DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
"Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table 'is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience.' Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993)" (MPEP 2173.05(s)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kotin (WO2019/051289).
Regarding Claim 1, Kotin discloses a method for the delivery of prenatal therapeutics, enzyme replacement therapy, or gene therapy to a fetus in need thereof (lipid nanoparticle formulations that comprise an ionizable lipid, Abstract; lipid nanoparticle LNP formulations of viral, capsid-free DNA vectors and their use for the delivery of exogenous DNA sequences to a target cell, tissue, organ or organism, Para. [0003]; a composition comprising a first lipid nanoparticle and an additional compound, Para. [0026]; the additional compound is a therapeutic agent, Para. [0029]; term "subject" as used herein refers to a human or animal, to whom treatment, including prophylactic treatment, with the ceDNA vector according to the present invention, is provided the subject can be a neonate or an unborn subject, e.g., the subject is in utero, Para. [0089]; The compositions provided herein can be used to deliver a transgene the transgene encodes one or more peptides, polypeptides, or proteins, which are useful for the treatment, amelioration of disease states in a mammalian subject, Para. [00231]), comprising introducing ionizable lipid nanoparticles (LNPs) nanoparticles comprising a therapeutic mRNA composition (novel lipid formulations comprising an ionizable lipid and a capsid free, non-viral vector ceDNA, Para. [0005]; a nucleic acid of interest. is incorporated into and may be delivered and expressed by a ceDNA vector nucleic acids of interest include nucleic acids that are transcribed into therapeutic RNA, Para. [0063]; A sequence encoding a polyadenylation sequence can be included in the ceDNA vector to stabilize the mRNA expressed from the ceDNA vector, Para. [00309]) into the circulation of the fetus in need of treatment (administration is by any of the routes normally used for introducing a molecule into ultimate contact with blood Exemplary modes of administration includes. in utero, Para. [00234]) wherein the ionizable LNPs deliver the therapeutic mRNA composition (a lipid nanoparticle of the invention includes a lipid formulation that can be used to deliver a capsid-free, non-viral DNA vector to a target site of interest the lipid nanoparticle comprises capsid-free, non- viral DNA vector and an ionizable lipid, Para. [00101]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kotin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the ionizable LNPs comprise: one or more ionizable polyamine-lipids; cholesterol; 1,2-Dioleoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphoethanolamine (DOPE); and a pegylated lipid (PEG-lipid) (lipid nanoparticle compositions for such delivery are composed of synthetic ionizable lipids, phospholipids (especially compounds having a phosphatidylcholine group), cholesterol, and a polyethylene glycol (PEG) lipid, Para. [0057]; the non-cationic lipid is a phospholipid the non-cationic lipid is DOPE, Para. [00161]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kotin discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the PEG-Lipid is 1,2-dimyristoyl-snglycero-3-phosphoethanolamine-N-[methoxy(polyethylene glycol)-2000 (C14-PEG2000) (The PEG-lipid can be... 1,2-dimyristoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphoethanolamine-N-fmethoxy/polyethylene glycol)-2000], Para. [00174]).
With regards to claim 7, the method is directed to a method of treatment, therefore the limitations with regards to the method of making the LNPs are viewed as product by process limitations, and not limiting where the end product of the prior art is the same as is instantly claimed, regardless the efficiency.
With regards to claim 8, the pKa is a property of the LNP, therefore where the LNP is anticipated, the properties of the LNPs are likewise satisfied, whether recognized or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotin (WO 2019/051289) in view of Billingsley et al (Ionizable Lipid Nanoparticle-Mediated mRNA Delivery for Human CAR T Cell Engineering, Nano Letters, 2020, Vol 20, Iss 3, pp 1578-1589).
Regarding Claim 3, Kotin discloses the method of claim 2.
Kotin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more ionizable polyamine-lipids is selected from the group consisting of formulations: A-1 through A-5, B-1 through B-5, and C-1 through C-4 as described in Figs. 2A and 2C.
Billingsley is in the field of ionizable lipid nanoparticle-mediated mRNA delivery in humans (Title) and teaches he one or more ionizable polyamine-lipids is selected from the group consisting of formulations: A-1 through A-5, B-1 through B-5, and C-1 through C-4 as described in Figs. 2A and 2C (compounds 2, 5, and 8, Fig. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Kotin by a lipid as taught by Billingsley for the purpose of achieving enhanced mRNA delivery (Billingsley, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 5, Kotin discloses the method of claim 4.
Kotin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more ionizable polyamine lipids, cholesterol, DOPE, and C14-PEG2000 are at respective molar ratios of about 35:46.5:16:2.5.
Billingsley is in the field of ionizable lipid nanoparticle-mediated mRNA delivery in humans (Title) and teaches he one or more ionizable polyamine lipids, cholesterol, DOPE, and C14-PEG2000 are at respective molar ratios of about 35:46.5:16:2.5 (optimized LNP formulations for mRNA delivery, which generally utilized (i) DOPE as the phospholipid component, (ii) a decreased molar percentage of ionizable lipid, and (iii) increased concentrations of cholesterol and lipid-anchored PEG. Given that alterations in the molar ratio of excipients impact the physicochemical properties and ultimately potent delivery of LNPs, the ratio of the components was held constant throughout these experiments, Pg. 5, second full paragraph from bottom; To prepare the ethanol phase, ionizable lipid, 1,2-distearoyl-sn-glycero-3-phospheethanolamine (DOPE) cholesterol and lipid-anchored polyethylene glycol (PEG) components were combined at a molar ratio of 35%. 16%, 46.5%, and 2.5%, respectively, Pg. 10, second full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Kotin by a composition as taught by Billingsley for the purpose of achieving enhanced mRNA delivery (Billingsley, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 6, Kotin discloses the method of claim 1 and further teaches the mean size of the LNPs is about 60-140 nm (lipid nanoparticles have a mean diameter from about 30 nm to about 150, preferably about 100 nm, ¶ 207).
With regards to Claim 9, Kotin discloses the method of claim 1 and further teaches intravenous administration (in utero intravenous infusion, ¶ 234)
With regards to Claim 10, Kotin discloses the method of claim 1 and further teaches delivery with a delivery target specific antibody-conjugated PEG (antibody drug conjugates for targeted therapy, paragraph 183, with PEG modifications, ¶¶ 177-179).
With regards to Claim 11, Kotin discloses the method of claim 10 and further teaches the delivery target is expressed on the surface of an organ cell (promoters enhance recognition for specific organs, ¶ 306).
With regards to Claim 12, Kotin discloses the method of claim 1, and further teaches modification with peptide-conjugated PEG to target a specific organ (see response to claims 9-11 above).
With regards to claim 13 and 14, Korin discloses the method of claim 1, and further teaches improving survival and proliferation of hematopoietic stream and progenitor cells (prostaglandin E2 agonists are taught as immunosuppressants, ¶¶ 201 and 204).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/293,419 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim a specific genus of ionizable polyamine-lipids. As the genus appears to overlap the instant genus claimed, the instant claims are obvious over the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612