DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on February 19, 2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Korean Patent Application No. 10-2024-0023588 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities line 4 recites “a first side coupled with the a side of the first gripper” A correction to this grammatical mistake can be “a first side coupled with a side of the first gripper”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 18, lines 1-2 recite “the first adjuster has a second side coupled with a second side of the third arm” and line 4 “the second adjuster has a second side coupled with a third side of the third arm”; it is unclear how the fist adjuster is coupled to a second side of the third arm and the second adjuster is coupled with a third side of the arm with both sides being separate from the first side of the third arm that the robotic tool is coupled to. Claim 17 which claim 18 is dependent on recites lines 1-3 “the first gripper is coupled with a first side of the first adjuster, wherein the second gripper is coupled with a first side of a second adjuster”, claim 16 which claim 17 is dependent on, lines 1-6 mention the robot tool comprises a first gripper, second gripper, and third gripper, and claim 15 which claim 16 is dependent on, line 6 “a third arm having a first side coupled with the robot tool”. The robotic tool, which includes the first and second gripper, is coupled to a first side of the robotic arm but the first and second adjuster, which the first and second gripper are coupled to respectively, are coupled to a second and third side of the robotic arm. The applicant’s drawings, figures 16 and 17 show the first and second adjuster coupled to two sides of the third robotic arm with both those sides being the same sides the robot tool is coupled to. For examination purposes in claim 18 the “second side” in line 2 will be read as a first side and the “third side” in line 4 will be read as a second side.
Regarding Claim 19, line recites “a multi-axis connector disposed between a fourth side of the third arm and second side of the first adjuster”; it is unclear how the “fourth side” of the third arm is separate from the “second side” of the third arm in line 2 of claim 18 which claim 19 is dependent on. Figures 16 and 17 of the applicant’s drawings show the multi-axis connector and first adjuster coupled to the third robotic arm on the same side. For examination purposes the “fourth side of the third arm” will be considered the same side of the arm the adapter is connected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata et al. (JP7132160B2) in view of Xiong et al. (CN115041992A).
Regarding Claim 1, Kawabata et al. discloses a robot operation system for work in environments that are difficult for humans to enter such as radiation environments comprising:
one or more manipulators, each of the one or more manipulators comprising an arm and a robot tool coupled with a first side of the arm (Figure 1: arms 32 and robot tools 35, R, S);
a support frame disposed in a lower portion of the one or more manipulators and configured to support the one or more manipulators (Figure 1: frame 31);
wherein each of the one or more manipulators is configured to replace the first filter disposed on the operating station with the second filter loaded on the loader (the hand 35 is capable of gripping various work tools making it suitable for gripping the ball of an operating station or a cylindrical filter and the socket S at the end of the impact wrench R is capable of tightening and loosening a nut, summary of invention paragraph 6).
Kawabata et al. does not disclose a loader coupled with the support frame and configured to load the first filter and a second filter thereon;
and a mover disposed in a lower portion of the support frame and configured to move the support frame.
Xiong et al. discloses a mechanical arm capable of quickly replacing end effector tools that uses a loader (Figure 1: 3) for the purpose of storing various tools and components (Detailed ways paragraph 2) and a mover disposed in a lower portion of a support frame (Summary of invention paragraph 2) for the purpose of moving the machine to specific positions (Summary of invention paragraph 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Kawabata et al. by including the loader and mover disclosed by Xiong et al. for the purpose of storing various tools and components and moving the device to specific positions.
Regarding Claim 2, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses a gripper configured to grip a ball of the operating station (Figure 1: the hand 35 is capable of gripping various work tools making it suitable for gripping a ball of an operating station or a cylindrical filter summary of invention paragraph 6), a nut of the operating station (the socket S at the end of the impact wrench R is capable of tightening and loosening a nut, summary of invention paragraph 6), and at least one of the first filter or the second filter (Figure 1: 35);
and an adjuster having a first side coupled with the gripper and a second side coupled with the arm, and configured to adjust the gripper (Figure 1 shows both arms 32 have multiple joints that can adjust the hand 35, summary of invention paragraph 15),
wherein the ball of the operating station is coupled with a head disposed on an operating table of the operating station (the operating station and operating table are not part of the claimed slurry replacement robot),
and wherein the nut of the operating station is disposed between the ball and the head and is configured to couple the ball to the head (the nut, ball, and head are not part of the claimed slurry replacement robot).
Regarding Claim 3, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 2. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses the gripper comprises: a first gripper configured to grip the ball (Figure 1: hand 35 that is not holding work tool T);
a second gripper configured to grip the nut (Figure 1: tool T);
and a third gripper configured to grip the at least one of the first filter or the second filter (Figure 1: hand 35 that is holding tool work tool T).
Regarding Claim 4, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 3. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses the adjuster comprises: a first adjuster configured to adjust the first gripper (Figure 1: both arms include multiple joints for adjusting the hand 35, summary of invention paragraph, 15);
and a second adjuster configured to adjust the second gripper and the third gripper (summary of invention paragraph, 15).
Regarding Claim 7, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 4. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses each of the one or more manipulators further comprise: a first adaptation sensor disposed on a side of the first adjuster (summary of invention paragraphs 17 and 18, each of the joints in both arms have adaptation sensors);
and a second adaptation sensor disposed on a side of the second adjuster (summary of invention paragraphs 17 and 18, each of the joints in both arms have adaptation sensors).
Regarding Claim 8, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses each of the one or more manipulators further comprise: a robot vision disposed on a second side of the arm (summary of invention paragraph 7 and 23).
Regarding Claim 9, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses the arm has a multi-joint arm form (summary of invention paragraph 14).
Regarding Claim 10, Kawabata et al. discloses a robot operation system for work in environments that are difficult for humans to enter such as radiation environments comprising:
a first manipulator comprising a first arm and a first robot tool coupled with a side of the first arm (Figure 1: first manipulator has robotic arm 32 not holding work tool T and hand 35 is the first robot tool);
a second manipulator comprising a second arm and a second robot tool coupled with a side of the second arm (Figure 1: second manipulator is robotic arm 32 holding work tool T and the hand 35, wrench R, and socket S are all tools);
wherein the second manipulator is configured to replace the first filter disposed on the operating station with the second filter loaded on the loader (Figure 1: the hand 35 is capable of gripping various work tools making it suitable for gripping a ball of an operating station or a cylindrical filter and the socket S at the end of the impact wrench R is capable of tightening and loosening a nut, summary of invention paragraph 6).
Kawabata et al. does not disclose a loader coupled with the support frame and configured to load the first filter and a second filter thereon;
and a mover disposed in a lower portion of the support frame and configured to move the support frame.
Xiong et al. discloses a mechanical arm capable of quickly replacing end effector tools that uses a loader (Figure 1: 3) for the purpose of storing various tools and components (Detailed ways paragraph 2) and a mover disposed in a lower portion of a support frame (Summary of invention paragraph 2) for the purpose of moving the machine to specific positions (Summary of invention paragraph 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Kawabata et al. by including the loader and mover disclosed by Xiong et al. for the purpose of storing various tools and components and moving the device to specific positions.
Regarding Claim 11, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses the first manipulator comprises: a first gripper configured to grip a ball of the operating station (Figure 1: the hand 35 is capable of gripping various work tools making it suitable for gripping a ball of an operating station or a cylindrical filter summary of invention paragraph 6);
and a first adjuster (Figure 1 shows both arms have multiple joints that can adjust the hand 35, summary of invention paragraph 15) having a first side coupled with a side of the first gripper,
and configured to adjust the first gripper, wherein the first arm is coupled with the second side of the first adjuster and has a multi-joint arm form (summary of invention paragraph 14),
and wherein the ball of the operating station is coupled with a head disposed on an operating table of the operating station (The operating station, ball, and head are not part of the claimed slurry replacement robot).
Regarding Claim 12, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 11. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses the second manipulator comprises: a second gripper configured to grip a nut of the operating station (the socket S at the end of the impact wrench R is capable of tightening and loosening a nut, summary of invention paragraph 6);
and a third gripper coupled with a first side of the second gripper and configured to grip at least one of the first filter or the second filter (Figure 1: the hand 35 is capable of gripping various work tools making it suitable for gripping a ball of an operating station or a cylindrical filter summary of invention paragraph 6),
and wherein the nut of the operating station is disposed between the ball and the head and is configured to couple the ball to the head (the operating station, nut, ball, and head are not part of the claimed slurry replacement robot).
Regarding Claim 13, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 12. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses a second adjuster having a first side coupled with a second side of the second gripper (Figure 1: hand 32 which is third gripper, work tool T which is the second gripper, and second adjuster which are the joints in the arm 32, are coupled on a side of the second adjusters, summary of invention paragraph 15),
and configured to adjust the second gripper and the third gripper (Figure 1 shows both arms have multiple joints that can adjust the hand 35, summary of invention paragraph 15), wherein the second arm is coupled with a second side of the second adjuster and has the multi-joint arm form (summary of invention paragraph 14).
Regarding Claim 15 as best interpreted, Kawabata et al. discloses Kawabata et al. discloses a robot operation system for work in environments that are difficult for humans to enter such as radiation environments comprising: robot tool configured to grip a ball of the operating station, a nut of the operating station, and the first filter (Figure 1: the components T, 35, R, S are capable of performing the function);
and a third arm having a first side coupled with the robot tool (Figure 1: third arm is the arm that is holding work tool T, robot tools are hands 35, wrench R, and socket S);
a support frame disposed in a lower portion of the manipulator (Figure 1: 31);
wherein the manipulator is configured to replace the first filter disposed on the operating station with the second filter loaded on the loader (Figure 1: the hand 35 is capable of gripping various work tools making it suitable for gripping a ball of an operating station or a cylindrical filter and the socket S at the end of the impact wrench R is capable of tightening and loosening a nut, summary of invention paragraph 6),
wherein the ball of the operating station is coupled with a head disposed on an operating table of the operating station (the operating station, head, and operating table are not part of the claimed slurry replacement robot),
and wherein the nut of the operating station is disposed between the ball and the head and is configured to couple the ball to the head (the operating station, nut , ball, and head are not part of the claimed slurry replacement robot).
Kawabata et al. does not disclose a loader coupled with the support frame and configured to load the first filter and a second filter;
and a mover disposed in a lower portion of the support frame and configured to move the support frame.
Xiong et al. discloses a mechanical arm capable of quickly replacing end effector tools that uses a loader (Figure 1: 3) for the purpose of storing various tools and components (Detailed ways paragraph 2) and a mover disposed in a lower portion of a support frame (Summary of invention paragraph 2) for the purpose of moving the machine to specific positions (Summary of invention paragraph 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Kawabata et al. by including the loader and mover disclosed by Xiong et al. for the purpose of storing various tools and components and moving the device to specific positions.
Regarding Claim 16, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 15. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses the robot tool comprises: a first gripper configured to grip the ball and separate the ball from the head (Figure 1: first gripper is hand 35 that is not holding work tool T, the hand 35 is capable of gripping various work tools making it suitable for gripping a ball of an operating station or a cylindrical filter summary of invention paragraph 6);
a second gripper configured to grip the nut and separate the ball from the head (the socket S at the end of the impact wrench R is capable of tightening and loosening a nut, summary of invention paragraph 6);
and a third gripper configured to: grip the first filter coupled with the head; and replace the first filter with the second filter (Figure 1: hand 35 that is holding work tool T).
Regarding Claim 17, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 16. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses the first gripper is coupled with a first side of a first adjuster (Figure 1 shows both arms have multiple joints that can adjust the hand 35, summary of invention paragraph 15),
wherein the second gripper is coupled with a first side of a second adjuster (Figure 1: second gripper T is coupled with a side of a second adjuster, summary of invention paragraph 15),
and wherein the third gripper is coupled with a side of the second gripper (Figure 1: third gripper 35 and second gripper T).
Regarding Claim 18 as best interpreted, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 17. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses the first adjuster (Figure 1: first joint which is an adjuster in the arm 32 not holding the tool is couped to a first side of the third arm which is the arm 32 holding the tool T) has a second side coupled with a first side of the third arm and is configured to adjust the first gripper (summary of invention paragraph 15),
and wherein the second adjuster has a second side coupled with a third side of the third arm and is configured to adjust the second gripper and the third gripper (Figure 1: second joint which is an adjuster in the arm 32 is coupled to a second side of the third arm, summary of invention paragraph 15).
Regarding Claim 19 as best interpreted, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 18. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses a multi-axis connector disposed between a fourth side of the third arm and the second side of the first adjuster (Figure 1: the arm 32 without the tool is a multi-axis connector).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata et al. (JP7132160B2) in view of Xiong et al. (CN115041992A) in further view of Sun (CN213562666U).
Regarding Claim 5, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 4. Kawabata et al. additionally discloses a side of the first gripper is coupled with a side of the first adjuster (Figure 1: the hand 35 without the tool is coupled to the arm 32 and there are multiple joints that are adjusters in the arm paragraph 15),
wherein a first side of the third gripper is coupled with a side of the second adjuster (Figure 1: hand 32 which is third gripper, and second adjuster which are the joints in the arm 32, are coupled on a side, summary of invention paragraph 15).
and the second gripper that is coupled on is coupled with a second side of the second gripper (Figure 1: second gripper T).
Kawabata et al. does not disclose a first side of the second gripper is coupled with a side of the second adjuster, and wherein a side of the third gripper is coupled with a second side of the second gripper (Kawabata et al. discloses the component coupling order of adapter, gripper 3, gripper 2, instead of claimed order of adapter, gripper 2, gripper 3).
Sun discloses a mechanical gripper for work in severe environments, such as radioactive or dusty environments, that comprises a gripper configured to grip a nut (Figure 2: 10, Figure 5) and a gripper configured to grip a ball (Figure 2: 12, Figure 4) that is coupled with a side of the gripper configured to grip a nut. This is done for the purpose of increasing the range of application of the gripper by being able to grip a variety of shapes (Summery of the utility model paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. as applied in claim 4 by replacing the hand and tool end effector (Kawabata et al., Figure 1: 35, T) with the end effector disclosed by Sun and attaching it to the second adjuster for the purpose of increasing the range of application of the gripper by being able to grip a variety of shapes. This would make the first side of the second gripper coupled with a side of the second adjuster and a side of the third gripper coupled with a second side of the second gripper.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata et al. (JP7132160B2) in view of Xiong et al. CN115041992A in further view of Sullivan et al. (US 2007/0267039 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 3. Kawabata et al. does not disclose a gripper cleaner configured to clean the third gripper.
Sullivan et al. discloses an ultrasonic cleaner (Figure 1) that uses high frequency sound waves propagating in aqueous solutions to loosen and remove impurities from items (Paragraph 6) for the purpose of cleaning instruments (Paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. as applied in claim 3 by including the ultrasonic cleanser disclosed by Sullivan et al. for the purpose of cleaning instruments such as the grippers or tool that get dirty from hazardous environments.
Regarding Claim 14, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 12. Kawabata et al. does not disclose a gripper cleaner configured to clean the third gripper.
Sullivan et al. discloses an ultrasonic cleaner (Figure 1) that uses high frequency sound waves propagating in aqueous solutions to loosen and remove impurities from items (Paragraph 6) for the purpose of cleaning instruments (Paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. as applied in claim 3 by including the ultrasonic cleanser disclosed by Sullivan et al. for the purpose of cleaning instruments such as the grippers or tool that get dirty from hazardous environments.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata et al. (JP7132160B2) in view of Xiong et al. (CN115041992A) in further view of Yang et al. (CN210414553U)
Regarding Claim 20, Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. discloses the limitations of claim 19. Kawabata et al. does not disclose the robot tool further comprises: a water gun disposed on the multi-axis connector and configured to clean the head.
Yang et al. discloses a washing robot system that has a washing device that sprays liquid (Figure 1: 310, specific implementation methods paragraph 18) mounted on a multi-axis mechanical arm (Figure 1: 100, specific implementation methods paragraph 6) for the purpose of cleaning machines in preparation for maintenance (background paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Kawabata et al. in view of Xiong et al. as applied in claim 19 by including the washing device disclosed by Yang et al. onto the multi-axis connector for the purpose of allowing the device to clean objects before performing maintenance on them.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Robertson et al. (US2019/0261566A1) shows a robotic fruit picking system with multiple arms, a loader, and a mover, Guan et al. (CN111923021A) shows a robotic arm with multiple end effectors and a loader for tools.
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653