DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 26 August 2026, with respect to the prior art rejection of claim(s) 1 have been considered, and in response the same art is applied to the amended claims. Although the amendments further limit the claimed invention, the Examiner maintains that the cited prior art is reasonably interpreted as teaching each and every one of the recited limitations. Applicant’s arguments are solely drawn to the newly amended limitations, and as such the new grounds of rejection do not rely upon any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See the updated rejection(s) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merlet (FR-2997283-A1).
With regards to claim 1, Merlet discloses a latch strike mechanism (7 Figure 1) for a dishwasher door (3 Figure 1) to improve drying performance (Pg. 9 Para. 3 – Pg. 10 Para. 1), the latch strike mechanism comprising:
a housing (13 Figure 2);
an actuator (8 Figure 2) positioned within the housing and engageable with a release plate (9 Figure 2) upon completion of a wash cycle (Pg. 7 Para. 4), the actuator including a wedge (affixed to end of actuator shaft, best shown Figure 4) that engages a conical element (the element of release plate 9 engaged with the wedge of actuator 8 is substantially conical in shape, as shown Figure 4) of the release plate to pivot the release plate (at least between positions shown Figures 2 and 5); and
a moveable striker (5 Figure 2) slideably engaged with the housing (slideable at least between positions of Figures 2 and 5), the moveable striker configured to extend (Pg. 7 Para. 4) to maintain the dishwasher door in a partially open position (Figure 5), wherein the moveable striker is slideable within the housing (13 Figure 2) along a track (linear track guiding striker 5, Figure 4) and spring biased relative to the housing (Pg. 15 Para. 2) and wherein the release plate slides along a length of the moveable striker (Figures 2 and 5 show release plate portion 18 sliding along the length of moveable striker 5) between a fully retracted position (Figure 2) and a fully extended position (Figure 5), and wherein the release plate pivots relative to the moveable striker (Figures 2 and 5 show pivoting of the release plate 9 relative to the moveable striker 5) to permit engagement of the release plate with the moveable striker at two curbs (left and right end segments of the rack gear of moveable striker 5, Figure 4) along the moveable striker (Figures 2 and 5 show engagement of the release plate with the moveable striker at two curbs along the moveable striker).
With regards to claim 2, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the moveable striker (5 Figure 2) is configured to extend when a wash cycle of the dishwasher is complete (Pg. 7 Para. 5).
With regards to claim 5, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the actuator (8 Figure 2) prevents movement of the release plate (9 Figure 2) in the fully retracted position (Figure 2) and permits movement of the release plate in the fully extended position (Figure 5).
With regards to claim 6, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 5 wherein the movement of the release plate (9 Figure 2) releases a spring (22 Figure 2) to extend (at least between positions of Figures 2 and 5) the moveable striker (5 Figure 2) relative to the housing (13 Figure 2).
With regards to claim 7, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the release plate (9 Figure 2) is pivotable between the fully retracted position (Figure 2) and the fully extended position (Figure 5).
With regards to claim 8, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the actuator (8 Figure 2) is thermally actuated by a temperature of a drying cycle (the actuator is a thermally actuated wax actuator, Pg. 8 Para. 6).
With regards to claim 9, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the actuator (8 Figure 2) comprises one of a wax motor thermal actuator (the actuator is a thermally actuated wax actuator, Pg. 8 Para. 6), solenoid, motor, and shape memory alloy.
With regards to claim 10, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 further comprising a damper gear (25 Figure 2) positioned relative to a track (linear track guiding striker 5, Figure 4) of the moveable striker (5 Figure 2) and configured to (interpreted as a statement of intended use, the damper gear 25 is capable of performing the recited function) slow the extension of the moveable striker relative to the housing (13 Figure 2).
With regards to claim 11, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 further comprising an additional door position switch (30 Figure 2) configured to (interpreted as a statement of intended use) activate a tub light or maintain product safety (Pg. 17 Para. 4).
With regards to claim 12, Merlet discloses the latch strike mechanism of claim 1 wherein the actuator (8 Figure 2) is positioned to extend and retract perpendicularly with respect to a travel (between Figures 2 and 5) of the moveable striker (5 Figure 2).
With regards to claim 13, Merlet discloses a method (Pg. 7 Paras. 4-5) for operating a latch strike mechanism (7 Figure 1) for a dishwasher door (3 Figure 1) to improve drying performance (Pg. 9 Para. 3 – Pg. 10 Para. 1), method comprising:
providing a housing (13 Figure 2) with a moveable striker (5 Figure 2) engageable with a door latch (4 Figure 2);
sliding the moveable striker relative to the housing to extend the dishwasher door (Pg. 7 Para. 4) to maintain the dishwasher door in a partially open position (Figure 5), the moveable striker slideable between two detents (left and right end segments of the rack gear of moveable striker 5, Figure 4) in the moveable striker that directly engage the release plate with the moveable striker (Figures 2 and 5 show direct engagement of the release plate with the two detents in the moveable striker);
activating an actuator (8 Figure 2) upon completion of a wash cycle (Pg. 7 Para. 5), the actuator including a wedge (affixed to end of actuator shaft, best shown Figure 4); and
moving a release plate (9 Figure 2) with the actuator to an extended position (Figure 5), allowing translation of the moveable striker (at least between positions of Figures 2 and 5), allowing translation of the moveable striker, the release plate includes a conical element that engages with the wedge (the element of release plate 9 engaged with the wedge of actuator 8 is substantially conical in shape, as shown Figure 4) wherein the release plate slides along a length of the moveable striker (Figures 2 and 5 show release plate portion 18 sliding along the length of moveable striker 5), the release plate includes a conical element that engages with the wedge to pivot the release plate relative to the moveable striker (Figures 2 and 5 show pivoting of the release plate 9 relative to the moveable striker 5).
With regards to claim 15, Merlet discloses the method of claim 13 further comprising:
moving the release plate (9 Figure 2) upon activation of the actuator (8 Figure 2) to the extended position (Figure 5) from a retracted position (Figure 2), allowing translation of the moveable striker (5 Figure 2) between the two detents (left and right end segments of the rack gear of moveable striker 5, Figure 4).
With regards to claim 16, Merlet discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising:
releasing a spring (22 Figure 2) upon rotation of the release plate (9 Figure 2); and
extending the moveable striker (5 Figure 2) relative to the housing (13 Figure 2).
With regards to claim 17, Merlet discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising:
pivoting the release plate (9 Figure 2) upon activation of the actuator (8 Figure 2) to the extended position (Figure 5) from the retracted position (Figure 2).
With regards to claim 18, Merlet discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising:
sliding the release plate (9 Figure 2) upon activation of the actuator (8 Figure 2) to the extended position (Figure 5) from the retracted position (Figure 2).
With regards to claim 19, Merlet discloses the method of claim 13 further comprising: resetting the latch strike mechanism (7 Figure 2) by manually closing the door (3 Figure 2)(Pg. 16 Para. 5 – Pg. 17 Para. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NOAH HOROWITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3675