DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/815,039 filed on 08/26/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 2026/0107344 A1).
1. Regarding claims 1 and 11, Zhou teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system (Fig. 15), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a base station, capability information including a capability to support an
energy saving mode of the base station, the energy saving mode of the base station being based on cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) (Fig. 35 Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] first and second power states; cell DTX);
receiving, from the base station, information associated with a measurement for the energy saving mode of the base station (Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] PDCCH occasions);
identifying that the base station operates according to the energy saving mode; and
receiving, from the base station, a reference signal for measurement based on the
information (Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] PDCCH occasions).
6. Regarding claims 6 and 16, Zhou teaches a base station (Fig. 15) and a method performed by a base station operating according to an energy saving mode in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), capability information including a capability to
support the energy saving mode of the base station, the energy saving mode of the base station being based on cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) (Fig. 35 Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] first and second power states; cell DTX);
transmitting, to the UE, information associated with a measurement for the energy saving mode of the base station (Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] PDCCH occasions); and
transmitting, to the UE, a reference signal for measurement according to the information (Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] PDCCH occasions).
2. Regarding claims 2, 7, 12, and 17, Zhou teaches wherein the information includes a cell DTX cycle and a gap between the cell DTX cycle and a start of a periodicity of the reference signal, and wherein the reference signal is received in an active time of the cell DTX defined based on the cell DTX cycle and the gap between the cell DTX cycle (Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] time window; gap).
3. Regarding claims 3, 8, 13, and 18, Zhou teaches wherein the cell DTX cycle is a multiple of the periodicity of the reference signal (Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] multiple of the periodicity).
4. Regarding claims 4, 9, 14, and 19, Zhou teaches wherein the information includes a first periodicity for the energy saving mode, and wherein the reference signal is received based on the first periodicity for the energy saving mode (Fig. 35, Paragraphs [0329], [0330] and [0344] to [0346] PDCCH occasions; cell DTX).
5. Regarding claims 5, 10, 15, and 20, Zhou teaches
wherein the first periodicity for the energy saving mode is larger than a second periodicity for a normal mode (Paragraph [0330] periodicity of DRX cycle; first time duration and second time duration).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Zhou et al. (US 2025/0081103 A1)
Islam et al. (US 2026/0019940 A1) Paragraphs [0113] and [0114]
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466