DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2023/0047048) in view of OPPO (R1-2201228 – “Enhancements on SRS flexibility, coverage and capacity”).
Regarding claim 1: Liu discloses a method of transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) by an electronic device in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving configuration information including a first configuration for SRS resource sets (disclosed throughout; see step 1202 of Figure 12 and [0171], for example, which disclose that “the UE receives an SRS configuration” where “[o]ne or more SRS resource sets are configured with each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching in the SRS configuration”);
identifying, based on the first configuration, that a usage of the SRS resource sets is configured to be antenna switching (disclosed throughout; see step 1202 of Figure 12 and [0171], for example, which disclose that “the UE receives an SRS configuration” where “[o]ne or more SRS resource sets are configured with each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching in the SRS configuration”; the configuration indicates that the SRS resources in the SRS resource sets are “for antenna switching”; the UE receiving this configuration identifies that the usage of these SRS resource sets is for antenna switching; see also [0083], which indicates that SRS resource sets can be configured for “different purposes”, one of which is ”antenna switching”); and
transmitting the SRS, based on x antennas among y reception antennas of the electronic device (disclosed throughout; see [0086]-[0087], for example, which indicates that the terminology “xTyR” is used to indicate transmitting SRS with x antennas among y available antennas to receive signals; see also step 1203 of Figure 12, for example),
wherein y is a natural number equal to or greater than 6, and x is a natural number equal to or smaller than y (disclosed throughout; see the various “xTyR” examples; in particular, consider 4T6R and 4T8R described in [0106] and [0170], for example).
Liu does not disclose the limitations wherein a number of the SRS resource sets associated with the SRS transmission is determined based on whether capability information of the electronic device associated with a resource type of the SRS in a time domain is reported.
However, OPPO discloses, analogous art regarding enhancements to SRS flexibility, coverage, and capacity. OPPO further discloses near the end of section 3 (SRS antenna switching): “[f]or 4T8R, up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘semi-persistent’ and up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘periodic’ if the UE is not indicating a capability for [maximum 2 semi-persistent and maximum 1 periodic SRS resource sets], or up to two SRS resource sets configured with ‘semi-persistent’ and up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘periodic’ if the UE is indicating a capability for [maximum 2 semi-persistent and maximum 1 periodic SRS resource sets]”. That is, OPPO discloses configuring a different number of SRS resource sets depending on whether capability information associated with a resource type (semi-persistent or periodic) is reported. Specifically, for a semi-persistent resource type, if the UE “is not indicating a capability”, up to one resource set is configured and if the UE “is indicating a capability”, up to two SRS resource sets are configured. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu such that the number of SRS resource sets depends on whether capability information associated with a resource type (such as semi-persistent) is indicated/reported as suggested by OPPO. The rationale for doing so would have been to enhance SRS for additional antennas while still supporting legacy or older devices that do not support the new capability.
Regarding claim 7: Liu discloses an electronic device for transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) in a wireless communication system, the electronic device comprising:
memory storing one or more computer programs (see memory 204 of Figure 2, for example);
a transceiver (see transmitter 210 and/or receiver 212 of Figure 2, for example) configured to receive configuration information including a first configuration for SRS resource sets (disclosed throughout; see step 1202 of Figure 12 and [0171], for example, which disclose that “the UE receives an SRS configuration” where “[o]ne or more SRS resource sets are configured with each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching in the SRS configuration”); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver (see processor 202 of Figure 2, for example), wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to (see [0068]-[0070], for example):
identify, based on the first configuration, that a usage of the SRS resource sets is configured to be antenna switching (disclosed throughout; see step 1202 of Figure 12 and [0171], for example, which disclose that “the UE receives an SRS configuration” where “[o]ne or more SRS resource sets are configured with each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching in the SRS configuration”; the configuration indicates that the SRS resources in the SRS resource sets are “for antenna switching”; the UE receiving this configuration identifies that the usage of these SRS resource sets is for antenna switching; see also [0083], which indicates that SRS resource sets can be configured for “different purposes”, one of which is ”antenna switching”), and
transmit the SRS, based on x antennas among y reception antennas of the electronic device (disclosed throughout; see [0086]-[0087], for example, which indicates that the terminology “xTyR” is used to indicate transmitting SRS with x antennas among y available antennas to receive signals; see also step 1203 of Figure 12, for example),
wherein y is a natural number equal to or greater than 6, and x is a natural number equal to or smaller than y (disclosed throughout; see the various “xTyR” examples; in particular, consider 4T6R and 4T8R described in [0106] and [0170], for example).
Liu does not disclose the limitations wherein a number of the SRS resource sets associated with the SRS transmission is determined based on whether capability information of the electronic device associated with a resource type of the SRS in a time domain is reported.
However, OPPO discloses, analogous art regarding enhancements to SRS flexibility, coverage, and capacity. OPPO further discloses near the end of section 3 (SRS antenna switching): “[f]or 4T8R, up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘semi-persistent’ and up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘periodic’ if the UE is not indicating a capability for [maximum 2 semi-persistent and maximum 1 periodic SRS resource sets], or up to two SRS resource sets configured with ‘semi-persistent’ and up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘periodic’ if the UE is indicating a capability for [maximum 2 semi-persistent and maximum 1 periodic SRS resource sets]”. That is, OPPO discloses configuring a different number of SRS resource sets depending on whether capability information associated with a resource type (semi-persistent or periodic) is reported. Specifically, for a semi-persistent resource type, if the UE “is not indicating a capability”, up to one resource set is configured and if the UE “is indicating a capability”, up to two SRS resource sets are configured. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu such that the number of SRS resource sets depends on whether capability information associated with a resource type (such as semi-persistent) is indicated/reported as suggested by OPPO. The rationale for doing so would have been to enhance SRS for additional antennas while still supporting legacy or older devices that do not support the new capability.
Regarding claim 11: Liu discloses a method of receiving a sounding reference signal (SRS) by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to an electronic device, configuration information including a first configuration for SRS resource sets (disclosed throughout; see step 1202 of Figure 12 and [0171], for example, which disclose that “the UE receives an SRS configuration” where “[o]ne or more SRS resource sets are configured with each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching in the SRS configuration”; the UE receives the SRS configuration from a base station); and
receiving the SRS transmitted based on x antennas among y reception antennas of the electronic device (disclosed throughout; see [0086]-[0087], for example, which indicates that the terminology “xTyR” is used to indicate transmitting SRS with x antennas among y available antennas to receive signals; see also step 1203 of Figure 12, for example),
wherein a usage of the SRS resource sets is configured to be antenna switching, based on the first configuration (disclosed throughout; see step 1202 of Figure 12 and [0171], for example, which disclose that “the UE receives an SRS configuration” where “[o]ne or more SRS resource sets are configured with each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching in the SRS configuration”; the configuration indicates that the SRS resources in the SRS resource sets are “for antenna switching”; the UE receiving this configuration identifies that the usage of these SRS resource sets is for antenna switching; see also [0083], which indicates that SRS resource sets can be configured for “different purposes”, one of which is ”antenna switching”),
wherein y is a natural number equal to or greater than 6, and x is a natural number equal to or smaller than y (disclosed throughout; see the various “xTyR” examples; in particular, consider 4T6R and 4T8R described in [0106] and [0170], for example).
Liu does not disclose the limitations wherein a number of the SRS resource sets associated with the SRS transmission is determined based on whether capability information of the electronic device associated with a resource type of the SRS in a time domain is reported.
However, OPPO discloses, analogous art regarding enhancements to SRS flexibility, coverage, and capacity. OPPO further discloses near the end of section 3 (SRS antenna switching): “[f]or 4T8R, up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘semi-persistent’ and up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘periodic’ if the UE is not indicating a capability for [maximum 2 semi-persistent and maximum 1 periodic SRS resource sets], or up to two SRS resource sets configured with ‘semi-persistent’ and up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘periodic’ if the UE is indicating a capability for [maximum 2 semi-persistent and maximum 1 periodic SRS resource sets]”. That is, OPPO discloses configuring a different number of SRS resource sets depending on whether capability information associated with a resource type (semi-persistent or periodic) is reported. Specifically, for a semi-persistent resource type, if the UE “is not indicating a capability”, up to one resource set is configured and if the UE “is indicating a capability”, up to two SRS resource sets are configured. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu such that the number of SRS resource sets depends on whether capability information associated with a resource type (such as semi-persistent) is indicated/reported as suggested by OPPO. The rationale for doing so would have been to enhance SRS for additional antennas while still supporting legacy or older devices that do not support the new capability.
Regarding claim 15: Liu discloses a base station (BS) for receiving a sounding reference signal (SRS) in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising:
memory storing one or more computer programs (see memory 304 of Figure 3, for example);
a transceiver (see transmitter 310 and/or receiver 312 of Figure 3, for example) configured to transmit, to an electronic device, configuration information including a first configuration on SRS resource sets (disclosed throughout; see step 1202 of Figure 12 and [0171], for example, which disclose that “the UE receives an SRS configuration” where “[o]ne or more SRS resource sets are configured with each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching in the SRS configuration”; the UE receives the SRS configuration from a base station), and receive the SRS transmitted based on x antennas among y reception antennas of the electronic device (disclosed throughout; see [0086]-[0087], for example, which indicates that the terminology “xTyR” is used to indicate transmitting SRS with x antennas among y available antennas to receive signals; see also step 1203 of Figure 12, for example); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver (see processor 302 of Figure 3, for example),
wherein a usage of the SRS resource sets is configured to be antenna switching, based on the first configuration (disclosed throughout; see step 1202 of Figure 12 and [0171], for example, which disclose that “the UE receives an SRS configuration” where “[o]ne or more SRS resource sets are configured with each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching in the SRS configuration”; the configuration indicates that the SRS resources in the SRS resource sets are “for antenna switching”; the UE receiving this configuration identifies that the usage of these SRS resource sets is for antenna switching; see also [0083], which indicates that SRS resource sets can be configured for “different purposes”, one of which is ”antenna switching”),
wherein y is a natural number equal to or greater than 6, and x is a natural number equal to or smaller than y (disclosed throughout; see the various “xTyR” examples; in particular, consider 4T6R and 4T8R described in [0106] and [0170], for example).
Liu does not disclose the limitations wherein a number of the SRS resource sets associated with the SRS transmission is determined based on whether capability information of the electronic device associated with a resource type of the SRS in a time domain is reported.
However, OPPO discloses, analogous art regarding enhancements to SRS flexibility, coverage, and capacity. OPPO further discloses near the end of section 3 (SRS antenna switching): “[f]or 4T8R, up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘semi-persistent’ and up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘periodic’ if the UE is not indicating a capability for [maximum 2 semi-persistent and maximum 1 periodic SRS resource sets], or up to two SRS resource sets configured with ‘semi-persistent’ and up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘periodic’ if the UE is indicating a capability for [maximum 2 semi-persistent and maximum 1 periodic SRS resource sets]”. That is, OPPO discloses configuring a different number of SRS resource sets depending on whether capability information associated with a resource type (semi-persistent or periodic) is reported. Specifically, for a semi-persistent resource type, if the UE “is not indicating a capability”, up to one resource set is configured and if the UE “is indicating a capability”, up to two SRS resource sets are configured. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu such that the number of SRS resource sets depends on whether capability information associated with a resource type (such as semi-persistent) is indicated/reported as suggested by OPPO. The rationale for doing so would have been to enhance SRS for additional antennas while still supporting legacy or older devices that do not support the new capability.
Regarding claim 16: Liu discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors individually or collectively, cause an electronic device in a wireless communication system to perform operations, the operations comprising (disclosed throughout; processor 202 and memory 204 of Figure 2 and [0068]-[0070], for example):
receiving configuration information including a first configuration for SRS resource sets (disclosed throughout; see step 1202 of Figure 12 and [0171], for example, which disclose that “the UE receives an SRS configuration” where “[o]ne or more SRS resource sets are configured with each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching in the SRS configuration”);
identifying, based on the first configuration, that a usage of the SRS resource sets is configured to be antenna switching (disclosed throughout; see step 1202 of Figure 12 and [0171], for example, which disclose that “the UE receives an SRS configuration” where “[o]ne or more SRS resource sets are configured with each consisting of one or more SRS resources for antenna switching in the SRS configuration”; the configuration indicates that the SRS resources in the SRS resource sets are “for antenna switching”; the UE receiving this configuration identifies that the usage of these SRS resource sets is for antenna switching; see also [0083], which indicates that SRS resource sets can be configured for “different purposes”, one of which is ”antenna switching”); and
transmitting the SRS, based on x antennas among y reception antennas of the electronic device (disclosed throughout; see [0086]-[0087], for example, which indicates that the terminology “xTyR” is used to indicate transmitting SRS with x antennas among y available antennas to receive signals; see also step 1203 of Figure 12, for example),
wherein y is a natural number equal to or greater than 6, and x is a natural number equal to or smaller than y (disclosed throughout; see the various “xTyR” examples; in particular, consider 4T6R and 4T8R described in [0106] and [0170], for example).
Liu does not disclose the limitations wherein a number of the SRS resource sets associated with the SRS transmission is determined based on whether capability information of the electronic device associated with a resource type of the SRS in a time domain is reported.
However, OPPO discloses, analogous art regarding enhancements to SRS flexibility, coverage, and capacity. OPPO further discloses near the end of section 3 (SRS antenna switching): “[f]or 4T8R, up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘semi-persistent’ and up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘periodic’ if the UE is not indicating a capability for [maximum 2 semi-persistent and maximum 1 periodic SRS resource sets], or up to two SRS resource sets configured with ‘semi-persistent’ and up to one SRS resource set configured with ‘periodic’ if the UE is indicating a capability for [maximum 2 semi-persistent and maximum 1 periodic SRS resource sets]”. That is, OPPO discloses configuring a different number of SRS resource sets depending on whether capability information associated with a resource type (semi-persistent or periodic) is reported. Specifically, for a semi-persistent resource type, if the UE “is not indicating a capability”, up to one resource set is configured and if the UE “is indicating a capability”, up to two SRS resource sets are configured. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu such that the number of SRS resource sets depends on whether capability information associated with a resource type (such as semi-persistent) is indicated/reported as suggested by OPPO. The rationale for doing so would have been to enhance SRS for additional antennas while still supporting legacy or older devices that do not support the new capability.
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 17: Liu, modified, discloses the limitations wherein y is equal to 8 (disclosed throughout; see the various “xTyR” examples; in particular, consider 4T8R described in [0106] and [0170], for example), and wherein, in case that the capability information associated with a semi-persistent SRS resource type is reported, the number of the SRS resource sets is determined to be 2 (disclosed throughout; in the combination, when the capability is indicated/reported, the number of SRS resource sets can be up to two when the resource type is semi-persistent and thus, in one example, the number of resource sets is two; see OPPO near the end of section 3 as discussed in the combination above).
Regarding claims 3 and 18: Liu, modified, discloses the limitations wherein multiple SRS resource sets of a semi-persistent type are configured through radio resource control (RRC) signaling, based on the first configuration (disclosed throughout; see at least [0104] of Liu, which discloses that the SRS resource sets are configured “by RRC signaling”; as indicated above, in the combination of Liu and OPPO, multiple SRS resource sets (up to two) can be configured with a semi-persistent resource type), and wherein one of the multiple SRS resource sets is activated through medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling (disclosed throughout; see [0079] of Liu, for example, which discloses that “[a] semi-persistent SRS has a configured periodicity and slot offset…actual SRS transmission according to the configured periodicity and slot offset is activated and deactivated by means of MAC CE signaling”).
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 19: Liu, modified, discloses the limitations of transmitting information on an SRS antenna switching capability supported by the electronic device (disclosed throughout; see the abstract and [0170] of Liu, which disclose that the “UE reports its capability indicating the supported SRS transmission port switching”; as indicated throughout (see [0146], for example), the SRS ports are associated with antenna ports and thus the capability is an SRS antenna switching capability supported by the UE), wherein the information comprises a parameter indicating that antenna switching in case that y is equal to 6 or 8 is supported (disclosed throughout; see the various “xTyR” examples; in particular, consider 4T6R and 4T8R described in [0106] and [0170], for example).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 14, and 20: Liu, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claims 1, 7, 11, and 16. Liu further discloses the limitation wherein multiple SRS resources included in one SRS resource set are transmitted over multiple slots (disclosed throughout; see [0027], for example, which discloses “a total of 4 SRS resources are transmitted in different symbols of two different slots”).
Liu does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 5, 10, 14, and 20 wherein x is equal to 8, wherein a subcarrier spacing at which the SRS is transmitted is 480 kHz or 960 kHz. However, Liu discloses progressively increasing the values of x and y in the configuration xTyR. For example, see the capabilities listed in [0170] (1T6R, 2T6R, 4T6R, 1T8R, 2T8R and 4T8R). Further, Liu discloses an increasing subcarrier spacing that doubles with each increase (see Table 2, which discloses SCS values of 15 kHz, 30 kHz, 60 kHz, and 120 kHz). To the extent that Liu does not explicitly disclose x equal to 8 and subcarrier spacing at which the SRS is transmitted being 480 kHz or 960 kHz, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to continue improving the system by utilizing more antennas and larger subcarrier spacing in a manner similar to how they had already been increased in Liu. The rationale for doing so would have been to increase data rates, improve spectral efficiency and lower latency.
Regarding claim 8: Liu, modified, discloses the limitations wherein, in case that the capability information associated with a semi-persistent SRS resource type is reported, the number of the SRS resource sets is determined to be 2 (disclosed throughout; in the combination, when the capability is indicated/reported, the number of SRS resource sets can be up to two when the resource type is semi-persistent and thus, in one example, the number of resource sets is two; see OPPO near the end of section 3 as discussed in the combination above), wherein two SRS resource sets of a semi-persistent type are configured through radio resource control (RRC) signaling, based on the first configuration (disclosed throughout; see at least [0104] of Liu, which discloses that the SRS resource sets are configured “by RRC signaling”; as indicated above, in the combination of Liu and OPPO, multiple SRS resource sets (up to two) can be configured with a semi-persistent resource type), and wherein one of multiple SRS resource sets is activated through medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling (disclosed throughout; see [0079] of Liu, for example, which discloses that “[a] semi-persistent SRS has a configured periodicity and slot offset…actual SRS transmission according to the configured periodicity and slot offset is activated and deactivated by means of MAC CE signaling”).
Regarding claim 13: Liu, modified, discloses the limitations of receiving information on an SRS antenna switching capability supported by the electronic device (disclosed throughout; see the abstract and [0170] of Liu, which disclose that the “UE reports its capability indicating the supported SRS transmission port switching”; as indicated throughout (see [0146], for example), the SRS ports are associated with antenna ports and thus the capability is an SRS antenna switching capability supported by the UE), wherein the information comprises a parameter indicating that antenna switching in case that y is equal to 6 or 8 is supported (disclosed throughout; see the various “xTyR” examples; in particular, consider 4T6R and 4T8R described in [0106] and [0170], for example), wherein multiple SRS resource sets of a semi-persistent type are configured through radio resource control (RRC) signaling, based on the first configuration (disclosed throughout; see at least [0104] of Liu, which discloses that the SRS resource sets are configured “by RRC signaling”; as indicated above, in the combination of Liu and OPPO, multiple SRS resource sets (up to two) can be configured with a semi-persistent resource type), and wherein one of the multiple SRS resource sets is activated through medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling (disclosed throughout; see [0079] of Liu, for example, which discloses that “[a] semi-persistent SRS has a configured periodicity and slot offset…actual SRS transmission according to the configured periodicity and slot offset is activated and deactivated by means of MAC CE signaling”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2023/0047048) in view of OPPO (R1-2201228 – “Enhancements on SRS flexibility, coverage and capacity”) in view of Nilsson et al (US 2025/0125927) in view of Shahmohammadian et al (US 2022/0029861).
Regarding claim 6: Liu, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Liu does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 6. However, Nilsson discloses the limitations of claim 8 of:
wherein the configuration information comprises a second configuration for an SRS resource (see the configuration of an SRS resource disclosed in [0021]-[0026], for example),
wherein the second configuration comprises a first parameter indicating a number of SRS ports (see [0021] “[t]he number of SRS ports (1, 2, or 4), configured by the RRC parameter nrofSRS-Ports”), a second parameter for a configuration of a transmission comb (see [0021] “[t]he transmission comb (i.e., mapping to every 2nd or 4th subcarrier), configured by the RRC parameter transmissionComb”), and a third parameter indicating a position of the SRS resource (see [0021] “[t]he time-domain position within a given slot, configured with the RRC parameter resourceMapping”),
wherein the first parameter is configured to be 8 ports (see [0047] “the SRS resource configuration comprises an SRS resource for 6 or 8 SRS ports”),
wherein the second parameter comprises a first sub parameter indicating a comb offset corresponding to the 8 ports (disclosed throughout; see [0042] “a new mapping of SRS ports to comb offsets and cyclic shifts”) and a second sub parameter indicating a cyclic shift (disclosed throughout; see [0042] “a new mapping of SRS ports to comb offsets and cyclic shifts”), and
wherein the third parameter comprises a number of SRS symbols in a slot (disclosed throughout; see [0025], which discloses the nrofSymbols parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu, modified, to include additional SRS resource configuration such as that indicated in Nilsson. The rationale for doing so would have been to improve the flexibility of resource assignment.
Liu-OPPO-Nilsson does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the third parameter comprising a number of SRS symbols in a slot is configured to be 8. However, Shahmohammadian discloses a similar method for configuring SRS resources. Further, Shahmohammadian discloses using larger values (such as 8) for the number of SRS symbols in each slot (see [0170], for example, which indicates that NsymbSRS can be one of {1,2,4,8,12}). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu-OPPO-Nilsson so the number of SRS symbols in a slot is 8 as suggested by Shahmohammadian. The rationale for doing so would have been to improve SRS coverage as suggested by Shahmohammadian in [0170].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al (US 2022/0303973) discloses an SRS antenna switching enhancement.
Duan et al (US 2021/0112498) discloses a method for SRS antenna switching for multiple receive antennas.
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 August 6, 2026