, teaching providing broadcast service to a group of user equipment requesting content)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Roderigues to configure broadcast as time multiplexed the various data streams intended for the various user equipment as including timeslots having greater bandwidth than timeslots allocated for the unicast data. The motivation would be to provide via a demand-based broadcast service, targeted content at a given resolution and a given data delivery rate (LO, paragraph 11).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Chen in view of Rodrigues fails to disclose the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes.
Lo discloses the satellite data link is a time multiplexed link having a plurality of timeslots, (LO, paragraph 41 teaches a time multiplexed link (e.g. a downlink) having a plurality of timeslots) and wherein one of the timeslots represents the shared timeslot to provide the requested content to both the first client node and the second client node (LO, Fig. 4, paragraph 57, teaches subframes allocated for unicast or eMBMS, wherein the subframes for eMBMS having at least one timeslot with greater bandwidth, and for performing the functions as described in Fig. 12A, paragraphs 108-110, block 1230, teaching providing broadcast service to a group of user equipment requesting content) and wherein another of the timeslots provides subsequent content that follows the requested content to both the first and second client nodes. (LO, paragraphs 41, 57, teaching specified timeslots for broadcasting the requested content to the user equipment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Chen in view of Roderigues to configure broadcast as time multiplexed the various data streams intended for the various user equipment as including timeslots having greater bandwidth than timeslots allocated for the unicast data. The motivation would be to provide via a demand-based broadcast service, targeted content at a given resolution and a given data delivery rate (LO, paragraph 11).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Rodrigues and, further in view of Joe et al. (Pub. No. US 2012/0198506 A1; hereinafter joe).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Rodrigues fails to disclose the first data link is a connection to a wide area network.
Joe discloses the first data link is a connection to a wide area network. (See 0017, Multicast access network 120 may provide customers with multimedia content provided, for example, by content provider 150. Multicast access network 120 may include a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Chen in view of Rodrigues includes the multicast network is a WAN network. The motivation to combine is Adaptive bit-rate switching concepts may be combined with IP multicast to simultaneously stream multiple qualities (e.g., bit-rate encodings) of the same video content that can be "hot-switched" by a client application residing on a user device (See 0010).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huber et al. (Pub. No. US 2005/0137958 A1)-See 0008, auctioning advertising time slots in a TV broadcast comprising: selecting a predetermined number of advertising time slots in the TV broadcast for auctioning; providing a description of the predetermined advertising time slots to interested advertisers; auctioning the selected advertising time slots to the interested advertisers in an auction; generating a TV advertisement for the selected advertising time slot for a TV advertiser that wins the auction; and transmitting the TV advertisement in the selected advertising time slot.
Ravishankar et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0315125 A1)-See 0039, This capability is illustrated in FIG. 2. As seen, the system 100 enables handover procedures between terrestrial base-station and the SBSS 107 to be executed via a core network 101 with standard procedures defined in terrestrial systems. In this example, the UT 111 has the capability to communicate over a satellite link or directly communicate with a terrestrial radio access network (RAN) 113 to the wireless core network (CN) 101. The RAN 113 comprises a radio network controller (RNC) 125, which is responsible for the radio resource management functions and certain mobility management functions of the network. By way of example, the data network 103 is configured as an IP/IMS (IP Multimedia Subsystem) with multiple application servers 115 supplying multimedia content. The data network 103 couples to the PSTN 105 via a media gateway 117; the PSTN 105 can serve one or more voice terminals 119.
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472