DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits for this regular application filed on 08/26/2024
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buskens et al. (US 10,144,848 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Buskens et al. discloses a method (Example in columns 14-15) of deodorizing, antibacterial and decontamination (col.10, lines 57-62) using a plasmonic photocatalyst (col.3, lines 11-17 and col.6, line 29), comprising:
providing a plasmonic photocatalyst (col.3, lines 11-17 and col.6, line 29);
making the plasmonic photocatalyst and an object to be treated be in contact (col.10, lines 57-64); and
making the plasmonic photocatalyst absorb an electromagnetic wave (col.3, lines 40-67) to
perform a deodorizing, antibacterial (col.10, lines 57-62) and decontamination reaction on the object to be treated, and the deodorizing, antibacterial and decontamination reaction is to perform an
oxidative decomposition or removal reaction on a contaminant in the object to be treated;
wherein a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave is in a range of 300 nm
to 11000 nm (col.3, lines 49-54).
Regarding claim 2, Buskens et al. discloses that the plasmonic photocatalyst (col.5, lines 63-67 through col.6, lines 1-9) is a metal boride nanoparticle (col.6, lines 4-6), a metal nitride nanoparticle (col.5, line 66) or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 3, Buskens et al. discloses that the metal boride nanoparticle is a lanthanum
hexaboride nanoparticle (col.5, lines 63-67 through col.6, lines 1-9), and a particle diameter of the lanthanum hexaboride nanoparticle is within 5 nm to 300 nm (col.4, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 4, Buskens et al. discloses that the plasmonic photocatalyst reacts with a water molecule to form a hydroxyl radical under irradiation (Example in columns 14-15) of the electromagnetic wave, and the hydroxyl radical performs the oxidative decomposition or removal reaction on the contaminant in the object to be treated (col.10, lines 57-64).
Regarding claim 5, Buskens et al. discloses that the plasmonic photocatalyst keeps absorbing
the electromagnetic wave (Example in columns 14-15) until a pre-set reaction time, and the pre-set reaction time ranges from 1 minute to 5 years.
Regarding claim 6, Buskens et al. discloses that the plasmonic photocatalyst is a photocatalyst-containing aqueous solution, and the photocatalyst-containing aqueous solution comprises a lanthanum hexaboride nanoparticle (col.5, lines 63-67 through col.6, lines 1-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buskens et al. (US 10,144,848 B2) in view of Guler et al. (US 2020/0054752 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Buskens et al. discloses administering a pharmaceutical composition (col.10, lines 57-64) comprising a plasmonic photocatalyst to a subject (col.3, lines 11-17 and col.6, line 29), wherein after administering the pharmaceutical composition, the plasmonic photocatalyst absorbs an electromagnetic wave, and a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave is in a range of 300 nm to 11000 nm (col.8, lines 7-23).
Buskens et al. appears silent to disclose treatment of cancer.
Guler et al. discloses a method [0016] for using plasmonic nanoparticles and biological sensing applications [0002] that includes borides or nitrides [0015] for destroying defective cells [0016-0017] including cancer cells in order to destroy only the defective cells without affecting a surrounding tissue [0016]. The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to add Guler et al. method for destroying defective cells to the Buskens et a. method in order to destroy only the defective cells without affecting a surrounding tissue.
Regarding claim 8, Buskens et al. discloses that the plasmonic photocatalyst is a metal boride nanoparticle (col.6, lines 4-6), a metal nitride (col.5, line 66) nanoparticle or a combination thereof, and the metal boride nanoparticle or the metal nitride nanoparticle absorbs the electromagnetic wave (col.8, lines 7-23 and col.3, lines 40-67) and generates at least one of a reactive oxygen species and a heat.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buskens et al. (US 10,144,848 B2) in view of Guler et al. (US 2020/0054752 A1) as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Bobrow et al. (US 2019/0376956 A1).
Regarding claims 9-10, the combined Buskens et al. method appears silent to disclose the use of an epidermal growth factor receptor antibody, and also appears silent to disclose the use of folic acid.
Bobrow et al. discloses methods for detection of analytes using catalyzed reporter deposition [0002] that includes the use of plasmonic materials [0253] and the uses of an epidermal growth factor receptor antibody [0239] and folic acid [0235] in order to test a sample for the presence of one or more targets [0144]. The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains add Bobrow et al. detection method to the combined Buskens et al. method in order to test a sample for the presence of one or more targets.
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799