DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant's amendment filed on September 30, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 12, 16 and 17 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2026/0107344 A1) in view of Xue et al. (US 2023/0120774 A1).
4. Regarding claims 1 and 11, Zhou teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system (Fig. 15), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a base station, capability information including a capability to support an energy saving mode of the base station, the energy saving mode of the base station being based on cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) (Fig. 35 Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] first and second power states; cell DTX);
receiving, from the base station, information associated with a measurement for the energy saving mode of the base station (Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] PDCCH occasions);
identifying that the base station operates according to the energy saving mode; and receiving, from the base station, a reference signal for measurement based on the
information (Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] PDCCH occasions).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose measuring the reference signal during an evaluation time period, wherein a length of the evaluation time period increases as a cell DTX cycle of the cell DTX increases.
Xue teaches measuring the reference signal during an evaluation time period, wherein a length of the evaluation time period increases as a cell DTX cycle of the cell DTX increases (Paragraph [0107] sensing window length increased with each DTX).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide measuring the reference signal during an evaluation time period, wherein a length of the evaluation time period increases as a cell DTX cycle of the cell DTX increases as taught by Xue in the system of Zhou for relaxed sensing see Paragraph [0107] of Xue.
5. Regarding claims 6 and 16, Zhou teaches a base station (Fig. 15) and a method performed by a base station operating according to an energy saving mode in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), capability information including a capability to
support the energy saving mode of the base station, the energy saving mode of the base station being based on cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) (Fig. 35 Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] first and second power states; cell DTX);
transmitting, to the UE, information associated with a measurement for the energy saving mode of the base station (Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] PDCCH occasions); and
transmitting, to the UE, a reference signal for measurement according to the information (Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] PDCCH occasions).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein a length of an evaluation time period, during which the UE measures the reference signal, increases as a cell DTX cycle of the cell DTX increases.
Xue teaches wherein a length of an evaluation time period, during which the UE measures the reference signal, increases as a cell DTX cycle of the cell DTX increases (Paragraph [0107] sensing window length increased with each DTX).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a length of an evaluation time period, during which the UE measures the reference signal, increases as a cell DTX cycle of the cell DTX increases as taught by Xue in the system of Zhou for relaxed sensing see Paragraph [0107] of Xue.
6. Regarding claims 2, 7, 12, and 17, Zhou in view of Xue teaches wherein the information includes a cell DTX cycle and a gap between the cell DTX cycle and a start of a periodicity of the reference signal, and wherein the reference signal is received in an active time of the cell DTX defined based on the cell DTX cycle and the gap between the cell DTX cycle and the start of the periodicity of the reference signal (Zhou, Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] time window; gap; periodicity).
7. Regarding claims 3, 8, 13, and 18, Zhou in view of Xue teaches wherein the cell DTX cycle is a multiple of the periodicity of the reference signal (Zhou, Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] multiple of the periodicity).
8. Regarding claims 4, 9, 14, and 19, Zhou in view of Xue teaches wherein the information includes a first periodicity for the energy saving mode, and wherein the reference signal is received based on the first periodicity for the energy saving mode (Zhou, Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] PDCCH occasions; cell DTX).
9. Regarding claims 5, 10, 15, and 20, Zhou in view of Xue teaches
wherein the first periodicity for the energy saving mode is larger than a second periodicity for a normal mode (Zhou, Paragraph [0330] periodicity of DRX cycle; first time duration and second time duration).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466