DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 9 January 2026, with respect to the objections to claims 1, 6 and 16-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of 9 October 2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection of claim(s) 1, 13 and 20 have been considered, and in response the same art is applied to the amended claims. Applicant’s arguments are solely drawn to the newly amended limitations, and as such the new grounds of rejection does not rely any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See the updated rejection(s) below.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “wherein the actuator prevents movement of the release plate in the fully retracted position and permits movement of the release plate in the fully extended position”. Appropriate correction or clarification consistent with claim 1 is required.
Claim(s) 7 objected to because of the following informalities: claim(s) should be amended to recite “wherein the release plate is pivotable between [[a]] the fully retracted position and [[an]] the fully extended position”. Appropriate correction or clarification consistent with claim 1 is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merlet (FR-2997283-A1).
With regards to claim 1, Merlet discloses a latch strike mechanism (7 Figure 1) for a dishwasher door (3 Figure 1) to improve drying performance (Pg. 9 Para. 3 – Pg. 10 Para. 1), the latch strike mechanism comprising:
a housing (13 Figure 2);
an actuator (8 Figure 2) positioned within the housing and engageable with a release plate (9 Figure 2) upon completion of a wash cycle (Pg. 7 Para. 4), the actuator including a wedge (affixed to end of actuator shaft, best shown Figure 4) that engages the release plate to pivot the release plate (at least between positions shown Figures 2 and 5); and
a moveable striker (5 Figure 2) slideably engaged with the housing (slideable at least between positions of Figures 2 and 5), the moveable striker configured to extend (Pg. 7 Para. 4) to maintain the dishwasher door in a partially open position (Figure 5), wherein the moveable striker is slideable within the housing (13 Figure 2) along a track (linear track guiding striker 5, Figure 4) and spring biased relative to the housing (Pg. 15 Para. 2) and wherein the release plate slides along a length of the moveable striker (Figures 2 and 5 show release plate portion 18 sliding along the length of moveable striker 5) between a fully retracted position (Figure 2) and a fully extended position (Figure 5).
With regards to claim 2, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the moveable striker (5 Figure 2) is configured to extend when a wash cycle of the dishwasher is complete (Pg. 7 Para. 5).
With regards to claim 5, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the actuator (8 Figure 2) prevents movement of the release plate (9 Figure 2) in the retracted position (Figure 2) and permits movement of the release plate in the extended position (Figure 5).
With regards to claim 6, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 5 wherein the movement of the release plate (9 Figure 2) releases a spring (22 Figure 2) to extend (at least between positions of Figures 2 and 5) the moveable striker (5 Figure 2) relative to the housing (13 Figure 2).
With regards to claim 7, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the release plate (9 Figure 2) is pivotable between a retracted position (Figure 2) and an extended position (Figure 5).
With regards to claim 8, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the actuator (8 Figure 2) is thermally actuated by a temperature of a drying cycle (the actuator is a thermally actuated wax actuator, Pg. 8 Para. 6).
With regards to claim 9, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the actuator (8 Figure 2) comprises one of a wax motor thermal actuator (the actuator is a thermally actuated wax actuator, Pg. 8 Para. 6), solenoid, motor, and shape memory alloy.
With regards to claim 10, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 further comprising a damper gear (25 Figure 2) positioned relative to a track (linear track guiding striker 5, Figure 4) of the moveable striker (5 Figure 2) and configured to (interpreted as a statement of intended use, the damper gear 25 is capable of performing the recited function) slow the extension of the moveable striker relative to the housing (13 Figure 2).
With regards to claim 11, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 further comprising an additional door position switch (30 Figure 2) configured to (interpreted as a statement of intended use) activate a tub light or maintain product safety (Pg. 17 Para. 4).
With regards to claim 12, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the actuator (8 Figure 2) is positioned to extend and retract perpendicularly with respect to a travel (between Figures 2 and 5) of the moveable striker (5 Figure 2).
With regards to claim 13, Merlet discloses a method (Pg. 7 Paras. 4-5) for operating a latch strike mechanism (7 Figure 1) for a dishwasher door (3 Figure 1) to improve drying performance (Pg. 9 Para. 3 – Pg. 10 Para. 1), method comprising:
providing a housing (13 Figure 2) with a moveable striker (5 Figure 2) engageable with a door latch (4 Figure 2);
sliding the moveable striker relative to the housing to extend the dishwasher door (Pg. 7 Para. 4) to maintain the dishwasher door in a partially open position (Figure 5), the moveable striker slideable between two detents in the moveable striker (14 Figure 2 and 21 Figure 5);
activating an actuator (8 Figure 2) upon completion of a wash cycle (Pg. 7 Para. 5); and
moving a release plate (9 Figure 2) with the actuator to an extended position (Figure 5), allowing translation of the moveable striker (at least between positions of Figures 2 and 5), allowing translation of the moveable striker, wherein the release plate slides along a length of the moveable striker (Figures 2 and 5 show release plate portion 18 sliding along the length of moveable striker 5).
With regards to claim 15, Merlet discloses the method of claim 13 further comprising:
moving the release plate (9 Figure 2) upon activation of the actuator (8 Figure 2) to the extended position (Figure 5) from a retracted position (Figure 2), allowing translation of the moveable striker (5 Figure 2) between the two detents (14 Figure 2 and 21 Figure 5).
With regards to claim 16, Merlet discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising:
releasing a spring (22 Figure 2) upon rotation of the release plate (9 Figure 2); and
extending the moveable striker (5 Figure 2) relative to the housing (13 Figure 2).
With regards to claim 17, Merlet discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising:
pivoting the release plate (9 Figure 2) upon activation of the actuator (8 Figure 2) to the extended position (Figure 5) from the retracted position (Figure 2).
With regards to claim 18, Merlet discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising:
sliding the release plate (9 Figure 2) upon activation of the actuator (8 Figure 2) to the extended position (Figure 5) from the retracted position (Figure 2).
With regards to claim 19, Merlet discloses the method of claim 13 further comprising: resetting the latch strike mechanism (7 Figure 2) by manually closing the door (3 Figure 2)(Pg. 16 Para. 5 – Pg. 17 Para. 1).
With regards to claim 20, Merlet discloses a latch strike mechanism (7 Figure 2) for a dishwasher door (3 Figure 2) to improve drying performance (Pg. 9 Para. 3 – Pg. 10 Para. 1), the latch strike mechanism comprising:
a housing (13 Figure 2);
a stationary striker frame (linear track guiding striker 5, Figure 4) projecting from the housing and engageable (via movable striker 5) with a door latch (4 Figure 2);
a moveable striker (5 Figure 2) slideably engaged with the stationary striker frame (slideable at least between positions of Figures 2 and 5), the moveable striker including two detents along a length of the moveable striker (14 Figure 2 and 21 Figure 5); and
a release plate (9 Figure 2) pivotable (between positions shown Figure 2 and Figure 5) out of a sliding plane of the moveable striker (Figures 2 and 5 that at least release plate portion 18 pivots in a plane in front of the sliding plane of the moveable striker), wherein the moveable striker slides along the release plate between the two detents (Figures 2 and 5 show release plate portion 18 sliding along the length of moveable striker 5 between the two detents) and is configured to extend (Pg. 7 Para. 4) to maintain the dishwasher door in a partially open position (Figure 5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NOAH HOROWITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675