DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-6 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to “Objections to the Claims”, the objections have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
In response to “Rejections under 35 USC § 102(b)”, the rejections have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
In response to “Rejections under 35 USC § 102(a)(1)”, the rejections have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
However, upon further searches and considerations, a new ground of rejection is made under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (Pub. No.: US 2020/0302233 A1) in view of Yang (Pat. No.: US 12,008,899 B2).
Iwasaki teaches the vehicle includes a communication unit 24c that is configured to transmit information to a server (see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0019]) but fails to teach the newly introduced limitation “cause the transmission unit to transmit the monitoring information to a device outside of the vehicle”.
However, in the same field of vehicle, Yang teaches a vehicle that is configured to communicate its intended maneuvers to a server/RSU (e.g., intention to pass a vehicle). See abstract and Fig. 19.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwasaki’s vehicle to transmit the “passable” message to a server/RSU to improve safety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (Pub. No.: US 2020/0302233 A1) in view of Yang (Pat. No.: US 12,008,899 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Iwasaki teaches an autonomous driving system (Abstract, automated driving system for a vehicle) comprising:
an external sensor configured to detect an external environment of a vehicle (Fig. 4, external environment information obtainment unit 402, para [0040], “An external environment information obtainment unit 402 obtains outputs from the sensors included in the vehicle 1, such as the cameras 41, the lidars 42, and the radars 43, and inputs them to an automated driving control unit 406.”);
an internal sensor configured to detect a traveling state of the vehicle (Fig. 4, A self-vehicle state information obtainment unit 404, para [0040], “A self-vehicle state information obtainment unit 404 obtains a steering angle, a braking force (a brake depression force), an accelerator pedal position, and the like detected by the sensors included in the vehicle 1, and inputs them to the automated driving control unit 406.”);
a machine learning model configured to receive a detection result of the external sensor and the detection result of the internal sensor as input values and output an instruction value of autonomous driving (Fig. 4, automated driving model 408, para [0040], “Using an automated driving model 408 generated by the training data collection server 200, the automated driving control unit 406 realizes travel control by outputting control parameters corresponding to the input.”);
an operation unit configured to perform the autonomous driving of the vehicle based on the instruction value output by the machine learning model (Fig. 4, steering control unit 410, braking control unit 412, driving control unit 414, para [0040], “In the present example, the targets of control are steering, braking, and driving (the engine or motor), and the outputs for the respective targets of control are passed to a steering control unit 410, a braking control unit 412, and a driving control unit 414. The control units perform their respective controls in accordance with the input control parameters.”);
a user interface configured to exchange information with an occupant of the vehicle (Fig. 2, user interface unit 216, para [0035], “A user interface unit 216 displays image data and the like to an operator, and also accepts an input from the operator.”);
a transmission unit (Fig. 1, communication unit 24c); and
a control unit connected to the user interface (Fig. 2, CPU 211),
wherein the control unit is configured to:
determine at least one risk candidate scene based on at least one selected from a group of the detection result of the external sensor, the detection result of the internal sensor, and an operating state of an occupant of the vehicle (Fig. 6, shows the vehicle detects the object 611 via external environment information obtainment unit 402);
extract at least one of the input values and the instruction value of the machine learning model in the at least one risk candidate scene (Fig. 6, shows the vehicle displays the vehicle’s velocity arrow 622 (analogous to “input value”) and the message “passable” 612 (analogous to “instruction value”));
cause the user interface to notify the occupant of the vehicle of monitoring information including information related to the at least one of the input values and the instruction value have been extracted (Fig. 6, shows the user interface displays vehicle’s velocity arrow 622 and the message “passable” 612.).
Iwasaki teaches the vehicle includes a communication unit 24c that is configured to transmit information to a server (see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0019]) but fails to teach cause the transmission unit to transmit the monitoring information to a device outside of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of vehicle, Yang teaches a vehicle is configured to communicate its intended maneuvers to a server/RSU. See abstract and Fig. 19.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwasaki’s vehicle to transmit the “passable” message to a server/RSU to improve safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iwamoto (Pat. No.: US 11,163,304 B2) teaches an autonomous driving vehicle configured to receive external and internal sensors to determine one or more driving trajectories based on the output of a machine learning model.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHEN Y WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685