DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to application filed 08/26/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shridhar et al. (Pub.No.: 2010/0124336 A1) in view of Griffin (Pub.No.: 2020/0105242 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shridhar teaches on-vehicle sound control system (reads on vehicle ANC system for passenger cabin noise suppression, see [0029] and [0033]), comprising:
a speaker configured to output canceling sound for canceling noise (reads on loudspeakers generating anti-noise signals, see [0033] and [0040]);
a controller configured to control the speaker (reads on ANC controller generating control signals for speaker, see [0036] and [0043]); and
wherein the controller comprises a control filter configured to generate a control signal for controlling the speaker (reads on adaptive filtering and compensation circuitry producing control signals, see [0043] and [0044]).
Shridhar features already addressed in the rejection of claim 1. Shridhar does not specifically teach “a distance estimation device configured to estimate a distance between the speaker and an ear of an occupant, a control signal correction unit configured to correct the control signal based on the distance and to output a corrected control signal, and the controller controls the speaker based on the corrected control signal” as recited in claim 1.
However, Griffin teaches an active noise control headset system including position sensors configured to detect a position of a speaker relative to a listener’s ears, and processing/filtering circuitry configured to generate a corrected control signal for the speaker based on the detected position (see [0003], [0004], [0010] and [0056]). Griffin further teaches that the controller controls the speaker based on the corrected signal derived from the detected spatial relationship between the speaker and the listener’s ears (see [0010] and [0011]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the ANC system of Shridhar to include Griffin’s position-based control signal correction, including estimating the spatial distance between the speaker and the listener and correcting the control signal accordingly, in order to imp[rove anti-noise performance for varying listener positions and acoustic path conditions, since Griffin expressly teaches that such spatial compensation improves ANC effectiveness (see Griffin [0005] and [0051])
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shridhar in view of Griffin teaches wherein the control signal correction unit is provided with a correction coefficient such that the larger the distance is, the larger an amplitude of the corrected control signal becomes (reads on adjusting attenuation/gain level of anti-noise based on detected listener position, see Griffin [0005], [0075] and [0073]), and the control signal correction unit corrects the control signal with the correction coefficient (reads on filtering circuitry adjusting anti-noise level according to position sensor data, see Griffin [011]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shridhar in view of Griffin teaches an error microphone configured to generate an error signal (reads on microphone detecting combination of anti-noise and ambient sound forming error signal, see Shridhar [0036] and [0043]) from the noise and the canceling sound, wherein the controller further comprises an adaptive update unit configured to perform adaptive update of the control filter based on the error signal (reads on adaptive filtering updating based on feedback signals, see Shridhar [0043] and [0044]) and an update determination unit configured to determine, based on the distance, whether the update by the adaptive update unit may be performed, and the adaptive update unit performs the update only when the update determination unit permits the update (reads on threshold-based switching of control behavior depending on listener spatial position, see Griffin [0074] and [0075]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shridhar in view of Griffin teaches wherein the control signal correction unit corrects the control signal only when the update determination unit does not permit the update (reads on modifying control operation depending on spatial thresholds and disabling certain control modes based on position, see Griffin [0075]) and does not correct the control signal when the update determination unit permits the update (Note that combination of Shridhar adaptive filtering and Griffin spatial switching suggests selectively applying correction versus adaptive update for stability, see Shridhar [0044] and Griffin [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shridhar in view of Griffin teaches wherein the control signal correction unit corrects the control signal with a correction coefficient set depending on the distance (reads on multiple predefined attenuation levels based on spatial position ranges, see Griffin [0011] and [0074]), the update determination unit permits the update when the distance is in a predetermined usual range (reads on switching control operation based on position range thresholds, see Griffin [0074]), and the control signal correction unit does not correct the control signal when the distance is in the usual range (reads on gain/attenuation set to predefined levels depending on spatial range, see Griffin [0074]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shridhar in view of Griffin teaches wherein the correction coefficient monotonically increases with an increase of the distance (Griffin teaches increased gain or attenuation when listener position moves further from reference location, see [0072]-[0073]) and is set to 1 when the distance is in the usual range (Sridhar teaches filter coefficients adjustable and stable operation ranges implying unity or baseline coefficient values, see [0044]), and the control signal correction unit does not correct the control signal by maintaining the correction coefficient to 1 when the distance is in the usual range (the combination of Shridhar adaptive filtering and Griffin predefined attenuation ranges suggests baseline coefficient inside stable spatial region, see Shridhar [0044] and Griffin [0074]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shridhar in view of Griffin teaches wherein the controller further comprises a phase correction unit configured to correct a phase of the control filter based on the distance (reads on adaptive filtering compensating acoustic path including phase and amplitude characteristics, see Shridhar [0043] and [0044]) when the distance is not in the usual range (reads on spatial position dependent control parameter adjustment including attenuation and filtering characteristics, see Griffin [0074]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Shridhar in view of Griffin teaches wherein the control signal correction unit corrects the control signal based on an average value of the distance over a predetermined time (reads on adaptive control parameters determined over time using feedback processing and training methods, see Shridhar, see [0043] and [0044]).
Conclusion
/RASHA S AL AUBAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693