Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 13-20 in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the earpiece" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the earpiece" in lines 3 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the earpiece" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by VOIT et al. (2016/0200044).
Regarding claim 13, VOIT et al. discloses a method for producing at least one
Earpiece [0037], the method comprising:
providing a cartridge comprising a transparent vial [0045], at least partially filled
with a curable liquid printing material [0032], [0046], a cap sealing the vial [0045] and at least one solid structure submerged in the liquid printing material ([0041], claim 16), inserting the cartridge into a printer configured for volumetric 3D printing [0029], providing the printer with data for the earpiece to be printed, determining a location of the submerged solid structure using optical means, printing the at least one earpiece around the at least one solid structure by volumetric 3D printing using the printer, extracting the at least one earpiece from the cartridge [0029].
Regarding claims 15-16, VOIT et al. discloses perforating the cap [0046] and post processing steps [0038].
Regarding claim 17, VOIT et al. discloses UV curing [0030].
Claim(s) 13-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GENTRY et al. (WO 2021/096873).
Regarding claims 13 and 20, GENTRY et al. discloses a method for producing at least one earpiece for a hearing instrument, the method comprising: providing a cartridge comprising a transparent vial [0047], at least partially filled with a curable liquid printing material ([0059], Fig.4-container 402), a cap sealing the vial and at least one solid structure submerged in the liquid printing material, inserting the cartridge into a printer configured for volumetric 3D printing (Fig.5), [0065], providing the printer with data (a computer-readable medium, claim 29) for the earpiece to be printed, determining a location of the submerged solid structure using optical means [0074], printing the at least one earpiece around the at least one solid structure by volumetric 3D printing using the printer (Fig.5, [0065]), extracting the at least one earpiece from the cartridge [0108].
Regarding claim 14, GENTRY et al. discloses radiating light beams [0063]-[0064].
Regarding claim 15, GENTRY et al. discloses removing the plug [0105], [0118].
Regarding claim 18, GENTRY et al. discloses removing the at least one earpiece [0089].
Regarding claim 19, GENTRY et al. discloses the at least one solid structure comprises a microphone [0092]-[0094].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a) SUN et al. (2018/0000570) discloses three-dimensional fabrication.
b) SCHMIDT (EP 4601320) discloses earpiece for a hearing device.
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742