DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US publication 2020/0310577 A1), hereinafter referred to as Jeon577.
Regarding claim 1, Jeon577 teaches a display module (fig. 7 and related text), comprising: a display panel including a front portion (A, examiner markup below), a bent portion (B, examiner markup below), and a pad portion (C, examiner markup below); and a cushion plate (91/93/95/97, [0125-0130]) disposed between the front portion and the pad portion of the display panel (fig. 7), wherein the cushion plate includes: a first cushion portion (93); a second cushion portion (91); and a heat-dissipation layer ([0130]) disposed under the first cushion portion and the second cushion portion (fig. 7), wherein the second cushion portion has a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first cushion portion (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon577 teaches a display module (fig. 7 and related text), comprising: a display panel including a front portion (A, examiner markup below), a bent portion (B, examiner markup below), and a pad portion (C, examiner markup below); and a cushion plate (91/93/95/97, [0125-0131]) disposed between the front portion and the pad portion of the display panel (fig. 7), wherein the cushion plate includes: a first cushion portion (93); a second cushion portion (95 or 97); and a heat-dissipation layer (91, can function as a heat-dissipation layer) disposed under the first cushion portion and the second cushion portion (fig. 7), wherein the second cushion portion has a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first cushion portion (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Jeon577 teaches wherein the pad portion extends from the bent portion and is positioned below a bottom surface of the front portion (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Jeon577 teaches wherein the cushion plate further includes: an embossed layer (97), wherein the first cushion portion and the second cushion portion are disposed under the embossed layer, and wherein the first cushion portion includes a first cushion layer, and the second cushion portion includes a second cushion layer and a support layer ([0125-0131]).
Regarding claim 4, Jeon577 teaches wherein the first cushion portion and the second cushion portion are on a same plane with the embossed layer (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon577 teaches wherein the second cushion portion (97) is spaced apart from the first cushion portion (93) with the second cushion portion positioned closer to the bent portion than the first cushion portion (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon577 teaches wherein the second cushion portion (91 or 97) includes a support layer, and wherein the support layer is a multi-layer stack ([0125-0131]).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon577 teaches wherein the multi-layer stack of the support layer includes a first adhesive layer, a body layer, and a second adhesive layer ([0125-0131]).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon577 teaches wherein the heat-dissipation layer includes a step between the first cushion portion and the second cushion portion (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon577 teaches a display module (fig. 7 and related text), comprising: a display panel including a first portion (A, examiner markup below), a second portion (B, examiner markup below), and a third portion (C, examiner markup below), wherein the third portion extends from the second portion and is positioned below a bottom surface of the first portion (fig. 7); and a cushion plate (91/93/95/97, [0125-0130]) disposed between the first portion and the third portion of the display panel, wherein the cushion plate includes: a first cushion layer (91 or 93); a second cushion layer (93 or 91); and a heat-dissipation layer ([0130]) disposed under the first cushion layer and the second cushion layer (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon577 teaches a display module (fig. 7 and related text), comprising: a display panel including a first portion (A, examiner markup below), a second portion (B, examiner markup below), and a third portion (C, examiner markup below), wherein the third portion extends from the second portion and is positioned below a bottom surface of the first portion (fig. 7); and a cushion plate (91/93/95/97, [0125-0130]) disposed between the first portion and the third portion of the display panel, wherein the cushion plate includes: a first cushion layer (93); a second cushion layer (95 or 97); and a heat-dissipation layer (91, can function as a heat-dissipation layer) disposed under the first cushion layer and the second cushion layer (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon577 teaches wherein the second cushion layer has a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first cushion layer (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Jeon577 teaches wherein the first portion is a front portion, the second portion is a bent portion, and the third portion is a pad portion (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Jeon577 teaches wherein the cushion plate further includes a support layer associated with the second cushion layer ([0125-0131]).
Regarding claim 13, Jeon577 teaches wherein the support layer is a multi-layer stack ([0125-0131]).
Regarding claim 14, Jeon577 teaches wherein the heat-dissipation layer includes a step between the first cushion layer and the second cushion layer (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 15, Jeon577 teaches wherein the cushion plate further includes an embossed layer (95), and wherein a top surface and a bottom surface of the first cushion layer (93) are in contact with the embossed layer and the heat-dissipation layer, respectively (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 16, Jeon577 teaches a display device (fig. 7 and related text), comprising: a frame (BRK, [0124]); a display module disposed on the frame ([0123-0125]); and a cover disposed (10, [0124]) on the display module, wherein the display module includes: a display panel including a first portion (A, examiner markup below), a second portion (B, examiner markup below), and a third portion (C, examiner markup below); a cushion plate (91/93/95/97, [0125-0130]) disposed between the first portion and the third portion of the display panel, wherein the cushion plate includes: a first cushion portion (91 or 93); a second cushion portion (93 or 91); and a heat-dissipation layer ([0130]), wherein at least one characteristic of the first cushion portion is different from at least one characteristic (thickness) of the second cushion portion (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 16, Jeon577 teaches a display device (fig. 7 and related text), comprising: a frame (BRK, [0124]); a display module disposed on the frame ([0123-0125]); and a cover disposed (10, [0124]) on the display module, wherein the display module includes: a display panel including a first portion (A, examiner markup below), a second portion (B, examiner markup below), and a third portion (C, examiner markup below); a cushion plate (91/93/95/97, [0125-0130]) disposed between the first portion and the third portion of the display panel, wherein the cushion plate includes: a first cushion portion (91 or 93); a second cushion portion (93 or 91); and a heat-dissipation layer ([0130]), wherein at least one characteristic of the first cushion portion is different from at least one characteristic (thickness) of the second cushion portion (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 17, Jeon577 teaches wherein the at least one characteristic of the first cushion portion is a thickness of the first cushion portion, wherein the at least one characteristic of the second cushion portion is a thickness of the second cushion portion, and wherein the thickness of the first cushion portion is different from the thickness of the second cushion portion (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 18, Jeon577 teaches wherein the third portion extends from the second portion and is positioned below a bottom surface of the first portion (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Jeon577 teaches wherein the second cushion portion is spaced apart from the first cushion portion with the second cushion portion positioned closer to the second portion than the first cushion portion (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20, Jeon577 teaches wherein the first portion is a front portion, the second portion is a bent portion, and the third portion is a pad portion (fig. 7).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,167,632 B2.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claim 1-20 of the instant application is encompassed by the subject matter of the Claim 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,167,632 and is obvious.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897