DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the amendments and arguments filed June 22nd, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 2-5 recite the term “PCIe” which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted throughout in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the use of the term “PCIe”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted throughout in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term “PCIe”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted throughout in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term PCIe, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited of record Hoare et al. (US Pub. No. 20250128736 A1), herein after Hoare, and as evidenced by Omori et al. (US Pub. No. 20200195538 A1), herein after Omori.
Regarding claim 1, Hoare teaches [a] vehicle control apparatus, comprising (Hoare: Para. 0015, teaching the invention is for an autonomous vehicle system): a communication device; a memory storing at least one instruction; and a controller operatively connected to the communication device and the memory, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to (Hoare: Para. 0118, teaching that the invention includes a CPU and memory programmed to perform the steps of the invention): perform a first peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) reset and a first link-up for PCIe communication between target devices, using the communication device (Hoare: Para. 0043, teaching restarting a communication connection between components in response to a detected failure condition; and Para. 0053, teaching that the communication link may be PCIe based); determine a PCIe parameter, based on at least one of a communication speed between the target devices, abnormal information, whether a fault is identified, or real-time temperatures of the target devices, or any combination thereof (Hoare: Para. 0067, teaching that the restarted communication connection monitored for abnormalities such as failure conditions that are not resolved with a simple restart); perform a second PCIe reset for the target devices, in response that the controller concludes that a PCIe reset trigger is generated; and perform a second link-up between the target devices based on the determined PCIe parameter, in response that the second PCIe reset is completed (Hoare: Para. 0069, teaching that if simpler communication connection restarting is not sufficient to resolve a failure condition then the invention escalates to more extreme restarting such as a full stack restart process that shuts down and re-initializes the entire stack associated with the failure condition), wherein the controller determines that the target devices enter a reset safety state, in response that the controller identifies that a… state of the vehicle control apparatus switches from OFF to ON (Hoare: Para. 0039, teaching a recovery process controller that controls the restarting operations; Para. 0069, teaching that the restart process shuts down the impacted connection and re-initializes it; and Para. 0074, teaching that after the restart process it is determined if the communication connection's failure is resolved and, if so, resuming routine operations).
Hoare is silent to the reset of the communication node of the vehicle can include a reset of the power state of the node, however this feature is well known in the art as evidenced by Omori which teaches a recovery process for a communication node that is experiencing abnormalities includes a reset of the power supply to the communication node (Omori: Para. 0050) for the benefit of resolving errors that cannot be solved with just a software reset.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to include in the restart process of the communication nodes from Hoare an option for a full power restart, as taught by Omori, for the benefit of resolving errors that cannot be solved with just a software reset.
Regarding claim 4, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 1, and Hoare goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: determine that the PCIe reset trigger is generated, in response that the controller identifies that a power state of the vehicle control apparatus switches from OFF to ON (Hoare: Para. 0039, teaching a recovery process controller that controls the restarting operations; Para. 0069, teaching that the restart process shuts down the impacted connection and re-initializes it; and Para. 0074, teaching that after the restart process it is determined if the communication connection's failure is resolved and, if so, resuming routine operations).
Regarding claim 5, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 1, and Hoare goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: monitor whether the abnormal information related to communication performance while performing the PCIe communication between the target devices is identified, in response that the first link-up is completed (Hoare: Para. 0042, teaching that a degraded state of the AV and its system is detected and identifying the source of failure to be caused by the degraded state); and determine the PCIe parameter based on the abnormal information, in response that the abnormal information is identified (Hoare: Para. 0040, teaching that the type of failure that triggered a malfunction in the communication connections is determined is identified).
Regarding claim 11, Hoare teaches [a] vehicle control method, comprising (Hoare: Para. 0015, teaching the invention is for an autonomous vehicle system): performing, by a controller, a first peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) reset and a first link-up for PCIe communication between target devices, using a communication device operatively connected to the controller (Hoare: Para. 0043, teaching restarting a communication connection between components in response to a detected failure condition; and Para. 0053, teaching that the communication link may be PCIe based); determining, by the controller, a PCIe parameter, based on at least one of a communication speed between the target devices, abnormal information, whether a fault is identified, or real-time temperatures of the target devices, or any combination thereof (Hoare: Para. 0067, teaching that the restarted communication connection monitored for abnormalities such as failure conditions that are not resolved with a simple restart); performing, by the controller, a second PCIe reset for the target devices, in response that the controller concludes that a PCIe reset trigger is generated; and performing, by the controller, a second link-up between the target devices based on the determined PCIe parameter, in response that the second PCIe reset is completed (Hoare: Para. 0069, teaching that if simpler communication connection restarting is not sufficient to resolve a failure condition then the invention escalates to more extreme restarting such as a full stack restart process that shuts down and re-initializes the entire stack associated with the failure condition); and determining, by the controller, that the target devices enter a reset safety state, in response that the controller identifies that a… state of the vehicle control apparatus switches from OFF to ON (Hoare: Para. 0039, teaching a recovery process controller that controls the restarting operations; Para. 0069, teaching that the restart process shuts down the impacted connection and re-initializes it; and Para. 0074, teaching that after the restart process it is determined if the communication connection's failure is resolved and, if so, resuming routine operations).
Hoare is silent to the reset of the communication node of the vehicle can include a reset of the power state of the node, however this feature is well known in the art as evidenced by Omori which teaches a recovery process for a communication node that is experiencing abnormalities includes a reset of the power supply to the communication node (Omori: Para. 0050) for the benefit of resolving errors that cannot be solved with just a software reset.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to include in the restart process of the communication nodes from Hoare an option for a full power restart, as taught by Omori, for the benefit of resolving errors that cannot be solved with just a software reset.
Regarding claim 14, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 1, and Hoare goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle control method of claim 11, further including: determining, by the controller, that the PCIe reset trigger is generated, in response that the controller identifies that a power state of the vehicle control apparatus switches from OFF to ON (Hoare: Para. 0039, teaching a recovery process controller that controls the restarting operations; Para. 0069, teaching that the restart process shuts down the impacted connection and re-initializes it; and Para. 0074, teaching that after the restart process it is determined if the communication connection's failure is resolved and, if so, resuming routine operations).
Regarding claim 15, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 1, and Hoare goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle control method of claim 11, further including: monitoring whether the abnormal information related to communication performance while performing the PCIe communication between the target devices is identified, in response that the first link-up is completed (Hoare: Para. 0042, teaching that a degraded state of the AV and its system is detected and identifying the source of failure to be caused by the degraded state); and determining, by the controller, the PCIe parameter based on the abnormal information, in response that the abnormal information is identified (Hoare: Para. 0040, teaching that the type of failure that triggered a malfunction in the communication connections is determined is identified).
Claims 2, 3, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoare as evidenced by Omori as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of previously cited of record Yamashita; Noritaka (US Pub. No. 20220250655 A1), herein after Yamashita.
Regarding claim 2, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 1, however they are silent to [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: monitor whether the target devices enter the reset safety state, in response that the controller identifies that the communication speed between the target devices is less than a predetermined speed; and determine the PCIe parameter based on the communication speed, in response that the controller identifies that the target devices enter the reset safety state.
In a similar field, Yamashita teaches [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: monitor whether the target devices enter the reset safety state, in response that the controller identifies that the communication speed between the target devices is less than a predetermined speed (Yamashita: Para. 0024, teaching detecting a state of the communication links in a system that monitors parameters such as communication speed; and Para. 0029, teaching that the communication speed is monitored for if it is decreasing below the optimal speed); and determine the PCIe parameter based on the communication speed, in response that the controller identifies that the target devices enter the reset safety state (Yamashita: Para. 0031, teaching determining that the communication speed is reduced and causing functions of the communication units to be manipulated to try to regain the communication speed that was lost; and Para. 0033, teaching that the communication units may also be restarted or the processes associated with the system may be restarted as part of the response to the communication status) for the benefit of maintaining optimal operations of the communication systems.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the communication connection failure detection and restarting based on the detection of the failure from Hoare as evidenced by Omori to include monitoring the connection speed for degraded performance, as taught by Yamashita, for the benefit of maintaining optimal operations of the communication systems.
Regarding claim 3, Hoare, Omori, and Yamashita remain as applied as in claim 2, and Hoare goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: control a host vehicle using one of the target devices by the controller (Hoare: Para. 0056, teaching that during or before the restarting of the communication connections the autonomous vehicle is controlled to reach a safe state to perform the restarting); control the host vehicle using the target devices without using the PCIe communication by the controller (Hoare: Para. 0053, teaching that the main embodiment of the invention has communications used to control the vehicle to be shared memory-based transport but it may also be applicable to PCIe based connections); or determine that the target devices enter the reset safety state, in response that the controller identifies that a time required to perform a reset for the target devices, in a situation in which the controller controls the host vehicle using the target devices based on the PCIe communication, is less than or equal to a predetermined time (Hoare: Para. 0056, teaching that during or before the restarting of the communication connections the autonomous vehicle is controlled to reach a safe state to perform the restarting; and Para. 0058, teaching that the invention determines a timeout duration that a restart must be completed by).
Regarding claim 12, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 11, however they are silent to [t]he vehicle control method of claim 11, further including: monitoring, by the controller, whether the target devices enter the reset safety state, in response that the controller identifies that the communication speed between the target devices is less than a predetermined speed; and determining, by the controller, the PCIe parameter based on the communication speed, in response that the controller identifies that the target devices enter the reset safety state.
In a similar field, Yamashita teaches [t]he vehicle control method of claim 11, further including: monitoring, by the controller, whether the target devices enter the reset safety state, in response that the controller identifies that the communication speed between the target devices is less than a predetermined speed (Yamashita: Para. 0024, teaching detecting a state of the communication links in a system that monitors parameters such as communication speed; and Para. 0029, teaching that the communication speed is monitored for if it is decreasing below the optimal speed); and determining, by the controller, the PCIe parameter based on the communication speed, in response that the controller identifies that the target devices enter the reset safety state (Yamashita: Para. 0031, teaching determining that the communication speed is reduced and causing functions of the communication units to be manipulated to try to regain the communication speed that was lost; and Para. 0033, teaching that the communication units may also be restarted or the processes associated with the system may be restarted as part of the response to the communication status) for the benefit of maintaining optimal operations of the communication systems.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the communication connection failure detection and restarting based on the detection of the failure from Hoare as evidenced by Omori to include monitoring the connection speed for degraded performance, as taught by Yamashita, for the benefit of maintaining optimal operations of the communication systems.
Regarding claim 13, Hoare, Omori, and Yamashita remain as applied as in claim 12, and Hoare goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle control method of claim 12, further including: controlling, by the controller, a host vehicle using one of the target devices (Hoare: Para. 0056, teaching that during or before the restarting of the communication connections the autonomous vehicle is controlled to reach a safe state to perform the restarting); controlling, by the controller, the host vehicle using the target devices without using the PCIe communication (Hoare: Para. 0053, teaching that the main embodiment of the invention has communications used to control the vehicle to be shared memory-based transport but it may also be applicable to PCIe based connections); or determining, by the controller, that the target devices enter the reset safety state, in response that the controller identifies that a time required to perform a reset for the target devices, in a situation in which the controller controls the host vehicle using the target devices based on the PCIe communication, is less than or equal to a predetermined time (Hoare: Para. 0056, teaching that during or before the restarting of the communication connections the autonomous vehicle is controlled to reach a safe state to perform the restarting; and Para. 0058, teaching that the invention determines a timeout duration that a restart must be completed by).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoare as evidenced by Omori as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, in further view of Yamashita and further in view of previously cited of record Pethe et al. (US Pub. No. 20160267048), herein after Pethe.
Regarding claim 6, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 5, however they are silent to [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: determine that the abnormal information is identified, in response that the controller concludes that the communication speed is less than a first speed according to the first link-up or that the PCIe communication does not meet a link training & status state machine (LTSSM) according to the first link-up.
In a similar field, Yamashita teaches [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: determine that the abnormal information is identified, in response that the controller concludes that the communication speed is less than a first speed according to the first link-up (Yamashita: Para. 0024, teaching detecting a state of the communication links in a system that monitors parameters such as communication speed; and Para. 0029, teaching that the communication speed is monitored for if it is decreasing below the optimal speed) for the benefit of maintaining optimal operations of the communication systems.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the communication connection failure detection and restarting based on the detection of the failure from Hoare as evidenced by Omori to include monitoring the connection speed for degraded performance, as taught by Yamashita, for the benefit of maintaining optimal operations of the communication systems.
They are silent to the controller concludes… that the PCIe communication does not meet a link training & status state machine (LTSSM) according to the first link-up.
In a similar field, Pethe teaches the controller concludes… that the PCIe communication does not meet a link training & status state machine (LTSSM) according to the first link-up (Pethe: Claim 3, teaching determining that an error occurred in a link training status and state machine (LTSSM) logic for a link is encountered) for the benefit of detecting and correcting errors associated with the connection.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the communication connection failure condition from Hoare as evidenced by Omori in view of Yamashita to also consider an error in a link training status and state machine (LTSSM) logic for a link as a failure condition, as taught by Pethe, for the benefit of detecting and correcting errors associated with the connection.
Regarding claim 16, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 15, however they are silent to [t]he vehicle control method of claim 15, further including: determining, by the controller, that the abnormal information is identified, in response that the controller concludes that the communication speed is less than a first speed according to the first link-up or that the PCIe communication does not meet a link training & status state machine (LTSSM) according to the first link-up.
In a similar field, Yamashita teaches [t]he vehicle control method of claim 15, further including: determining, by the controller, that the abnormal information is identified, in response that the controller concludes that the communication speed is less than a first speed according to the first link-up (Yamashita: Para. 0024, teaching detecting a state of the communication links in a system that monitors parameters such as communication speed; and Para. 0029, teaching that the communication speed is monitored for if it is decreasing below the optimal speed) for the benefit of maintaining optimal operations of the communication systems.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the communication connection failure detection and restarting based on the detection of the failure from Hoare as evidenced by Omori to include monitoring the connection speed for degraded performance, as taught by Yamashita, for the benefit of maintaining optimal operations of the communication systems.
They are silent to the controller concludes… that the PCIe communication does not meet a link training & status state machine (LTSSM) according to the first link-up.
In a similar field, Pethe teaches the controller concludes… that the PCIe communication does not meet a link training & status state machine (LTSSM) according to the first link-up (Pethe: Claim 3, teaching determining that an error occurred in a link training status and state machine (LTSSM) logic for a link is encountered) for the benefit of detecting and correcting errors associated with the connection.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the communication connection failure condition from Hoare as evidenced by Omori in view of Yamashita to also consider an error in a link training status and state machine (LTSSM) logic for a link as a failure condition, as taught by Pethe, for the benefit of detecting and correcting errors associated with the connection.
Claims 7, 8, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoare as evidenced by Omori as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of previously cited of record Tung; Sheng-Ya (US Pub. No. 20230229619 A1), herein after Tung.
Regarding claim 7, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 1, and Hoare goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: monitor whether the fault is identified while performing the PCIe communication, in response that the controller concludes… that the abnormal information is not identified (Hoare: Para. 0058, teaching that a fast restart approach is implemented when it is detected that the connection is failing without first determining what the failure condition is); determine whether the fault is included in a recoverable range, in response that the fault is identified; monitor whether the target devices enter the reset safety state, in response that the fault is included in the recoverable range (Hoare: Para. 0060, teaching that part of a subsystem is restarted rather than the full stack when it is determined that the failure condition only affects the capability of a few nodes of the subsystem); and determine the PCIe parameter based on information related to the fault, in response that the controller identifies that the target devices enter the reset safety state (Hoare: Para. 0062, teaching that the restarted nodes are analyzed for if the restart resolved the failure condition and if not escalating the restart option accordingly).
They are silent to the controller concludes that the communication speed is greater than or equal to a predetermined speed.
In a similar field, Tung teaches a controller for monitoring a PCIe connection which concludes that the communication speed is greater than or equal to a predetermined speed (Tung: Para. 0006, teaching a PCIe speed-adjusting method that causes a communication system to switch between PCIe connections based on a monitored the current speed of the active PCIe connection and a noise level threshold and a current data-rate requirement; and Para. 0037, 0046, and 0048, teaching a process where the current PCIe speed is compared to a noise level threshold and a current data-rate requirement, where if the current PCIe speed is above the current data-rate requirement and below the noise level threshold the system maintains the current PCIe speed) for the benefit of maintaining optimal performance while reducing degradation of the link connections.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the monitoring of a communication connection for failure conditions from Hoare as evidenced by Omori to also monitor the speed of the connections and if they are at or above the desired speed, as taught by Tung, for the benefit of maintaining optimal performance while reducing degradation of the link connections.
Regarding claim 8, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 1, and Hoare goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: monitor whether the fault is identified while performing the PCIe communication, in response that the controller concludes… that the abnormal information is not identified (Hoare: Para. 0058, teaching that a fast restart approach is implemented when it is detected that the connection is failing without first determining what the failure condition is); determine whether the fault is included in a recoverable range, in response that the fault is identified (Hoare: Para. 0060, teaching that part of a subsystem is restarted rather than the full stack when it is determined that the failure condition only affects the capability of a few nodes of the subsystem); and identify the fault as a permanent fault and store information related to the fault in the memory, in response that the fault is not included in the recoverable range (Hoare: Para. 0067, teaching that the restarted communication connection monitored for abnormalities such as failure conditions that are not resolved with a simple restart such as physical failures in the hardware).
They are silent to the controller concludes that the communication speed is greater than or equal to a predetermined speed.
In a similar field, Tung teaches a controller for monitoring a PCIe connection which concludes that the communication speed is greater than or equal to a predetermined speed (Tung: Para. 0006, teaching a PCIe speed-adjusting method that causes a communication system to switch between PCIe connections based on a monitored the current speed of the active PCIe connection and a noise level threshold and a current data-rate requirement; and Para. 0037, 0046, and 0048, teaching a process where the current PCIe speed is compared to a noise level threshold and a current data-rate requirement, where if the current PCIe speed is above the current data-rate requirement and below the noise level threshold the system maintains the current PCIe speed) for the benefit of maintaining optimal performance while reducing degradation of the link connections.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the monitoring of a communication connection for failure conditions from Hoare as evidenced by Omori to also monitor the speed of the connections and if they are at or above the desired speed, as taught by Tung, for the benefit of maintaining optimal performance while reducing degradation of the link connections.
Regarding claim 17, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 11, and Hoare goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle control method of claim 11, further including: monitoring, by the controller, whether the fault is identified while performing the PCIe communication, in response that the controller concludes… that the abnormal information is not identified (Hoare: Para. 0058, teaching that a fast restart approach is implemented when it is detected that the connection is failing without first determining what the failure condition is); determining, by the controller, whether the fault is included in a recoverable range, in response that the fault is identified; monitoring whether the target devices enter the reset safety state, in response that the fault is included in the recoverable range (Hoare: Para. 0060, teaching that part of a subsystem is restarted rather than the full stack when it is determined that the failure condition only affects the capability of a few nodes of the subsystem); and determining, by the controller, the PCIe parameter based on information related to the fault, in response that the controller identifies that the target devices enter the reset safety state (Hoare: Para. 0062, teaching that the restarted nodes are analyzed for if the restart resolved the failure condition and if not escalating the restart option accordingly).
They are silent to the controller concludes that the communication speed is greater than or equal to a predetermined speed.
In a similar field, Tung teaches a controller for monitoring a PCIe connection which concludes that the communication speed is greater than or equal to a predetermined speed (Tung: Para. 0006, teaching a PCIe speed-adjusting method that causes a communication system to switch between PCIe connections based on a monitored the current speed of the active PCIe connection and a noise level threshold and a current data-rate requirement; and Para. 0037, 0046, and 0048, teaching a process where the current PCIe speed is compared to a noise level threshold and a current data-rate requirement, where if the current PCIe speed is above the current data-rate requirement and below the noise level threshold the system maintains the current PCIe speed) for the benefit of maintaining optimal performance while reducing degradation of the link connections.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the monitoring of a communication connection for failure conditions from Hoare as evidenced by Omori to also monitor the speed of the connections and if they are at or above the desired speed, as taught by Tung, for the benefit of maintaining optimal performance while reducing degradation of the link connections.
Regarding claim 18, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 11, and Hoare goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle control method of claim 11, further including: monitoring, by the controller, whether the fault is identified while performing the PCIe communication, in response that the controller concludes… that the abnormal information is not identified (Hoare: Para. 0058, teaching that a fast restart approach is implemented when it is detected that the connection is failing without first determining what the failure condition is); determining, by the controller, whether the fault is included in a recoverable range, in response that the fault is identified (Hoare: Para. 0060, teaching that part of a subsystem is restarted rather than the full stack when it is determined that the failure condition only affects the capability of a few nodes of the subsystem); and identifying, by the controller, the fault as a permanent fault and storing, by the controller, information related to the fault in a memory, in response that the fault is not included in the recoverable range (Hoare: Para. 0067, teaching that the restarted communication connection monitored for abnormalities such as failure conditions that are not resolved with a simple restart such as physical failures in the hardware).
They are silent to the controller concludes that the communication speed is greater than or equal to a predetermined speed.
In a similar field, Tung teaches a controller for monitoring a PCIe connection which concludes that the communication speed is greater than or equal to a predetermined speed (Tung: Para. 0006, teaching a PCIe speed-adjusting method that causes a communication system to switch between PCIe connections based on a monitored the current speed of the active PCIe connection and a noise level threshold and a current data-rate requirement; and Para. 0037, 0046, and 0048, teaching a process where the current PCIe speed is compared to a noise level threshold and a current data-rate requirement, where if the current PCIe speed is above the current data-rate requirement and below the noise level threshold the system maintains the current PCIe speed) for the benefit of maintaining optimal performance while reducing degradation of the link connections.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the monitoring of a communication connection for failure conditions from Hoare as evidenced by Omori to also monitor the speed of the connections and if they are at or above the desired speed, as taught by Tung, for the benefit of maintaining optimal performance while reducing degradation of the link connections.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoare as evidenced by Omori in view of Tung as applied to claims 7 and 17 above, and further in view of previously cited of record Choi et al. (US Pub. No. 20230004320 A1), herein after Choi.
Regarding claim 9, Hoare, Omori, and Tung remain as applied as in claim 7, and Hoare goes on to further teach determine that the fault is included in the recoverable range (Hoare: Para. 0060, teaching that part of a subsystem is restarted rather than the full stack when it is determined that the failure condition only affects the capability of a few nodes of the subsystem).
They are silent to [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 7, further including: a sensor device operatively connected to the controller, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: identify at least one of an external temperature or impedance of the target devices, or any combination thereof, using the sensor device; and in response that the controller identifies that the fault occurs due to the external temperature or the impedance or in response that the controller identifies that the fault includes a communication delay due to dependency between the target devices.
In a similar field, Choi teaches [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 7, further including: a sensor device operatively connected to the controller (Choi: Para. 0107, teaching a temperature sensor for monitoring the temperature of a storage device), wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: identify at least one of an external temperature or impedance of the target devices, or any combination thereof, using the sensor device (Choi: Para. 0138, teaching monitoring for if an abnormality occurs in a communication link based on the operating temperature); and in response that the controller identifies that the fault occurs due to the external temperature or the impedance or in response that the controller identifies that the fault includes a communication delay due to dependency between the target devices (Choi: Para. 0138, teaching monitoring for if an abnormality occurs in a communication link such as a power up or reset of the link not completing in a predetermined time interval based on the operating temperature) for the benefit of reducing error caused by thermal events.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the communication connection failure condition monitoring from Hoare as evidenced by Omori in view of Tung to monitor and consider excessive temperatures as a failure condition, as taught by Choi, for the benefit of reducing error caused by thermal events.
Regarding claim 19, Hoare, Omori, and Tung remain as applied as in claim 7, and Hoare goes on to further teach determining, by the controller, that the fault is included in the recoverable range (Hoare: Para. 0060, teaching that part of a subsystem is restarted rather than the full stack when it is determined that the failure condition only affects the capability of a few nodes of the subsystem).
They are silent to [t]he vehicle control method of claim 17, further including: identifying at least one of an external temperature or impedance of the target devices, or any combination thereof, using a sensor device operatively connected to the controller; and in response that the controller identifies that the fault occurs due to the external temperature or the impedance or in response that the controller identifies that the fault includes a communication delay due to dependency between the target devices.
In a similar field, Choi teaches [t]he vehicle control method of claim 17, further including: identifying at least one of an external temperature or impedance of the target devices, or any combination thereof, using a sensor device operatively connected to the controller (Choi: Para. 0107, teaching a temperature sensor for monitoring the temperature of a storage device; and Para. 0138, teaching monitoring for if an abnormality occurs in a communication link based on the operating temperature); and in response that the controller identifies that the fault occurs due to the external temperature or the impedance or in response that the controller identifies that the fault includes a communication delay due to dependency between the target devices (Choi: Para. 0138, teaching monitoring for if an abnormality occurs in a communication link such as a power up or reset of the link not completing in a predetermined time interval based on the operating temperature) for the benefit of reducing error caused by thermal events.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the communication connection failure condition monitoring from Hoare as evidenced by Omori in view of Tung to monitor and consider excessive temperatures as a failure condition, as taught by Choi, for the benefit of reducing error caused by thermal events.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoare as evidenced by Omori as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Choi.
Regarding claim 10, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 1, however they are silent to [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, further including: a sensor device operatively connected to the controller, wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: obtain the real-time temperature of each of the target devices, using the sensor device; and determine the PCIe parameter, based on a result of comparing the real-time temperatures of the target devices.
In a similar field, Choi teaches [t]he vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, further including: a sensor device operatively connected to the controller (Choi: Para. 0107, teaching a temperature sensor for monitoring the temperature of a storage device), wherein the at least one instruction executed by the controller is further configured to, cause the vehicle control apparatus to: obtain the real-time temperature of each of the target devices, using the sensor device (Choi: Para. 0138, teaching monitoring for if an abnormality occurs in a communication link based on the operating temperature); and determine the PCIe parameter, based on a result of comparing the real-time temperatures of the target devices (Choi: Para. 0138, teaching monitoring for if an abnormality occurs in a communication link such as a power up or reset of the link not completing in a predetermined time interval based on the operating temperature) for the benefit of reducing error caused by thermal events.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the communication connection failure condition monitoring from Hoare as evidenced by Omori to monitor and consider excessive temperatures as a failure condition, as taught by Choi, for the benefit of reducing error caused by thermal events.
Regarding claim 20, Hoare and Omori remain as applied as in claim 1, however they are silent to [t]he vehicle control method of claim 11, further including: obtaining, by the controller, the real-time temperature of each of the target devices, using a sensor device operatively connected to the controller; and determining the PCIe parameter, based on a result of comparing the real-time temperatures of the target devices.
In a similar field, Choi teaches [t]he vehicle control method of claim 11, further including: obtaining, by the controller, the real-time temperature of each of the target devices, using a sensor device operatively connected to the controller (Choi: Para. 0138, teaching actively monitoring for if an abnormality occurs in a communication link based on the operating temperature); and determining the PCIe parameter, based on a result of comparing the real-time temperatures of the target devices (Choi: Para. 0138, teaching monitoring for if an abnormality occurs in a communication link such as a power up or reset of the link not completing in a predetermined time interval based on the operating temperature) for the benefit of reducing error caused by thermal events.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the communication connection failure condition monitoring from Hoare as evidenced by Omori to monitor and consider excessive temperatures as a failure condition, as taught by Choi, for the benefit of reducing error caused by thermal events.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 22nd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments (see page 9 line 16 through page 10 line 4, filed June 22nd, 2026) against the objections to the claims, specification, abstract, and drawings have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends (see page 9 line 16 through page 10 line 4, filed June 22nd, 2026) against the term “PCIe” being trademarked as the term “PCIe” is an industry-standard technological specification standardized by PCI-SIG (PCI Special Interest Group). The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that PCIE is an active trademark in the US that “consists of standard characters without claim to any particular font style, size, or color” as can be seen in the trademark database (https://tsdr.uspto.gov/#caseNumber=78398888&caseSearchType=US_APPLICATION&caseType=DEFAULT&searchType=statusSearch). The examiner further notes that the owner of this trademark is the PCI-SIG (PCI Special Interest Group) that applicant has identified.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed June 22nd, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 11, 14, and 15 under 102(a)(2) in view of Hoare have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 103 in view of Hoare as evidenced by Omori.
Applicant contends (see page 10 line 18 through page 13 line 14, filed June 22nd, 2026) that the prior art of Hoare is deficient in teaching that the controller determines “that the target devices enter a reset safety state, in response that the controller identifies that a power state of the vehicle control apparatus switches from OFF to ON” as the restarts of Hoare are software resets while the applicant’s invention determines the entering of a reset safety state in response to a physical restart of the power. The examiner respectfully agrees. The examiner notes that Hoare describes in paragraph 0033 the restart process “described herein can address failure conditions experienced by the AV that may lead to degraded operational states of the AV. Embodiments herein provide for restarting components of the AV stack based on various conditions. Embodiments herein provide for a set of recovery processes that can be applied by the AV in order of increasing disruptiveness to the overall AV system. In embodiments herein, the set of recovery processes may include node communication connection (e.g., inter-process communication (IPC) connection) restart, individual node restart, subsystem restart (including different levels of subsystem restart, such as starting with smaller subsystems and moving up to larger subsystems), and full stack restart” while paragraph 0067 of Hoare describe “In one embodiment, a full stack restart may be utilized as a “last-resort” recovery process when prior less-intrusive restart operations have failed to resolve a failure condition being experienced by the AV” which shows that a ramping up of disruptive restart processes are considered as part of the invention of Hoare. As such, the examiner notes that, while the restart processes of Hoare are directed towards the idea of resetting software, one ordinarily skilled in the art would be motivated to apply the invention of Hoare to further extend their restarting processes to even more disruptive procedures, such as the full power restart contemplated in Omori as cited above, in order to resolve any issues with the software that cannot be resolved otherwise.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663