DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are presented for examination.
Claim 5 is cancelled.
Claims 1-4 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bosse.
Consider claims 1-2:
Bosse teaches a vehicle traveling control system installed on a vehicle (Fig. 5 elements 500-552, “…the system 500 can include a vehicle 502…”) and comprising a traveling control device configured to control traveling of the vehicle (Fig. 5 elements 500-552, “…system 500 for implementing the techniques described herein…the system 500 can include a vehicle 502…the vehicle 502 is an autonomous vehicle…the vehicle 502 can be any other type of vehicle…”), wherein the traveling control device is configured to: determine a size of the vehicle (See Bosse, e.g., “…the perception component 520 may detect a ground surface and determine a ride height based on sensor data…a relationship may exist between the command angle of the wheel, a ride height of the vehicle at the wheel… and a ball-joint articulation angle…such that the command angle may be used in combination with a ball-joint articulation angle to estimate the vehicle ride height…the estimated command angle may be used…to estimate vehicle ride height…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0029], ¶ [0034]-¶ [0042], ¶ [0044], ¶ [0067], ¶ [0070], and Fig. 1A elements 14-102, Fig. 2 elements 102-249, Fig. 3 elements 300-346, Figs. 4A-B steps 400A-414B, Fig. 5 elements 500-552), and an appropriate turning radius of the vehicle according to the size of the vehicle (See Bosse, e.g., “…the vehicle 102b rotates along an arc and around a turn center 20 of a second circle 22 (e.g., along a segment of the second circle 22)…the wheels (e.g., front wheels) of the vehicle 102a may be turned to a lesser degree than the wheels of the vehicle 102b, as illustrated by the radius 24 of the first circle 18 being larger than the radius…based on the dimensions of the vehicle 102, an offset distance 142 for the wheel 120b and an offset distance 251 for the wheel 120a…extends perpendicularly from the turn-center reference line 140 to the center of the wheel 120b…vehicle 102a/b/c progressing through a series of positions in an environment 100 as the vehicle traverses along a trajectory 14…the wheel angles may be combined with vehicle dimensions (e.g., wheelbase) to determine the turn center 204 based on the position at which the radius (R) 247 from the wheel 120a intersects the radius (R′) 246 from the wheel 120b…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0029], ¶ [0029], ¶ [0034]-¶ [0037], ¶ [0044], and Fig. 1A elements 14-102, Fig. 2 elements 102-249, Fig. 3 elements 300-346, Figs. 4A-B steps 400A-414B, Fig. 5 elements 500-552), determine a traveling line, along which the vehicle is to travel when the vehicle turns a corner in a travel route (e.g., “…a curved trajectory 200 (or turn maneuver, such as the first or second turn maneuver depicted in FIG. 1A…”), based on the size of the vehicle (See Bosse, e.g., “…the perception component 520 may detect a ground surface and determine a ride height based on sensor data…a relationship may exist between the command angle of the wheel, a ride height of the vehicle at the wheel… and a ball-joint articulation angle…such that the command angle may be used in combination with a ball-joint articulation angle to estimate the vehicle ride height…the estimated command angle may be used…to estimate vehicle ride height…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0029], ¶ [0034]-¶ [0042], ¶ [0044], ¶ [0067], ¶ [0070], and Fig. 1A elements 14-102, Fig. 2 elements 102-249, Fig. 3 elements 300-346, Figs. 4A-B steps 400A-414B, Fig. 5 elements 500-552) such that the vehicle turns with the appropriate turning radius in accordance with the size of the vehicle (See Bosse, e.g., “…the vehicle 102b rotates along an arc and around a turn center 20 of a second circle 22 (e.g., along a segment of the second circle 22)…based on the dimensions of the vehicle 102, an offset distance 142 for the wheel 120b and an offset distance 251 for the wheel 120a…extends perpendicularly from the turn-center reference line 140 to the center of the wheel 120b…vehicle 102a/b/c progressing through a series of positions in an environment 100 as the vehicle traverses along a trajectory 14…the wheel angles may be combined with vehicle dimensions (e.g., wheelbase) to determine the turn center 204 based on the position at which the radius (R) 247 from the wheel 120a intersects the radius (R′) 246 from the wheel 120b…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0029], ¶ [0029], ¶ [0034]-¶ [0037], ¶ [0044], and Fig. 1A elements 14-102, Fig. 2 elements 102-249, Fig. 3 elements 300-346, Figs. 4A-B steps 400A-414B, Fig. 5 elements 500-552), and cause the vehicle to turn along the traveling line (See Bosse, e.g., “…the wheels (e.g., front wheels) of the vehicle 102a may be turned to a lesser degree than the wheels of the vehicle 102b, as illustrated by the radius 24 of the first circle 18 being larger than the radius…based on the dimensions of the vehicle 102, an offset distance 142 for the wheel 120b and an offset distance 251 for the wheel 120a…extends perpendicularly from the turn-center reference line 140 to the center of the wheel 120b…vehicle 102a/b/c progressing through a series of positions in an environment 100 as the vehicle traverses along a trajectory 14…the wheel angles may be combined with vehicle dimensions (e.g., wheelbase) to determine the turn center 204 based on the position at which the radius (R) 247 from the wheel 120a intersects the radius (R′) 246 from the wheel 120b…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0029], ¶ [0029], ¶ [0034]-¶ [0037], ¶ [0044], and Fig. 1A elements 14-102, Fig. 2 elements 102-249, Fig. 3 elements 300-346, Figs. 4A-B steps 400A-414B, Fig. 5 elements 500-552).
Consider claim 4:
Bosse teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Bosse teaches wherein the travel route includes a bidirectional passage including an own lane and an opposite lane (See Bosse, e.g., “…the vehicle 102 is a bidirectional vehicle having a first drive module positioned in the front end 104 and a second drive module positioned in the rear end 106…a bidirectional vehicle is one that is configured to switch between traveling in a first direction of the vehicle and a second, opposite, direction of the vehicle. In other words, there is no fixed “front” or “rear” of the vehicle 102. Rather, whichever longitudinal end of the vehicle 102 is leading at the time becomes the “front” and the trailing longitudinal end becomes the “rear.” In other examples, the techniques described herein may be applied to vehicles other than bidirectional vehicles. Also, whether or not the vehicle is bidirectional, the first drive and second drive modules may be different from one another…”, of ¶ [0025], ¶ [0029], ¶ [0034]-¶ [0037], and Fig. 1A elements 14-102, Fig. 2 elements 102-249, Fig. 3 elements 300-346, Figs. 4A-B steps 400A-414B), wherein, where the corner is a corner from the bidirectional passage to another passage or a corner from another passage to the bidirectional passage (See Bosse, e.g., “…the vehicle 102 is a bidirectional vehicle having a first drive module positioned in the front end 104 and a second drive module positioned in the rear end 106…The turn center 204 and the turn-center reference line 140 may be established using various techniques. For example, if a vehicle is executing a turn using only front-wheel steering (while the rear wheel do not rotate about a steering axis), such as the vehicle 102 in FIG. 2 in which the front left wheel 120b and the front right wheel 120a rotate about a steering axis, then the turn-center reference line 140 is co-axial with a rear axle of the vehicle, and the offset distance may be pre-determined based on vehicle dimensions. In other examples, as explained above, the turn center 204 may also be at an intersection of the radius (R′) 246 (e.g., of the curve or arc traversed by the front left wheel 120b) and the radius (R) 247 (e.g., of the curve or arc traversed by the front right wheel 120a)…”, of ¶ [0025], ¶ [0029], ¶ [0034]-¶ [0037], and Fig. 1A elements 14-102, Fig. 2 elements 102-249, Fig. 3 elements 300-346, Figs. 4A-B steps 400A-414B), there is a possibility that the traveling line that causes the vehicle to protrude into the opposite lane is determined depending on the size of the vehicle (See Bosse, e.g., “…the vehicle 102b rotates along an arc and around a turn center 20 of a second circle 22 (e.g., along a segment of the second circle 22)…based on the dimensions of the vehicle 102, an offset distance 142 for the wheel 120b and an offset distance 251 for the wheel 120a…extends perpendicularly from the turn-center reference line 140 to the center of the wheel 120b…vehicle 102a/b/c progressing through a series of positions in an environment 100 as the vehicle traverses along a trajectory 14…the wheel angles may be combined with vehicle dimensions (e.g., wheelbase) to determine the turn center 204 based on the position at which the radius (R) 247 from the wheel 120a intersects the radius (R′) 246 from the wheel 120b…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0029], ¶ [0029], ¶ [0034]-¶ [0037], ¶ [0044], and Fig. 1A elements 14-102, Fig. 2 elements 102-249, Fig. 3 elements 300-346, Figs. 4A-B steps 400A-414B, Fig. 5 elements 500-552).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosse in view of PARK.
Consider claim 3:
Bosse teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Bosse teaches an arc-shaped traveling line (See Bosse, e.g., “…vehicle 102a/b/c progressing through a series of positions in an environment 100 as the vehicle traverses along a trajectory 14…the operations of the vehicle 102a/b/c to traverse along the trajectory 14 may include multiple turn maneuvers…the vehicle 102a may execute a first turn maneuver, which includes wheels (e.g., front wheels) rotated to one or more first angles or orientations, and the vehicle 102b may execute a second turn maneuver, which includes the wheels (e.g., front wheels) rotated to one or more second angles or orientations that are different from the first…”, of ¶ [0023], ¶ [0029], ¶ [0034]-¶ [0037], ¶ [0044], and Fig. 1A elements 14-102, Fig. 2 elements 102-249, Fig. 3 elements 300-346, Figs. 4A-B steps 400A-414B). Bosse, further, teaches the appropriate turning radius (See Bosse, e.g., “…the vehicle 102b rotates along an arc and around a turn center 20 of a second circle 22 (e.g., along a segment of the second circle 22)…the wheels (e.g., front wheels) of the vehicle 102a may be turned to a lesser degree than the wheels of the vehicle 102b, as illustrated by the radius 24 of the first circle 18 being larger than the radius…based on the dimensions of the vehicle 102, an offset distance 142 for the wheel 120b and an offset distance 251 for the wheel 120a…extends perpendicularly from the turn-center reference line 140 to the center of the wheel 120b…vehicle 102a/b/c progressing through a series of positions in an environment 100 as the vehicle traverses along a trajectory 14…the wheel angles may be combined with vehicle dimensions (e.g., wheelbase) to determine the turn center 204 based on the position at which the radius (R) 247 from the wheel 120a intersects the radius (R′) 246 from the wheel 120b…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0029], ¶ [0029], ¶ [0034]-¶ [0037], ¶ [0044], and Fig. 1A elements 14-102, Fig. 2 elements 102-249, Fig. 3 elements 300-346, Figs. 4A-B steps 400A-414B, Fig. 5 elements 500-552). However, Bosse does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of nodes are set at the corner, wherein a turning start reference node serving as a reference for the vehicle to start turning and a turning end reference node serving as a reference for the vehicle to end turning are selected from the plurality of nodes based on a specifications of the vehicle, and wherein a traveling line connecting the turning start reference node and the turning end reference node is determined.
In an analogous field of endeavor, PARK teaches wherein a plurality of nodes are set at the corner (Fig. 1 elements 10-30, N11-N43, Paths), wherein a turning start reference node serving as a reference for the vehicle to start turning and a turning end reference node (Fig. 3A-B elements N21-N42) serving as a reference for the vehicle to end turning are selected from the plurality of nodes based on a specifications of the vehicle (See PARK, e.g., “…The driving module 13 drives the AGV 10 in a motion in which the AGV 10 moves forward at N21, branches right and then, moves forward at N31, branches left and moves forward at N32, and stops at N42 according to the motion information set to correspond to the transport path…the vehicle body (pallet) of the AGV 10 is continuously turned according to the progress direction of the transport path…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0027], ¶ [0047]-¶ [0054], ¶ [0056]-¶ [0062], ¶ [0065]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0112], ¶ [0134]-¶ [0150], and Fig. 1 elements 10-30, N11-N43, Paths, Fig. 2 elements 10-36, Figs. 3A-B elements 10, N11-N43, and Fig. 7 steps 10, 30, S1-S18).
PARK further teaches and wherein a traveling line connecting the turning start reference node and the turning end reference node is determined (See PARK, e.g., “…the AGV 10 moves forward at N21, branches right and then, moves forward at N31, branches left and moves forward at N32, and stops at N42 according to the motion information set to correspond to the transport path…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0027], ¶ [0047]-¶ [0054], ¶ [0056]-¶ [0062], ¶ [0065]-¶ [0083], ¶ [0105]-¶ [0112], ¶ [0134]-¶ [0150], and Fig. 1 elements 10-30, N11-N43, Paths, Fig. 2 elements 10-36, Figs. 3A-B elements 10, N11-N43, and Fig. 7 steps 10, 30, S1-S18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine “…the vehicle 102b rotates along an arc and around a turn center 20 of a second circle 22 (e.g., along a segment of the second circle 22)…the wheels (e.g., front wheels) of the vehicle 102a may be turned to a lesser degree than the wheels of the vehicle 102b, as illustrated by the radius 24 of the first circle 18 being larger than the radius…based on the dimensions of the vehicle 102, an offset distance 142 for the wheel 120b and an offset distance 251 for the wheel 120a…extends perpendicularly from the turn-center reference line 140 to the center of the wheel 120b…vehicle 102a/b/c progressing through a series of positions in an environment 100 as the vehicle traverses along a trajectory 14…the wheel angles may be combined with vehicle dimensions (e.g., wheelbase) to determine the turn center 204 based on the position at which the radius (R) 247 from the wheel 120a intersects the radius (R′) 246 from the wheel 120b…”, as disclosed in Bosse with “wherein a plurality of nodes are set at the corner, wherein a turning start reference node serving as a reference for the vehicle to start turning and a turning end reference node serving as a reference for the vehicle to end turning are selected from the plurality of nodes based on a specifications of the vehicle, and wherein a traveling line connecting the turning start reference node and the turning end reference node is determined”, as taught in PARK with a reasonable expectation of success to yield a system, method for robustly, seamlessly, and expeditiously recognizing, and providing sufficient accuracy or resolution for road features, thereby, mitigating, avoiding collisions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Phillips et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0089372 A1) teaches “According to the subject matter of the present disclosure, an automated warehouse environment is provided where designated materials handling vehicles are programmed to initiate permission inquiries at primary and secondary nodes of a travel route in the warehouse environment. Alternatively, or additionally, the present disclosure also presents an automated warehouse environment where an asset manager comprises an occupancy grid generator, and a designated materials handling vehicle is programmed to avoid otherwise unpermitted travel along path segments that overlap the locked cells of the occupancy grid.”
Walton et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/0409390 A1) teaches “A materials handling vehicle operating system is provided comprising a tag layout where a plurality of entry/exit tag sets are arranged along a travel path at different ones of the entry/exit thresholds of a restricted navigation zone. Each entry/exit tag set comprises a release tag, a restriction tag, and an indicator tag. The indicator tag is positioned between the restriction tag and the restricted navigation zone. The restriction tag is positioned between the release tag and the indicator tag. The tag reader and the reader module cooperate to compare identified tag data with stored tag data and initiate a remediation operation when an indicator tag is identified in place of a restriction tag. Tag layouts for one-way and two-way travel into and out of a restricted navigation zone are also contemplated.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667